Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

metalgear2095

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby metalgear2095 » March 18th, 2015, 8:32 pm

People that are having problems..how old are your cars?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » March 18th, 2015, 9:16 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:A manual conversion would be a cheaper option for me if mech fails.....or.2.0tsi conversion and done yes

now that is ah plan :twisted::twisted::twisted::twisted::twisted::twisted:

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » March 18th, 2015, 9:20 pm

Metalgear2095

My car is 2.75 years old...problems with water pump started at 3 months old..then my mechatronic failed at 2 years..

Still a wonderful car though..

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 18th, 2015, 9:33 pm

kingskid wrote:Yes boy! The new way to cuss ah man is to tell him "why yuh ain buy a jetter" :grin:

:grin: :grin:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 18th, 2015, 10:18 pm

kingskid wrote:
drchaos wrote:urm ... my car still works really well, no mechanical issues. doing 40,000 Km.
only issues was gas tank flap didn't want to open while at gas station then worked when i got home, small part changed by BA and one of the springs back seat drop down lever went out of place, fixed by BA.

Its normal human behavior for people to say the world is coming to an end when an acorn falls on your head.

LOL lol
My boy is ah sack of potatoes that fall on people. Want to exchange cars.

How big ah sack we talking here?

neexis

Postby neexis » March 19th, 2015, 6:51 am

drchaos wrote:
kingskid wrote:
LOL lol
My boy is ah sack of potatoes that fall on people. Want to exchange cars.

How big ah sack we talking here?

Everything that could go wrong with his car went wrong.... twice

Postby aaron17 » March 19th, 2015, 7:05 am

Reminds me of Jeremy Clarkson's top gear saying .."What if?"

at 8:06 mins in the video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvKKjz0VjAM

drchaos wrote:urm ... my car still works really well, no mechanical issues. doing 40,000 Km.
only issues was gas tank flap didn't want to open while at gas station then worked when i got home, small part changed by BA and one of the springs back seat drop down lever went out of place, fixed by BA.

Its normal human behavior for people to say the world is coming to an end when an acorn falls on your head.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » March 19th, 2015, 9:21 am

CCTA/CBFA 2.0 TSI (EA888)
http://pages.ebay.com/motors/link/?nav=item.view&id=291304245458&alt=web
looking at 23k ttd to order
brand new, never been in a car engine
just need the 6 speed manual box
200hp stock approx 255hp stage 1.
plus no more wondering if this downpipe go work or that turbo go fit.
definitely a possible upgrade/replacement if thing really go bad.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2015, 10:50 am

Sorry but talk of engine swaps in a vehicle less than 5 years old is pure madness.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 19th, 2015, 2:27 pm

Madness is what I get paid to do sir...muahahahaha..........aahahahahah

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 19th, 2015, 4:58 pm

And you seem to have an endless supply of mad men to pay you

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2015, 5:12 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:And you seem to have an endless supply of mad men to pay you

Seeing that U have no use for yours lemme get your mechatronic unit nah

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 19th, 2015, 5:48 pm

It's being used as we speak

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2015, 5:51 pm

Rumour has it you don't want it anymore.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 19th, 2015, 5:59 pm

Actually we were discussing getting rid of it yesterday. We hadn't decided yet but not selling it in parts

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » March 19th, 2015, 7:06 pm

Ok so got the call from the Ops Manager this afternoon. The sales advisor didn't even want to hint of the issue and said the Manager will call.

Advised me that the vehicle lost compression and the Pistons will have to be replaced and the engine rebuilt.

The positive thing was that they have all parts in stock and it's just to schedule the work which will take about a week but based on backlog it looking more like two weeks.

He said he will organize a courtesy car from Monday (not holding meh breath on that one) for the period out. Just glad is weeks and not months

neexis

Postby neexis » March 19th, 2015, 8:08 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Actually we were discussing getting rid of it yesterday. We hadn't decided yet but not selling it in parts

Wife's Jetta giving trouble?

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 19th, 2015, 9:18 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:And you seem to have an endless supply of mad men to pay you

Demand and supply ole chap....noone else locally does euro tuning, and reliably...

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » March 19th, 2015, 9:19 pm

Greggle71....

Wow! Hmmm...that is something...sorry to hear that is what happened though...

Have me wondering if I am going g on borrowed time as the limp mode stuff happened to me...twice.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » March 19th, 2015, 9:20 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:People that are having problems..how old are your cars?

Mine will be 3yrs in July

nicks1

Postby nicks1 » March 19th, 2015, 9:30 pm

greggle71 wrote:Ok so got the call from the Ops Manager this afternoon. The sales advisor didn't even want to hint of the issue and said the Manager will call.

Advised me that the vehicle lost compression and the Pistons will have to be replaced and the engine rebuilt.

The positive thing was that they have all parts in stock and it's just to schedule the work which will take about a week but based on backlog it looking more like two weeks.

He said he will organize a courtesy car from Monday (not holding meh breath on that one) for the period out. Just glad is weeks and not months

3months they had my wife golf parkup to change pistons,yeah we had courtesy car but as she said she don't want it back,3 days after they calling to say car ready.....

End result,it still parkup on BA auto compound and we waitin to transfer car back to BA,cut we lost and go with we money....

PARTY DONE.....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 19th, 2015, 10:16 pm

Yup that's the best way to do it..give them back

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » March 19th, 2015, 11:57 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Last update I see was from outlaw post in a thread. It still by d dealer awaiting a mechatronic unit. Haven't checked the dealer since February. Will post up when I get info as per usual.

Bunny they not covering the mech unit under warranty? The mech unit in the one I bought was replaced a couple months before I bought It under warranty. Now I'm wondering if I should be worried. Don't want to part with this car unless I getting a later version.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 20th, 2015, 2:59 am

I don't know as yet. They will let me know what VW has to say about goodwill. My car is not under warranty.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 20th, 2015, 6:40 am

Wife's car is almost a year old and no problems yet. Hopefully we have a drchaos edition.
Hope all you guys get through with the repairs soon

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » March 20th, 2015, 4:26 pm

LOL @ drchaos edition LOL

greggle71 wrote:Ok so got the call from the Ops Manager this afternoon. The sales advisor didn't even want to hint of the issue and said the Manager will call.

Sorry to hear that man. Please keep us updated on the root cause. What caused the engine to loose compression faulty pistons ? a leak somewhere, a dead water pump or tensioner etc.

As for all guys who have gotten new mechs, I don't think the part you get is new per say but re manufactured. I read that somewhere but can't find links sorry. I would be interested to know the ones that were changed did they last.. Chime in guys.

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » March 20th, 2015, 4:55 pm

syncrod wrote:CCTA/CBFA 2.0 TSI (EA888)
http://pages.ebay.com/motors/link/?nav=item.view&id=291304245458&alt=web
looking at 23k ttd to order
brand new, never been in a car engine
just need the 6 speed manual box
200hp stock approx 255hp stage 1.
plus no more wondering if this downpipe go work or that turbo go fit.
definitely a possible upgrade/replacement if thing really go bad.

Ok, if my engine ever detonates itself. I will definitely be the first guinea pig to try this.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 20th, 2015, 6:25 pm

cqk4 wrote:LOL @ drchaos edition LOL

Sorry to hear that man. Please keep us updated on the root cause. What caused the engine to loose compression faulty pistons ? a leak somewhere, a dead water pump or tensioner etc.

As for all guys who have gotten new mechs, I don't think the part you get is new per say but re manufactured. I read that somewhere but can't find links sorry. I would be interested to know the ones that were changed did they last.. Chime in guys.

Not convined about this....they may or maynot reuse the mechatronic housing but I can say for certain the serial number for the hardware has what I would assume to be the manufacture date and my replacement was dated January 2015

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2015, 5:23 pm

Small update: goodwill honored. Mechatronic unit replaced for free.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 24th, 2015, 5:52 pm

you still have to pay labour? or that covered as well?
Co-worker got her car back, mech unit replaced just under 4 weeks and oil changed to mineral.

Return to “EURO”