equal2zero wrote:he did get a yellow card
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=266494&cc=3888
some news sources probably missed it.
dmitc wrote:
BARCA deserve to be in the finals
dmitc wrote:and thank God they are i swear i could not take a repeat of last year's final. Another all english final and i would have stopped watching all football for the rest of the season
equal2zero wrote:.dmitc wrote:and thank God they are i swear i could not take a repeat of last year's final. Another all english final and i would have stopped watching all football for the rest of the season
not you alone, platini and blatter in the same boat.
RASC wrote:equal2zero wrote:.dmitc wrote:and thank God they are i swear i could not take a repeat of last year's final. Another all english final and i would have stopped watching all football for the rest of the season
not you alone, platini and blatter in the same boat.
So wait, now is a conspiracyhoss you doh get tired of talking so much S H I T
RASC wrote:You Play to WIN...you don't play to just be content.
That's the difference between winners and losers. At this level everyone has great skill. It's the heart, focus and determination that seperates the sheep from the goat.
Simple-not rocket science. Barca was a man down, struggling to break through, Alves was playing mess, Messi was shut down. No Henry, No Puyol, Defense in shambles, Red Card and STILL tried to win & away from home![]()
...and you're telling me they don't deserve to be in the final. Your team is exactly what your name says equal2zero
teems1 wrote:RASC wrote:You Play to WIN...you don't play to just be content.
That's the difference between winners and losers. At this level everyone has great skill. It's the heart, focus and determination that seperates the sheep from the goat.
Simple-not rocket science. Barca was a man down, struggling to break through, Alves was playing mess, Messi was shut down. No Henry, No Puyol, Defense in shambles, Red Card and STILL tried to win & away from home![]()
...and you're telling me they don't deserve to be in the final. Your team is exactly what your name says equal2zero
both teams played well and both deserved a win
but the way barca got it will always leave this 09 champions league semifinal tie tainted and in disrepute.
no true barca fan would walk around beating their chest saying they were the better team after seeing that game.
at the end of the day, barca won only because chelsea were a crap team on the day and didn't take their chances.
equal2zero wrote:dmitc wrote:
BARCA deserve to be in the finals
on the basis of what exactly? they were certainly not the better team over two legs. they were lucky to advance but you make your own luck and iniesta took his chance very well.
equal2zero wrote:ok maybe i should have said chelsea was more deserving than barca on the merit of their performance IMO
DF1_2nR wrote:equal2zero wrote:ok maybe i should have said chelsea was more deserving than barca on the merit of their performance IMO
If that were true then they would have put the ball in the back of the net more than once.
Barca showed more hunger on the field while Chelsea was content sit back and defend their lead. Their performance earned them the result they got.
show me a man who says that barca deserves to be in the final and i'll show you a liar. barca and the entire spanish league have been shown up here, the defensive prowess of an english team has exposed barca as the most over-rated and over-hyped team of the season.
Infamous wrote:worksux101 wrote:BTW i wouldn't put much faith in Ramos...he had money to spend at Spurs, and wasted most of it...2 points in 10 games for a club of their stature and players...not acceptable...its one thing to rebuild fom the ground up, its another to dig holes into the foundation...Ramos failed at both, and the only thing keeping Real in second is the inconsistency of the teams behind them and the fact that they have a good attack against La Liga's generally poor defense...
i never quite understood what happened with ramos. he did well in la liga, went to tottenham and won the carling cup, they finished just outside the top ten and then things just seemed to go downhill quickly. he sold defoe, berbatov and keane and brought in dos santos, modric and pavlyochenko(who are by no means adequate replacements) and seemed to bank his entire attack on bent(who was having a solid pre season). once the season started tottenham were just poor and the whole controversy with his refusal to learn and speak english just seemed to aggravate the situation. he then moves to madrid, loses the first clasico(which was expected given the circumstances) and then goes on a huge winning streak and closes the gap on barca. he's either a genius in la liga but not cut out for the prem or he is just lucky to be in the circumstances he is in.
given his performance this season, do you think they should extend his contract or still look for a new manager?
Messi to be the be all and end all of the team, and if he was shut out by Cole, then you all wanna say Barca as a TEAM did not play well?
Last year everyone said the same about Messi running rings around Utd...he could barely get into the box...they also said the same before the Chelsea games...ditto...