Strauss

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Strauss » November 2nd, 2011, 12:05 am

Swisha wrote:New Gmail UI launched

http://goo.gl/CqC5X

Yea saw the changes a little while.
It feels more Mac-like now, compared to how ugly "windows 2.0" it was before.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 2nd, 2011, 12:32 am

finally updated to gingerbread OTA

feels nice on the optimus one

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 2nd, 2011, 6:02 am

cant wait for ice cream sandwich this month for the nexus s...

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » November 2nd, 2011, 12:52 pm

Sorry if I late eh fellas but did y'all check out d Machel Montano app? It's cool if u like his music. Got ALL his songs and tour info etc etc.

Screenshots from my Samsung Galaxy S2

Also does anyone have an idea why trinituner upload refuses to recognize the raw .png file that was saved when taking a screenshot?

achillies

Postby achillies » November 4th, 2011, 8:36 pm

Motorola (Google) wins injunction against Apple in Germany

Florian Mueller isn’t a patent attorney but he plays one on his blog FOSSPatents. For better or worse, he’s often quoted in the ongoing mobile technology patent battles where the winner is often Apple. He’s also German so he probably understands this new ruling a lot better than us (Our German is “rostig”)

Apple knows what it’s like to win injunctions against rivals. It won four of them against Samsung (two in Germany, one in the Netherlands and most recently one in Australia; all of them preliminary). Now it seems that Apple has just come out on the losing end of a patent infringement lawsuit. I have received a copy of what purports to be a default judgment by the Mannheim Regional Court barring Apple from selling in Germany — the single largest market in Europe – any mobile devices infringing on two Motorola Mobility patents and determining that Apple owes Motorola Mobility damages for past infringement since April 19, 2003.

If true, this would be a Hindenburg-sized backfire for Apple’s legal efforts in Europe.

It looks like Motorola is confirming the injunction with this press statement:

As media and mobility continue to converge, Motorola Mobility’s patented technologies are increasingly important for innovation within the wireless and communications industries, for which Motorola Mobility has developed an industry leading intellectual property portfolio. We will continue to assert ourselves in the protection of these assets, while also ensuring that our technologies are widely available to end-users. We hope that we are able to resolve this matter, so we can focus on creating great innovations that benefit the industry.”

9to5google

Postby Habit7 » November 4th, 2011, 10:18 pm

So Bmobile offering 3G for Androids, I hear talk of going faster?

Postby S_2NR » November 4th, 2011, 10:21 pm

bmobile doesn have 3g afaik

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » November 5th, 2011, 2:36 pm

no 3g

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 5th, 2011, 3:44 pm

nice lookin phone...

Sony Ericsson XPERIA Nozomi LT26i caught by Mr. Not-so-blurrycam

Well, would you look at that: our first glance at Sony Ericsson's upcoming Nozomi and the photos are actually in focus. The LT26i is still rocking Gingerbread, but steps it up in the display department by moving to a 1280 x 720 panel, just like the Rezound and Galaxy Nexus. Most reports peg the Nozomi a having a 4.3-inch screen, but after some quick math it looks like its actually packing a 4.6-incher. The 320 dpi puts it at the higher end of the density spectrum, just ahead of the latest Nexus, but still a bit behind the iPhone 4S. The Quadrant score of 1,800 (which would put it in the realm of the Xoom and Galaxy Tab 10.1) also doesn't quite jibe with the rumored dual-core 1.5GHz chip that's supposed to be powering this device. The front facing camera is clearly visible, so it'll be ready for all your video chatting adventures. Price, release date, carrier? It's all up in the air, but we can tell you it's a very handsome device.

Image Image

Engadget

Postby S_2NR » November 6th, 2011, 5:10 pm

installed MIUI on my nexus s and loving it so far.
everything is customizable and lots of nice features that are not in CM7.
especially love the feature - flip to silence, where u can silence the phone when its ringing by placing the phone face down.

heres a screenshot.
looks kinda iphone-ish but i like it.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 6th, 2011, 9:35 pm

what weather widget is that?

Postby S_2NR » November 6th, 2011, 9:40 pm

MadCrix wrote:what weather widget is that?

fancy widgets

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.anddoes.fancywidgets&hl=en

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 6th, 2011, 11:20 pm

S_2NR wrote:bmobile doesn have 3g afaik

But they advertising "4G"... and I don't know anywhere in the world that has "4G" yet.. not even 4G phones. We're still years away from that.

Postby cinco » November 7th, 2011, 7:21 am

bmobile lost the license to their 3g transmissions so they had to rush the switch to 4g
4g coverage is still not complete and is real shiddy service
all the blink on the go devices they give out now only work on 4g

Postby r3iXmann » November 7th, 2011, 9:16 am

Strauss wrote:

But they advertising "4G"... and I don't know anywhere in the world that has "4G" yet.. not even 4G phones. We're still years away from that.

wut? lol. you're jk right?

cinco wrote:bmobile lost the license to their 3g transmissions so they had to rush the switch to 4g

you mean "4g".

which other country in the world man hadda walk around with device in their pocket to get "4g"? a crying shame yes :roll:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 7th, 2011, 9:27 am

r3iXmann wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Ok I plead ignorance :)

There is no mainstream 4G networks yet. LTE is getting there in theoretical speeds. Maybe I just don't know any phones that supports 1Gbit/s data.

...requirements for 4G standards, setting peak speed requirements for 4G service at 100 Mbit/s for high mobility communication (such as from trains and cars) and 1 Gbit/s for low mobility communication (such as pedestrians and stationary users).

Postby r3iXmann » November 7th, 2011, 9:32 am

Strauss wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
Strauss wrote:

There is no mainstream 4G networks yet. LTE is getting there in theoretical speeds. Maybe I just don't know any phones that supports 1Gbit/s data.

...requirements for 4G standards, setting peak speed requirements for 4G service at 100 Mbit/s for high mobility communication (such as from trains and cars) and 1 Gbit/s for low mobility communication (such as pedestrians and stationary users).

1Gbit is the max

but Sprint, T Mobile and AT&T have 4G networks (those are the ones i know) and im sure there are many others

as for the phones:

http://gpsmaestro.com/list-of-4g-phones ... available/

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 7th, 2011, 9:38 am

r3iXmann wrote:
Strauss wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
Strauss wrote:

1Gbit is the max

but Sprint, T Mobile and AT&T have 4G networks (those are the ones i know) and im sure there are many others

as for the phones:

http://gpsmaestro.com/list-of-4g-phones ... available/

Thanks for link. I stand corrected about the networks.

Are people really getting 4G speeds in masses yet? From what I read, these "4G" networks are just fast 3G (aka 3.5G) speeds. Which are 15Mbit/s to 25 Mbit/s in theory, but not practically — and it still waaaay off breaking 100Mbit/s theoretical speeds. Feel free to correct me.

achillies

Postby achillies » November 7th, 2011, 12:26 pm

cinco wrote:bmobile lost the license to their 3g transmissions so they had to rush the switch to 4g

Whaaaat, I need a better explanation on this, lost it's licence to who\what?

And isn't the 4g that they are on about just WiMAX which is the same as Sprint, which is known to be the beta-max of cellular wireless technology...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 7th, 2011, 2:40 pm

Google+ Pages launched!

whey Duane? bring on the Trinituner Google+ page!

Google+ Pages: connect with all the things you care about

In life we connect with all kinds of people, places and things. There’s friends and family, of course, but there’s also the sports teams we root for, the coffee shops we’re loyal to, and the TV shows we can’t stop watching (to name a few).

So far Google+ has focused on connecting people with other people. But we want to make sure you can build relationships with all the things you care about—from local businesses to global brands—so today we’re rolling out Google+ Pages worldwide.

A number of pages are already available (see below), but any organization will soon be able to join the community at plus.google.com/pages/create.

All American Rejects
Anderson Cooper 360
Angry Birds
Barcelona Football Club
Burberry
Dallas Cowboys
Fox News
Good Morning America
H&M
Macy's
Modelland
The Muppets*
Pepsi
Phoenix Suns
Save the Children
Toyota
Train
WWE
X Games
Zen Bikes

Direct Connect from Google search

People search on Google billions of times a day, and very often, they're looking for businesses and brands. Today's launch of Google+ Pages can help people transform their queries into meaningful connections, so we're rolling out two ways to add pages to circles from Google search. The first is by including Google+ pages in search results, and the second is a new feature called Direct Connect.

Maybe you're watching a movie trailer, or you just heard that your favorite band is coming to town. In both cases you want to connect with them right now, and Direct Connect makes it easy—even automatic. Just go to Google and search for [+], followed by the page you're interested in (like +Angry Birds). We'll take you to their Google+ page, and if you want, we’ll add them to your circles.

Direct Connect works for a limited number of pages today (like +Google, +Pepsi, and +Toyota), but many more are coming. In the meantime, organizations can learn more about Direct Connect in our Help Center.

The Official Google Blog

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 7th, 2011, 2:58 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 7th, 2011, 3:54 pm

HTC Edge leaks, has quad-core CPU, 4.7-inch 720p display

HTC announced the Rezound just last week, but it appears we might already know its successor: a PocketNow tipster leaked images of what could be the HTC Edge, and it's a beast. The Edge will reportedly have a quad-core, 1.5GHz Tegra 3 CPU and 1GB of RAM, to go along with a 4.7-inch display with 720p resolution, the same 8-megapixel, f/2.2 camera we've seen on the Nokia Lumia 800 and the HTC Amaze 4G, Beats Audio, and HTC's ubiquitous Sense skin. It sounds a lot like the Rezound, actually, but with a larger screen and a lot more horsepower.

PocketNow reports it will be out in the first half of next year, but didn't offer anything related to pricing or carrier availability. Looks like the Rezound just lost some of its luster — would you still buy one, knowing what could be around the corner?

The Verge

Postby S_2NR » November 7th, 2011, 3:56 pm

why are these devices getting bigger and bigger?
just now phones would have 5-6" screen.
its crazy.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 7th, 2011, 4:02 pm

my sentiments exactly. dont see myself owning a phone bigger than 4.3''

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 7th, 2011, 5:16 pm

just now your phone will be yuh ipod nd yuh tablet!! YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bigger screen ftmfw squared

Postby r3iXmann » November 7th, 2011, 5:17 pm

i like the bigger screens

big phone ftw

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 7th, 2011, 5:24 pm

yea, what pisses me off now is i have to carry around a laptop/tablet, ipod/ipad and a droid phone

when it all merges i go dance in teh rain

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » November 7th, 2011, 5:30 pm

^^^^
Asus Transformer Prime FTW

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 7th, 2011, 7:19 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Strauss wrote:

you mean "4g".

which other country in the world man hadda walk around with device in their pocket to get "4g"? a crying shame yes :roll:

Postby S_2NR » November 7th, 2011, 7:22 pm

whuttt..men bawling they want big phone. wtf.
allyu doh wear slim fit jeans.. :lol: