PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby M_2NR » February 21st, 2011, 3:14 pm

let me ask ulyuh something... ill tell u up front i dont really dig gt5 but is there any REAL tuner related or even sim that allows a user to say pic a rx7 or a skyline... hell even a lambo or a porsche and tune the crap out of it. not rice it eh, im saying engine mods, suspension, full GT brakes package, stuff like that and on PC platform? I talking the level of Forza and GT...

THERE IS NONE.

Dont even say Shift. it has some degree of it but not all out. GTR Evo comes close along with rFactor maybe iRacing. (paging russell) but nothing comes close at all.

I know ulyuh will never grasp what im saying cuz i said it before lol.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 21st, 2011, 8:57 pm

^^ is tru! but wait... GT5 on pc??!!

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » February 21st, 2011, 9:37 pm

M_2NR wrote:let me ask ulyuh something... ill tell u up front i dont really dig gt5 but is there any REAL tuner related or even sim that allows a user to say pic a rx7 or a skyline... hell even a lambo or a porsche and tune the crap out of it. not rice it eh, im saying engine mods, suspension, full GT brakes package, stuff like that and on PC platform? I talking the level of Forza and GT...

THERE IS NONE.

Dont even say Shift. it has some degree of it but not all out. GTR Evo comes close along with rFactor maybe iRacing. (paging russell) but nothing comes close at all.

I know ulyuh will never grasp what im saying cuz i said it before lol.

like i said its not that bad.....i remember cheesing my effing balls off on gt2 with the Suzuki escudo for hours....but full GT brakes package and ish like that, iz not the reason we buy expensive gpu's....and if they port it to pc (which will never happen)...it will really be the best real driving simulator!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2011, 10:01 pm

things like 24hr racing etc are for real motorsport enthusiasts, not gamers.
GT5 is more of a simulator along the lines for LFS and other real PC racing simulators.
For people accustomed to gaming it seems boring to have to set toe and camber and gearing for 2 hours before racing - but that is what real racing is about. Not applying decals and a flares and nitrous and then bouncing people.

I have a PS3 with a G25 and a playseat evolution and playing online feels very close to real racing at wallerfield in my car back in the day.

Postby M_2NR » February 21st, 2011, 10:13 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I have a PS3 with a G25 and a playseat evolution and playing online feels very close to real racing at wallerfield in my car back in the day.

show off. :|

btw today was d day for sandy bridge ent? i hope asus posts updates...
http://event.asus.com/2011/SandyBridge/notice/

Humes

Postby Humes » February 21st, 2011, 10:19 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:that is what real racing is about. Not applying decals and a flares and nitrous and then bouncing people.

Tears yuh know. :lol:

Humes

Postby Humes » February 21st, 2011, 10:20 pm

Anybody into emulation?

Postby M_2NR » February 21st, 2011, 10:25 pm

ePSXe? Connectix VGA? PCSX2?

the last i tried was PCSX2 with GT4... which was meh. :(

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » February 21st, 2011, 10:28 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I have a PS3 with a G25 and a playseat evolution and playing online feels very close to real racing at wallerfield in my car back in the day.

ah bet if yuh run yuh car into ah wall at 200mph at wallerfield.....yuh wouldn't reverse and still finish de race...like de real driving similator that iz gt5!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2011, 11:09 pm

^ why would you do that at all?
In real racing you try not to touch the other racers - in a game you shove and push and run into walls to see how the damage looks

in GT5 you may not see the damage but the mechanical damage is there and the car responds accordingly

BTW the physics in GT5 is FAR better than that of GT4 on the PS2

thing is this is not the thread for a GT5 argument - I have both GT5 and NFS Shift on the PS3 and I prefer GT5 - feels more real.
If NFS Shift 2 is better then great!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2011, 11:24 pm

on another note
February 21, 2011 5:05 PM PST
Intel lists new Sandy Bridge mobile chips
Read more: http://news.cnet.com/8301-13924_3-20034 ... z1Eed4lS00

also

MSI gets its hands on working Sandy Bridge chipsets
New stepping offers hope
By Lawrence Latif
Mon Feb 21 2011, 15:50

MOTHERBOARD MAKER Micro Star International (MSI) has announced that it will be shipping the B3 stepping of Intel's P67/H67 Cougar Point chipset.

MSI like most mainboard manufacturers was caught up in Intel's Cougar Point chip recall last month. The Cougar Point chip is used in Intel's latest Sandy Bridge chipsets, and after performing stress testing Intel found that SATA performance degraded over time. A recall followed, with Intel saying that it would resume P67/H67 chipset fabrication in March, though MSI claims that it has managed to get hold of B3 stepping Cougar Point chips that do not exhibit the SATA degradation.

To help its customers identify MSI boards with the latest Cougar Point chipset, MSI has stuck a label with the words "MSI B3 Stepping Ready" on its boxes. It says this should allow its customers to confidently buy its latest motherboards.

It has been a busy few weeks for Intel following the Cougar Point recall. Intel CEO Paul Otellini publicly expressed his shock at Nokia's decision to dump Meego, the Linux based operating system Intel was co-developing with Nokia. Then on Friday the chipmaker announced it would be building a new multi-billion dollar chip plant.

During a visit by US President Barak Obama to Intel's R&D labs in Hillsboro Oregon, the firm announced that it will be ploughing $5 billion into building Fab 42 in Arizona. Intel claims that Fab 42 will be the most advanced chip plant in the world and will be tooled up to produce 300mm wafers at the 14nm process node.

Intel's Fab 42 is scheduled to come online in 2013, which incidentally is when the next major 'tick' will happen in the firm's cyclical tick-tock processor development and fabrication strategy.

Read more: http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/new ... z1EeeskS7E
The Inquirer - Computer hardware news and downloads. Visit the download store today.

while I wont buy an MSI board for my Sandy Bridge build, this is great news!

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » February 21st, 2011, 11:25 pm

^^ dude u don't understand....i agree with you, i always liked GT....one of my fav games is the shadow of the colossus...though many ppl hated it...i find the gameplay waz alright.....but good gameplay isn't the only thing that makes a game good...else we would still be playin tetris......my quarrel is the whole console thing....i like playin games even ah little above 60fps & having a card dedicated to physx!!....but all said GT iz a good franchise!!

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 22nd, 2011, 12:55 am

while I wont buy an MSI board for my Sandy Bridge build, this is great news!

Why not?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 22nd, 2011, 8:02 am

^^ x2!! MSI boards PWN ALL!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2011, 11:16 am

^ I know they have some good boards but I was planning on buying the ASUS P8P67 Deluxe for this build - best performance numbers so far for Sandy Bridge systems

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 22nd, 2011, 11:41 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:things like 24hr racing etc are for real motorsport enthusiasts, not gamers.
GT5 is more of a simulator along the lines for LFS and other real PC racing simulators.
For people accustomed to gaming it seems boring to have to set toe and camber and gearing for 2 hours before racing - but that is what real racing is about. Not applying decals and a flares and nitrous and then bouncing people.

I have a PS3 with a G25 and a playseat evolution and playing online feels very close to real racing at wallerfield in my car back in the day.

Exactly. I was ONCE a die hard PC gamer (until a few months ago)...and good grief...I can't believe I waited this long to get any of the GT games.

GT5 promotes REALISM. Not like some of the other games where you're street racing with ridiculous grip while having hydraulics and crims :? :?

NFS Shift (and GRID) are the few others that come close on the PS3 ..but afai can see, GT5 is one of the only ones staying true to what race-track racing is about, and more importantly, realism of mods (e.g. selection of wheels, body upgrades etc).

Forza however, is just a cut above NFS shift and GRID.....and possibly just that bit better than GT5 (in some ways) as well.

That said, GT5 isn't totally accurate in some of it's mods - I mean, you can't install a supercharger on a Swift Sport....yet in real life, Suzuki themselves offer one :|

If nothing else, the graphics are amazing:

Last edited by Alpha_2nr on February 22nd, 2011, 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 22nd, 2011, 11:46 am

^^Point. The ported GT4 cars are the lamest part of that game for me.

So saying you have 1000 cars, but only 200 of them are "Premium" (cockpit views, better modelling etc) really sucks.

That said, the Premium cars (like the NC Miata above) IMHO, look just a hint better in GT5 than in Forza...IMHO.

However, I'm not here to debate with you pioneer...save it for the console thread :D

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 22nd, 2011, 11:50 am

mihself wrote:However, I'm not here to debate with you pioneer...save it for the console thread

Ok pioneer.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » February 22nd, 2011, 1:32 pm

ps3 is a fun device..for videos and HD stuff..not games..

the 360 is a gaming machine...hell yeh!

but........

* duks flying controller ps3 *

Humes

Postby Humes » February 22nd, 2011, 3:27 pm

M_2NR wrote:ePSXe? Connectix VGA? PCSX2?

Old school. MAME, SNES, Genesis, NES, handhelds, etc.

I putting together a collection here...a comprehensive compilation. Later I will give yall details. I will just say that so far, I have about 60 gigs of material...and I eh done yet.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 22nd, 2011, 3:35 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:things like 24hr racing etc are for real motorsport enthusiasts, not gamers.

Exactly. I was ONCE a die hard PC gamer (until a few months ago)...and good grief...I can't believe I waited this long to get any of the GT games.

GT5 promotes REALISM. Not like some of the other games where you're street racing with ridiculous grip while having hydraulics and crims :? :?

NFS Shift (and GRID) are the few others that come close on the PS3 ..but afai can see, GT5 is one of the only ones staying true to what race-track racing is about, and more importantly, realism of mods (e.g. selection of wheels, body upgrades etc).

Forza however, is just a cut above NFS shift and GRID.....and possibly just that bit better than GT5 (in some ways) as well.

That said, GT5 isn't totally accurate in some of it's mods - I mean, you can't install a supercharger on a Swift Sport....yet in real life, Suzuki themselves offer one :|

If nothing else, the graphics are amazing:

GT5 graphics = fail just like GT4 <

Excuse me? Ridiculous grip, crims and hydros???

About the ridiculous grip. It's only ridiculous when you can't handle it bro. IMHO GT has ridiculous grip and the driving experience is horrible

About the crims and hydros. It's put there only if you choose to install it on your vehicle.

I still play NFSU2 becuase of the dyno tuning and because it's fun to kick people's but online especially when your vehicle is dyno tuned :D

No crims, hydros or hard pong lol

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » February 22nd, 2011, 5:05 pm

^^please don't compare GT5 with NFSU2...please don"t.......you'll doom us all!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 22nd, 2011, 5:26 pm

^^^ LMAO! under all kix tho! NFSU2 was a fantastic games... i love the dyno tuning aspect of it and i wass able to squeeze a top speed of 400Km/h put of my R34 skyline! it was rell kool! GT5 i never really played it so i wont comment on it... but from what ive heard.. its a gud simulator...! not a GAME!!.. its all about the fine stuff that dont seem to matter to the average joe... and well i played forza a couple of times on a 360.... loved it!! was hooked instantly! forza 3 that is..! :D :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 22nd, 2011, 5:36 pm

ent boi speedaholic NFSU2 real cool

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 22nd, 2011, 6:02 pm

i never got to play online tho.... had a downloaded copy... :(

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 22nd, 2011, 6:44 pm

speedaholic wrote:i never got to play online tho.... had a downloaded copy... :(

Get a VTM from republic bank and go on Steam and the EA Store, does have some real nice specials daily on them sites.

Got Dead Space 2 for $24US from EA and Batman Arkham Asylum Game Of The Year edition from Steam for $7.50 US recently :shock:

I think NFS Carbon Collector's Edition going for $10 US rite now.

Postby M_2NR » February 22nd, 2011, 7:43 pm

pioneer wrote:Clearly none of you ever played Forza :lol:

This.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I know they have some good boards but I was planning on buying the ASUS P8P67 Deluxe for this build - best performance numbers so far for Sandy Bridge systems

I dont understand why they not realizing why. We discuss it before. When u want something, no matter what else comes out... ah mc want eet.

Humes wrote:
M_2NR wrote:ePSXe? Connectix VGA? PCSX2?

Old school. MAME, SNES, Genesis, NES, handhelds, etc.

I putting together a collection here...a comprehensive compilation. Later I will give yall details. I will just say that so far, I have about 60 gigs of material...and I eh done yet.

BESS! I somehow can't see myself going that far back. I wasnt a huge fan of back in d day games like that. I'm only a lil yute to most of the ppl here and i dunno i just never grasped the NES, GB, 64 etc. :oops:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 22nd, 2011, 9:17 pm

speedaholic wrote:i never got to play online tho.... had a downloaded copy... :(

This is your solution

Humes

Postby Humes » February 22nd, 2011, 10:24 pm

I'm putting together something like what's shown in this video.

Basically a front-end (Maximus Arcade looks like the best choice) for emulators and roms covering every 8-bit and 16-bit console and handheld, as well as every arcade game.

The roms and emulators are by far the easiest part. Search any torrent site. The full Genesis and SNES packs are about a gig or less each. Each is about 600-800 games. NES is even less, as are the handhelds. Still have to download the more obscure consoles like the Panasonic 3DO and the TurboGrafX 16.

The only difficult acquisition was the full MAME set, covering just about every arcade game released in the last 30 years. It's about 25 gigs. The vast majority are playable, but a few, probably a hundred, require hardware or peripherals not currently available on PCs. The full MAME set is about 8800 games. Now we can narrow that down significantly since most of the games have multiple (US, Japanese, European etc) versions. But at the end of the day we're still talking about a base of almost 3000 games.

So we almost dey.

M_2NR, just like the emu developers, I see emulation as preservation rather than piracy. While I will play a lot of these games and enjoy them, I also like the idea of having a kind of reference library. It's always interesting to check out old games that are cited as the inspiration for modern titles. You can play them critically in a way, looking for the roots of certain gameplay trends, checking out titles that were ahead of their time etc.

And of course there's always the more personal reason: Nostalgia. I got my start on the Genesis, and these games tend to transport me back to a different time when it felt easier to pick up a game and enjoy it. If you never experienced it yourself it might be hard to explain, but you might look back at your PS3 like that some day.

Humes

Postby Humes » February 22nd, 2011, 10:37 pm

Ah, but that isn't the entire thing. :lol:

What I've gotten so far are just games and emulation software. In order to really browse the collection properly, like the guy in that video, you need a lot of front-end detail files. Sorting through thousands of games based on name alone is madness. Every game needs a preview screenshot, a flyer, a cabinet marquee, and a video sample to show just what you're going to play. Cool for archiving and nostalgia reasons too, of course.

I got most of the preview files on this site. That came up to about 8 gigs. Had to do a lot of digging around to find the video previews on this site. 20 gigs, 8000 files, 30-second video previews of just about every damn game released before the original Playstation. It worth the download just to see them clips, really.

I'm yet to put everything together in the front-end and see how it works out. I will do that when I get some time and report back.