3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 25th, 2009, 6:18 pm

^ Scully I saw you on TV with camera in hand taking photos for Africa - cant wait to see them

guru

Postby guru » February 25th, 2009, 6:26 pm

Dragist wrote:
guru wrote:Duane , whats the info for the camera doctor again?

Waz up guru ?

I am looking for the # for you .

But in the mean time just drop it in to Photoworld LCM he picks up hei work there .

p.s. What happened to it ?

uts been defective from day one, very soft, practicalyl oof pics. even with live view....

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 25th, 2009, 8:30 pm

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 25th, 2009, 10:11 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Scully I saw you on TV with camera in hand taking photos for Africa - cant wait to see them

I'll post some shortly.
They'll be watermarked to deter the sharks.

I;m really pissed right now, cos I was leaving the house this afternoon to go down to the mas camp party, and somewhere between my house and the street lost my 16GB card with about 700 images from Tuesday on it.
I already copied them off, but they're still on the card. :x

Postby joker » February 25th, 2009, 10:16 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Scully I saw you on TV with camera in hand taking photos for Africa - cant wait to see them

I'll post some shortly.

I;m really pissed right now, cos I was leaving the house this afternoon to go down to the mas camp party, and somewhere between my house and the street lost my 16GB card with about 700 images from Tuesday on it.

damn scull that's hard ... now with the quality of photos you take ... next thing you see the photos online or in some carnival magazine somewhere!

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 25th, 2009, 10:21 pm

sad to hear, I hope its lost for good or destroyed then.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 25th, 2009, 10:45 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:

I'll post some shortly.

8-) a discreet watermark is good enough

sad to hear that!!!!
hopefully no one tries to use them!

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 25th, 2009, 11:40 pm

lol...Duane, discretion is a matter of opinion.

Here's some I jus put together quickly from my Mon & Tuesday pics.

Spoilt a near perfect photo. The setting sunlight was great for this.

I think next year I gonna shoot a bunch of losers like Tribe or IP or one of them cos it's too much trouble fighting (almost getting physical too) with every other cameraman and photographer, plus the point & shoot crowd trying to get pics of the band of the year. Police and the NCC Marshalls are no help either.
Anyone follows any of those bands as official photographers?
Is this a problem with every band cos I've been told it's not the same.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 26th, 2009, 10:13 am

^^^^ Great work Scully . I am still sorting my Carnival shots .

I know that there is nothing great about this pic I just loved the composition .

Only Cropped

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 26th, 2009, 10:43 am

i got a new cam so i tryin it out, Nikon D40... still have a lot to learn...

and no this is not a load, it is the play area in de back yard... :|

Postby RBphoto » February 26th, 2009, 11:04 am

ray786, D40 or D40X? I have the D40. Are you focusing at all? I find that it is blurry like you have it in a manual mode or something and not getting it right. First thing, are you using the built in flash? Put something over it to soften it or put it in night portrait, brace against something to steady the shot because of the long exposure.

Second, Dont be afraid to back up ()especially with the kit lens supplied) to let the auto focus work it's magic. I think you are trying to get too close. Even with a fairly 1-2ft distance away from a subject, you will be amazed to see the detail you can get.

What other equipment do you have?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2009, 11:08 am

hey Scully great shots! - annoying watermark! but GREAT shots!

I saw you on TV when you took this exact photo!

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 26th, 2009, 11:14 am

D40 - i think is the focusing, it was gettin dark, the mode is on auto, still fiddling around with settings, i am using the built in flash.

i think i was jus abt a foot away, dat would seem to be the problem.

Just got the cam as a gift, i had a point and shoot Nikon L18... so i now learning abt this SLR stuff... guidance will be appreciated...

Postby RBphoto » February 26th, 2009, 12:48 pm

ray786 wrote:D40 - i think is the focusing, it was gettin dark, the mode is on auto, still fiddling around with settings, i am using the built in flash.

i think i was jus abt a foot away, dat would seem to be the problem.

Just got the cam as a gift, i had a point and shoot Nikon L18... so i now learning abt this SLR stuff... guidance will be appreciated...

I only had mine for about two months now, but was reading since october last year and practiceing technique.

Buy this book
http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-D40x-Digita ... 0470171480

It helped me get going real fast. Have not touched the manual as yet as it explains all settings quite well. The closest autofoucus works is about a foot and a half from the camera. Otherwise, put the lens in manual and use the focus ring and try your luck if you go that close. Whoever gave that to you as a gift really like you hoss.

The other things you might like are:

SB-400 speedlight flash with Stofen bounce attachment (I suggest you get a bigger flash if you can afford it)

Tiffen lens/UV protector

Bayonett mount shield

Extra battery

Lens cleaning pen

Propper carrying case.

Rechhargeable AA batteries (for flash). The sb-400 uses 2.

Tripod (Have not gotten this yet though.)

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 26th, 2009, 12:50 pm

***awaits MG Mans photo**** :lol:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 26th, 2009, 1:07 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Tiffen lens/UV protector

Bayonett mount shield

Extra battery

Lens cleaning pen

Propper carrying case.

Rechhargeable AA batteries (for flash). The sb-400 uses 2.

Tripod (Have not gotten this yet though.)

Some good recommendations there , I would how ever replace the UV Filter especially a Tiffen with a Lens hood , I don't use Filters on any of my Lens unless I am shooting on a Beach or a Mud pit :twisted:

I am not a fan of putting a piece of glass on my lens that may cause a loss in IQ .

Lens Hoods protect the lens and reduce flare from unwanted light hitting your front element .

Tiffen is also the lowest of the line Filters .

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 26th, 2009, 1:42 pm

^^^good point, but shooting on a budget with entry level DSLRs, you're already lacking image quality.
Unless someone is making good money from photography and could justify replacing a lens because its front element got messed up cos no filter was used, I'd use it.
Image degradation is negligible. Also, cleaning the front element frequently puts you at much higher risk of accidents than cleaning a filter.
I for one would be a loooong way off from not using filters. I've already had the filter on my 70-200 f4L mysteriously crack while in use. I would have died if it was the front element. BTW, the lens hood I always use on this lens is the size of a coffee cup

Postby RASC » February 26th, 2009, 1:56 pm

Notorious Scullman,those costumes are INSANE! :shock:

Postby RBphoto » February 26th, 2009, 2:02 pm

Dragist, I only now start with the botomfeeder DSLR, and the tiffen filter is there only for protection permanently. I use the bayonette shield (lens hood) in outdoors. The other day I was taking some shots outside and while loking throgh my viewfinder, noticed a slight blurr. You know it was some pollen I get on it from shooting a moth that blew onto it? Did not have cleaning pen on me, so just took off filter and continued shooting.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2009, 3:00 pm

^ that's not pollen moths shed a kind of scale

I am paranoid about having the raw lens glass exposed so I put a UV filter/protector on all my lenses - I dont think it affects image quality at all once its good quality and clean

if anything hits the lens or get dirty that filter can change - the lens glass cant.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 27th, 2009, 8:29 pm

Postby r3iXmann » February 28th, 2009, 5:59 pm

playing around with hue,desaturation and blur settings..

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » February 28th, 2009, 6:42 pm

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 28th, 2009, 6:44 pm

^^^ I like the light , how was it set up ?

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » February 28th, 2009, 7:25 pm

that is actually the light from the oil lamp no other light in the room. current went and i was messing around with the cam and low light settings. iso was cranked all the way up.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 28th, 2009, 7:29 pm

Cool how high was the ISO as it's not that Noisy ?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 28th, 2009, 8:19 pm

^^^True, I was thinkin the same thing.

Must have been a fair amount of light from the lamp.

guru

iso1600

Postby guru » February 28th, 2009, 8:46 pm

batteries from flash died last night, was forced to go without lol.. refused to use the onboard flash..
iso 1600 f1.8 - no flash - first indoors (woodford cafe), second outdoors..

Postby r3iXmann » February 28th, 2009, 8:46 pm

guru, post the girl in the red pants :P

guru

Postby guru » February 28th, 2009, 9:23 pm

oh gosh.... by popular request lol. fine.
Jouvert drive by shooting lol... out car going about 10mph
Red pants..blue wall