THE OFFICIAL MITSUBISHI Q & A THREAD (NO BUY OR SELL POSTS!)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 7th, 2010, 3:39 pm

i ordered it from dis guy here, u can check his thread:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

around $2000, not sure yet as i'm gettin dem month end

m.pouchet

Postby m.pouchet » May 7th, 2010, 3:58 pm

Thx EVA Unit-01, post some pics when you get them and lemme kno how they feel, ppl say they get vibration @ 100k.. I get fading at 170 and vibration at about 120 or so....... :x

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » May 7th, 2010, 5:11 pm

JJ16 wrote:chindian88, ive never seen energy suspension come with grease before eh :? unless my memory just bad...

i bought a front suspension kit for my accord and it came with a little tub of grease.

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » May 7th, 2010, 5:59 pm

i have a question..
how come nobody uses the chat function???

m.pouchet

Postby m.pouchet » May 7th, 2010, 6:22 pm

Are their any shop manuals for the cs3a? I have the pdf for the cs3 or cs2 but I guess its pretty much the same car :?

spam

Re: Ask ANY QUESTION HERE!!

Postby spam » May 14th, 2010, 7:05 am

tiptronic ck transmission

are there any cons compared to a normal tranny or gearbox?

4g15

14ride

can someone tell me the bolt pattern for a ck 4 plz

Postby 14ride » May 18th, 2010, 9:38 am

what the bolt pattern for a ck 4 lancer ?

optimisticcharlie

Re:

Postby optimisticcharlie » May 18th, 2010, 3:38 pm

JJ16 wrote:chindian88, ive never seen energy suspension come with grease before eh :? unless my memory just bad...

and optimisticcharlie, it isnt hard but very unnecessary...i personally wont recommend it...just go for something that is a direct bolt up...

hmm, the reason is that the other bolt up types are easier to find as far as ive seen but u said its simple but dont recommend, y exactly?

Postby rollingstock » May 18th, 2010, 5:34 pm

My rear abs sensors in the vrg galant got damaged, just wanted to know if the sensors from other mitsu's can work.

And does ne1 know where i can locate these sensors *plz don't say bamboo cause i tried*

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 20th, 2010, 9:47 am

Ok guys, two problems that need some immediate attention. These problems refer to my Evo VII

1. The power steering pump makes a bit of noise and the steering has become a bit stiffer since i got the car. Does this mean that the pump is going bad? I have checked the oil level and it's fine. If it is going bad, is the pump replaced or serviced? What is the cost of a new pump as compared to servicing it? Where can I get either one?

2. When driving on the highway at about 120k/hr I feel a subtle vibration which last for approximately 5 secs then stops for about 2 secs and then the process repeats..It seems to be consistent when driving above 100km/hr..Any thought on what the problem could be? I have noticed that the faster I drive the more intense the vibration becomes.

I really enjoyed reading this thread....best thread on tuner FTW!!!!

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » May 22nd, 2010, 1:29 pm

I think I understand the "how and why" a bigger muffler can help improve the performance of your car, my question is how do you know when it get outta hand?

Ah mean yuh does see some ppl with a huge muffler on their car but it not going anywhere with all the noise they make as they accelerate.. So did that person get too big a muffler? or its just that the engine too beat out and so the mod not helpin?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 23rd, 2010, 10:41 am

TheOne wrote:Ok guys, two problems that need some immediate attention. These problems refer to my Evo VII

1. The power steering pump makes a bit of noise and the steering has become a bit stiffer since i got the car. Does this mean that the pump is going bad? I have checked the oil level and it's fine. If it is going bad, is the pump replaced or serviced? What is the cost of a new pump as compared to servicing it? Where can I get either one?

2. When driving on the highway at about 120k/hr I feel a subtle vibration which last for approximately 5 secs then stops for about 2 secs and then the process repeats..It seems to be consistent when driving above 100km/hr..Any thought on what the problem could be? I have noticed that the faster I drive the more intense the vibration becomes.

I really enjoyed reading this thread....best thread on tuner FTW!!!!

That could be one of many problems.... what's your location? **meaning what area do you live in*

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 24th, 2010, 9:25 am

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 24th, 2010, 9:48 am

hmm thats a lil distance...well check you PM TheOne

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » May 25th, 2010, 9:34 pm

Clutch question

I drive a manual RWD Box Lancer and my clutch iz a bit low after changing my clutch cabel.....my question iz.... wud it over time raise a bit or do i have to carry the car bac to the mech?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 9th, 2010, 3:25 pm

ShIvAm wrote:... wud it over time raise a bit or do i have to carry the car bac to the mech?

Nope it wouldn't. If anything pedal might get lower after clutch cable stretches a bit after some use.
Sounds like you used a substitute cable (cable slightly too long...housing slightly too short).

Maybe a few spacers (washers) on firewall (or clutch lever) will help to increase effective housing length...and increase pedal height.

My $0.02¢

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 9th, 2010, 3:48 pm

evil_gdi wrote:I think I understand the "how and why" a bigger muffler can help improve the performance of your car, my question is how do you know when it get outta hand?

Ah mean yuh does see some ppl with a huge muffler on their car but it not going anywhere with all the noise they make as they accelerate.. So did that person get too big a muffler? or its just that the engine too beat out and so the mod not helpin?

bigger muffler can improve performance... Nope it doesn't...unless the engine is a turbo...and only AFTER you increase boost level with a controller (so no longer "stock" boost.)

For OEM N/A stock engine it will HURT low-end performance by slowing down exhaust gas velocity too much.

In BOTH cases (N/A and Turbo) if everything else is stock...low-end torque will suffer...more sluggish off the line.

BIGGER exhaust bore = Torque curve moves to the right on the dyno graph = LESS low-end torque + MORE top end bhp.

My $0.02¢

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » June 10th, 2010, 10:54 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
evil_gdi wrote:I think I understand the "how and why" a bigger muffler can help improve the performance of your car, my question is how do you know when it get outta hand?

bigger muffler can improve performance... Nope it doesn't...unless the engine is a turbo...and only AFTER you increase boost level with a controller (so no longer "stock" boost.)

For OEM N/A stock engine it will HURT low-end performance by slowing down exhaust gas velocity too much.

In BOTH cases (N/A and Turbo) if everything else is stock...low-end torque will suffer...more sluggish off the line.

BIGGER exhaust bore = Torque curve moves to the right on the dyno graph = LESS low-end torque + MORE top end bhp.

My $0.02¢

from what I had read, my impression was that a bigger muffler allowed for better/faster removal of gases from the engine.. in effect better "breathing"... what your comment indicates is that the ratio of removal is critical as well? so maybe there is a balance?

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » June 10th, 2010, 10:56 pm

also I guess, putting a bigger exhaust is not necessarily a cheap way to get a lil extra performance? :lol:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 11th, 2010, 6:28 am

bigger muffler allowed for better/faster removal of gases... Only if you improve volumetric efficiency by upgrading induction, fuel and ignition systems first. This almost never applies to stock engines. 9 times out of 10, the OEM system is optimised for best performance undrer normal driving conditions.

cheap way to get a lil extra performance... Again...only if you pay a lot of $$$ for even more modifications first. And btw, there is nothing cheap about an efficient, custom, big-bore exhaust system.

My $0.02¢

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » June 11th, 2010, 5:58 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
ShIvAm wrote:... wud it over time raise a bit or do i have to carry the car bac to the mech?

Nope it wouldn't. If anything pedal might get lower after clutch cable stretches a bit after some use.
Sounds like you used a substitute cable (cable slightly too long...housing slightly too short).

Maybe a few spacers (washers) on firewall (or clutch lever) will help to increase effective housing length...and increase pedal height.

My $0.02

i tink i used the correct cable, looked exactly like the one in before...... tnks for ur $0.02¢ ...lol :lol:

vegeboyz

Postby vegeboyz » June 12th, 2010, 1:44 pm

WTK: I have a ck2 lancer, and when i put on the A/C the engine constantly revs up and then slows down. What can i do to stop this from happening, and what is causing it? Without the a/c on, the car idles normally. Any help is appreciated...thanks in advance! :)

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 13th, 2010, 7:07 pm

the engine constantly revs up and then slows down?

what RPM does it settle on when you turn on the A/C

and a bigger exhaust would really apply for a Boosted car more so than a N/A car...sometimes a little restriction with a NA car will do it a little good.... i even know someone that has a 3" exhaust system on a N/A car...and it DEAD as hell, and loud and stupid...and they then ran back 2.25" and the car works ALOT better...however I intend on installing a 3" system...just wondering WHO to go buy and do it, these days i find most exhaust ppl not as clean as long time

vegeboyz

Postby vegeboyz » June 13th, 2010, 7:24 pm

Hi JJ16, when the a/c is off, it settles to about 800 rpm. when it is turned on, it fluctuates between 800 2500 constantly.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » June 15th, 2010, 12:53 pm

vegeboyz wrote:Hi JJ16, when the a/c is off, it settles to about 800 rpm. when it is turned on, it fluctuates between 800 2500 constantly.

dat's a REALLY big fluctuation! normally, d idle wud fluctuate, but not really go 2 much past 1500

cud it b d compressor is strainin d engine wen it switches on?

spam

Postby spam » July 28th, 2010, 1:19 am

in my first ck i had a 4g15 carb engine that could comfortably reach 180km
2nd ck 4g92 injected that wud do the same speed comfortably

in the ck i have now i just put in a 4g15 injected engine and it seems to top out at 140km feels like it wanna go faster but it not passin that does that mean it has some kinda speed limiter ?

:| :| :|

spam

Postby spam » July 30th, 2010, 9:04 am

so this thread ded i see

Postby rollingstock » July 30th, 2010, 9:23 am

spam, it is the speed limiter, talk to your mech to have it removed if you wish.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 5th, 2010, 6:44 pm

spam na man, sorry just been out of it for a while, this new 2nr format kinda kill it yes :lol:

u ever get that problem solved by chance?

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » August 9th, 2010, 9:36 pm

good night tuners..I'm currently doing a 4g63t swap into a 7th gen Galant(d model before d shark mouth or original shark as i see some ppl on tuner calling it) I looking to run a 3 inch exhaust but don't know what size barrel to run in order to keep the car as quiet as possible without any loss in power..I would gladly appreciate some help,thanks!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”