COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32198 cases, 817 deaths, 7508 active, 23873 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » June 29th, 2021, 6:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:We are in no position to open our borders with the amount of vaccinated ppl in tnt...

true. i was expecting they would at least require HOME quarantine for vaccinated nationals due to both the delta variant infecting a few vaccinated ppl, and also unvaccinated children who are coming in with them. they should require vaccination for children 12+ as it is authorized in the US and UK i think.

so in the midst of delta spreading fast worldwide we go have unvaxxed children free to roam as soon as they come in :shock:

won't children need to take a test as well?

yes but as we all know, u can test -ve today, pass through d airport, fly down to T&T and in quarantine test +ve days later. except this time they NOT in quarantine. u cud get infected just b4 that 1st test but the viral load wasn't enough at the time to detect it. if they doh implement home quarantine get ready for the next wave and 3rd lock down in 2-3 months time once that delta variant reach.

oh i see, thanks

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32198 cases, 817 deaths, 7508 active, 23873 recovered in T&T

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2021, 6:33 pm

Donna Cox should just stop talking .

I don't think people understand what is really happening on the ground.

Employed and complaining public servants, whose salaries are running every month, have NO IDEA how many people are suffering out here.

Saw a hamper drive today and one of the people who came was a father of SIX CHILDREN who used to clean pools and so on. Man cried when he was given the hamper. Said that it is the hardest period of his life to watch his children go hungry because he cannot do an honest day's work.

But Kamla and Rowley out there playing politics with Covid 19.

There are times I just switch off because there is nothing positive. Just today, someone advised the UK gov't to stop giving daily Covid statistics because people have become hyper and anxious.

What will we do when the Delta Variant hits T&T? Is there a plan in place? Or like so many things with this never see come see government, they will put a plan in place after it arrives?

The future is one where we have to plan for living with Covid every day. You cannot have people's lives indefinitely on hold and you have nothing in place to help them - especially those who hold no party cards.

Postby aaron17 » June 29th, 2021, 6:38 pm

I hope they dont make that mistake again of apologising to the public and going back to the drawing board.

wing

Postby wing » June 29th, 2021, 6:38 pm

bluefete wrote:Donna Cox should just stop talking .

Employed and complaining public servants, whose salaries are running every month, have NO IDEA how many people are suffering out here.

Saw a hamper drive today and one of the people who came was a father of SIX CHILDREN who used to clean pools and so on. Man cried when he was given the hamper. Said that it is the hardest period of his life to watch his children go hungry because he cannot do an honest day's work.

There are times I just switch off because there is nothing positive. Just today, someone advised the UK gov't to stop giving daily Covid statistics because people have become hyper and anxious.

What will we do when the Delta Variant hits T&T? Is there a plan in place? Or like so many things with this never see come see government, they will put a plan in place after it arrives?

The future is one where we have to plan for living with Covid every day. You cannot have people's lives indefinitely on hold and you have nothing in place to help them - especially those who hold no party cards.
What is YOUR plan? Are you waiting for the incompetent government to tell you what to do? Prepare for the worst.....stock up ......get vaxxed.....stay safe......save up..... otherwise education was wasted on you and others who criticize but don't do anything about it.

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2021, 6:52 pm

wing wrote:
bluefete wrote:Donna Cox should just stop talking .

What is YOUR plan? Are you waiting for the incompetent government to tell you what to do? Prepare for the worst.....stock up ......get vaxxed.....stay safe......save up..... otherwise education was wasted on you and others who criticize but don't do anything about it.

Why do you assume I did nothing?

Do you know what I did BEFORE Covid? Did you read what I wrote or is the balisier flower your best friend?

When everyone was spending money like no tomorrow I was saving and investing at great personal sacrifice, like Zoom. But this is not about me or Zoom.

This is about the thousands who cannot work because of government fiat. What do you want them to do? Tell me nah?

Did you see a 2 pack of Fine Choice seasoned chicken breast in X-tra Foods move from $23.00 to $49.00 in less than one month?

Many people live paycheck to paycheck and hand to mouth.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2021, 6:55 pm

There is a reason why the CMO chose to "educate" the public about delta. Dr. Chaos hinted at it and I was hoping you all read between the lines when I said that variant will magically appear here when the borders reopen. We will left it so

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2021, 7:05 pm

so delta would come in through both unofficial and as of next month official borders long before we have a large amount of vaccine to cover most of the population. expect 2000+ deaths by year end.

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2021, 7:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:so delta would come in through both unofficial and as of next month official borders long before we have a large amount of vaccine to cover most of the population. expect 2000+ deaths by year end.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:There is a reason why the CMO chose to "educate" the public about delta. Dr. Chaos hinted at it and I was hoping you all read between the lines when I said that variant will magically appear here when the borders reopen. We will left it so

Is this part of the government plan or a great example of their incompetence?

No strategic planning whatsoever.

This country will be a total mess by the end of this year.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » June 29th, 2021, 7:27 pm

MaxPower wrote:So this kant PEA automatically assumed that these 4 Venezuelans are illegal?

Any Venezuelan that has Covid brought it in? It is possible but not always the case.

Trinis can’t spread the virus too?

Arent they the ones breeching quarantine and behaving like jackasses?

Ok PEA, no wonder you are where you are.

Unimportant and struggling for attention and votes.

Xenophobic ass

You calling the man a kant for "automatically assuming they were illegal" but nowhere in his post did he say they were illegal. He ASKED how they came in. No comprende Ingles ?

Postby adnj » June 29th, 2021, 7:27 pm

Dr. Karagiannis: Delta variant is super transmissible and deadly

The Delta variant of COVID-19 is super transmissible and most contagious of the virus, according to Dr. Petros Karayiannis, Professor of Microbiology/Molecular Virology at the University of Nicosia Medical School.

He urged the public once more to strictly adhere to personal protective measures and protocols and those who have not been vaccinated to book their appointments the soonest.

Invited by the Cyprus News Agency to comment on Monday’s meeting with the President of the Republic with the scientific advisory group on handling the pandemic, he said the President wants to be updated on the epidemiological picture on the island and see what can be done to stop the increase in cases.

He said the increase is due to lack of personal protective measures and the insufficient vaccination coverage of young people who seem to be the majority of cases at the moment.

Ninety percent of the new cases, he added, are unvaccinated people.

The professor said the increase is likely due to Delta variant. “We are not 100% sure, we hope it is not, but we know that 9% of the cases sent overseas early May were. And some time has passed by since and things have likely changed.

He also said the Delta variant “is the most transmissible variant yet, more contagious than the British variant. Therefore it is super contagious and it looks like it infect mostly young people who have not been vaccinated and even children. And it is more “deadly”, he added.

https://in-cyprus.philenews.com/dr-kara ... nd-deadly/

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 29th, 2021, 8:42 pm

Alright DMan7 I agreeing with you now.

END THE LOCKDOWN NOW!

People suffering too much. Allow people to go back to work and sustain themselves.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 29th, 2021, 8:47 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Alright DMan7 I agreeing with you now.

END THE LOCKDOWN NOW!

People suffering too much. Allow people to go back to work and sustain themselves.

The ONLY person besides myself of course that starting to make sense in this thread.

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2021, 9:00 pm

the first time they had a spike (after elections), they say we need to learn to "live with the virus."

and we did, for the most part we were able to live with the virus. People could earn a livelihood, even recreation came back.

but this time, it is different.

the country might not be able to "live with" the Delta variant.

it is too infectious, too deadly.

We have only one hope, and her name is Kamala.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2021, 9:19 pm

end the lockdown, but keep borders closed.

should throw up 2 polls: do u think lock down should end, borders should open
given delta and delta + are looming

Postby De Dragon » June 29th, 2021, 9:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ no i watched the conference. what Dr. hinds said is basically u would not have had enough time for the immune system to even start to generate antibodies. the 1st dose does give partial immunity, but only after 2-3 weeks have passed.

i saw a youtube video by a Dr Campbell in the UK. He was talking about a study which showed MORE infections am :roll: ong ppl within 2 weeks after their first dose compared to a control group who didn't get the vaccine.

reason?
1) they let down their guard, falsely believing they are protected during that early period after the 1st dose, whereas ppl in the control group were still careful
2) virtually no immunity/antibodies during that period.

Which is why you do your research before getting vaccinated, but hey we have men here still expressing amazement that vaccinated people getting Covid

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » June 29th, 2021, 9:49 pm

Unless you are facing a situation it is difficult to understand what people are going through. No job, no savings, prices going up, transport hard to get, no help from the state. No support for small businesses. People need to work to feed their families. Its a balancing act between managing the virus and people's livelihood.
We have to learn for the few months how to live with the virus.

Postby De Dragon » June 29th, 2021, 9:53 pm

triniboi49 wrote:Unless you are facing a situation it is difficult to understand what people are going through. No job, no savings, prices going up, transport hard to get, no help from the state. No support for small businesses. People need to work to feed their families. Its a balancing act between managing the virus and people's livelihood.
We have to learn for the few months how to live with the virus.

:? :?
Soldier, people have been learning to live with the virus since the pandemic started. As soon as people realize that the State support isn't coming, or is only going to line pockets of a select few, the better their chances.

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2021, 9:55 pm

All the people who saying keep borders closed realize we have an airline to operate?

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 29th, 2021, 9:57 pm

Restrictions extended on the dl. New set sent out.

Legal Notice No. 186 - The Public Health Regulations No. 17, are attached for your information.
Please note the following changes:
· Regulation 5 was amended to increase the passenger capacity of taxis and maxi-taxis from 50% to 75% (see Schedule 3)
· Regulation 14- the Regulations are extended to July 18, 2021.

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2021, 10:03 pm

END THE LOCKDOWN NOW!

This is why ppl need to put aside some savings for emergencies.

If we open up now with the Gamma variant here with the R0 being 5 it going to explode again especially with undisciplined trinis still not wearing masks. But MOH also need to let ppl know that a simple scarf or jersey is NOT going to block any more contagious variant whether Gamma or especially Delta.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2021, 10:15 pm

no variant can come in and wreak havoc, unless its let in.
keep the borders closed, and let people get on with living, and earning a living.
let tnt become the biggest covid bubble it have.
the only way to come in is tru mandatory 14d quarantine with double negative release

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2021, 10:19 pm

sMASH wrote:no variant can come in and wreak havoc, unless its let in.
keep the borders closed, and let people get on with living, and earning a living.
let tnt become the biggest covid bubble it have.
the only way to come in is tru mandatory 14d quarantine with double negative release

They can keep the borders closed or tightly controlled but that doesn't do anything about the community spread of the Gamma variant we already have in the population.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 29th, 2021, 10:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:

END THE LOCKDOWN NOW!

If we open up now with the Gamma variant here with the R0 being 5 it going to explode again especially with undisciplined trinis still not wearing masks. But MOH also need to let ppl know that a simple scarf or jersey is NOT going to block any more contagious variant whether Gamma or especially Delta.

Savings would be a fine to talk about a year ago, I know folks who got laid off the middle of last year had to sell car or house and other assets.

Remember while savings is one thing, commitments are another.

I think it's unreasonable to expect many people to live on savings for over year without any real income.

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2021, 10:46 pm

this interview on TV6 tonight
https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/house ... 19d05.html
::cringe::

so much bad information in so little time. yikes. This lady is a "Geneticist and Associate Professor of Biotechnology," which should mean she is at least acquainted with technology aspect if not the statistical or medical aspect.

First, efficacy is a statistic that compares the rates of infection (or defined symptomatic disease) in a vaccinated population compared to the control group in a clinical study. It is specific to the conditions of that particular clinical study.

No, none of the vaccines we use have her claimed "99.something percent" efficacy at preventing severe disease. I do not know where she got that from. Sinopharm, the major vaccine brand used here, has published 79% efficacy both against symptomatic COVID and hospitalization. There are no studies to provide an efficacy number against mortality. What she feels and what her opinion is, are not efficacy statistics and should not be quoted on live tv as such.

The COVID-19 vaccine BIBP, is an aluminium-hydroxide-adjuvanted, inactivated whole virus vaccine. A large multi-country phase 3 trial has shown that two doses, administered at an interval of 21 days, have an efficacy of 79% (95% confidence interval (CI) 66–87%) against symptomatic SARS-CoV-2 infection 14 or more days after the second dose. Vaccine efficacy against hospitalization was 79% (95%CI 26–94%). The trial was not designed and powered to demonstrate efficacy against severe disease, in persons with comorbidities, in pregnancy, or in persons aged 60 years and above. Women were underrepresented in the trial. The median duration of follow-up available at the time of evidence review was 112 days. Two other efficacy trials are under way but data are not yet available.

https://www.who.int/publications/i/item ... IBP-2021.1

Secondly, and this is the big one, NO, the Sputnik V is not an inactivated virus vaccine. WTF is with a UWI Associate Professor of Biotechnology making that level of mistakes? Seriously, whAT In the F can bring her to make a mistake like that? That's not just trivial and me complaining - being a viral vector vaccine means it's a live virus being injected into you are if the process isn't manufactured properly it can be a health risk. Look at this article where Brazil banned Sputnik after samples of the live genetically-modified adenovirus were found to be replication-competent.

According to a slideshow uploaded online, scientists at Anvisa, Brazil's regulator, said they tested samples of the booster shot and found it was "replication competent" — meaning that once inside the body, the adenovirus can continue to multiply.

They added that this had likely occurred because of a manufacturing problem called "recombination," in which the modified adenovirus had gained back the genes it needed to replicate while it was being grown inside engineered human cells in a lab.

tldr: A farking UWI Professor of Biotechnology does not know sputnik is a viral vector vaccine and went on TV to give bad info.

edit: farking UTT, not UWI. my bad

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2021, 11:31 pm

^^ the edit explains it better, lol.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 29th, 2021, 11:55 pm

bluefete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:so delta would come in through both unofficial and as of next month official borders long before we have a large amount of vaccine to cover most of the population. expect 2000+ deaths by year end.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:There is a reason why the CMO chose to "educate" the public about delta. Dr. Chaos hinted at it and I was hoping you all read between the lines when I said that variant will magically appear here when the borders reopen. We will left it so

Is this part of the government plan or a great example of their incompetence?

No strategic planning whatsoever.

This country will be a total mess by the end of this year.

The PNM is an amazing well oiled machine. All they need to do here is set the stage (create the narrative that open borders means Delta, Knowing Delta is here). Then Open the borders and the spin begins. A few weeks after declare the Delta variant is here. Blame "irresponsible travelers" who went Miami to shop and party.

Now its "IRRESPONSIBLE TRINIs" and not an incompetent Gov that suffered the population for no reason while allowing UK, Brazil and Indian variants in. Its quite Brilliant.
Now if they would only apply that brilliance to actually doing some good for the country ...

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 30th, 2021, 12:09 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

END THE LOCKDOWN NOW!

Savings would be a fine to talk about a year ago, I know folks who got laid off the middle of last year had to sell car or house and other assets.

Remember while savings is one thing, commitments are another.

I think it's unreasonable to expect many people to live on savings for over year without any real income.

It is true, emergency funds even from the most financially conservative advisors have been about 6-8 months worth of expenses.

We going on 15 months of this nonsense right now.

And if you were to look at the reserve funds of the general population, how many households do you think just have 30-60k just parked up for emergencies? It is remarkably uncommon.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 30th, 2021, 12:20 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Restrictions extended on the dl. New set sent out.

Legal Notice No. 186 - The Public Health Regulations No. 17, are attached for your information.
Please note the following changes:
· Regulation 5 was amended to increase the passenger capacity of taxis and maxi-taxis from 50% to 75% (see Schedule 3)
· Regulation 14- the Regulations are extended to July 18, 2021.

So the taxi drivers get through?

This is a small win. More groups need to start standing up to the pnm.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32528 cases, 833 deaths, 7177 active, 24518 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2021, 1:03 am

I worked right through the pandemic, and the hardest period was during the first lockdown when we had to take salary cuts because we couldn't operate fully. I won't pretend to know what people who have lost their jobs and used up all their savings are going through, but I can read and see the news stories, like the lady surviving on a bhagi patch, or the lady with the stroke, months behind on rent and cannot even hire a taxi to take her daughter to write SEA.
That is why, the LFD RFD PNM weave queen cannot be saying the sheit she said and then trying to walk it back under the old "context" argument. The issue seems to be that they were "shined up" by the private sector, but rather than trying to partner and actually help people, the drive was negatively portrayed.
I guess more GORTT hamper/assistance money means less to t'ief :roll: :roll:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32528 cases, 833 deaths, 7177 active, 24518 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » June 30th, 2021, 1:45 am

taxi men gt. but now they will have to wait longer to get that third passenger.

this move might have been better to stand up for, when more people go back out to work. just bubble with the fare increase due to capacity.

i didnt say nutten about this earlier, cause i didnt think govt would have capitulated so quickly,

but, is a ease on the passengers, as the bump in fares would come down... jess hadda hold a lil more strain to get a third passenger