The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Postby M_2NR » November 14th, 2009, 1:37 am

Guys, I was looking through a blog and came across this:
A2DP for 2G
Bluetooth Stereo Profile (A2DP) and Remote Control Profiles were available for iPhone 3G starting from firmware 3.0, but wasn't available for original iPhone 2G. This app fixes that. this has many reports of working on diff devices but there some bugs too, some says volume control works while other say no on different devices.

install from repo: apt.dmytro.me
reboot not respring
make sure to open and enable b4 using
ImageImage

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » November 16th, 2009, 11:45 am

corolla_2nr wrote:
ADRENALINE KID wrote:I ordered my digitizer and its on the way,prob now is that i want to believe its a 3gs since it have all the features like voice control,video,compass etc but its jailbroken so i cant tell,i would check settings etc but since the screen is cracked im kinda limited and battery is dead.it also speaks every text on the screen that i touch and shoots extremely clean videos even in the night.any way to physically identify it?

an easy way :lol:
is the Apple logo AND the writing "iPhone..........Designed....." in Chrome?
If ALL is in chrome. that should be a 3gs.
if so im glad to know that i have a 3gsImagebut screwed since i ordered a 3g digitizer

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » November 16th, 2009, 7:19 pm

Thinking of updating to 3.12

Im on a Windows machine right now.

A friend of mine told me all I had to do was Shift & Select a custom firmware for the 3G and thats I'll have to do..can anyone confirm this ? Thanks

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 16th, 2009, 7:23 pm

sexyicon wrote:Thinking of updating to 3.12

A friend of mine told me all I had to do was Shift & Select a custom firmware for the 3G and thats I'll have to do..can anyone confirm this ? Thanks

Yup thats correct.

http://www.zshare.net/download/668911357fea1c77/
(originally found by corolla_2nr)
Last edited by SRASC on November 16th, 2009, 7:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » November 16th, 2009, 7:25 pm

kthanks

ill check it out

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 16th, 2009, 7:31 pm

Added the link above.

W2J

Postby W2J » November 16th, 2009, 7:54 pm

SRASC wrote:

Yup thats correct.

all I did was update using the latest apple firmware via itunes and unlock with Blackra1n

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 16th, 2009, 8:58 pm

W2J wrote:
SRASC wrote:

Yup thats correct.

all I did was update using the latest apple firmware via itunes and unlock with Blackra1n

yip dats the best thing to do , remember to install cydia for apps

Postby M_2NR » November 16th, 2009, 10:20 pm

http://mahmood1.com/jailbreak.aspx

iPhone 3G 500MB Partion (for iPhones that rely on ultrasn0w, unoffical carrier, with no PUSH ):

http://www.rapidshare.com/files/2926008 ... .part1.rar
http://www.rapidshare.com/files/2926013 ... .part2.rar

Extract, custom restore..
/fin.

Or u can blackra1n n blacksn0w. Up to you.

I prefer my older baseband.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » November 18th, 2009, 7:25 pm

so.... ummmm...

Have a 3g that doesnt charge from wall or pc AND the pc doesnt even read the ph.. Tried restarting pc, restarting itunes, changing ports but nothing!!!
Opened it up last night and the sim not compatible thingy came up. Used backra1n and this morn wen i get up phone blank again!
Wat to do??

Postby M_2NR » November 18th, 2009, 7:45 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:so.... ummmm...

Have a 3g that doesnt charge from wall or pc AND the pc doesnt even read the ph.. Tried restarting pc, restarting itunes, changing ports but nothing!!!
Opened it up last night and the sim not compatible thingy came up. Used backra1n and this morn wen i get up phone blank again!
Wat to do??

yuh try to get DFU/Restore mode. Or on another pc?

That sounding hardware though. Thing is i dunno if Bezman does hardware stuff anymore. PM him?

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 18th, 2009, 8:34 pm

NM Figured it out....

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 19th, 2009, 6:17 am

Guys, I wanna get the name of the app that supplies my contacts and shows the name of who is calling rather than just the number?

And one for a 5icon dock?

Sully

Postby Sully » November 19th, 2009, 8:12 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys, I wanna get the name of the app that supplies my contacts and shows the name of who is calling rather than just the number?

Caller ID and Format Fix.

The other I don't know the name but it can also be found in Cydia.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 19th, 2009, 8:18 am

Sully, ftw :lol:

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » November 19th, 2009, 11:40 am

will the 3g digitizer work on a 3gs?

Postby M_2NR » November 19th, 2009, 3:32 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:And one for a 5icon dock?

Guess whats the name... Five Icon Dock

search five as well, you will find five row and five column as well.

@AK
not sure bro.

Postby M_2NR » November 19th, 2009, 3:33 pm

Be careful Using Public WiFi

Finance System has shed light on a new problem that concerns the safety of all smartphones including the iPhone.

According to their statements, any iPhone, whether original or jailbroken, can be attacked by bypassing the keys to the safety of WiFi hotspot. Through this type of attack, a hacker can steal your email and password without your knowledge.

For the moment, these tests were performed on the iPhone 3GS updated to the latest firmware, the Nokia N95, the HTC Tilt and the G1, all successfully.

The advice is to be very careful before using the iPhone with a wifi hotspot public.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Black Friday is almost here, What will Apple offer?
Boy Genious reports that Apple will be having up to a 30% discount for black friday!

According to the rumors:

* Up to 30% on the purchase of iPods
* Up to 25% on of all Macs
* Up to 15% on the purchase of accessories, software and hardware.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 21st, 2009, 9:15 am

Multiflow is a new iPhone utility which lets you easily switch between backgrounded applications.

Developer Aaron Ash hopes to have Multifl0w on the Cydia Store soon. In the meanwhile you can check out a video demonstration below...

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/YrGLGoB88So&rel=0&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 21st, 2009, 9:19 am

Be careful Using Public WiFi

Quote:
Finance System has shed light on a new problem that concerns the safety of all smartphones including the iPhone.

According to their statements, any iPhone, whether original or jailbroken, can be attacked by bypassing the keys to the safety of WiFi hotspot. Through this type of attack, a hacker can steal your email and password without your knowledge.

For the moment, these tests were performed on the iPhone 3GS updated to the latest firmware, the Nokia N95, the HTC Tilt and the G1, all successfully.

The advice is to be very careful before using the iPhone with a wifi hotspot public.

Something similar happened to me in the airport. On my 2g with an older update I kept getting a message on my lock screen about an infection which the brunt of the effects will take effect later..Well at least thats the message I got..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 21st, 2009, 9:21 am

^^^ looks alot like Backgrounder but where it differs is the MobileSafari-like active app selector. I hope there would be an option to use the power/sleep button as the background activator though (my current configuration for Backgrounder)

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 21st, 2009, 6:18 pm

Postby M_2NR » November 21st, 2009, 6:31 pm

:lol: hahahaha gotta love that.

SRASC wrote:^^^ looks alot like Backgrounder but where it differs is the MobileSafari-like active app selector. I hope there would be an option to use the power/sleep button as the background activator though (my current configuration for Backgrounder)

its pretty awesome but i agree or even a option like there is for the Cydia app Orbit (omg that app pwns).

kurpal_v2 wrote:Something similar happened to me in the airport. On my 2g with an older update I kept getting a message on my lock screen about an infection which the brunt of the effects will take effect later..Well at least thats the message I got..

1uhh
wow.. i hadda be careful using that yes. I use it to get updates for flight tracker n eBuddy :shock:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BTW guys, how many apps u all have?
I was in shock today. I apparently have 3GB in apps 1uhh

Is there a way to monitor each app size? (besides itunes)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 23rd, 2009, 10:14 am

iPhones with modified software could be vulnerable to a new, malicious worm that can allow remote access and control without the owner's knowledge or permission.

It is estimated that hundreds of users are currently affected by a worm that targets users of "jailbroken" iPhones who live in the Netherlands and use the bank ING Direct. But security company F-Secure told the BBC that the currently isolated issue could easily jump to thousands of handsets. The worm is reportedly spread between phones when they share the same Wi-Fi spot.

In order for an iPhone to be vulnerable to the new worm, they must have willingly modified their handset's software to allow them to run unauthorized code. Phones can be jailbroken to run applications or modify the system in ways not approved by Apple.

The worm only affects jailbroken phones that have SSH (secure shell) installed, without the default password -- "alpine" -- changed. It employs the same method as a previous worm, Ikee, that was not malicious. Instead, the wallpaper-changing prank simply changed the user's background to a picture of 1980s pop star Rick Astley, who sang the 1987 hit "Never Gonna Give You Up."

But the new worm reportedly has botnet functionality and connects to a Web-based command and control center based in Lithuania.

For now, the worm is only aimed at customers who live in the Netherlands and bank with ING Direct. The online bank intends to put a warning on its Web site.

This summer, a text messaging exploit was discovered by security researcher Charlie Miller that could allow someone to take control of the iPhone. Apple quickly fixed the issue. The exploit exposed the iPhone completely, giving hackers access to the camera, dialer, messaging and Safari.

---

With great evidence that the latest revision of the iPod touch was intended to include a camera, a new rumor suggests Apple will add the feature to a new model set for release in the first half of 2010.

The latest rumor suggests that a new iPod touch with a video camera will arrive with an upgrade next spring. According to an "inside source" who spoke with The Examiner, the new iPod touch will have the same video-only camera that is in the new fifth-generation iPod nano, which was released in September.

The report corroborates what AppleInsider learned in September -- that the latest iPod touch upgrade was originally intended to include a camera, but the feature was scrapped just before release due to a batch of bad parts. But sources have said that Apple still intends to eventually release an iPod touch with a camera.

That Apple intends to release a new iPod touch with camera is not new, but the alleged timing is. In 2008, Apple did a mid-cycle upgrade of the device, offering double the memory in a February debut.

A teardown of the late 2009 iPod touch revealed that it includes space for a video camera like in the iPod nano. The camera space supported previous photos of a purported prototype of the hardware, complete with a centered camera on its back. In addition, numerous third-party cases included space for a camera on the iPod touch.

Postby M_2NR » November 24th, 2009, 12:13 am

Multifl0w for iPhone Now Available for Download

Multifl0w multitasking app has finally gone Gold and is now available for download via RockApp for jailbroken iPhones. Multifl0w is an iPhone app which allows switching between applications running in background in a beautiful Palm Pre style cover flow-like mode. It basically act as a graphical extension to the already popular app from Cydia called Backgrounder to present all opened apps in a tabbed view, similar to the view seen on Mobile Safari browser....

http://www.redmondpie.com/multifl0w-for ... d-9140135/

read more...

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I was looking for a good app to easily go to my specific page. I tried Orbit and well.. :sick: it took over my home button. So i got overboard. Seems to work pretty nice with five row dock :)

BTW two things:

1) Is eBuddy working for you guys? i had to switch to Nimbuzz as ebuddy just stopped working all of a sudden.

2) All those deleted apps, i noticed there Folder still resides around in var and some other location(s) when you custom restore, does that remove/clean them?

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2009, 9:58 am

http://guardian.co.tt/business/business ... s-4g-chogm

[quote]Blink launches 4G for CHOGM
Published: 24 Nov 2009

Telecommunications Services of T&T (TSTT) took a major jump on its competition yesterday to lead the country into the next era of high speed wireless solutions, with the launch of its new 4G version of Blink on the Go in time for the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting. The service, which will be available initially in Port-of-Spain, will be available for CHOGM delegates, the media and various enterprise clients who will be using and testing the new service over the next two months. Jeffery Chung, product manager, said the new technology has already been quite impressive at the CHOGM People’s Forum, where the entire system was deployed in just a few minutes, rather than a few days, or even weeks of planning needed for cabling and connectivity used by previous technologies.

“The end users at the forum have been quite impressed with the speed and clarity of the new system,â€

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » November 24th, 2009, 10:06 am

how do u all browse the net usin a digicel sim,i cant seem to get through like in icy and safari etc i keep gettin and error msg. saying i have to subscribe to a datb package or something like that btw any1 tried the service digicel offer for bb using edge for $10-24hrs internet on the iphone?also does the iphone support jar files?

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » November 24th, 2009, 10:47 am

how do u all browse the net usin a digicel sim,i cant seem to get through like in icy and safari etc i keep gettin and error msg. saying i have to subscribe to a datb package or something like that btw any1 tried the service digicel offer for bb using edge for $10-24hrs internet on the iphone?also does the iphone support jar files?

Postby M_2NR » November 24th, 2009, 5:51 pm

16 cycles wrote:http://guardian.co.tt/business/business/2009/11/24/blink-launches-4g-chogm

3G is currently used to power Blackberries, smart phones and other advanced mobile devices.

burrrr?? Is that true? I thought we only had Edge :|

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 24th, 2009, 6:08 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:
16 cycles wrote:http://guardian.co.tt/business/business/2009/11/24/blink-launches-4g-chogm

3G is currently used to power Blackberries, smart phones and other advanced mobile devices.

burrrr?? Is that true? I thought we only had Edge :|

They never said it used to power blackberries etc in Trinidad.