Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 7th, 2012, 12:47 am

neexis wrote:so these french people just making unnecessary noise about..... a necessary noise?
perhaps that incident can be written off as paranoia.

Allergic I find you have more info and access to more info than these dealers do. Maybe you could train some of them

I don't blame them. If you google 7 speed DSG rattle you will see it isn't just the French people asking about it. It is common across countries AND across brands as it is a tranny shared by Seat, Skoda, VW as well as Audi for engines putting out 250 NM in torque or less. Audi calls it S-tronic. The rest call it DSG.

I was concerned about the noise. I asked the technician to look into the rattle at my complimentary service and he said it was "just the sound of the supercharger". Basically it was brushed off without proper explanation...which is why I kept digging until I found a plausible answer from VW. That's the problem though: dealers don't usually explain sheit to customers. Or they don't explain sheit properly. Of course the customer isn't going to be satisfied and become paranoid a la the French basically. Maybe it boils down to who you ask at the dealership. Ask a sales rep and you'll get a sales reppy sort of answer. Ask a service manager and you might get a more technical answer and better explanation. Ask a certain level technician and he may not have the experience or know how to deal with the issue at hand.

Finding legit info is very difficult. It is almost a secret society dealers have with vehicle manufacturers. The only way to get the info is basically to trawl the internet for forums, software downloads; obtain a scan tool so you can do basic self diagnosis before running to the dealer.

It's only after going through these things I realized why dealers sometimes seemingly act so shady as you get to better understand their relationship with manufacturers. e.g. dealers get dinged if they replace parts that the manufacturer deems should not have been replaced. If you say your engine is misfiring and the dealer replaces the entire engine as an act of good faith to you but the only thing needing replacing were spark plugs as deemed by a known fault from the manufacturer the manufacturer will BILL the dealer for unnecessary replacement of parts. It's why all dealers try to get customers to pay up for every little thing. It's also why they try to get away from doing any sort of repair just incase they make a mistake and replace something deemed not needing replacing by the manufacturer. That's just one example.

One thing though: I don't have access to more info than the dealers. It just appears so because I am giving out info for all and sundry for everyone's betterment. Dealers do know their sheit. I can't begin to train a technician. I am no mechanic so I'm not going to downs down what those guys do because after looking through some repair documents I realize those guys must have skills to do what they do. It's just that ,as with anything in life, attitudes vary from person to person and that can heavily affect the quality of work one receives. Anyways it late!

neexis

Postby neexis » September 7th, 2012, 7:08 am

Well you have a point about the dealers being cautious about replacing parts... at least when it's under warranty and they have to foot the bill.
That whole situation changes when the customer has to pay for new parts, as was the case with the Touareg. It was at BA for almost 3 months... and they kept misdiagnosing the problem. Several tens of thousands of dollars were spent on parts that likely didn't need changing cuz they didn't solve the problem.

While I appreciate all the info you're providing here, I still think it's a bit shitty that you had to go searching for information that should have otherwise been provided by the dealer... at least to alleviate some customer concerns.

Anyway.. they creating problems for themselves and the brand by withholding info and causing the situation to escalate like in France. I suppose they really wouldnt business down here cuz we small and insignificant.

Postby Rainman » September 11th, 2012, 6:13 am

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 11th, 2012, 11:29 am

Rainman wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=460413

Thanks for the heads up! Never happened to me but I know there is a software update related to the mechatronic unit involving the position of some solenoid valve to prevent a similar problem that the user jetta had.

37G7 I think is what the software update is called incase anyone wants to harass BA about it. I know I will be harassing when I go for servicing.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 11th, 2012, 10:02 pm

*awaits Jetta Service Pack 1*

syncrod

Postby syncrod » September 13th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Well I now get word that my mother mk5 mechatronics unit gone through. Dealer say it gonna take about 2 weeks to get the replacement and cost around 25k. Anyone know what the average life span of this new unit maybe? Was really looking forward to purchase this car from her next year, but I didn't know now. Don't wanna buy it have the unit fail after 3 years.
Car was purchased in 2010, it's a 2009 model 1k-cavd, only on about 20k miles (or km, not sure). Any thoughts?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2012, 11:04 pm

syncrod wrote:Well I now get word that my mother mk5 mechatronics unit gone through. Dealer say it gonna take about 2 weeks to get the replacement and cost around 25k. Anyone know what the average life span of this new unit maybe? Was really looking forward to purchase this car from her next year, but I didn't know now. Don't wanna buy it have the unit fail after 3 years.
Car was purchased in 2010, it's a 2009 model 1k-cavd, only on about 20k miles (or km, not sure). Any thoughts?

Tell them you not paying? Too many reports of mechatronic units going randomly in the dq200 trannies. It's JUST out of warranty and VW should fit AT LEAST some of the bill?

Tell us how it goes. This thread is to enlighten the public about all aspects of owning a VW. Good and bad.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 14th, 2012, 6:55 am

Allergic.... you going in for that software update?

If so.... see if there are any changes in shifting points afterwards. I seeing some people reporting that, and juddering in 2nd gear.

Syncrod.. thas real sheit though. They should still honour it cuz you just just came out of warranty. 20k miles is only ~32000km... which is still not much.

I emailed the dealer about my concerns, and forwarded them the articles of issues/warranty extensions in other countries. He supposedly forwarded it to his manager and is supposed to get back to me.

Postby Rainman » September 14th, 2012, 10:33 am

neexis wrote:Allergic.... you going in for that software update?

If so.... see if there are any changes in shifting points afterwards. I seeing some people reporting that, and juddering in 2nd gear.

Syncrod.. thas real sheit though. They should still honour it cuz you just just came out of warranty. 20k miles is only ~32000km... which is still not much.

I emailed the dealer about my concerns, and forwarded them the articles of issues/warranty extensions in other countries. He supposedly forwarded it to his manager and is supposed to get back to me.

They won't. The sales rep sent me an email asking whether or not i was still interested in getting the vehicle I forwarded some articles from online and shared my concerns about the transmission....he said "none of the mk6 jetta's have had failures, they're a new design from the old mecha...blah blah blah" i quoted the name of my co-worker, the nature of her mk6 tranny failure, the license plate and well... i haven't hear from him since. WOFT

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 14th, 2012, 10:37 am

The 37G7 update incorporates another update from before that changes shift points.

The shift point changes are to "eradicate" some owners complaints of juddering. Feels like driving in a manual car up an incline in the wrong gear (too high a gear). In D mode the car likes to shift to the highest gear as quickly as possible to promote fuel economy by keeping revs down. It is also not quick to downshift so sometimes on inclines your in the wrong gear so to speak and can feel a judder sensation at times.

The update will change the shift point up of gear 1 for example from 1800 rpm to 2500 rpm (figures used for example, don't quote me on them). So when accelerating uphill you will use the lower gear for longer thereby reducing the situation of being in too high a gear for certain scenarios.

The alternative is to drive in Sport mode or manual mode where you have more control over the shifting. Sports mode will shift up at 4000 rpm generally and is also quick to downshift as it is very aggressive but most people don't drive in sports mode hence the software update for general dq200 7speed dsg drivers.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 14th, 2012, 10:42 am

Rainman wrote:

They won't. The sales rep sent me an email asking whether or not i was still interested in getting the vehicle I forwarded some articles from online and shared my concerns about the transmission....he said "none of the mk6 jetta's have had failures, they're a new design from the old mecha...blah blah blah" i quoted the name of my co-worker, the nature of her mk6 tranny failure, the license plate and well... i haven't hear from him since. WOFT

^^^This!
It's why I tell people no matter who the dealer is take sales people info with a grain of salt...more like a potspoon. They told my friend the mk6 is different this and that blah blah and he eats it up. They will say the passat is different from the cheaper models blah blah but it is the same drivetrain so you still need to be aware of certain potential issues. Sales people job at the end of the day is to sell. Talk to service managers or managers in general for a better idea of issues.

Your coworker got back her car?

neexis

Postby neexis » September 14th, 2012, 8:21 pm

Rainman wrote:

Haha.. so they really figure they could BS you around even when you know people who've had problems?? Come on.... is 2012.. they really figure local and (international) forums like this don't exist with owners and potential buyers communicating? The information is out there.... jeez.. people even go so far as to post videos on youtube about cars, features and even issues.

I'm still waiting for a response though. People are aware of the issues and asking about them.. dealer should at least look into the matter and figure out if they selling a good product or not. The more they avoid the issue is the deeper hole they digging for themselves.

Postby Rainman » September 15th, 2012, 7:25 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Rainman wrote:

I emailed the dealer about my concerns, and forwarded them the articles of issues/warranty extensions in other countries. He supposedly forwarded it to his manager and is supposed to

^^^This!
It's why I tell people no matter who the dealer is take sales people info with a grain of salt...more like a potspoon. They told my friend the mk6 is different this and that blah blah and he eats it up. They will say the passat is different from the cheaper models blah blah but it is the same drivetrain so you still need to be aware of certain potential issues. Sales people job at the end of the day is to sell. Talk to service managers or managers in general for a better idea of issues.

Your coworker got back her car?

Got it back 2 weeks ago, she said she is thinking about legal avenues to get her money back.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 15th, 2012, 10:47 am

Money back? They charged her money under warranty???!

Postby Rainman » September 15th, 2012, 10:57 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Money back? They charged her money under warranty???!

No, my co-worker is a lawyer and a damn good one too. She is looking at getting her money back and returning the car. Her logic is that she does not have the confidence in the brand nor the local representation of the brand.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 15th, 2012, 2:20 pm

what was the problem? and what did they do to solve it?

i would love to see how that one goes.

have any local dealers ever done anything like that? as in provide a refund or exchange on a vehicle that was likely a lemon?

if she's successful, seems like it could bring some kinda power back to the consumer. i just get the feeling that once you pay your money and u drive that car off the lot is your hard luck if things start giving problems

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 15th, 2012, 2:34 pm

Rainman wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Money back? They charged her money under warranty???!

No, my co-worker is a lawyer and a damn good one too. She is looking at getting her money back and returning the car. Her logic is that she does not have the confidence in the brand nor the local representation of the brand.

Ok let us know how it goes.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 15th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Customer service depends on a few things.

Competition. Laws of the land. Those two just to name a few. Trinidad doesn't have much competition within the same brand. Trinidad also doesn't have lemon laws either. Hopefully it turns out well but lawyers can only use what is available to them.

I can see a strong case if the dealer didn't repair under warranty though. Or unusually long repair times with no compensation for lack of a vehicle.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 15th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Customer service depends on a few things.

Competition. Laws of the land. Those two just to name a few. Trinidad doesn't have much competition within the same brand. Trinidad also doesn't have lemon laws either. Hopefully it turns out well but lawyers can only use what is available to them.

I can see a strong case if the dealer didn't repair under warranty though. Or unusually long repair times with no compensation for lack of a vehicle.

Well they did take a few months and I supposing it was repaired... and he said she was given a previous model Passat to use.
But man I'd be pissed too if i bought a brand new car that worked for 15000k and had to go in the shop for a few months.

The impression I getting from user experiences with the brand (and really because I just looking at VW right now) is that its either a real hit or miss. Some people having absolutely no problems at all.... while others are just plagued with one thing after the next. I can't say for sure how the vehicles were serviced or if this is even a factor with some of them. I real liking the cars, but i kinda bummy bout the potential problems

kingskid

Postby kingskid » September 27th, 2012, 3:56 pm

HEY guys i found this site while looking for a bike rack for my golf variant , it gives a list of all the accessories and their part numbers, i hope this helps fellow golf owners.

http://87.230.74.92/fileadmin/pdf/prosp ... Zub_GB.pdf

syncrod

Postby syncrod » September 29th, 2012, 2:02 pm

was just informed that BA will be handling the cost involved with the mechatronic unit replaceement. all i need to know now is the lifespan of this new and hopefully i should be driving vw next year

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 29th, 2012, 9:33 pm

syncrod wrote:was just informed that BA will be handling the cost involved with the mechatronic unit replaceement. all i need to know now is the lifespan of this new and hopefully i should be driving vw next year

Good news!

neexis

Postby neexis » September 30th, 2012, 1:53 am

syncrod wrote:was just informed that BA will be handling the cost involved with the mechatronic unit replaceement. all i need to know now is the lifespan of this new and hopefully i should be driving vw next year

one of the reps was telling me something bout VW's "goodwill" policy in which they may provide a rebate on parts that fail etc out of warranty..... within a reasonable time frame once the case appears to be credible.

I was also informed that at the request of many customers, BA is putting together an extended warranty package which should be available for extra $$.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 2nd, 2012, 10:16 pm

so how this premium gas price increase affecting you guys?

Allergic... whats the recommended octane rating for these tsi engines?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 10:50 pm

Minimum Ron is stated on the fuel tank lid as 95.

At $4 per litre it cost me $208 to fill 52 liters of premium. At $5.75 it will cost me an extra $91 to fill the same volume which is basically from my gas light to a full tank.

I normally get about 450-550km per 52 litres.
I think that works out to about 10.4 litres per 100 km.

Since the price hike I have switched up my driving style. No ac. I drive with the fans blowing though. Smooth acceleration, coasting, avoiding traffic jams. Basically keep momentum up. Now my fuel consumption so far has dropped to 6 litres per 100 km. if I can keep this up I will be able to get approximately 800km per tank of premium. When I empty this tank I will post pics with figures showing what I actually got. I have travelled about 103 km since last fill up Monday evening and the projected range according to the display is another 740 km on the remaining fuel.

I drive early morning between 6-7 am and after 4 in the afternoon so ambient temps not bad. If I had to drive in midday sun ac would be on for sure.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 2nd, 2012, 11:14 pm

The 1.4tsi has some impressive figures..

Still boss..... I drive around those same hours too, and when my AC malfunctioned I couldn't bear the heat, even with the windows down while driving on the highway. So that's out of the question for me.

Might have to consider the passat diesel now... although I not sure if I want to compromise on power output

:-/

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 11:56 pm

I hear yuh. Turbodiesel is the way forward if you want decent pep at low fuel costs.

I may eventually go back to using ac and higher speeds. The cost increase hasn't reached a point where it truly hurts my pocket. I'm just doing this experiment to see if I can get close to the manufacturer's supposed test results. That way if I really am in a bind I know what works if I need really good fuel economy.

BA is readily selling turbo diesel passats?

neexis

Postby neexis » October 3rd, 2012, 12:24 am

The rep said it was available... didn't specify if there were any in stock or if it had to be ordered.

The 2.0 TDI comes with a 6 speed tiptronic and is rated at 140HP vs 160 for the 1.8 TSI.. costing around $368k though.

As for diesel being the way forward.. I dunno. The price is considerably lower for now, but the planned increase in the future makes me wonder if it'll be worth it in the long term.

In a few months we'll get over it just like we did the last increase. I might just suck it up and stick to a gas engine.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 3rd, 2012, 6:08 am

While diesel will be increased I don't see it being increased drastically quickly. It will be done in increments over years. I also think it will end up being lower than premium for a long time here.

Also you should look at the torque figures for that 2.0 tdi. The reason it reverts to the wet clutch 6 speed dsg is because the torque is high.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 3rd, 2012, 12:30 pm

OK the rep informed me the Passat diesel is readily available from BA and can be test driven . He also claimed that interest in the model has surged tremendously since the budget haha.

Wrt to fuel.. he says the 1.8tsi can run super with some loss of performance but premium is recommended. Can you confirm that from Erwin? I saw one test online with 87 vs 92 unleaded with negligible loss of performance but I'm curious about this model engine.
Last edited by neexis on October 29th, 2012, 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “EURO”