COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36354 cases, 1000 deaths, 5691 active, 29663 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » July 21st, 2021, 6:37 pm

I dont think we will ever go back low nah...maybe 180 and below. That is it.

wing

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36354 cases, 1000 deaths, 5691 active, 29663 recovered in T&T

Postby wing » July 21st, 2021, 6:48 pm

sMASH wrote:Image

managing it well. as per SOP
I see you indicated that the spike seen recently is due to SEA. Does it mean that all those kids have tested positive? If accurate, it's very concerning. Or is it the teachers and other adults? Any credible information will be greatly appreciated.

Postby sMASH » July 21st, 2021, 6:58 pm

22k children + staff + invigilators stuck in the same rooms for 3hrs. thats the same amounts of time and people for the tobago easter ferry time. it WILL cause a spread... its just how far it will go.

the children wouldnt get affected, but they will carry it the adults. untill u get ur 60% vaccinated, u should not hold mass gatherings like this!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 21st, 2021, 7:45 pm

sMASH you drew and labelled that graph yourself? lol

Postby sMASH » July 21st, 2021, 7:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:sMASH you drew and labelled that graph yourself? lol

i r offended.

wing

Postby wing » July 21st, 2021, 7:57 pm

sMASH wrote:22k children + staff + invigilators stuck in the same rooms for 3hrs. thats the same amounts of time and people for the tobago easter ferry time. it WILL cause a spread... its just how far it will go.

the children wouldnt get affected, but they will carry it the adults. untill u get ur 60% vaccinated, u should not hold mass gatherings like this!
Oh ok. So you're saying that it's your inference that the spike was caused by the SEA exam, just as what happened after Easter. Also, is it possible for the kids to spread it to the adults without being infected themselves? Then the spike should be much higher then?

Postby sMASH » July 21st, 2021, 8:07 pm

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:22k children + staff + invigilators stuck in the same rooms for 3hrs. thats the same amounts of time and people for the tobago easter ferry time. it WILL cause a spread... its just how far it will go.

Oh ok. So you're saying that it's your inference that the spike was caused by the SEA exam, just as what happened after Easter. Also, is it possible for the kids to spread it to the adults without being infected themselves? Then the spike should be much higher then?

not sure, cant say.. too many factors to consider. biggest factor is the vaccinations.

i can say the amount of people, the duration of contact was similar to that of the easter, so u would see a spike. how much, cant say. but all those cases would be DIRECTLY due to govt action.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 21st, 2021, 8:08 pm

Are we still on curfew? The latest revision of the public health ordinance act (legal notice 195 I believe, dated 19 July 2021) does not have anything to that effect nor social and public gatherings (at least I did not see it).

Can anyone advise me or point me in the direction for the correct and applicable information?

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 8:15 pm

The Gamma is from which country - Brazil. I missed where the MoH actually admitted.

adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:While we are not being told, it seems that the Brazilian variant is rampant and a major factor in the 855 people, who have died within the past 2 months and 3 weeks.

So some protection is better than none.

they MoH officially recognized the Gamma variant is now 90+% of all the infections on the island. The OG strain straight up got git by Gamma.

Uh oh...

São Paulo reports community transmission of Delta variant

Jul 21, 2021 12:19

According to recent data from São Paulo health authorities, there are at least eight confirmed infections of the Delta coronavirus variant in Brazil’s biggest city. Municipal health secretary Edson Aparecido says the latest figures are proof of the community transmission of the highly contagious Covid-19 mutation.

https://brazilian.report/liveblog/coron ... a-variant/

Texas hospital reports first case of the COVID lambda variant as delta remains dominant
By BRIAN NIEMIETZ
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS |
JUL 21, 2021 AT 4:28 PM

The lambda variant was first documented in Peru late last year, according to the World Health Organization, where it remains the most dominant mutation of COVID-19. It reportedly shares characteristics with the alpha, beta and gamma variants.

https://www.nydailynews.com/coronavirus ... story.html

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 8:17 pm

carluva wrote:Are we still on curfew? The latest revision of the public health ordinance act (legal notice 195 I believe, dated 19 July 2021) does not have anything to that effect nor social and public gatherings (at least I did not see it).

Can anyone advise me or point me in the direction for the correct and applicable information?

Once Uncle Keith eh say so, it ent so.

Take your chances.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 8:20 pm

Reading about all these variants makes me think that someone is seriously profiting from Covid.

Postby redmanjp » July 21st, 2021, 8:21 pm

carluva wrote:Are we still on curfew? The latest revision of the public health ordinance act (legal notice 195 I believe, dated 19 July 2021) does not have anything to that effect nor social and public gatherings (at least I did not see it).

curfew i imagine would be under the Emergency Regulations.

Postby paid_influencer » July 21st, 2021, 8:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:

yea it is on the Emergency Powers Regulations, 2021

carluva

Postby carluva » July 21st, 2021, 8:27 pm

Not me.

I monitoring a lime by a renter next to me atm.

Maybe about 15-20 people. Venezuelans as well. No social distancing. No masks.

Wondering if/when I should call authorities.

What're the current rules Re: gatherings? Again, not seeing an in the last legal notice.
bluefete wrote:

Take your chances.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 21st, 2021, 8:27 pm

Thanks.
paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

yea it is on the Emergency Powers Regulations, 2021

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2021, 8:28 pm

about $90m spent in private covid testing locally
go figure

don’t think any industry has suddenly popped up and benefited a few to that amount in a year and counting

bluefete wrote:Reading about all these variants makes me think that someone is seriously profiting from Covid.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 8:28 pm

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Look, doh lemme derail this ched, eh

Dohplaydat wrote:Just be clear, in no way shape or form does the West (of recent) compare to China in terms of secrecy, lies, covering up, human rights violations and oppression.

China are basically as bad as Nazi's but you che Guevara fanboi sheep to gullible to realize that.

Postby gastly369 » July 21st, 2021, 8:30 pm

carluva wrote:Not me.

What're the current rules Re: gatherings? Again, not seeing an in the last legal notice.
bluefete wrote:

Take your chances.
Post pics and call now now now

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 8:31 pm

Not forgetting quarantining in fancy hotels locally.

pugboy wrote:about $90m spent in private covid testing locally
go figure

don’t think any industry has suddenly popped up and benefited a few to that amount in a year and counting

bluefete wrote:Reading about all these variants makes me think that someone is seriously profiting from Covid.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 21st, 2021, 8:34 pm

Nearest police station?
gastly369 wrote:
carluva wrote:Not me.

bluefete wrote:

Take your chances.
Post pics and call now now now
Last edited by carluva on July 21st, 2021, 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » July 21st, 2021, 8:37 pm

Venes walking the streets normal normal after curfew hours.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 21st, 2021, 8:37 pm

These still apply?
Screenshot_20210721-203659-005.jpg

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 8:43 pm

carluva wrote:These still apply?Screenshot_20210721-203659-005.jpg

You sounding like you have a serious curfew run to make this evening.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 21st, 2021, 8:48 pm

No boi.

I monitoring a lime next door by a renter.

Curious if I should call authorities.

Hence the questions.

But things breaking up now. So may not need to again.
bluefete wrote:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 21st, 2021, 8:51 pm

carluva wrote:No boi.

Hence the questions.

bluefete wrote:

I've seen people end up in trauma bay in Sando A&E with chop wounds for calling the police to break up their neighbor party.

Good luck :lol:

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 9:30 pm

carluva wrote:No boi.

Hence the questions.

bluefete wrote:

LOL. They renting from you? If not close your eyes and go to sleep.

Postby redmanjp » July 21st, 2021, 9:54 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 21st, 2021, 10:57 pm

redmanjp wrote:India's death toll could be in the millions

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/indias-pandemic-death-toll-could-be-millions-5

Could be or will be?

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2021, 11:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:India's death toll could be in the millions

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/indias-pandemic-death-toll-could-be-millions-5

So what should be the figure for T&T?