COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Mmoney607

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Postby Mmoney607 » July 23rd, 2021, 10:48 am

teems1 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Also PariaMan

This is more than just a virus eh.

This is a test of how much freedoms people willing to give up. So go ahead and muzzle yourself literally and figuratively.

Banning people for 'wrongthink' is exactly the kinda mentality that gave rise to Nazi-ism.
We cannot have people walking around as disease spreaders impacting other people's health.

Your rights stop where it infringes on someone's else's.

So what you think should be done with unvaccinated people?

Postby paid_influencer » July 23rd, 2021, 10:52 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Although I am vaccinated, I am still taking all the same precautions that I did before getting the vaccine.

this is a very good idea bro. I look at it as an additional layer of armor while being in a warzone.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 23rd, 2021, 10:52 am

^ duh shut them out from society. They obviously don't care about the vaccinated so the biggest threat to society (the unvaccinated) should all lose their rights to freedom of movement, enjoyment of property, etc.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2021, 10:53 am

If some ppl had their way they would take the kim Jong Un approach, kill all opposed
Mmoney607 wrote:
teems1 wrote:

This is a test of how much freedoms people willing to give up. So go ahead and muzzle yourself literally and figuratively.

Banning people for 'wrongthink' is exactly the kinda mentality that gave rise to Nazi-ism.
We cannot have people walking around as disease spreaders impacting other people's health.

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2021, 10:53 am

hover11 wrote:Vaccines not gonna save you from dying, when it's your time it's your time, the most you can do is protect yourself as much as you can ....wear a mask sanitize etc, look at the teachers who Dr.Rowley is disappointed in for not taking the vaccine, what are you going to beat them to take it, you can't force ppl at the end of the day unless you make mandatory law
teems1 wrote:
hover11 wrote:The covid vaccine has managed to bring even more division amongst us as a people...

If it's not unc vs pnm it's Indian vs negroes. If it's not rich vs poor it's vaccinated vs unvaccinated..

We just seem to gravitate towards anything that brews hate and discrimination...
It's a public health issue.

If I were to put you in an unventilated room with someone who has smallpox you'd scream bloody murder.

Why is it ok to be vaccinated against smallpox but not covid?

What mortality rate is acceptable to you?

You still haven't answered the question though.

Covid has a 2% mortality rate, and even higher amongst those more vulnerable (elderly with co morbidities).

If you were in Rowley's shoes at what point would you make it mandatory? 5%? 10% 25%?

Postby adnj » July 23rd, 2021, 10:54 am

hover11 wrote:The covid vaccine has managed to bring even more division amongst us as a people...

If it's not unc vs pnm it's Indian vs negroes. If it's not rich vs poor it's vaccinated vs unvaccinated..

We just seem to gravitate towards anything that brews hate and discrimination...

Nothing that you listed is a communicable disease.

No one is being forced to take a vaccine. No one is sending anyone to concentration camps or gas chambers.

But if you choose not to vaccinate, you might not:

· Get permission to fly
· Be offered employment
· Be able to work in an air conditioned office
· Work with at-risk patients
· Attend in-person classes
· Serve on the President's security detail
· Go to the fete
· Attend a wedding, etc.

No one is making anyone do anything. Governments, companies and private citizens will likely prevent the non-vaccinated from participation in many things.

That's the choice that is being presented.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2021, 10:58 am

Take notes eh
IMG-20210723-WA0006.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » July 23rd, 2021, 10:58 am

elec2020 wrote:^ duh shut them out from society. They obviously don't care about the vaccinated so the biggest threat to society (the unvaccinated) should all lose their rights to freedom of movement, enjoyment of property, etc.

maybe just keep them away from the very vulnerable, including places of employment that cater to the very sick (hospitals), the confined (prison service), or the elderly (old-age homes).
Last edited by paid_influencer on July 23rd, 2021, 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2021, 10:58 am

For a virus that has a 2 percent mortality rate and only EXPERIMENTAL vaccines offered I wouldn't make it mandatory at no time unless under exigent circumstances because if any unforseen complications in the not too distant future occur to my ppl because or these vaccines that will also be on my hands.... Dammed if you do Dammed if you don't
teems1 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Vaccines not gonna save you from dying, when it's your time it's your time, the most you can do is protect yourself as much as you can ....wear a mask sanitize etc, look at the teachers who Dr.Rowley is disappointed in for not taking the vaccine, what are you going to beat them to take it, you can't force ppl at the end of the day unless you make mandatory law
teems1 wrote:

If I were to put you in an unventilated room with someone who has smallpox you'd scream bloody murder.

Covid has a 2% mortality rate, and even higher amongst those more vulnerable (elderly with co morbidities).

If you were in Rowley's shoes at what point would you make it mandatory? 5%? 10% 25%?

Postby Habit7 » July 23rd, 2021, 10:59 am

Bajans urged to take Sinopharm
Article by
Barry Alleyne

It’s time to stop playing the vaccination waiting game, warns Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic.

He said Barbados had the finance to buy enough vaccines to inoculate everyone on the island, but citizens and residents needed to come forward and take whichever medicine was available at this stage.

The minister said some Barbadians seemed reluctant to take the Chinese-manufactured Sinopharm vaccine, and were instead waiting to take the Pfizer, Moderna and even Johnson & Johnson vaccines when they do become available here.

Co-coordinator of the National Vaccine Programme, Major David Clarke, said yesterday that only 2 332 inoculations with Sinopharm had been conducted since it was rolled out through the National Vaccination Programme on July 13, a daily average rate of just 233. In stark contrast, 16 000 Barbadians were vaccinated with AstraZeneca in its first ten days of availability in February. (BA)

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/23/b ... sinopharm/

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:00 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
teems1 wrote:

The same thing that has been done for decades since vaccines were invented.

If you don't have your measles, mumps, rubella, diphtheria, pertussis, tuberculosis etc vaccines you violate many schools or universities entry policies. To work at job sites like offshore rigs you need to be fully vaxxed.

If you don't have your yellow fever shot you can't visit other countries even in the Caribbean.

These aren't new regulations. They've been around for many years so why is it all of a sudden adding Covid to the list is infringing on freedoms?

Postby paid_influencer » July 23rd, 2021, 11:03 am

hover11, the IFR is closer to 0.3%. The CFR is about 2% because we don't detect every case of sars-2-cov infection (asymptomatic, presymptomatic, or mildly syptomatic).

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 23rd, 2021, 11:03 am

hover11 wrote:For a virus that has a 2 percent mortality rate and only EXPERIMENTAL vaccines offered I wouldn't make it mandatory at no time unless under exigent circumstances because if any unforseen complications in the not too distant future occur to my ppl because or these vaccines that will also be on my hands.... Dammed if you do Dammed if you don't
teems1 wrote:

The mortality rate varies by country/locations- it's not fixed at 2%, depending on the actions taken in response to the spread. That 2% is likely a simplified average, so drill down into the data, look at the countries with the highest mortality rates and compare with the lower ones. See what the commonalites and differentiating factors are.

https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/data/mortality

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:06 am

teems1 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
teems1 wrote:

If you don't have your measles, mumps, rubella, diphtheria, pertussis, tuberculosis etc vaccines you violate many schools or universities entry policies. To work at job sites like offshore rigs you need to be fully vaxxed.

If you don't have your yellow fever shot you can't visit other countries even in the Caribbean.

These aren't new regulations. They've been around for many years so why is it all of a sudden adding Covid to the list is infringing on freedoms?

So why all those things you mentioned benn done around the world as yet? You comparing viruses that have been around for thousands of years with one that has been around for 18 months. It's still uncertain what will happen with covid.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:06 am

Never in the history of vaccinations has it had a time where I can't work because I'm not vaccinated or I can't buy or sell because I'm not vaccinated that is where you draw the line
teems1 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
teems1 wrote:

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:07 am

hover11 wrote:For a virus that has a 2 percent mortality rate and only EXPERIMENTAL vaccines offered I wouldn't make it mandatory at no time unless under exigent circumstances because if any unforseen complications in the not too distant future occur to my ppl because or these vaccines that will also be on my hands.... Dammed if you do Dammed if you don't
teems1 wrote:

Again you dodge the question and answer trying to shift the conversation to another direction. What mortality rate is required before you make it mandatory?

Also Coronaviruses have been on the radar for years and researchers have been working on vaccines for them. SARS outbreak in 2003 and MERS outbreak in 2012 belong the coronavirus family.

Therefore any research into Covid19 doesn't have to start from scratch as there is existing data to work with.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:15 am

adnj wrote:

No one is being forced to take a vaccine. No one is sending anyone to concentration camps or gas chambers.

· Get permission to fly
· Be offered employment
· Go to the fete
· Attend a wedding, etc.

No one is making anyone do anything. Governments, companies and private citizens will likely prevent the non-vaccinated from participation in many things.

Um if i didn't know better, by stripping away these rights it appears that Governments indirectly forcing you to take the vaccine. So your statement "no one is being forced to take a vaccine," is incorrect.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:16 am

The mortality rate I would use is 30 percent because I know it will never reach that level....if I have to make this vaccine mandatory remember that ppl have to make choices these are adults , everyone entitled to their own choices, now you see when u create mandatory vaccines what you do there is create an underground need, just like trinis were able to get fast food during lock down how hard is it to get fake immunization card or test just to get the job, enter a restaurant or movies a guy in Chaguanas is already doing this and people are paying good money
teems1 wrote:

Again you dodge the question and answer trying to shift the conversation to another direction. What mortality rate is required before you make it mandatory?

Also Coronaviruses have been on the radar for years and researchers have been working on vaccines for them. SARS outbreak in 2003 and MERS outbreak in 2012 belong the coronavirus family.

Therefore any research into Covid19 doesn't have to start from scratch as there is existing data to work with.

Postby aaron17 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:28 am

This covid making me rethink of life after death and religion. We all have to die someday. The confusing scenario is we can do what is possible in science and logic healthwise...... but when we cannot do things like cure incurable diseases etc , we leave it up to God and His choice. So when he ready for yuh , dais it day.
Last edited by aaron17 on July 23rd, 2021, 11:30 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby redmanjp » July 23rd, 2021, 11:29 am

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:

· Get permission to fly
· Be offered employment
· Go to the fete
· Attend a wedding, etc.

Um if i didn't know better, by stripping away these rights it appears that Governments indirectly forcing you to take the vaccine. So your statement "no one is being forced to take a vaccine," is incorrect.

but many of those things are ALREADY restricted- and would continue to be restricted anyway if the govt or businesses are not requiring or encouraging ppl to get vaccinated e.g. right now NO ONE can go to any fete, attend in person classes, work in a non-essential business.

think about it like this- no one would have these rights if very few got vaccinated- getting the shot would allow you to have more freedom and allow more high risk sectors to open up safely if limited to vaccinated ppl in the first instance - of course when we reach herd immunity and cases go down then yoy can remove the restriction and allow anyone vaccinated or not.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:31 am

Exactly but some ppl think this vaccine gonna save them at all costs from death, there are millions that got covid and survived , some died unfortunately , the difference : like you said when is your time it's your time
aaron17 wrote:This covid making me rethink of life after death and religion. We all have to die someday. The confusing scenario is we can do what is possible in science and logic but when we cannot do things like cure incurable diseases etc , we leave it up to God and His choice. So when he ready for yuh , dais it day.

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:35 am

hover11 wrote:The mortality rate I would use is 30 percent because I know it will never reach that level....if I have to make this vaccine mandatory remember that ppl have to make choices these are adults , everyone entitled to their own choices, now you see when u create mandatory vaccines what you do there is create an underground need, just like trinis were able to get fast food during lock down how hard is it to get fake immunization card or test just to get the job, enter a restaurant or movies a guy in Chaguanas is already doing this and people are paying good money
teems1 wrote:

You do know smallpox had an approximately 30% mortality rate, and ruined entire regions across Africa and South Asia.

Every decision has consequences.

You choose not to take the vaccine, you willingly make yourself into a potential walking petri dish so you have to deal with the consequences of being one.

Postby aaron17 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:38 am

How long u think the FDA should take to approve fully the vaccines? ( I am not sure about China)

Postby paid_influencer » July 23rd, 2021, 11:42 am

if you are a vaxxed healthy adult tho, you have very little to fear from that "walking petri dish" (aka the unvaxxed). some of the policies suggested seem punitive for no reason, imo.

Postby aaron17 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:44 am

paid_influencer wrote:if you are a vaxxed healthy adult tho, you have very little to fear from that "walking petri dish" (aka the unvaxxed). some of the policies suggested seem punitive for no reason, imo.

Well the only way to determine if you are really healthy is to get evaluated by a doctor.

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:48 am

paid_influencer wrote:if you are a vaxxed healthy adult tho, you have very little to fear from that "walking petri dish" (aka the unvaxxed). some of the policies suggested seem punitive for no reason, imo.

Think of how many toddlers/children live in the same house or see their grandparents daily.

The elderly in Trinidad are riddled with comorbidities. Diabetes, hypertension, high/low blood pressure, cardiac issues, kidney issues etc.

It's a recipe for disaster.

Vaccination helps the spread but it isn't perfect. The more people vaccinated, even with the less effective Sinopharm, the better.

Postby MaxPower » July 23rd, 2021, 11:48 am

Vaccinated Trinis blasting the unvaccinated and neither of them following the protocols correctly.

Set of jokers yes.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2021, 11:49 am

Pfizer hoping by early 2022 would be funny of the FDA doesn't approve half these vaccines I don't have a problem taking the vaccine however any complication in the future because of such I want someone to hold liability. If you took a drug prescription from your doctor and you ended up paralyzed because of such would you not seek compensation ?
aaron17 wrote:How long u think the FDA should take to approve fully the vaccines? ( I am not sure about China)

Postby aaron17 » July 23rd, 2021, 12:06 pm

The narrative is: get vaccinated 'now' to open up our livelihood and economy and disregard what gonna pop up later down the road when taking the vaccines? And yuh cant sue no one

Postby adnj » July 23rd, 2021, 12:08 pm

aaron17 wrote:How long u think the FDA should take to approve fully the vaccines? ( I am not sure about China)
It takes about one year after applications are submitted for standard approval. Pfizer and Moderna submitted recently. Novavax plans to submit in the third-quarter 2021.

Vaccine manufacturers (and every qualified provider) have protection from damage claims due to the CARES Act in the USA until at least October 2024.
Last edited by adnj on July 23rd, 2021, 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.