Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
nigel1977

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby nigel1977 » March 11th, 2011, 9:05 am

Anyone having alignment issues with their 3.0 Hilux/vigo? How often are you supposed to align with these trucks?

Leff side cuttin. again. Will take it to get aligned by shabby (sp) in couva tomorrow.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 12th, 2011, 5:03 am

Go by Aranguez alignment center - first left off the new arangueze flyover when you on the northern side.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 12th, 2011, 11:41 pm

rotating tyres every 5k also help tyres even wear

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 24th, 2011, 9:27 am

lighthammer wrote:Go by Aranguez alignment center - first left off the new arangueze flyover when you on the northern side.

Took that advice 40$ for a check and 100$ for basic allignment

Postby Team Loco » March 24th, 2011, 12:55 pm

time is near guys. soon i will be starting the watercooled intercooler project. gonna be fun. parts:

4 core radiator with automatic transmission cooler- will be used to redirect cooling of the turbo
small radiator
bosch water pump
hoses and fittings
two cooling fans to add to the other 3
cooling unit custom made to fit over engine without needing a body lift

gonna be fun

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 24th, 2011, 10:13 pm

turbohead wrote:rotating tyres every 5k also help tyres even wear

Yeah!!! Noticed that Cuz... Gonna do a rotation and alignment tomorrow...

droppa

Postby droppa » April 5th, 2011, 2:36 pm

nigel do u kno if this alertnator guy is the same one who was in cunupia before, or he was always in arima.....

Premera

Postby Premera » April 12th, 2011, 2:50 pm

guys, i noticed recently that whenever i am slowing down to a stop, sometimes i feel a " jerk or lil jolt " before i completely stop and then when i take my foot of the brakes and onto the X pedal, i feel the same " jerk or jolt " before pulling off again.

Any ideas / solutions ?

thanks

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2011, 12:11 am

^^what truck u have again?

Premera

Postby Premera » April 13th, 2011, 7:56 am

lighthammer wrote:^^what truck u have again?

2006 Thailand Toyota VIGO 3.0 automatic turbo........ :twisted: ...lol

badart

Postby badart » April 13th, 2011, 10:11 am

Premera wrote:guys, i noticed recently that whenever i am slowing down to a stop, sometimes i feel a " jerk or lil jolt " before i completely stop and then when i take my foot of the brakes and onto the X pedal, i feel the same " jerk or jolt " before pulling off again.

Any ideas / solutions ?

thanks

tht happens in my hilux also, i carried my hilux TTTL for a road test but the service mechanic told me its normal, nothin to worry about and he also mentioned the drive shaft need greasing. when i carry it to service i would let them knw

droppa

Postby droppa » April 13th, 2011, 10:37 am

it happens when the tranny stops suddenly and does not get to completely gear down as the pressure decreases, so the vehicle stops in second gear, and when u release the brake it goes into first IMHO

try slowing down slower or neutralizing when u slow down suddenly, i neutralize by the lights all the time (rest the foot and clutches a bit)

happen on my 1KZ turbo also, normal i was told......

badart

Postby badart » April 13th, 2011, 2:45 pm

^ yea noticed when i drive slower it doesnt happen

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 13th, 2011, 2:59 pm

Ques: What is the model # for the following:

05-10 Hilux 2.5 D4D Local 4x2
05-10 Hilux 3.0 D4D Local 4x4
05-10 Hilux 3.0 D4D Vigo 4x4
10 - Hilux 3.0 D4D Local 4x4

The 3.0 should be KUN26 or something like that.
The 2.5 should be KUN15 or something like that.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 16th, 2011, 10:16 pm

Where the D4D men?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 17th, 2011, 12:02 am

that jolt thing is due to the torque converter.... its normal... but quite irritating in my opinion.

badart

Postby badart » April 17th, 2011, 9:14 pm

yea real annoying esp in traffic

Premera

Postby Premera » April 17th, 2011, 10:36 pm

guys just to spread the word around. Yesterday i used the Liqui Moly fuel additive and the oil additive. Hearing the engine a bit quieter and the performance ALOT better.

My van used to pull off lazy lazy and you had to really press on the pedal to accelerate, since i put the furl treatment, the van actually feels lighter, moves easier and i dont have to press hard on the pedal anymore to accelerate. You can actually feel the difference. Im my opinion the product has worked on my VIGO and i recommend it....... 8-)

droppa

Postby droppa » April 18th, 2011, 9:53 am

the liqi moly has worked well on my engine, on my last oil change i used 1 can, as a try out on the KZ, and since then she has gotten significantly quieter, from just outside the van u hear a difference

oil change coming again soon, and u kno ill be using the liqi moly again......

Postby Team Loco » April 18th, 2011, 2:58 pm

well, the new lux finally starting to play the fool. at 350,000kms, the a/c blower went bad, steering wheel worn down, squeky brakes, turbo leaking a bit, front left wheel bearing noisy, tail lights keep blowing.

at TTTL now. they amazed by the mileage lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2011, 11:07 pm

Takes a licking and keeps on ticking.

Postby Team Loco » April 19th, 2011, 8:16 am

imagine TTTL srap a/c system, tightened a few ground wires and send back the van. no charge! i was like, nah!!! that cant be!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 19th, 2011, 8:27 am

they know u is a faithful customer........

btw the new lux is @ 350K, wat the old one at?

and LH is a toyota boi, dem ting doh die, ask jeremy.......................................clarkson
Last edited by droppa on April 19th, 2011, 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Team Loco » April 19th, 2011, 8:33 am

you dont have to tell me bought clarkson lol.

the old one is at 230,000kms
the new one runs to pos everyday then two runs to palo seco every workday

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 20th, 2011, 3:46 pm

sweeks wrote:Ques: What is the model # for the following:

05-10 Hilux 2.5 D4D Local 4x2
05-10 Hilux 3.0 D4D Local 4x4
05-10 Hilux 3.0 D4D Vigo 4x4
10 - Hilux 3.0 D4D Local 4x4

The 3.0 should be KUN26 or something like that.
The 2.5 should be KUN15 or something like that.

D4D men please reply.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 21st, 2011, 1:07 am

2010 3.0 Manual Local - KUN26R (Model Code)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 21st, 2011, 8:54 am

Thanks Phoenix...

Do you remember the model code for your previous 2.5D4D?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 21st, 2011, 2:46 pm

Sorry sweeky.. I cant remember... and i dont have the documents anymore..

I believe it should be KUN25R for the 2.5 4x4 manual... in that year..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 22nd, 2011, 8:09 pm

Thanks man.

Where the Vigo men?

Premera

Postby Premera » April 26th, 2011, 7:24 am

okay fellas, i noticed 2 days ago i was literally unable to get past 140km/h on the highway. Remember i changed the injectors recently. Could it be that i got the 2.5 turbo injectors and it needs to be re-calibrated ( i was told of this by someone at Toyota )

I used the Liqui Moly fuel and injector treatment and noticed an increase in performance but yet, i am unable to get past 140km/h

Oh, i don't usually drive fast but the highway was clear on Sunday so i decided to open it up a bit from Chaguanas to Munroe Road........ 8-)

Thanks again.......

oh sweeks, where do i find the information u asking for above ?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”