Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2012, 8:21 pm

question: although using fish farming and hydroponics hand in hand may sound like a really good idea...how do you all think the general "chupid" public would view this? would they buy the produce or not?

Postby Chimera » March 18th, 2012, 12:57 am

general stupid public guh say "wdmc..them tomato growin on fish sheit!!! we are outraged!"

Postby rfari » March 18th, 2012, 2:04 am

^^ :lol: :lol:
i believe the main obstacle trying to market fish reared in an aquaponics system locally would be the fresh water fish itself. i could be wrong but from what i've seen, locals prefer the carite/kingfish over talapia/cascadoo. people are more than willing to try tapalia but to say actually buy and prepare it themselves, there's some hurdles to overcome.

side note; what type of fish does japs sell? i try to get an answer out the cashiers but they dont have a clue. i suspecting that it might be tilapia.

Postby rfari » March 18th, 2012, 4:19 am

considering scrapping the banana system and making some improvement to the solution aeration or buying a small sump to drip feed. still a toss-up.

patchoi plant :( pulled it up and thought of what it could have been.

chive. bigger plant was from my original stock. :twisted:

celery not as impressive as first grow. instead of fewer and larger stalks, its bushy and thin. will have to double-check my notes to see what changes were made besides the grow medium.

after reaping. cabbage plant removed as it wasn't doing to well.

tomatoes started from seeds coming along. pushing high nitrogen nutes till recommended height on seed pack before switch to high potassium. hybrid sweet pepper in the foreground. its still recovering from a disease but not doing so good. might scrap the system and try cucumbers.

bio-reactor. the main objective is to make manure tea to be used in hydroponic systems. upper layer (usually covered): horse manure, middle layer, bio-filter ; and lower layer reservoir with sump and air stones. as i mentioned before, the idea is to convert ammonia from the manure into nitrates for plant intake.

as most of the plants have been removed, i'm seriously considering hydroton as a medium. ordered 50 lb which would be more than enough for all my systems. after that, it would be one more roll of the lettuce dice along with patchoi and cabbage again. maybe cauliflower space permitting. today and monday, the chive seedlings would be transplanted in the gutter system

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 8:25 am

rfari wrote:^^ :lol: :lol:
i believe the main obstacle trying to market fish reared in an aquaponics system locally would be the fresh water fish itself. i could be wrong but from what i've seen, locals prefer the carite/kingfish over talapia/cascadoo. people are more than willing to try tapalia but to say actually buy and prepare it themselves, there's some hurdles to overcome.

side note; what type of fish does japs sell? i try to get an answer out the cashiers but they dont have a clue. i suspecting that it might be tilapia.

the ones I have eaten tasted like carite...

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 2:01 pm

fari, that bandania I seeing with the banana tree there?

People seem to not know much about fresh water fish or shell fish for that matter. Crayfish pwns, cascadu is sweet, river conch does be a lil smaller than chinee coconut...epic. Anyways, they gonna benn and screw at fish waste & plants....they not know gobar works wonders for plants? Never used the horse maunre fari mentioned there but I have heard of chicken dung being used (never used that). Some rotten wood from old fallen trees in the forest is a next bess flick there (you could get wood to dry to bbq or cook on the fireside with on that same trip).

it may be risky to use the removed grit & dewatered sludge from beetham plant but iirc there is one in san frenando side where the influent composition isnt much like that at beetham. maybe someone with the resources can run a test? *randon idea*

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 3:43 pm

nervewrecker wrote:fari, that bandania I seeing with the banana tree there?

People seem to not know much about fresh water fish or shell fish for that matter. Crayfish pwns, cascadu is sweet, river conch does be a lil smaller than chinee coconut...epic. Anyways, they gonna benn and screw at fish waste & plants....they not know gobar works wonders for plants? Never used the horse maunre fari mentioned there but I have heard of chicken dung being used (never used that). Some rotten wood from old fallen trees in the forest is a next bess flick there (you could get wood to dry to bbq or cook on the fireside with on that same trip).

it may be risky to use the removed grit & dewatered sludge from beetham plant but iirc there is one in san frenando side where the influent composition isnt much like that at beetham. maybe someone with the resources can run a test? *randon idea*

chicken manure is a cheaper alternative to cow manure.it sells for $2 ah bag,only thing it must be treated before use.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 18th, 2012, 6:53 pm

The new flick for obtaining chicken manure is to speak to the owners of the chicken farms in the area. When the chickens from a shed are harvested, u come with some guys and clean the shed for them and take all the manure, u will get approx 1/2 truck load.
The chicken faeces mixed with the sawdust they use to soak up moisture in the sheds make a great manure but you need to this sit for a while before u use it, or treat it if you are busy,
as i wrote before i am using goat manure, no particular reason except that i got it free just needed to fill it an transport it whereas cow manure is $35 per haft bag, well the call it a "bag" but its actually haft full.

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 7:03 pm

people does pay for gobar? :shock:

geodude

Postby geodude » March 18th, 2012, 7:21 pm

yep cow farmers sell it

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 7:24 pm

people does tie cattle to graze all over in the bush, it does have gobar wasting....well years ago at least. long time me not been there.

Postby Chimera » March 18th, 2012, 8:15 pm

I remember a Ytepp trainer years ago saying that rabbit waste is the best to use on plants , i may be remembering wrong but I THINK he said it can be used without curing or treatment....

geodude

Postby geodude » March 18th, 2012, 8:27 pm

nervewrecker wrote:people does tie cattle to graze all over in the bush, it does have gobar wasting....well years ago at least. long time me not been there.

still happens but for a small farmer who needs approx 20 bags how long do you think the method u have in mind will take for him to accumulate the required amount, would it not be easier for him to go to a guy that has a shed where he brings in his cattle for the night and buy the manure for him?

i suppose if you planting a little kitchen garden it might be possible to look in the bush for it but thats gonna take atleast 1 hr, when you can pass by the cattle farmer buy a bag and ask him to deliver it for you and you have nuff for all the plants in your yard and some extra.

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 8:28 pm

geodude wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:people does tie cattle to graze all over in the bush, it does have gobar wasting....well years ago at least. long time me not been there.

still happens but for a small farmer who needs approx 20 bags how long do you think the method u have in mind will take for him to accumulate the required amount, would it not be easier for him to go to a guy that has a shed where he brings in his cattle for the night and buy the manure for him?

i suppose if you planting a little kitchen garden it might be possible to look in the bush for it but thats gonna take atleast 1 hr, when you can pass by the cattle farmer buy a bag and ask him to deliver it for you and you have nuff for all the plants in your yard and some extra.

Makes sense. I didnt really see it that way at first.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 9:07 pm

$35 ah bag,lardddddddddd up in the east is $20....but people does figure you could use cow manure just so,little do they know it is so strong,it cannot be applied just so to plants..the amount ah ppl i see destroyed small plants is ah shame..

Sharon_S

Update

Postby Sharon_S » March 22nd, 2012, 9:56 am

Yesterday we put together a system my nephews and I made,and planted some lettuce.

The zucchini is doing quite well so far,nine days in the system.

For comparison day one when the zucchini was first placed in the system

Updates will follow provided the plants survive.

Postby rfari » March 22nd, 2012, 10:26 am

great progress there. how much you paid for you greenhouse material?

Sharon_S

Postby Sharon_S » March 22nd, 2012, 6:07 pm

rfari wrote:great progress there. how much you paid for you greenhouse material?

Yeah it kind of shaping up,still waiting on my hydroton that I ordered.

The greenhouse measures 16 feet by 24 feet and we used 2 inch pvc and some 1x3 wood laths to hold it together and I have some steel in the ground under each pipe,the pvc ,elbows (21 of them),wood screws etc.cost about 890.00 tt and I am just using some construction plastic which cost 14.95 a lb by Bhagwansingh's I wasn't to sure how much was in that 4 lbs,but in any case I just ordered a larger similiar covering from Amazon 20feet by 50 feet for 40.00 U.S which will replace the piece you see now.
I still have to run something across the beams at the top probably just some fishing line.

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2012, 6:10 pm

nice greenhouse....:| i might hadda copy that design and make one of my own tho :|

:oops: :oops:

Postby nervewrecker » March 22nd, 2012, 6:44 pm

how much one of these systems cost to set up btw? I hear the old man talking last night with my cuz & saying he wont mind taking a dabble in it.

Sharon_S

Postby Sharon_S » March 22nd, 2012, 7:10 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:nice greenhouse....:| i might hadda copy that design and make one of my own tho :|

:oops: :oops:

No problem, I copied the design from here
http://www.frugal-living-freedom.com/pv ... house.html
only difference I made the end pieces 6 feet instead of 5 feet and I put the spacing of the legs four feet apart so it came out 24 feet long.

Postby rfari » March 23rd, 2012, 9:03 am

greenhouse really looking good. might do something like that in the future.

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2012, 9:10 am

i wanna do something like that this weekend.

will report on progress a year from now.

Sharon_S

Postby Sharon_S » March 23rd, 2012, 10:57 am

nervewrecker wrote:how much one of these systems cost to set up btw? I hear the old man talking last night with my cuz & saying he wont mind taking a dabble in it.

$1,300.00 without formula.
Last edited by Sharon_S on April 2nd, 2012, 11:08 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby UML » March 23rd, 2012, 2:38 pm

project put on hold more than a year and still looking better than that horse sheit of a system u minding dey

:mrgreen:

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2012, 2:42 pm

uml buy some net pots, cut some holes in a pvc and still fighting up yes.

Postby nervewrecker » March 23rd, 2012, 2:44 pm

thanks Sharon_s

Postby UML » March 23rd, 2012, 3:00 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:uml buy some net pots, cut some holes in a pvc and still fighting up yes.

is the time boy....the time............have to get a rack built for it....das wat keeping me back right now.

just the rack to build and stick up connections.

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2012, 3:06 pm

i meant alll that you do is buy net pots and cut holes in pvc and you wanna criticize what sharon did

and look how fast she did hers lol

Postby UML » March 23rd, 2012, 3:51 pm

UML wrote:
rfari wrote:
UML wrote:
rfari wrote:
UML wrote:u have no taste or class in the work u do............fighting up for months.......constant failing and a woman come and mash u up and show u how its done....neat nice clean professional work.....and most importantly......yielding

i will show u also how its done soon.....a different and better system.....and we dont have to mention professional and neat cause everything i do or own looks nothing like that piece of sheit u have there...literally....minding horse sheit an all

That's fine by me. Just remember to post your results.

yea doh study it that horse sheit will have more success than u in life

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i meant alll that you do is buy net pots and cut holes in pvc and you wanna criticize what sharon did

and look how fast she did hers lol

nevermind :|