COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: ALL retail will be opened from 16th and Lotto on 9th August

Postby De Dragon » August 7th, 2021, 12:23 pm

Villa? Asking for another friend.........

Postby Kenjo » August 7th, 2021, 12:26 pm

De Dragon wrote:Villa? Asking for another friend.........

Those places never closed

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2021, 12:27 pm

Kenjo wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Villa? Asking for another friend.........

Those places never closed

OMG ! It was a secreto ..

Now prices will go up :roll:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby Kenjo » August 7th, 2021, 12:34 pm

goalpost wrote:We continue to be wrong side. Cases were less than 10 last year March but we lock away. Cases were in 100s late 2020/ early 2021 we palancing. We lock down halfway in April 2021 and obviously Cases not fully dropping. Now there is a threat of delta variant we going and Palance again.

What is the solution instead ?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2021, 12:36 pm

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
BUG wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Does trinidad and Tobago have a fact checker site? Cause I cant keep telling ppl over and over stuff

What is this in reference to?

I wanna know what caused the spike in deaths..ppl say its the vaccine but I heard someone in here said its the new variant that triggered it. Wanna confirm

You would see an increase in cases before. The past 4 months was due to the Gamma or P1 variant.
You can not know if the cause of the spike was the prevalence of the Gamma variant without a study of random samples of the positive tests at a given point in time. You can only know that Gamma has been found to have been community transmitted.

You are attempting to provide a simple explanation to a complex problem but there isn't one.

Look at all of the available influencing factors such as mobility, social distancing, masking, prior infection, and vaccine delivery and all that you can know is that not enough has been done to slow the current rate of infection.

https://sta.uwi.edu/news/releases/release.asp?id=22268

Re: ALL retail will be opened from Monday 16th August ...

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2021, 12:41 pm

death365 wrote:What's d 1st mark to play?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 7th, 2021, 12:42 pm

Retail opening because Schools opening in September and Parents need to get clothes and shoes etc...

Postby hover11 » August 7th, 2021, 12:44 pm

You honestly believe school reopening physically lol
DMan7 wrote:Retail opening because Schools opening in September and Parents need to get clothes and shoes etc...

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2021, 12:44 pm

^ masks fines are what $1000 ? increase that to 2 or $3000. Limit visitors to homes to 5. Do a survey of the reasons why 3/4 of the population still hasn't decided to get vaccinated despite wide availability and dispel and debunk all misinformation.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 7th, 2021, 12:51 pm

hover11 wrote:You honestly believe school reopening physically lol
DMan7 wrote:Retail opening because Schools opening in September and Parents need to get clothes and shoes etc...

Schools have already been sent a draft school re-opening policy document for September 2021, it's happening.

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2021, 12:51 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
BUG wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Does trinidad and Tobago have a fact checker site? Cause I cant keep telling ppl over and over stuff

I wanna know what caused the spike in deaths..ppl say its the vaccine but I heard someone in here said its the new variant that triggered it. Wanna confirm

You would see an increase in cases before. The past 4 months was due to the Gamma or P1 variant.
You can not know if the cause of the spike was the prevalence of the Gamma variant without a study of random samples of the positive tests at a given point in time. You can only know that Gamma has been found to have been community transmitted.

You are attempting to provide a simple explanation to a complex problem but there isn't one.

Look at all of the available influencing factors such as mobility, social distancing, masking, prior infection, and vaccine delivery and all that you can know is that not enough has been done to slow the current rate of infection.

thanks for the info

Postby Rovin » August 7th, 2021, 12:52 pm

at least d govt give a wk's notice unlike last time

i got some stuff to do around d house b4 work start back , gotta retrain myself to go sleep\wake up earlier

next mth might be budget day so waiting to see what more presha govt gonna put we under .... everybody done ketching dey ass over d past 15mths

Postby hover11 » August 7th, 2021, 1:04 pm

They also sent out a similar draft last year but that didn't work out either....our population is less than 20 percent vaccinated you really think they would reopen a massive super spreader like schools within less than a month
DMan7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:You honestly believe school reopening physically lol

Schools have already been sent a draft school re-opening policy document for September 2021, it's happening.

Postby supercharged turbo » August 7th, 2021, 1:07 pm

De Dragon wrote:Bars? Asking for a friend.........
Don't some bars carry a spirit RETAILER license?

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2021, 1:07 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
BUG wrote:

The CMO had stated that Gamma is now the dominant variant. So they must have done enough sampling to say that. In addition to that we noticed a shift away from men being 75 % of all deaths to about 60% or so as well as a higher % of young ppl becoming severely ill. All this points to a difference in the strain.

Postby bluefete » August 7th, 2021, 1:09 pm

hover11 wrote:They also sent out a similar draft last year but that didn't work out either....our population is less than 20 percent vaccinated you really think they would reopen a massive super spreader like schools within less than a month

Is PNM. That should answer your question.

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2021, 1:18 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Bars? Asking for a friend.........
Don't some bars carry a spirit RETAILER license?

Most that would do is allow them to sell but as grab and go.

Mask off indoor congregating is the LAST thing you want to allow in a pandemic.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 7th, 2021, 1:44 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
BUG wrote:

I agree partially but you can attribute the spike in April/May almost solely due to the Gamma/P1/Brazilian variant. Reason being around Xmas there was far more liming and 'freeing up' than there was in March/April. Yet xmas there wasn't a spike, in fact cases continued to dip.

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2021, 1:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
BUG wrote:

The CMO had stated that Gamma is now the dominant variant. So they must have done enough sampling to say that. In addition to that we noticed a shift away from men being 75 % of all deaths to about 60% or so as well as a higher % of young ppl becoming severely ill. All this points to a difference in the strain.

I don't know what you read but this was in print:

"County Medical Officer of Health Dr Tiffany Hoyte said the Brazil variant is contributing to an increase in cases on the island."

Present? Yes.
Contributory? Yes
Dominant? Without random sampling of the positive samples, that conclusion cannot be drawn.

Unless the testing was done, Gamma is prevalent, and no press release was published.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/27/contag ... in-tobago/

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2021, 2:17 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
BUG wrote:

I agree partially but you can attribute the spike in April/May almost solely due to the Gamma/P1/Brazilian variant. Reason being around Xmas there was far more liming and 'freeing up' than there was in March/April. Yet xmas there wasn't a spike, in fact cases continued to dip.
You actually cannot come to that conclusion. Epidemics flare up and burn out unexpectedly. You don't have enough information to make definitive statements.

I concede that what you propose is entirely possible but I defy you to provide conclusive evidence.

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2021, 2:39 pm

Amazon FTW

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 7th, 2021, 2:48 pm

It's only a matter of time that a huge outbreak occurs but PNM have no choice because people have no money so they have to reopen the various sectors.
I read an article that says most of the people in the hospital in the UK are those who are vaccinated but have become infected with the Delta variant. I highly doubt this Sinopharm Chinese Sausage vaccine gonna protect us against that variant..

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 7th, 2021, 2:53 pm

I don't think sending kids to school Is a wise choice. To me numbers still high and with the delta variant it could go south really fast.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 7th, 2021, 2:56 pm

So it is actually possible for things to reopen with bald head giving a long winded press conference???????

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 7th, 2021, 3:01 pm

A July 23 technical briefing from the government agency Public Health England found that 229,218 delta variant cases were recorded between Feb. 1 and July 19. Of these cases, 7,790, or 3.4%, of the total recorded infections resulted in hospitalization.

Of these 7,790 hospitalizations, 4,853 or 62.3%, of people were unvaccinated, aligning with the 60% Vallance mentioned.

The breakdown for the remaining nearly 40% went like this:

1,101 (14.1%) had received both doses

1,148 (14.7%) were at least 21 days past their first dose

608 (7.8%) were fewer than 21 days past their first dose

80 (1%) of the samples sequenced could not be matched to someone.

What all that means is that roughly 0.48% of people who tested positive for COVID-19, and had been fully vaccinated in the U.K., had to be hospitalized.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 7th, 2021, 3:05 pm

Spike was because Brazilian variant (which came because the pnm failed to secure the borders) can spread in sunlight. The presence of that variant mixed with the tobago super spreader event (all on the pnm because the number of boat trips and flights were purposefully increased) caused over 1000 deaths and counting.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 7th, 2021, 3:10 pm

I got called yesterday to come for my AZ 2nd shot on Monday. I hope I don't have to deal with a mass of people rushing for AZ 1st shots.

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2021, 3:24 pm

wtf wrote:It's only a matter of time that a huge outbreak occurs but PNM have no choice because people have no money so they have to reopen the various sectors.
I read an article that says most of the people in the hospital in the UK are those who are vaccinated but have become infected with the Delta variant. I highly doubt this Sinopharm Chinese Sausage vaccine gonna protect us against that variant..
Not Real News: Inaccurate data spreads about COVID hospitalizations in UK

CLAIM: Sixty percent of people being admitted to the hospital for COVID-19 in England have had two doses of coronavirus vaccine.

THE FACTS: The opposite is true. Sixty percent of people who are hospitalized with COVID-19 in the United Kingdom are unvaccinated.

https://www.berkshireeagle.com/ap/factc ... 8bfbb.html

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2021, 3:26 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Spike was because Brazilian variant (which came because the pnm failed to secure the borders) can spread in sunlight. The presence of that variant mixed with the tobago super spreader event (all on the pnm because the number of boat trips and flights were purposefully increased) caused over 1000 deaths and counting.
.....Image

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 7th, 2021, 3:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:A July 23 technical briefing from the government agency Public Health England found that 229,218 delta variant cases were recorded between Feb. 1 and July 19. Of these cases, 7,790, or 3.4%, of the total recorded infections resulted in hospitalization.

Of these 7,790 hospitalizations, 4,853 or 62.3%, of people were unvaccinated, aligning with the 60% Vallance mentioned.

The breakdown for the remaining nearly 40% went like this:

1,101 (14.1%) had received both doses

1,148 (14.7%) were at least 21 days past their first dose

608 (7.8%) were fewer than 21 days past their first dose

80 (1%) of the samples sequenced could not be matched to someone.

What all that means is that roughly 0.48% of people who tested positive for COVID-19, and had been fully vaccinated in the U.K., had to be hospitalized.
Are you taking the Sinopharm vaccine bro?