COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40889 cases, 1151 deaths, 5911 active, 33827 recovered in T&T

Postby Gladiator » August 11th, 2021, 10:52 pm

j.o.e wrote:Vaccines are here and available. I feel no sympathy for an unvaccinated adult

Its time to deny them free healthcare...

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40889 cases, 1151 deaths, 5911 active, 33827 recovered in T&T

Postby elec2020 » August 12th, 2021, 7:07 am

^ once they returning the taxes paid for those services then no problem.

Postby pete » August 12th, 2021, 11:09 am

It's not really about denying healthcare to unvaccinated people.

Now that it's becoming known that the vaccines only reduce the effects of the virus we could end up in situations where the parallel health care systems get filled to capacity and it may mean they have to resort to prioritising care to people with the greatest chance of survival which, could be the vaccinated.

Hopefully it never gets to that stage and everyone should do what they can to ensure they don't get it, if they do it's from limited exposure by wearing masks whenever around people outside their household and by getting vaccinated as soon as possible.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2021, 11:23 am

^ this. so while the unvaxxed are not intentionally being discriminated against, the outcome may end up looking the same. so if you are unvaxxed and >60 and ICUs full, you return home to 'die peacefully'.

Postby Habit7 » August 12th, 2021, 11:34 am

j.o.e wrote:Vaccines are here and available. I feel no sympathy for an unvaccinated adult

I fully agree with you. If you deactivate your airbag and cut out your seatbelts because "airbags and seatbelts might kill or injury you and they don't always work to save you in an accident" and you get in an accident and you are hurt or killed, you took your chances.

Postby MaxPower » August 12th, 2021, 1:08 pm

Discrimination and scorn among the unvaccinated is growing.

Postby hover11 » August 12th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Before it was PNM/UNC now it is the unvaccinated vs the vaccinated we just love segregation
MaxPower wrote:Discrimination and scorn among the unvaccinated is growing.

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2021, 4:56 pm

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar receives her first dose of AstraZeneca vaccine by Dr. Reshma Sonia Maharaj at the Divali Nagar, Chaguanas.

FB_IMG_1628801719576.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 12th, 2021, 5:09 pm

Link the lotto numbers dey..

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 12th, 2021, 5:12 pm

hover11 wrote:Before it was PNM/UNC now it is the unvaccinated vs the vaccinated we just love segregation
MaxPower wrote:Discrimination and scorn among the unvaccinated is growing.

give it two year and the vaccinated turn to zombies the unvaccinated will go level walking dead on their arse.
Screenshot-2021-05-25-at-1.09.43-PM.png

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 12th, 2021, 5:14 pm

318 cases 8 deaths.
Cases gonna reach 500 by Monday.

Postby adnj » August 12th, 2021, 5:25 pm

wtf wrote:318 cases 8 deaths.
Cases gonna reach 500 by Monday.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 12th, 2021, 5:29 pm

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 12th, 2021, 5:29 pm

K74T wrote:Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar receives her first dose of AstraZeneca vaccine by Dr. Reshma Sonia Maharaj at the Divali Nagar, Chaguanas.

FB_IMG_1628801719576.jpg

The hon Kamla leading the way and setting the right example. She didn't rush and gt because she is the opposition leader. She waited until all the vulnerable had an opportunity to get the vaccine and now that the Pfizer has arrived, she now takes the vaccine. This is what a leader does.

Postby hover11 » August 12th, 2021, 5:32 pm

6000 ppl SUPPOSED to be in home quarantine who monitoring them?
DMan7 wrote:Image

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2021, 5:55 pm

COVID Update:
• Tests: 285856 (+850)
• Cases: 41207 (+318)
• Active: 6015 (+104)
• Death: 1159 (+8)
• Recovery: 34033 (+206)
• Vaxxed (1st Dose): 438310 (+5504)
• Vaxxed (2nd Dose): 271653 (+16515)
• Mortality Rate: 2.8%
• Population Tested: 20.4%

The mortality rate went up.
Global mortality rate is 2% but in T&T it's now at 2.8%

Postby hover11 » August 12th, 2021, 5:59 pm

Almost 1000 cases in just 3 days
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:COVID Update:
• Tests: 285856 (+850)
• Cases: 41207 (+318)
• Active: 6015 (+104)
• Death: 1159 (+8)
• Recovery: 34033 (+206)
• Vaxxed (1st Dose): 438310 (+5504)
• Vaxxed (2nd Dose): 271653 (+16515)
• Mortality Rate: 2.8%
• Population Tested: 20.4%

The mortality rate went up.
Global mortality rate is 2% but in T&T it's now at 2.8%

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2021, 6:25 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
K74T wrote:Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar receives her first dose of AstraZeneca vaccine by Dr. Reshma Sonia Maharaj at the Divali Nagar, Chaguanas.

FB_IMG_1628801719576.jpg

The hon Kamla leading the way and setting the right example. She didn't rush and gt because she is the opposition leader. She waited until all the vulnerable had an opportunity to get the vaccine and now that the Pfizer has arrived, she now takes the vaccine. This is what a leader does.

she not over 60 as well? she would have qualified by age long time :roll: how she now taking it?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 12th, 2021, 6:30 pm

so if covid here to stay and will be around for now on you telling me that every time i get the flu i will have to take a pcr test of covid test and get 14-21 days home no matter if i get the normal flu, dengue, chick v, chicken pox or malju ?

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2021, 6:35 pm

daring dragoon wrote:so if covid here to stay and will be around for now on you telling me that every time i get the flu i will have to take a pcr test of covid test and get 14-21 days home no matter if i get the normal flu, dengue, chick v, chicken pox or malju ?

when enough ppl get immune either through vaccination or natural infection AND hospitalizations fall dramatically and stay so for months despite relaxation of all covid restrictions then perhaps not. that might be a couple years from now.

if u are a daily paid worker or with no paid sick leave best u go private and get results in 2 days rather than stay in quarantine for 21 days like a coworker of mine waiting for results. luck for him he has a monthly salary.
Last edited by redmanjp on August 12th, 2021, 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2021, 6:36 pm

probably, for a number of reasons, money making being one of them.

daring dragoon wrote:so if covid here to stay and will be around for now on you telling me that every time i get the flu i will have to take a pcr test of covid test and get 14-21 days home no matter if i get the normal flu, dengue, chick v, chicken pox or malju ?

Postby hover11 » August 12th, 2021, 6:37 pm

This is hoping that no new variants emerge
redmanjp wrote:

when enough ppl get immune either through vaccination or natural infection AND hospitalizations fall dramatically and stay so for months despite relaxation of all covid restrictions then perhaps not. that might be a couple years from now.

Postby timelapse » August 12th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Bathe a a dutty river and get jharay on the next new moon

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2021, 6:40 pm

hover11 wrote:This is hoping that no new variants emerge
redmanjp wrote:

that's why getting vaccinated asap is critical worldwide. wherever covid is spreading unchecked increases the chance of variants.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 12th, 2021, 9:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:

that's why getting vaccinated asap is critical worldwide. wherever covid is spreading unchecked increases the chance of variants.

Oh gosh man. I know I would've had to post this again

Herd immunity a ‘mythical’ goal that will never be reached, says Oxford vaccine head

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-heal ... d-vaccine/

Postby sMASH » August 12th, 2021, 9:22 pm

well, given that u can be immune to it and still spread it, then in this case yeah, its not all that. most u will get is heard immune to going to hospital

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 12th, 2021, 9:36 pm

sMASH wrote:well, given that u can be immune to it and still spread it, then in this case yeah, its not all that. most u will get is heard immune to going to hospital

Lol so True ...

The statement that Unvaccinated people are a danger is only half the truth ...

The real statement is ... Unvaccinated and Vaccinated people are a danger.
Since they are both spreaders.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 12th, 2021, 9:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2021, 9:45 pm

for arguments sake

if you take 100 vaxxed trinis and 100 unvaxxed trinis and let them loose in florida to be in a high covid environment
what would the outcomes of the two groups be ?

how many and how long would those in either group get covid for?
we know 2-3 of the unvaxxed will die for sure

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 12th, 2021, 9:48 pm

pugboy wrote:for arguments sake

if you take 100 vaxxed trinis and 100 unvaxxed trinis and let them loose in florida to be in a high covid environment
what would the outcomes of the two groups be ?

how many and how long would those in either group get covid for?
we know 2-3 of the unvaxxed will die for sure

Has a lot to do with age and the status of the person's immune system. Nothing will happen to healthy young people.