Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby AGENT RORO » October 5th, 2011, 10:21 am

AGENT RORO wrote:Sigh....this HT thing will leave me broke yes :x
if it doesn't then you're not doing it right!!! :lol:

:x .....

:x

BTW, did you have to "break in" your plasma?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2011, 10:49 am

^ yup - that was back in 2009 so I can't really remember what I did - but I checked some tips on avsforums.com and basically ran it for about 100 hours

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 5th, 2011, 10:53 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup - that was back in 2009 so I can't really remember what I did - but I checked some tips on avsforums.com and basically ran it for about 100 hours

I got the slides from AVS as well, will need to run it on mine. Thanks.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2011, 12:21 pm

I've been meaning to get this TV calibration disc
Spears & Munsil High-Definition Benchmark Blu-ray Disc
http://www.amazon.com/Spears-Munsil-Hig ... B001UM29OC

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 5th, 2011, 12:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've been meaning to get this TV calibration disc
Spears & Munsil High-Definition Benchmark Blu-ray Disc
http://www.amazon.com/Spears-Munsil-Hig ... B001UM29OC

Funny thing is I'm just now reading on calibration for plasmas and trying to make sense of all the different opinions on it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2011, 12:59 pm

^ what is the brand and model of your TV?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 5th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ what is the brand and model of your TV?

Samsung
PN51D550

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2011, 2:38 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

Samsung
PN51D550
have you tried these simple calibration settings? these are usually decent enough and then you can tweak from there

http://www.televisioninfo.com/content/S ... ration.htm

Calibration
Once you put the Samsung PN51D550 in Movie mode, most of the work is done for you. The bulk of the special features are disabled. You’ll only need to make the changes detailed in the table below.

Calibration Settings
Setting Default Calibrated
Cell Light 16 16
Contrast 95 95
Brightness 55 56
Color 50 50
Sharpness 20 0
Black Tone Off Off
Dynamic Contrast Off Off
Gamma 0 0
Flesh Tone 0 0
Edge Enhancement Off Off
Motion Lighting Off Off
Color Tone Warm2 Warm2
Digital Noise Filter Auto Off
MPEG Noise Filter Auto Off

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 5th, 2011, 8:27 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

Samsung
PN51D550
have you tried these simple calibration settings? these are usually decent enough and then you can tweak from there

http://www.televisioninfo.com/content/S ... ration.htm

Calibration
Once you put the Samsung PN51D550 in Movie mode, most of the work is done for you. The bulk of the special features are disabled. You’ll only need to make the changes detailed in the table below.

Calibration Settings
Setting Default Calibrated
Cell Light 16 16
Contrast 95 95
Brightness 55 56
Color 50 50
Sharpness 20 0
Black Tone Off Off
Dynamic Contrast Off Off
Gamma 0 0
Flesh Tone 0 0
Edge Enhancement Off Off
Motion Lighting Off Off
Color Tone Warm2 Warm2
Digital Noise Filter Auto Off
MPEG Noise Filter Auto Off

Thanks. I saw some that were close to this but I'll give these a try.
Got about 7hrs of "Break In" done today.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 5th, 2011, 10:00 pm

delete
Last edited by agent007 on August 18th, 2021, 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 6th, 2011, 5:32 am

you will not get surround sound from cable because it isnt hooked up to the dvd player or whatever it is producing the sound. if the said item does have rca input and your tv has rca output,you can hook it up via that and get surround sound from normal cable.As for the laptop part,same deal,you cant hook up the laptop to the tv then expect it to go to the surround sound part,because the tv is working as the output and not a passthrough audiowise,so you'll get the audio from the tv speakers and not the surround sound system.This is were receivers come in handy,sorry if you dont understand wtf i just typed,maybe duane can break it down some more for you.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 6th, 2011, 9:18 am

just opened up a new samsung UN46D6420

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » October 6th, 2011, 3:08 pm

RapToR wrote:just opened up a new samsung UN46D6420

wah bout the dyson fan...........nice nice

I was looking to buy one

is it any good

is it loud..from reviews that i saw online

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 6th, 2011, 4:07 pm

GLANIMAL wrote:
RapToR wrote:just opened up a new samsung UN46D6420

wah bout the dyson fan...........nice nice

I was looking to buy one

is it any good

is it loud..from reviews that i saw online

i didnt expect it to work so damn good

yes its loud but not loud enough to bother me

im tihinking of stocking some

Retail - $2000 or less ( not sure yet )

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2011, 4:25 pm

agent007 wrote:guys i need some help.

i have a flatscreen tv with 2 hdmi ports. i also have 1 home theatre system with 1 hdmi port.

I connected the home theatre to the tv via hdmi and the dvd player mode allows me to see and hear my movies in surround sound. Also, I have a laptop with hdmi and I was able to connect to the second vacant hdmi port on the tv. The tv thus becomes a monitor and works fine. My problem is, I want to hear my normal cable tv through the home theatre and the audio from the laptop through the home theatre.

Am i missing something? i thought hdmi was 2 way digital audio/video in one so that I could watch my normal cable tv but with hometheatre sound? Lastly, how am I able to stream youtube vids from my laptop to the tv if the home theatre is not picking up any audio signal from the tv?

Thanks
ok this is fairly easy to fix

what make and model is your "home theatre system with 1 hdmi"??

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 6th, 2011, 4:35 pm

^hahahah,harsh duane,harsh.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2011, 4:46 pm

^ no no, I'm being serious - sorry if it came off badly. i just quoted what he said he has.
If we know what equipment he has then we can better advise on what he can do and what he needs to get

Postby pioneer » October 6th, 2011, 5:55 pm

Well i was trying to find my post where i was asking about a TV, then i realised...oh well nevermind

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2011, 6:38 pm

^ post it again

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 7th, 2011, 5:45 pm

delete
Last edited by agent007 on August 18th, 2021, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2011, 6:29 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ post it again

I forgot what i asked

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2011, 6:59 pm

I remember one...

Is there local support for Toshiba TV's?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 7th, 2011, 7:08 pm

agent007 wrote:thanks guys, Duane, I got the problem fixed. It seems HDMI was not sufficient enough. I also required the optical out cable which I paid just under $200. in radioshack MT. I seriously thought HDMI was two-way audio/video traffic. Oh well, for those who venturing into the flatscreens and home theatre era, you must have both HDMI and optical out cables. VGA/RGB, DVI, RCA/composite, component and S/PDIF are old school stuff.
that is not entirely right

firstly HDMI 1.4 is two way in that there is an audio return channel. It is used exactly for what you are trying to do: get audio going to your TV and pass it through your home theatre audio system. No extra cables are needed to do this.

Secondly optical audio cannot handle HD audio. HDMI has far higher bandwidth capability than optical. In short, HDMI audio is far better than optical audio.

If your system is old and does not support HDMI 1.4 then you have no choice but to use optical audio - which is why I was asking you what home theatre system you were using.

HOWEVER, the correct way to set up your HD home theatre system is to use a HD receiver. Connect all your components (cable box, PS3, xbox, direcTV etc) to the receiver, and then send video ONLY to your TV - this way you get audio and video correctly for ALL your devices.

Postby SR » October 7th, 2011, 7:10 pm

pricesmart supports what they sell for repairs and parts

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 7th, 2011, 8:03 pm

pioneer wrote:I remember one...

not sure

but i know someone who repairs them

very reliable

in south

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » October 7th, 2011, 8:21 pm

pioneer wrote:I remember one...

circuit zone said theres an agent for toshiba locally and they honour the warranty as well

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2011, 11:49 pm

How about panasonic?

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2011, 6:02 pm

Anyone know how to put the flow remote into learning mode?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 8th, 2011, 8:03 pm

^which model?