Bank Worker Found Dead in warehouse on Charlotte Street.

uncle sam

Re: Bank Worker Found Dead in warehouse on Charlotte Street.

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 2:49 pm

pal you living in dreamland yes...

1. So you think people people only kill weeds with Gramoxone? Suicide and other usage must be considered when reviewing such policies.

2. qualified? who is going to do the distribution, who is going to determine that? the same corrupted people who have us in this situation now?

3. Don't act like you don't know our system here.. now you are just being naive

4. Local data vs US experience.... well if we don't have it in place yet... where you want me to get the data from? I am quoting from the US where I think the detection rate for homicides is 60+% (no too sure), that is a wayyyy better position than we are in. We'll have a horrid experience in comparison then

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 12th, 2016, 3:03 pm

Redman wrote:Depending on the politics of the website you're on that study is either inconclusive ...(finding no support for X does not support the opposite of X.)
Or crap and manipulated stats.

And why include suicide?

But my posts here were about ones ability to defend oneself and the family against a crime.

I'm advocating allowing those that want a gun and are qualified(no crime history,stable mentally and willing to submit to drug test etc)...to be able to get one.
I've never said anything about vigilante justice, or arming everyone willi nilli.

We have a system where a blank FUL application can be signed off by the CoP if he likes...or full proper apps remain ignored....that's sheit

CDC numbers show gun related homicides decreased while gun ownership increased.
I will find the link and post when I get back.

I would also say that we should use LOCAL data to inform our decisions...the US experience is way different to ours.

They include suicide to muddy the waters. Those contemplating suicide arent thinking straight and will usually use an accessible method. If there's a gun in the house that increases the odds of gun suicide.

If there's a knife or a rope they will use that.

Next thing they will want to ban iz gramaxone & rum.

A large majority (93 percent) of fatalities from paraquat poisoning are suicides, which occur mostly in developing countries.[36] For instance, in Samoa from 1979–2001, 70 percent of suicides were by paraquat poisoning. Trinidad and Tobago is particularly well known for its incidence of suicides involving the use of Gramoxone (commercial name of paraquat). In southern Trinidad, particularly in Penal, Debe from 1996–1997, 76 percent of suicides were by paraquat, 96 percent of which involved the over-consumption of alcohol such as rum.[37]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paraquat

Postby Slartibartfast » December 12th, 2016, 3:31 pm

Redman wrote:But my posts here were about ones ability to defend oneself and the family against a crime.

I'm advocating allowing those that want a gun and are qualified(no crime history,stable mentally and willing to submit to drug test etc)...to be able to get one.
I've never said anything about vigilante justice, or arming everyone willi nilli.

We have a system where a blank FUL application can be signed off by the CoP if he likes...or full proper apps remain ignored....that's sheit...

I would also say that we should use LOCAL data to inform our decisions...the US experience is way different to ours.

Personally I think the less guns the better but I agree that a good first step would be to fix the current system.

The very first thing they should do is a third party audit of all the FUL granted and hold anyone involved in bobol for misconduct in public office or whatever they can hold them for. If anyone that got a FUL was involved in a gun related crime where a proper background check would have stopped them from getting a FUL then charge the CoP that signed off on the FUL with accessory to the crime or whatever. I'm not sure how it works but they need to start being held accountable for their actions.

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 3:31 pm

pal you living in dreamland yes...

1. So you think people people only kill weeds with Gramoxone? Suicide and other usage must be considered when reviewing such policies.

We are discussing crime....a person decides to kill themselves then thinks about how-or is it that you are saying that Gramaxone CONTRIBUTES to suicide ?
Stop selling Gramaxone and suicide will drop? No they will use something else.

Gramaxone Lanate Rope and guns dont CAUSE suicide.

2. qualified? who is going to do the distribution, who is going to determine that? the same corrupted people who have us in this situation now?

Thats the point....lets establish a SYSTEM that is clear and definitive.
SO You need to do X,Y,Z ...and then you need to recert in X years, and submit to random drug tests.
X,Y,Z involves the private sector facilities

We have ranges in TnT that are doing excellent work in their record keeping- its a management of data and the TTPS/TTDF can spot check and enforce the rules-fines,loss of licenses etc and Jail will work IF ENFORCED

3. Don't act like you don't know our system here.. now you are just being naive
What system is that-we have systems that are applied and followed?

What we know is that if we all have your attitude NOTHING WILL CHANGE.

4. Local data vs US experience.... well if we don't have it in place yet... where you want me to get the data from? I am quoting from the US where I think the detection rate for homicides is 60+% (no too sure), that is a wayyyy better position than we are in. We'll have a horrid experience in comparison then

Yes but we know (albeit anecdotally )how often there is a incident with a LEGAL fire arm and we could use that to inform OUR decisions.
Im suggesting that if the process to acquire a gun is meaningful it will make sense, be useful to the TTPS and create a industry that is based on knowledge.

Again the process for a FUL is REAAAAAL shit-there is nothing in it that is relevant to what you would think would be important in owning a fire arm.
So its just a impediment-to Security Cos, to Business People,to Sports men and women and to private citizens.
What sense does that make?
Its a personal decision of the CoP.
And THAT is not a policy or a system.

But in this world if a person has a gun and defends themselves against a violent attack -a crime has been prevented.
And you will admit that you would prefer to be the victor and not the victim in that scenario.
We all would.
Today there is little chance of consequence-immediate or otherwise,personal or legal to committing a crime.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 12th, 2016, 3:48 pm

In case ppl mistakenly believe gun ownership iza panacea for violent crime...let set the record straight.

Legal gun ownership will NOT solve all the problems of T&T crime. No single solution will address the current spate of violent crime.

There iz no silver bullet solution to violent crime. In the short and long term solving thiz problem iz going to be an uphill struggle.

FUL iz just one one piece in the puzzle. In the interim the best defense iz using ur head and ur feet.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 12th, 2016, 3:49 pm

Shannon's mother has cancelled the 2nd autopsy.........
I hope what was found in the initial one can be of use in the investigation.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161212 ... r-says-mom

Postby The_Honourable » December 12th, 2016, 4:07 pm

On one end i can see where the mother is coming from but... you are closing an avenue that can be vital to the investigation. Probably she already knows? She saw the CCTV tapes and that's all she needs to know? and that's all the police needs? This is going to leave more questions with conspiracy theories.

I really hope this case doesn't go cold like the rest.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 12th, 2016, 4:10 pm

I still concerned over the other lady that went missing...no apparant concern...y cuz she a red

Postby Les Bain » December 12th, 2016, 4:14 pm

Not sure of the legitimacy, but this was a real difficult read.

http://local-reports.com/em-shannon-kil ... -arrested/

If it is true, it's even harder to know this thing will wade through legal limbo for a decade, all for nothing.

Postby aaron17 » December 12th, 2016, 4:15 pm

The_Honourable wrote:On one end i can see where the mother is coming from but... you are closing an avenue that can be vital to the investigation. Probably she already knows? She saw the CCTV tapes and that's all she needs to know? and that's all the police needs? This is going to leave more questions with conspiracy theories.

I really hope this case doesn't go cold like the rest.

I agree about the avenue..... that could have helped others in the past and the future ..

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 4:19 pm

But we know a crime was committed.

Isn't the state entitled to demand a 2nd autopsy...wouldn't this be necessary to successfully prosecute?

Daran

Postby Daran » December 12th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Redman wrote:But we know a crime was committed.

Isn't the state entitled to demand a 2nd autopsy...wouldn't this be necessary to successfully prosecute?

Exactly while not always vital, a 2nd autopsy usually required when they want to further figure out cause of death or have other issues to clear up.

Basically by refusing it can lead to a more difficult prosecution especially if the defense lawyers are good.
Last edited by Daran on December 12th, 2016, 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2016, 4:32 pm

Les Bain wrote:Not sure of the legitimacy, but this was a real difficult read.

If it is true, it's even harder to know this thing will wade through legal limbo for a decade, all for nothing.

That report is erroneous

Postby Slartibartfast » December 12th, 2016, 4:40 pm

That report is erroneous

Thanks for the clarification.

Postby Les Bain » December 12th, 2016, 4:59 pm

That report is erroneous

Thanks for the verification.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 12th, 2016, 5:26 pm

That report is erroneous

Thanks for the elucidation.

Postby The_Honourable » December 12th, 2016, 6:18 pm

Autopsy finds Shannon Banfield was smothered to death

Former Republic Bank employee Shannon Banfield was smothered to death, according to the findings of pathologist Dr Hughvon Des Vignes.

Contrary to prior information that a second autopsy was needed, reports reaching us indicate that Dr Des Vignes had in fact required more information on which to confirm his findings from Friday's autopsy.

We've been told that more crucial evidence was found at the crime scene today and that charges will be laid soon.

We've also been told that CCTV footage shows the main suspect walking the young woman to the upstairs showroom of the building.

Banfield was discovered dead at the IAM and Company on Charlotte Street, two days after she was reported missing.

The 20-year-old Santa Cruz resident was found among some boxes on the third floor.

Banfield will be laid to rest on Tuesday.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/aut ... ered-death

Postby toyolink » December 12th, 2016, 6:42 pm

No 2nd autopsy makes more sense now.
If police/DPP wasn't finishes the planned funeral for tomorrow was in jeopardy.
Still cant understand the kind of madness that is now causing all this 'pain'.
T&T just bathing in blood and anguish.

Postby shogun » December 12th, 2016, 7:21 pm

This case really underscored just how opportunistic and sensationalist some of our media can be.

Sympathies going out to that family. Can't even imagine their loss

Postby The_Honourable » December 12th, 2016, 7:21 pm

toyolink wrote:No 2nd autopsy makes more sense now.
If police/DPP wasn't finishes the planned funeral for tomorrow was in jeopardy.
Still cant understand the kind of madness that is now causing all this 'pain'.
T&T just bathing in blood and anguish.

Study TV6 said that the family didn't know about the results of the autopsy :?

Postby bluefete » December 12th, 2016, 8:11 pm

Is that suspect a serial killer?

Postby RASC » December 12th, 2016, 8:29 pm

Who is the lawyer representing the suspect in custody?
Have they released a statement?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 12th, 2016, 11:18 pm

Thread starting to die down...u know what that means.

Postby K74T » December 13th, 2016, 12:04 am

Shannon's autopsy report completed
Smothered with towel

The completed autopsy into the cause of death for Shannon Banfield yesterday revealed the 20-year-old was smothered with a towel in the IAM and Company Limited warehouse where she was found.

Last Friday, pathologist Dr Hughvon Des Vignes had stated that the autopsy was inconclusive pending further investigations. Yesterday, Des Vignes finally completed his report after Crime Scene Investigators returned to where Banfield was found and discovered a bloodied towel they suspect was used to end her life and took it back to the FSC for testing.

Now that a cause of death has been determined, police can and have sought advice on whether to charge a suspect in police custody for the death. Without the cause of death, a charge could not have been proffered against anyone, since only the cause of death can determine whether it was a natural or unnatural death.

Up to late last night, investigators were deliberating with Director of Public Prosecutions, Roger Gaspard SC, on whether or not to charge a suspect in Banfield's murder.

On Saturday, Matthew Maharaj, a man once deemed a person of interest in the killing, was released from police custody after no evidence was found linking him to the murder.

Maharaj and all other employees were questioned by police and all but one was subsequently released. He and the other man were the only ones whose photographs and names were released by the police as being able to assist them in their investigations last week. On his release, Maharaj called for an apology and questioned how he was going to move on now that his character had been smeared.

The other employee was recently transferred to the Charlotte Street branch of IAM due to staff shortage, company officials said. The man has been employed at the company for the past four months and was transferred about a month ago. Police said they have also seized pornographic material during their investigation.

Banfield, of Mc Carthy Street, Cantaro Village, Santa Cruz, was last seen leaving her work place—RBL's Independence Square branch—around 4 pm last Monday. In a telephone conversation with her mother Sherry-Ann Lopez around that time, Banfield had said she was leaving work to purchase items at the same store (IAM) she was eventually found in. Lopez said she would normally drop off and pick up her daughter from work, but she (Banfield) decided to travel on Monday.

Banfield's body was discovered hidden under some boxes in company's third- floor storeroom around 1.30 pm on Thursday by employees who were searching for the source of a strong decomposing scent they believed was a dead rat. Banfield's purse and shopping bags were found near to her body.

Banfield will be buried today following a church service at the Seventh Day Adventist Church at Prizgar Road, San Juan.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-12-12/smothered-towel

Postby shogun » December 13th, 2016, 12:43 am

So many questions.... I'm not going to ask though.

The authorities should try to convince the family of the importance of having the pathologist be conclusive in this case.

If this perpetrator is a sociopath, then many more women could be in trouble, if he's not caught

Postby rollingstock » December 13th, 2016, 1:02 am

shogun wrote:So many questions.... I'm not going to ask though.

The authorities should try to convince the family of the importance of having the pathologist be conclusive in this case.

If this perpetrator is a sociopath, then many more women could be in trouble, if he's not caught

Did you even bother to read the post above yours?

Postby shogun » December 13th, 2016, 1:28 am

Just realized that I hadn't refreshed the page after my last post, which I swore was under Duane's last post.

Sorry about that.

Postby desifemlove » December 13th, 2016, 3:04 am

who says it was a serial killer? have the police established a motive? with the greatest of respect to the deceased, what was her background? who were her friends? did she have many enemies? she was a bank clerk, not a well-paying job. i won't say more, since it won't be respectful....

but to end crime, the society needs a whole new paradigm. cut down levels of government, no Senate, no local government (even THA), cut down the number of taxes, increase number of parliamentary seats with PR (MSJ or ILP in parliament would bring a new voice), adopt zero tolerance policies to engender a cultural shift. No littering, harsh speeding penalties. Panday is right, we need consitutitonal reform, but that alone won't solve all things. it's no panacea. People said Castro was evil and a bad man, but we need somebody like him. NOt a communist, but somebody who could bring a new vision, new ideas, new paradigm. that's the only thing that will save T&T. Or in a few decades it will be worse than Pakistan or the Congo. Sounds dramatic,, but it could nay WILL happen without any radical change.

Postby desifemlove » December 13th, 2016, 3:08 am

i read the article above. Pornographic material? so what? unless it's sick sheit like necrophilia, or scat or rape scenes, it's not illegal to own porn. only to produce it. How is that related? again with respect to the deceased, was she in porn? do they presume this only cos she's female? don't male porn stars exist?

too many pieces here don't fit. they know how she died, but so what, that cannot alone lead to a motive or grounds to charge somebody and have it stand up in court towards conviction.

Postby desifemlove » December 13th, 2016, 3:14 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
uncle sam wrote:to me enabling citizens to protect themselves hints on victim blaming... that is not how u eliminate criminals
Enabling the citizens to protecting themselves is akin to treating the symptoms of a disease instead of finding a cure.

Anyone asked themselves "what creates criminals?" First you need to figure that out and address it accordingly. I doubt a lack of firepower among citizens is what creates criminals. Therefore increasing access to guns would only act as a temporary deterrent until criminals figure out how to move accordingly. Who knows, they may just start shooting first when they come to rob you. Then, guess what, they have another firearm to add to their arsenal.

What is clear is that this problem is not going away unless some serious thought and strategic planning takes place (beyond the police commissioner just stating that some serious thought and strategic planning going to take place :roll:) Right now all we have is a bunch of unqualified individuals (especially tuners) just saying to bring back the death penalty and give everybody guns like that going to make anything better and not showing any reasoning beyond "yeah dat go stop dem".

*sigh* whatever yes.

because the government, both red and ready and the rising Sun, are too vested in the situation or too afraid of the blowback.

many countries have solved crime, or brought in measures. we have the nous/expertise, with respected criminiogits, psychologists, people with international legal experience. and yet these people don't bring in any new ideas.

to solve crime in this country, capital punishment won't do sheit. this isn't the medieval times, we does know capital punishment doh wuk always, and innocent people will be killed too.