COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

BUG

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby BUG » August 8th, 2021, 2:56 pm

hover11 wrote:When schools reopen next month it will be very interesting, they couldn't keep the bathrooms clean, how are they going to disinfect the whole school daily ....would love to see that
pugboy wrote:the narrative keeps changing though
the initial talk was vaccines were created bill gates to control the world via nanobots in the injection powered by 5g
why did that talk go dead now ?

now the main talk is vaxxed persons can spread just as well so vaccines are not necessary

Anti vaxxers like hover and Carbon keep shifting the goalposts:
If it didn't come too quick, it killing yuh, if it eh killing yuh, it hah long term effects :roll:
Now that their positions have been debunked, the new approach seem to be "well eef you vaccinated, why yuh beating up about me for?" :roll:

It's been 18 months and you still don't know that surface transmission is almost nonexistent and "deep cleaning" is pure theatre to make people feel safer?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2021, 3:10 pm

That doesn't mean we simply disregard it please remember it has schools with only air conditioned classrooms , are we not sanitizing anymore in places like that or let the children come in the same ventilated rooms from yday
BUG wrote:
hover11 wrote:When schools reopen next month it will be very interesting, they couldn't keep the bathrooms clean, how are they going to disinfect the whole school daily ....would love to see that
the initial talk was vaccines were created bill gates to control the world via nanobots in the injection powered by 5g

now the main talk is vaxxed persons can spread just as well so vaccines are not necessary

If it didn't come too quick, it killing yuh, if it eh killing yuh, it hah long term effects :roll:
Now that their positions have been debunked, the new approach seem to be "well eef you vaccinated, why yuh beating up about me for?" :roll:

It's been 18 months and you still don't know that surface transmission is almost nonexistent and "deep cleaning" is pure theatre to make people feel safer?

Postby st7 » August 8th, 2021, 3:15 pm

hover11 wrote:That doesn't mean we simply disregard it please remember it has schools with only air conditioned classrooms , are we not sanitizing anymore in places like that or let the children come in the same ventilated rooms from yday
BUG wrote:

was there some announcement that classes were going to be resumed physically at schools again when the new term starts?

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2021, 3:19 pm

Primary school will be two days a week and secondary will be a shift will be in school every other day based on what they released
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:That doesn't mean we simply disregard it please remember it has schools with only air conditioned classrooms , are we not sanitizing anymore in places like that or let the children come in the same ventilated rooms from yday
BUG wrote:

was there some announcement that classes were going to be resumed physically at schools again when the new term starts?

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 3:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Compared to treatments....the vaccines are the better choice right? Or treatments work better? Need a good point to tell her. But she saying to me ..why they hiding the treatments and ppl dying.

Why can’t she use both . Tell her take the vaccine and use ivermectin too . It’s like my navara has a turbo . It can work quite well with the turbo but if you get to add a little extra umph then why not ?
She saying ivermectin is one of the safest drugs compared to the vaccine and was studied for years. What to say to that?

it could be safe but it's still not approved for treatment for covid- we don't have proper data from a large study to conclude it's effective -although smaller studies have shown some good effects. there was a shortage a few months ago. what happens if there is a shortage of ivermectin when she gets infected? especially when the delta variant comes and all the antivaxxers and vaccine hesitant rush for IVN?

the vaccines on the other hand have not only undergone large trials and proven to be effective- now half a year later hundreds of millions of ppl worldwide have taken them and it has shown real world effectiveness- and proven safe for 99.999% of ppl -it's only the 0.001% that have any serious adverse effect and any medicine will have rare adverse effects

so she should get vaccinated- right now depending on where she goes she has a choice between AZ and Sinopharm- and still take IVM if she wants. but prevention is better than cure and the vax only has to be taken twice, whereas ivm has to be taken regularly for prevention purposes
She said....Its only 6mths for testing, not even a yr.
Not every day u can take ivm. & its safe compared to chemicals used in vaccines.

Postby st7 » August 8th, 2021, 3:42 pm

hover11 wrote:Primary school will be two days a week and secondary will be a shift will be in school every other day based on what they released
st7 wrote:
BUG wrote:

haven't heard of that. i tried looking on the MOE fb page but i didnt find anything. can you source it for me?

Postby st7 » August 8th, 2021, 3:42 pm

aaron17 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Compared to treatments....the vaccines are the better choice right? Or treatments work better? Need a good point to tell her. But she saying to me ..why they hiding the treatments and ppl dying.

Why can’t she use both . Tell her take the vaccine and use ivermectin too . It’s like my navara has a turbo . It can work quite well with the turbo but if you get to add a little extra umph then why not ?
She saying ivermectin is one of the safest drugs compared to the vaccine and was studied for years. What to say to that?

it could be safe but it's still not approved for treatment for covid- we don't have proper data from a large study to conclude it's effective -although smaller studies have shown some good effects. there was a shortage a few months ago. what happens if there is a shortage of ivermectin when she gets infected? especially when the delta variant comes and all the antivaxxers and vaccine hesitant rush for IVN?

the vaccines on the other hand have not only undergone large trials and proven to be effective- now half a year later hundreds of millions of ppl worldwide have taken them and it has shown real world effectiveness- and proven safe for 99.999% of ppl -it's only the 0.001% that have any serious adverse effect and any medicine will have rare adverse effects

so she should get vaccinated- right now depending on where she goes she has a choice between AZ and Sinopharm- and still take IVM if she wants. but prevention is better than cure and the vax only has to be taken twice, whereas ivm has to be taken regularly for prevention purposes
She said....Its only 6mths for testing, not even a yr.
Not every day u can take ivm. & its safe compared to chemicals used in vaccines.

man, good luck with that lol

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40104 cases, 1129 deaths, 5966 active, 33009 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 3:48 pm

Bro i jus give up ...i have ah stand .idk what to do again nah...trust issues.who does have that situation here? Buh is best i live in a box...steups.

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2021, 3:52 pm

This was what TTUTA and ministry of education discussed on should release very soon. They wish to allow children from the age of 2 to wear a mask based on the CDC yet i see parents walking the streets with their children wearing no masks. This is a 54 page pdf I can't upload everything
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Primary school will be two days a week and secondary will be a shift will be in school every other day based on what they released
st7 wrote:
BUG wrote:

haven't heard of that. i tried looking on the MOE fb page but i didnt find anything. can you source it for me?
Screenshot_20210808-154913_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpg
Screenshot_20210808-154859_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpg
Screenshot_20210808-154723_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40104 cases, 1129 deaths, 5966 active, 33009 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 3:56 pm

She does visit her old folks everyday...who does not want to be vaccinated. But she claim she is wearing mask...social distancing etc. I believe her but there is always a crack in the defences where everything falls apart. I told her about it...the best thing to spread less of the virus is less visits..but she dont want to listen.
I told her my reason to not go by them because i dont want to be guilty...god forbid.

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2021, 4:03 pm

hover11 wrote:This was what TTUTA and ministry of education discussed on should release very soon. They wish to allow children from the age of 2 to wear a mask based on the CDC yet i see parents walking the streets with their children wearing no masks. This is a 54 page pdf I can't upload everything
st7 wrote:

Screenshot_20210808-154723_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpgScreenshot_20210808-154859_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpgScreenshot_20210808-154913_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpg[/quote]

above the age of two. two or less, no. and this is a school policy- not law. so while it may become school policy for 3 years and up to wear masks in the school compound, it doesn't apply to children in the street where the law says 8 and up must wear masks.

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 4:14 pm

When a full.vaccinated person get covid..do they still have to be treated by a doc?

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2021, 4:20 pm

st7 wrote:
BUG wrote:

There haven't been any announcements beyond online classes that I am aware of for Term I 2021. The only thing that MoE has mentioned recently is teacher vaccinations.

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2021, 4:38 pm

aaron17 wrote:When a full.vaccinated person get covid..do they still have to be treated by a doc?

hardly likely. a panadol and some rest might be enough. the vaccine induced antibodies will do the rest. only if someone very old or have severe NCDs or immunocompromised then they may not have enough protection and can end up in hospital, but it's like 1 % of hospitalized patients are vaxxed. but i doh know the stats for the sinopharm vax.
Last edited by redmanjp on August 8th, 2021, 6:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Country_Bookie » August 8th, 2021, 5:26 pm

aaron17 wrote:Bro i jus give up ...i have ah stand .idk what to do again nah...trust issues.who does have that situation here? Buh is best i live in a box...steups.
You're in a tough spot there bro. I think the best thing u can do now is tell her it's a personal decision and it's obvious that you both have different views on the vaccine. You can't force her to take it but likewise she should not force you not to take it. If I were in your shoes I'd even consider taking it and not telling her ...... just make sure to hide your immunization card lol.

We all have persons like that in our families. My mother in law gets anxiety attacks every time we bring up the topic because her head is filled with nonsense from anti vaxxers on WhatsApp. She rather believe in them rather than the doctors in the family who have worked at mass vaccination sites and seen thousands vaccinated. Plus many other family members including her husband got the shot months ago. Some ppl are just going to remain anchored to their belief no matter how much evidence you give them that the vaccine is safe and is for their own benefit. Similar to what we see from the anti vaxxers on this same thread.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 8th, 2021, 5:47 pm

If you living with an Anti Vaxx the best thing you can do for them is get vaccinated

You will reduce the chance of you giving it to her

Also if things turn for worse at least the kids will have one parent
aaron17 wrote:When a full.vaccinated person get covid..do they still have to be treated by a doc?

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 6:05 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Bro i jus give up ...i have ah stand .idk what to do again nah...trust issues.who does have that situation here? Buh is best i live in a box...steups.
You're in a tough spot there bro. I think the best thing u can do now is tell her it's a personal decision and it's obvious that you both have different views on the vaccine. You can't force her to take it but likewise she should not force you not to take it. If I were in your shoes I'd even consider taking it and not telling her ...... just make sure to hide your immunization card lol.

We all have persons like that in our families. My mother in law gets anxiety attacks every time we bring up the topic because her head is filled with nonsense from anti vaxxers on WhatsApp. She rather believe in them rather than the doctors in the family who have worked at mass vaccination sites and seen thousands vaccinated. Plus many other family members including her husband got the shot months ago. Some ppl are just going to remain anchored to their belief no matter how much evidence you give them that the vaccine is safe and is for their own benefit. Similar to what we see from the anti vaxxers on this same thread.
Noted.

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 6:06 pm

Bros..is this real ? Inhalable vaccine?

She rather take that...

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Convidecia

Apparently it went through phase 3 trials?
And can be used for emergency use?

Postby Kenjo » August 8th, 2021, 6:25 pm

aaron17 wrote:Bros..is this real ? Inhalable vaccine?

She rather take that...

What’s her logic behind the mode or delivery though , is she just afraid of injections ? It absorbs through her mucus membranes anyway and goes into get blood

Postby st7 » August 8th, 2021, 6:52 pm

hover11 wrote:This was what TTUTA and ministry of education discussed on should release very soon. They wish to allow children from the age of 2 to wear a mask based on the CDC yet i see parents walking the streets with their children wearing no masks. This is a 54 page pdf I can't upload everything
st7 wrote:
st7 wrote:
BUG wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Anti vaxxers like hover and Carbon keep shifting the goalposts:

Screenshot_20210808-154723_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpgScreenshot_20210808-154859_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpgScreenshot_20210808-154913_Acrobat%20for%20Samsung.jpg

breds, you said they released something (official) and what you shared are screenshots of a draft proposal...

you are keen on making statements to suit your agenda.

Postby bluefete » August 8th, 2021, 6:54 pm

Kenjo wrote:

She rather take that...

What’s her logic behind the mode or delivery though , is she just afraid of injections ? It absorbs through her mucus membranes anyway and goes into get blood

That might be the issue right there. Fear of injections so she is looking for another alternative.

Postby bluefete » August 8th, 2021, 7:07 pm

129/8

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2021, 7:27 pm

some rather interesting news on my end(scratches head). One of my friends(MD) in SGGH tested + for the virus. She is fully vaccinated with the AZ. Today is day 2 since testing, she has the cough and fever. Would update accordingly

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2021, 7:28 pm

Projected causes of death in Trinidad and Tobago
January 1, to December 1, 2021

Coronary Heart Disease 1,956
Covid-19 1761
Diabetes Mellitus 1,702
Stroke 1,007
Violence 529

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2021, 7:41 pm

Source ?
What about flu?

adnj wrote:Projected causes of death in Trinidad and Tobago

Covid-19 1761
Diabetes Mellitus 1,702
Stroke 1,007
Violence 529

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 8th, 2021, 7:59 pm

adnj wrote:Projected causes of death in Trinidad and Tobago

Covid-19 1761
Diabetes Mellitus 1,702
Stroke 1,007
Violence 529

And the only one that is highly contagious there is Covid-19

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2021, 8:22 pm

Question when someone especially in a hospital catches the virus like his friend do they quarantine even if fully vaccinated like a 2 or 3 days nothing substantial ?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:some rather interesting news on my end(scratches head). One of my friends(MD) in SGGH tested + for the virus. She is fully vaccinated with the AZ. Today is day 2 since testing, she has the cough and fever. Would update accordingly

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2021, 8:31 pm

hover11 wrote:Question when someone especially in a hospital catches the virus like his friend do they quarantine even if fully vaccinated like a 2 or 3 days nothing substantial ?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:some rather interesting news on my end(scratches head). One of my friends(MD) in SGGH tested + for the virus. She is fully vaccinated with the AZ. Today is day 2 since testing, she has the cough and fever. Would update accordingly

once you covid+ yes, even if u have any flu like symptoms while vaxxed u still need to quarantine.

as for being a contact of a +ve person, the CDC says u don't have to if vaxxed, unless u develop symptoms. not sure about here, probably still have to especially since we are expecting the arrival of Mr. Delta with open arms.

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 8:35 pm

Kenjo wrote:

She rather take that...

She told me it is safer than the vaccines.

Minion_Stuart

Postby Minion_Stuart » August 8th, 2021, 8:44 pm

Serious Ivermectin Toxicity and Human ABCB1 Nonsense Mutations
In some breeds of dogs such as collies, which are homozygotes for a nonsense mutation in ABCB1, and in Abcb1-knockout mice, ivermectin induces neurologic disorders that can be fatal.2,3 Few cases of neurologic disorders after ivermectin treatment have been reported in humans, and data are lacking on such a deleterious mutation in the human gene ABCB1.4
We report the case of a 13-year-old boy admitted to the pediatric intensive care unit for impaired consciousness. He had received a single oral dose of ivermectin (0.23 mg per kilogram of body weight) to prevent scabies infection 2 hours 30 minutes before the onset of impaired consciousness. His condition worsened 6 hours after he received ivermectin, with persistent neurologic signs, including coma, ataxia, pyramidal signs, and binocular diplopia, as well as abdominal pain and vomiting. He was monitored for 48 hours; during this period, he had a fluctuating Glasgow score and normal results on paraclinical tests. He fully recovered after 48 hours (see the Supplementary Data 1 section in the Supplementary Appendix, available with the full text of this letter at NEJM.org).
The loss of ABCB1 activity in the child would have resulted in a failure of brain protection and probably would have induced high exposure of the central nervous system to ivermectin and the toxic effects observed.We describe two human ABCB1 nonsense mutations associated with a loss of function in a patient who had an adverse reaction to ivermectin after the administration of a usual dose. The seriousness of the intoxication in the child implies that caution is warranted regarding medical prescriptions of ivermectin and other ABCB1 substrates
Last edited by Minion_Stuart on August 8th, 2021, 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.