COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 38014 cases, 1056 deaths, 5852 active, 31106 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » July 29th, 2021, 10:48 am

Sooo.. coaches and double length buses supposed to have their windows open right ? But i don't see that.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 38014 cases, 1056 deaths, 5852 active, 31106 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2021, 10:54 am

aaron17 wrote:Sooo.. coaches and double length buses supposed to have their windows open right ? But i don't see that.

they need to enforce this. of course weather permitting - a day like today u will have to use AC but in fresh air mode - no recycling infected air. i can guess today could potentially be a high risk as every taxi maxi bus have their windows up and using recycling mode.

Postby aaron17 » July 29th, 2021, 10:57 am

Was thinking if...the whole country shut down for 2 weeks straight. What that will do pandemic -wise?
Ambulance can work normal for any serious situations etc. Households hadda stock up for preps in advance. We hadda curb the mad rush on the last days...enforcement.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 29th, 2021, 11:24 am

aaron17 wrote:Was thinking if...the whole country shut down for 2 weeks straight. What that will do pandemic -wise?
Ambulance can work normal for any serious situations etc. Households hadda stock up for preps in advance. We hadda curb the mad rush on the last days...enforcement.

In theory that would have a drastic effect, but actually, it should be 3 weeks. And then it would require mass testing and quarantining of those who were in contact with any positive patients.

It's definitely the best fight against covid versus these sustained half hearted approaches. Short hard lockdowns are really the only lockdowns that really stop spikes, these 'measures' we have now have more to do with flatenning the curve rather than. going back to low/no covid situation.

Postby hover11 » July 29th, 2021, 11:47 am

That would work in a perfect world setting but you also have to factor in we have pirogues coming in every hour filled with possible carriers. Our borders were closed and gamma still arrived, our borders are wide open now delta will be the same
aaron17 wrote:Was thinking if...the whole country shut down for 2 weeks straight. What that will do pandemic -wise?

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2021, 11:54 am

the only place that was successful with they kind of lockdown is china, they of course are most stringent with lockdowns and movement plus the personal movement tracking via phone

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 29th, 2021, 12:27 pm

plus their social credit score which ensures that you toe the line else there will be consequences.

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2021, 12:42 pm

pugboy wrote:the only place that was successful with they kind of lockdown is china, they of course are most stringent with lockdowns and movement plus the personal movement tracking via phone

i heard they used to lock u in your house early in the pandemic so u cyah even come out :shock:

we could implement the phone tracking just like the UK - if it keeps infected ppl away from everyone else then it could prevent a lockdown

Postby hover11 » July 29th, 2021, 1:11 pm

I think the culture different most trinis like zess and gatherings , they not gonna care if their phone tells them a carrier is there
redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:the only place that was successful with they kind of lockdown is china, they of course are most stringent with lockdowns and movement plus the personal movement tracking via phone

i heard they used to lock u in your house early in the pandemic so u cyah even come out :shock:

we could implement the phone tracking just like the UK - if it keeps infected ppl away from everyone else then it could prevent a lockdown

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2021, 1:27 pm

hover11 wrote:I think the culture different most trinis like zess and gatherings , they not gonna care if their phone tells them a carrier is there

The app is for contact tracing and verification - not to tell you if someone near you has covid.
A number of countries already use similar apps.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 29th, 2021, 3:59 pm

We really have some kinda fools running this country yes...Science shows mixing vaccines work better than using the same dose twice.
So a third world country denying citizens from a first world country now?
Screenshot_20210729-100248_Drive.jpg

Postby K74T » July 29th, 2021, 4:20 pm

FB_IMG_1627589966177.jpg
FB_IMG_1627589968559.jpg

Postby K74T » July 29th, 2021, 4:30 pm

FB_IMG_1627590618219.jpg

233/1

Postby st7 » July 29th, 2021, 5:02 pm

are health centers administering vaccine shots to walk-ins?

Postby adnj » July 29th, 2021, 5:36 pm

"Impending negative impact of the Delta variant"

Hmph.

Postby paid_influencer » July 29th, 2021, 5:46 pm

adnj wrote:"Impending negative impact of the Delta variant"

Hmph.

:drinking:

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2021, 6:45 pm

st7 wrote:are health centers administering vaccine shots to walk-ins?

the release said mass vax and drive through sites giving 1st doses. not sure about health centres. if they are indoors they should still limit the numbers to avoid potential spread. the other sites are mostly outdoor/open air.

Postby aaron17 » July 29th, 2021, 6:50 pm

Hey at least we masking...unlike usa

Postby hover11 » July 29th, 2021, 6:53 pm

When u say masks , you mean we wearing it on our chins, eyes and ears, below our noses ....a whole year later and we can't wear a mask right
aaron17 wrote:Hey at least we masking...unlike usa

Postby paid_influencer » July 29th, 2021, 9:09 pm

TTT Live Online

The Joint Trade Union Movement plans to hit the streets on September 1st which has been dubbed "Freedom Day".
At a media conference on Thursday, JTUM President Ancel Roget also called for support to prevent the government from extending the State of Emergency.
Kimberly De Souza has more.

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 0558025610

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 29th, 2021, 10:21 pm

:agrue:
IMG-20210729-WA0169.jpg

Postby hover11 » July 29th, 2021, 10:43 pm

They have to lockdown
shake d livin wake d dead wrote::agrue:

Postby matr1x » July 29th, 2021, 10:59 pm

Biden bribing his way for the second term

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2021, 5:30 am

CDC internal report says Delta variant as contagious as chickenpox - NYT

July 30 (Reuters) - The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has described the Delta variant of the coronavirus to be as contagious as chickenpox and could cause severe illness, the New York Times reported, citing an internal CDC document.

The variant was also more likely to break through protections afforded by the vaccines, the report said, adding that the agency's reverse course on masking guidelines for fully vaccinated Americans on Tuesday was based on this document.

However, CDC's figures show that the vaccines are highly effective in preventing serious illness, hospitalization and death in vaccinated people, the report said, citing experts.

New research showed the vaccinated people infected with the Delta variant carried tremendous amounts of the virus in the nose and throat, CDC Director Rochelle Walensky told the Times.

The Delta variant is more transmissible than the viruses that cause MERS, SARS, Ebola, the common cold, the seasonal flu and smallpox, the report said.

The immediate next step for the agency is to "acknowledge the war has changed," the report cited the document as saying.

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-07-30/

"The CDC presentation says the Delta variant is about as transmissible as chickenpox, with each infected person, on average, infecting eight or nine others. The original lineage was about as transmissible as the common cold, with each infected person passing the virus to about two other people on average.

That infectivity is known as R0.

"When you think about diseases that have an R0 of eight or nine -- there aren't that many," Walensky told CNN.

And if vaccinated people get infected anyway, they have as much virus in their bodies as unvaccinated people. That means they're as likely to infect someone else as unvaccinated people who get infected."

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/07/29/poli ... index.html

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2021, 6:12 am

so traditional herd immunity goalposts have moved

adnj wrote:CDC internal report says Delta variant as contagious as chickenpox - NYT

July 30 (Reuters) - The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has described the Delta variant of the coronavirus to be as contagious as chickenpox and could cause severe illness, the New York Times reported, citing an internal CDC document.

The variant was also more likely to break through protections afforded by the vaccines, the report said, adding that the agency's reverse course on masking guidelines for fully vaccinated Americans on Tuesday was based on this document.

However, CDC's figures show that the vaccines are highly effective in preventing serious illness, hospitalization and death in vaccinated people, the report said, citing experts.

New research showed the vaccinated people infected with the Delta variant carried tremendous amounts of the virus in the nose and throat, CDC Director Rochelle Walensky told the Times.

The Delta variant is more transmissible than the viruses that cause MERS, SARS, Ebola, the common cold, the seasonal flu and smallpox, the report said.

The immediate next step for the agency is to "acknowledge the war has changed," the report cited the document as saying.

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-07-30/

"The CDC presentation says the Delta variant is about as transmissible as chickenpox, with each infected person, on average, infecting eight or nine others. The original lineage was about as transmissible as the common cold, with each infected person passing the virus to about two other people on average.

That infectivity is known as R0.

"When you think about diseases that have an R0 of eight or nine -- there aren't that many," Walensky told CNN.

And if vaccinated people get infected anyway, they have as much virus in their bodies as unvaccinated people. That means they're as likely to infect someone else as unvaccinated people who get infected."

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/07/29/poli ... index.html

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 38014 cases, 1056 deaths, 5852 active, 31106 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » July 30th, 2021, 6:23 am

hover11 wrote:When u say masks , you mean we wearing it on our chins, eyes and ears, below our noses ....a whole year later and we can't wear a mask right

Friends,

Let’s bear in mind, “masking” with the cheapest cloths and materials isn’t really masking.

We have to be very cautious of ineffective masks and not only satisfying a requirement.
Last edited by MaxPower on July 30th, 2021, 6:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2021, 7:14 am

The CDC Says The Delta Variant Has Changed The War Against COVID-19

July 29, 2021 11:13 PM ET

An internal slide presentation from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention dated Thursday gives new details on how dangerous the delta variant really is.

One chart shows that it could be as contagious as chicken pox — which is one of the more transmissible viruses out there. It spreads more easily than the common cold, the 1918 flu and small pox.

The document was first obtained by The Washington Post.

It also says that in addition to being more contagious, the delta variant likely increases the risk of severe disease and hospitalization, compared to the original strain.

A summary slide says because of the delta variant, the agency should "acknowledge that the war has changed." It also recommends the agency ramp up communications so that the public will understand that vaccines still greatly reduce the risk of death and severe disease.

While most new infections are still occurring among unvaccinated people, the CDC estimates that 35,000 fully vaccinated Americans – out of more than 162 million — may get infected with the coronavirus every week.

Data from a July 4 outbreak on Cape Cod, in Massachusetts, appears to have led CDC Director Rochelle Walensky earlier this week to recommend fully vaccinated people wear a mask indoors in public spaces if they live in areas where the spread of the virus is currently "substantial" or "high."

In that outbreak, vaccinated and unvaccinated people had nearly the same amount of virus recovered from test samples, indicating that vaccinated people are just as contagious as unvaccinated people when it comes to the delta variant.

With previous strains, vaccinated people who became infected with the coronavirus had much lower levels of virus, meaning they were less contagious.

That may now have now changed.

https://www.npr.org/2021/07/29/10225804 ... han-a-cold

Postby aaron17 » July 30th, 2021, 8:24 am

hover11 wrote:When u say masks , you mean we wearing it on our chins, eyes and ears, below our noses ....a whole year later and we can't wear a mask right
How u sure usa aint doin the same thing

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 30th, 2021, 8:44 am

If one thing is guaranteed, is the unpredictability of this virus.

NYTimes wrote:Not in control
Consider these Covid-19 mysteries:

In India — where the Delta variant was first identified and caused a huge outbreak — cases have plunged over the past two months. A similar drop may now be underway in Britain. There is no clear explanation for these declines.
In the U.S., cases started falling rapidly in early January. The decline began before vaccination was widespread and did not follow any evident changes in Americans’ Covid attitudes.
In March and April, the Alpha variant helped cause a sharp rise in cases in the upper Midwest and Canada. That outbreak seemed poised to spread to the rest of North America — but did not.
This spring, caseloads were not consistently higher in parts of the U.S. that had relaxed masking and social distancing measures (like Florida and Texas) than in regions that remained vigilant.
Large parts of Africa and Asia still have not experienced outbreaks as big as those in Europe, North America and South America.
How do we solve these mysteries? Michael Osterholm, who runs an infectious disease research center at the University of Minnesota, suggests that people keep in mind one overriding idea: humility.

“We’ve ascribed far too much human authority over the virus,” he told me.

Read more here:
https://messaging-custom-newsletters.ny ... dfa7e869be

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2021, 9:07 am

3 persons from tt olympic camp test positive