The Official Car Care Thread

nemesis

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby nemesis » February 8th, 2013, 11:32 pm

rollingstock wrote:Thank you pios, I'll dance at your wedding.

Why you going to punish him for giving you an answer?

Postby rollingstock » February 8th, 2013, 11:46 pm

Better than saying the truth......that I'll dance on his grave :lol: jk

neexis

Postby neexis » February 9th, 2013, 1:27 am

do foam guns require a pressure washer? or is it possible to foam down with pressure from a normal line?

nemesis: the megs endurance actually not looking bad from that pic. i'll know this weekend exactly how much of a shiny look it produces

Postby pioneer » February 9th, 2013, 2:12 am

Cannons need pressure washer

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 9th, 2013, 2:49 am

Neexis, the foam cannon used in those pics requires a pressure washer. There is a version for attachment at the end of a hose which is a cheaper option to start with. I believe that's what pioneer uses for now. You need a minimum of 40psi for that one to work reasonably well.

And I agree, from the pic the endurance doesn't look as shiny as I previously thought. Have seen some other pics of it that were ridiculously shiny though. I sticking to my less shiny finishes though.

Aaron, does the endurance sling when you pass through a little water? Is it the aerosol or gel you used?

Postby pioneer » February 9th, 2013, 2:53 am

Nah i use the pressure washer one

Postby pioneer » February 9th, 2013, 4:10 am

This works with normal hose pressure

This works with pressure washer

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 9th, 2013, 8:44 am

nemesis wrote:Neexis, the foam cannon used in those pics requires a pressure washer. There is a version for attachment at the end of a hose which is a cheaper option to start with. I believe that's what pioneer uses for now. You need a minimum of 40psi for that one to work reasonably well.

And I agree, from the pic the endurance doesn't look as shiny as I previously thought. Have seen some other pics of it that were ridiculously shiny though. I sticking to my less shiny finishes though.

Aaron, does the endurance sling when you pass through a little water? Is it the aerosol or gel you used?

No it doesn't. It's a gel. You don't put a lot....put a little on an applicator n spread evenly

neexis

Postby neexis » February 9th, 2013, 11:14 am

[quote="pioneer"]This works with normal hose pressure

Can this one adequately foam down the car to let it soak for a few mins before? As in, cannot provide a relatively thick mix vs a more runny one that will flow right off.

I don't really think I gonna go as far as a pressure washer (not yet anyway).

What kinda pressure washer setups you guys using?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 9th, 2013, 12:49 pm

Did a detail today and followed up with Poorboy's Black Hole Glaze, Four Star Paint Protection, Collinite 845. I would say the PBBH is similar to Super Resin Polish, it is a bit harder to work with, but gives a deeper shine on darker colours.

I was most impressed with the 4Star Paint Protection, the paint really popped and slickness was better than Wolfgang DGPS. The Collinite went on really easily (did a panel at a time) and the resulting finish is very nice. Although I must say that it actually reduced the effect and looks of the 4Star Paint Protection. One thing with the 845 is that after I removed it, I waited a 15mins then buffed with another clean microfibre after as I noticed all wasn't removed in the first wipe down.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 9th, 2013, 1:55 pm

neexis wrote:
pioneer wrote:This works with normal hose pressure

Can this one adequately foam down the car to let it soak for a few mins before? As in, cannot provide a relatively thick mix vs a more runny one that will flow right off.

I don't really think I gonna go as far as a pressure washer (not yet anyway).

What kinda pressure washer setups you guys using?

I have one to sell if you wantl used it a few times but got an attachment for my pressure washer.

It works well, the foam 'clings', but not like styrofoam appearance you get from the canon.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 9th, 2013, 4:47 pm

neexis : The hose attachment works reasonably well. Won't quite sit for a few mins. Maybe 1 min and it does run off faster than the pressure washer.. but for the price, it's a great starting point, and definitely a huge upgrade from just buckets. I'm using a good ole Karcher pressure washer. Looks like Aaron is the same brand.. not sure what others people are using. Fairly certain they'll all be fine once you can get the correct attachment for the model you buy.

Silent : Had similar experience with the PBBH. Cleaned more than I expected, but still a bit less than the SRP. I also found it a little more difficult to work with and will probably use it by machine next time. Price is great for what it does though. Finish is not bad at all. Works great as a glaze. The 845 has a reputation for being a bit difficult no? So the 2nd wipe is to be expected. I've found that sometimes people just prefer the look of the sealant before waxing. I believe it's a question of shine vs depth. Sealants tend to have the edge on absolute shine I think. And while you're working on the vehicle this is what you'll notice more. Give it a few hours and then check it back and see if it's still the same.

Aaron : thanks for the info. I guess that gel isn't too bad. Maybe I'll give it a try sometime on someone's vehicle. :twisted:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 9th, 2013, 5:18 pm

I just checked on the car and the 845 seems to have hazed again (I can swipe and see a big difference). I wonder if this has anything to do with how sensitive the 845 is to our temperature? Because it was chunky in storage (like thick yogurt), but when I took it outside (and during application), it was a very thin liquid, like diluted milk. I applied it in the sun though. Maybe as the place gets cooler, the layer on the car is changing state? I will have to wipe it down again now.

Oh, and I also used 845 on the rims, and I found that to work great. I do have a tin of 476 which I think I may try for wheels instead.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 9th, 2013, 5:37 pm

It seems that applying the 845 in the sun was my error. (The tech sheet confirms that)...
I just wiped off the car again (as the place is much cooler) and the haze that muted the 4Star's work is gone. Those looking into sealants should really try the Four Star Paint Protection. I think its much better than the Wolfgang DGPS in terms of looks. I also have a DP Poli-Coat Sealant to try, I may use that on my daily and see how it holds up.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 9th, 2013, 6:27 pm

All clean....

neexis

Postby neexis » February 9th, 2013, 6:32 pm

Aaron you have real time on your hands awa?

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 9th, 2013, 6:48 pm

Hahaha I hate driving a dirty vehicle...

Postby Rooki3 » February 9th, 2013, 7:44 pm

dais a retrofit in d vigo? or it come so stock?

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 9th, 2013, 7:47 pm

retrofit.....

Postby Ted_v2 » February 9th, 2013, 8:50 pm

Looks good

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 9th, 2013, 11:52 pm

Nice there Aaron. But how the bess vehicle in the background so? Yuh never take pictures and tell people "tallest person in the back"? Really like those Mercs.

Silent many waxes, in fact many products will give problems in the sun. If you do work on a relatively warm vehicle though, I'd suggest trying that 'spit shine' (hate the name) method after in the shade somewhere. I normally put a spray bottle of filtered water in the freezer about halfway through my details to be able to do this. Does help with some waxes. Not all, but some. Some of them are just hopeless because they re-haze every time they heat up again.

Postby pioneer » February 10th, 2013, 12:31 am

Hoping to get a coat of 915 in before the weekend is out

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 10th, 2013, 12:40 am

I think you mean on, not in.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 10th, 2013, 2:22 pm

Guys need some advice for a challenge this weekend.

Got a black car... bout 15 months old. It has only ever been washed... no polish, wax, etc.
How should I approach this following a thorough washing?

Can I just go apply some liquid wax to it one time? Or should any other work be done to it before?

The aim here is to give it back a lil shine, and offer some protection.

Postby pioneer » February 10th, 2013, 2:28 pm

I'd say a hand coat of AG SRP or 2...or 3 :D

Then a wax...AG HD Wax perhaps.......

neexis

Postby neexis » February 10th, 2013, 3:31 pm

you recommending the HD wax after your experience and pics posted?!

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 10th, 2013, 3:39 pm

Shldnt he do some swirl removal as well cuz I'm sure it has

neexis

Postby neexis » February 10th, 2013, 3:49 pm

It's likely... kinda hard to tell right now seeing as the car has a good layer or 2 of dirt on it. Will have to inspect after it's washed.

This may have to be postponed as product selection is limited

Products I have right now:
Old stock.... Mother's Car Wash, Mother's Liquid Carnauba Cleaner Wax
New... Meg's Ultimate Wash & Wax, Meg's Ultimate Liquid Wax, AG Extra Gloss Protection.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 10th, 2013, 4:05 pm

You got some work to do before wax. Clay the vehicle, use the srp but it won't removed swirls etc. then wax

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 10th, 2013, 6:41 pm

Aaron is right. Clay first.
Swirl removal will be difficult by hand if it's very bad, but you could get off some. Chances are it will be quite bad if you're saying it sits around with 2 layers of dirt.

Pioneer, Doing that many coats of SRP will only help add a little bit of fillers, and only if there are an insane amount of swirls no? Each time you apply the SRP the cleaners in it will remove much of what the previous coat put down.

If you intend to use what you have pretty much nothing you currently own might help an old poorly washed black vehicle. Sry.

All else failing, spend the money and call in the big guns. (and I don't mean man in the shed by the gas station with a wool pad on a grinder! :)