The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » October 17th, 2011, 4:26 pm

Motorola Droid RAZR gets an early introduction ahead of tomorrow's launch

One thing we love about teasers: they oftentimes backfire, allowing the general public to see more of the product than the company intended. This is the story of the Motorola Spyder (aka Droid RAZR), its first teaser attempt spoiled when the phone's name was included on the image file. The second sneak peek is cleverly designed as an incomplete puzzle with the missing pieces added one-by-one as we get closer to the device's launch, but Motorola left a full image of the phone hiding in plain view. So what we see above is an uber-thin Verizon LTE device with kevlar backing and a Droid X-style hump on the top, a rear camera (presumably 8MP) with 1080p HD video capture, a front-facing cam, a standard set of four capacitive touch buttons and a redesigned Droid eye. We're still hoping to get a glimpse of the Xoom 2 before the big event, but at least you can consider us sufficiently teased for now.

Engadget

Postby S_2NR » October 17th, 2011, 5:07 pm

holy sheit..thats sexy!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 17th, 2011, 6:41 pm

wonder how thin it really is

if it's 4G only then that would suck...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 17th, 2011, 7:03 pm

Smartphone Camera Battle: iPhone 4S vs. the Android Elite

The iPhone 4S offers better camera specs than previous iPhones, but does it capture better-looking stills and videos than the best Android phones? Let’s find out.

PCWorld

Postby Greypatch » October 17th, 2011, 7:19 pm

the nokia N8 an old phone has a batter camera that the iphone 4s

haterforever

Postby haterforever » October 18th, 2011, 2:22 pm

what are the android launcher favs at the moment?

3 new launchers i like atm:

Nemus Launcher
low memory usage
expandable folders
https://market.android.com/details?id=c ... rch_result

Claystone launcher
Uses panels with a 3d panel switcher
https://market.android.com/details?id=c ... rch_result

Espier Launcher
Best ios clone launcher to date but no widget support
desktop searching like ios
ios like folders
ios animations

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 6:01 pm

Galaxy Nexus Ad Shows Up, Confirms Nearly All Specs

Hot on the trails of this morning's Galaxy Nexus confirmation comes yet another leak of the device, but this time it includes some eye candy. It looks like it's a Japanese magazine ad of some kind, but all the important parts are in English, including hardware specs and Android version number. Have a look:

Here's a rundown of what this ad does tell us:

- 4.7-inch HD Super AMOLED display (possibly rounded up from the rumored 4.65)
- 1.2GHz OMAP4460 Processor (likely underclocked from 1.5GHz)
- Ice Cream Sandwich will indeed be Android 4.0
- Galaxy Nexus is the official name

All this information lines up with what we've been hearing for the past couple of weeks, so it's more of a confirmation than anything else. Still, the Galaxy Nexus news should be pretty thick all day long leading up to tonight's event. Let's get this party started!

Android Police

Last edited by Swisha on October 18th, 2011, 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby r3iXmann » October 18th, 2011, 6:05 pm

me gusta.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 6:20 pm

anybody want ah SII to buy? :oops:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 6:47 pm

Motorola Droid RAZR Is Official

We've been hearing rumors of the Droid RAZR for some time now, and it's finally official. Like previously suggested, this is a super-thin, ultra-light powerhouse of a device, with some pretty impressive features tucked away under its sleek, stainless steel frame:

- 4.3-inch qHD Super AMOLED display
- 1.2GHz dual-core processor (1.2GHz TI OMAP4430)
- 1GB RAM
- 8MP rear shooter, front facing camera
- 16GB built-in storage, 16GB microSD card
- Android 2.3.5
- 7.1mm thin, 127 grams
- 1800mAh battery
- Made with Kevlar fiber
- Gorilla Glass
- Motorola Splash Guard
- Webtop cabpable
- 4G LTE
- Bluetooth 4.0

Image Image

Motorola Droid RAZR hands-on

the iPhone 4 is looking a little bit less sexy than it was a few moments ago

Engadget

Postby S_2NR » October 18th, 2011, 8:48 pm

4.7" screen on the new nexus wtf!
i good with my NS yes. that would be huge.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 9:35 pm

Galaxy Nexus gets handled

Engadget
Last edited by Swisha on October 19th, 2011, 12:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 9:49 pm

Samsung's Galaxy Nexus gets official: Android 4.0, 4.65-inch HD Super AMOLED display

Wait no more. Google and Samsung have just made the long-awaited Galaxy Nexus (not longer the Nexus Prime, as we'd once heard) official here in Hong Kong, and the specifications are downright drool-worthy. Those with bantam hands need not apply, as this 4.65-inch behemoth is bound to bring back talk of Sidetalkin'. Naturally, Ice Cream Sandwich is onboard, with Google finally revealing the version number as 4.0. Other specs include an HD Super AMOLED display (1,280 x 720), a 1.2GHz dual-core processor, 5 megapixel rear camera (with LED flash), a 1.3 megapixel front-facing cam, 1080p30 video recording and playback, a newfangled panorama mode, a 3.5mm headphone jack and Bluetooth 3.0. You'll also find USB 2.0, 802.11a/b/g/n WiFi, an embedded NFC module, accelerometer, compass, gyro, proximity sensor and even a barometer -- yeah, a barometer. Finishing things out, there's 1GB of RAM, 16 or 32GB of internal storage space and a 1,750mAh battery. As for radios? There's an HSPA+ model on tap, while an LTE version will "be available depending on region." There's nary a mention of carrier in the press release we're holding, but based on earlier leaks, a 4G build for Verizon Wireless seems a lock.

Focusing on Ice Cream Sandwich for a tick, Android 4.0 will bring "an entirely new look and feel to Android," boasting a redesigned user interface, bolstered multitasking / notifications, full-on NFC support and a new People app, which enables users to browse friends, family and coworkers' photos whilst peeking their status updates from Google+. ICS also introduces Face Unlock, which taps into facial recognition protocols in order to unlock your handset. And then there's Android Beam, an NFC-based technology that allows you to "quickly share webpages, apps and YouTube videos by simply tapping two phones together." According to Goog, the "lock screen, home screen, phone app and everything in between has been rethought and redesigned," and this is quite the beastly phone to launch with. We're still awaiting word as to when ICS will be rolled out to other handsets (and which ones will support it), so keep it locked here for more as the liveblog unfolds.

Engadget
Last edited by Swisha on October 18th, 2011, 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

achillies

Postby achillies » October 18th, 2011, 10:20 pm

Zero shutter lag and it feels sooo good in the hand, lol

A barometer, dock, sweet

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 10:59 pm

ICS is pure win!

Here's some of the enhancements found in Ice Cream Sandwich:

Virtual buttons in the UI, instead of taking up a capacitive screen

Widgets are in a new tab, listed in a similar list to apps

Folders are much easier to create, with a drag-and-drop style similar to iOS

A customizable launcher

New phone app with visual voicemail functionality that lets you speed up or slow down
voicemail messages

Pinch-to-zoom functionality in the calendar

Gmail has offline search, a two-line preview, and new action bar at the bottom

Swipe left or right to switch between Gmail conversations

Integrated screenshot capture by holding power and volume down buttons

Improved error correction on the keyboard

Ability to access apps directly from lock screen (similar to HTC Sense 3.x)

Improved copy and paste

Better voice integration

Face Unlock, a facial recognition service

New tabbed web browser, allowing up to 16 tabs

Browser now automatically syncs your Chrome bookmarks

"Roboto" font

Data Usage section in settings lets you set warnings when you reach a certain amount of use and disabling data when you go over your limit

Ability to kill off apps that are using data in the background

Camera app: zero shutter lag, time lapse settings, zoom while recording

Built-in photo editor

New gallery layout, organized by location and person

Refreshed people app with social network integration, status updates and hi-res images

Android Beam, a NFC feature that lets you exchange websites, contact info, directions, YouTube, etc.

achillies

Postby achillies » October 18th, 2011, 11:20 pm

mitch wrote:ICS is pure win!

x100

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 18th, 2011, 11:48 pm

So let me hear who wanna sell their S2

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 11:57 pm

Introducing Galaxy Nexus. Simple, beautiful, beyond smart

http://www.google.com/nexus/

now seriously, yuh really have to be a fanboy to think that iOS is better than Android :|

who vex loss.

achillies

Re: Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby achillies » October 19th, 2011, 8:57 am

mitch wrote:Introducing Galaxy Nexus. Simple, beautiful, beyond smart

http://www.google.com/nexus/

now seriously, yuh really have to be a fanboy to think that iOS is better than Android :|

who vex loss.

Don't underestimate the power of the fanboyism hoss, btw, you see the new browser and keyboard features, #Epic upgrades.
Last edited by achillies on October 19th, 2011, 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

achillies

Postby achillies » October 19th, 2011, 9:06 am

sentraman wrote:So let me hear who wanna sell their S2

My main concern is how Samsung going to integrate Touchwiz into ICS, I really love some of the things I saw from Google and these manufacturers better not shyt it up.
The new people app, the widgets, the app draw, the browser just good how it is, even the lock screen. Down to the new interface when you're receiving a call has seen some major enhancements. If all else fails, development community will save us when pure Google roms start to come out.

Mitch, I believe Exynos > OMAP. I'll keep my SGSII for the time being.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 19th, 2011, 5:22 pm

yeah i prefer the SII as well. but i really want the stock Android ICS experience. so i think i'll be going with a custom ICS rom.

unless of course Samsung comes real good with ICS integrated with touchwiz, which i doubt...

achillies

Postby achillies » October 19th, 2011, 10:05 pm

mitch wrote:yeah i prefer the SII as well. but i really want the stock Android ICS experience. so i think i'll be going with a custom ICS rom.

unless of course Samsung comes real good with ICS integrated with touchwiz, which i doubt...

Yup, I wait with bated breath for Touchwiz on 4.0, I really hoping they don't eff it up.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 20th, 2011, 4:43 am

^are you guys referring to the nexus prime specifically wrt touchwiz 4.0? I really doubt theres going to be any Touchwiz on the prime.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 20th, 2011, 6:08 am

Nah smurf, talking bout the ICS upgrade for the SGSII...

achillies

Postby achillies » October 20th, 2011, 10:17 am

mitch wrote:Nah smurf, talking bout the ICS upgrade for the SGSII...

Rumor is that the upgrade would come sooner than we think boi, for SGSII users

The question is, what we thinking, I say before the year done

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 21st, 2011, 4:30 pm

decided to take the plunge and isntall CM7.1 on the SII in anticipation of getting vanilla ICS on it :lol:

surprisingly this is the first time i ever installed a custom rom :|

CM7.1 is sweet though. anybody using ADW Launcher EX? is it worth the upgrade?

achillies

Postby achillies » October 21st, 2011, 4:40 pm

mitch wrote:decided to take the plunge and isntall CM7.1 on the SII in anticipation of getting vanilla ICS on it :lol:

surprisingly this is the first time i ever installed a custom rom :|

CM7.1 is sweet though. anybody using ADW Launcher EX? is it worth the upgrade?

Using it on stock rom but I didn't buy it, it hasn't been updated for months, not gonna buy it unless I see some development, how is CM7 though?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 21st, 2011, 5:03 pm

great. loving all the extra functionality with it, should have installed it sooner. but the stock dialler sucks compared to touchwiz. so gonna see what options i have to replace it.

and it was only recently i happened to learn by mistake that with touchwiz if i swipe right on a contact it calls the person and if i swipe left it takes me to sms :lol:

Postby S_2NR » October 21st, 2011, 5:28 pm

mitch wrote:and it was only recently i happened to learn by mistake that with touchwiz if i swipe right on a contact it calls the person and if i swipe left it takes me to sms :lol:

this is a nice feature i used all the time when i had my captivate.
too bad stock android doesn have it :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 21st, 2011, 5:55 pm

yep, it had some nice animations too.

the stock Gingerbread dialler and contacts app is very bleh in comparison