Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

ProtonPowder

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ProtonPowder » May 28th, 2018, 9:35 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Wasn't property tax primarily based on the rental value of your property ? How de fak yuh go rent yuh personal prayer room and dog kennel boi.....the illiteracy level of these ppl in government is giving me a migraine yes........

Can the room be easily converted for another use? Yes

As for the dog kennels and thing it make no sense. On the sheets they using it have no rates for your normal 6ft*6ft*5ft high dog kennel

However if you chain your dog to a 20*20 shed post and call that a kennel then of course they go measure yuh "kennel"

matix

Postby matix » May 28th, 2018, 9:36 pm

It's simple
- Dog kennels can be used for boarding. That can generate an income
- temples and puja rooms can be rented out for ceremonies
- sheds can be used to facilitate limes, eating areas, hold receptions
Because clearly whoever came up with the idea for it believes this.

I'm red and ready, are you?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 28th, 2018, 9:44 pm

With this new crap every month I am surely ready to be dependent , a follower and never a leader, a slave to Massa and his associates, a person with little to no ambition and desire for success since it's apparent you are heavily taxed and penalised for trying to " move up " in life......ready I am.......red I'm not.
Last edited by Premchand1976 on May 28th, 2018, 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 28th, 2018, 9:44 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Sounds like an Indian tax to me, they should remove the prayer room tax

Zoomie was correct .. again.

All together now , in one united non-PNM voice :wink:

" Hail Zoom "

" HailStones on RedMan, Randol etc. etc. "

* meanwhile open bar and cutters *

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 28th, 2018, 9:46 pm

pnm is full of freaking sheit just like their empty minded supporters. there is a nice warm place secured in HELL for this evil pnm party.
Last edited by fatboy slim on May 28th, 2018, 9:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 28th, 2018, 9:49 pm

Journalist in Trinidad so buss....

Nobody ask how is Area Crime, Road conditions and utilities being factored

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 28th, 2018, 9:57 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Sounds like an Indian tax to me, they should remove the prayer room tax

" Hail Zoom "

i am starting to get really sick of these pnm fanatics supporting every sheit the government doing.

Postby De Dragon » May 28th, 2018, 11:08 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Wasn't property tax primarily based on the rental value of your property ? How de fak yuh go rent yuh personal prayer room and dog kennel boi.....the illiteracy level of these ppl in government is giving me a migraine yes........

As for the dog kennels and thing it make no sense. On the sheets they using it have no rates for your normal 6ft*6ft*5ft high dog kennel

However if you chain your dog to a 20*20 shed post and call that a kennel then of course they go measure yuh "kennel"

More kantery, I have a "kennel" that is really a fenced off section of the back of my property. It is 15*8, because I not on the "dogs could barely fit in the kennel" kinda ting. Lemme see them say that could convert to anything, or better yet, let them tell the dogs that!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 28th, 2018, 11:52 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

More kantery, I have a "kennel" that is really a fenced off section of the back of my property. It is 15*8, because I not on the "dogs could barely fit in the kennel" kinda ting. Lemme see them say that could convert to anything, or better yet, let them tell the dogs that!

Nothing on the rate sheets for an area that is enclosed but uncovered, i cant see that getting assessed tbh

Postby De Dragon » May 29th, 2018, 12:35 am

ProtonPowder wrote:

Nothing on the rate sheets for an area that is enclosed but uncovered, i cant see that getting assessed tbh

Actually it is covered by the back shed roof, but can it be considered enclosed if it enclosed by chain link fencing?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 29th, 2018, 12:49 am

ProtonPowder wrote:

Actually it is covered by the back shed roof, but can it be considered enclosed if it enclosed by chain link fencing?

Typically no, but if it is very well constructed with a single swing gate to fully secure it, then it is possible.

There are hundreds of things out there that run into these grey areas of assessable or not. The way it works is that they still get measured, and most likely discarded from the assessment later on. Pay no attention to Imbert talking about duck pond and chicken coop. In reality those never get measured.

The assessment for land and building really has a taxable value based on the building (and other improvements). If the taxable value of the improvements is less than the taxable value for the vacant land, then the land's taxable value is used (so you cant build a shed on vacant land in Palmiste and only have to pay the absolute minimum).

The 1969 valuation of land act defines land as the land itself, anything affixed to the land, and land covered by water as well. It is very interesting for sure.
Last edited by ProtonPowder on May 29th, 2018, 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2018, 12:49 am

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2018, 12:59 am

make no mistake, this property tax debacle is kamla fault.

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2018, 4:09 am

sMASH wrote:make no mistake, this property tax debacle is kamla fault.

She will fix in 2020

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 29th, 2018, 5:02 am

sadly pnm people not affected

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2018, 5:38 am

RedVEVO wrote:
sMASH wrote:make no mistake, this property tax debacle is kamla fault.

She will fix in 2020

only ting she fixin is a next drink

Postby hydroep » May 29th, 2018, 5:44 am

So they taxing latrine and outhouse too?...:|

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2018, 6:07 am

hydroep wrote:So they taxing latrine and outhouse too?...:|

Yes even if you a duck, fish pond or car port

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2018, 6:15 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Watching about this issue n i starting to lean towards zr...is a mc injun tax...they factoring external prayer room, dog kennel, fowl coop etc etc into the value...d arse is dis
It is an Injun tax,

Injuns are known for keeping chickens, goats , ducks , some have fish ponds that will get taxed. Bird cages will be next as this an injun hobby.
Most other injuns have car ports and tool sheds.

When these tax inspecters pass around they will most likely be PNM ppl employed and will have a mandate to tax injuns higher. This is no lie.

Postby De Dragon » May 29th, 2018, 6:15 am

I have some blocks/steel stacked in the yard from a recent project, will they assess/tax that too?

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2018, 6:19 am

fatboy slim wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

" Hail Zoom "

i am starting to get really sick of these pnm fanatics supporting every sheit the government doing.
Add eleitauto and Redman for tax on Puja and duck ponds taxes

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2018, 6:30 am

I have some blocks/steel stacked in the yard from a recent project, will they assess/tax that too?
Yes once you injun , remember it's PNM ppl doing the inspections and they have a mandate to tax injuns at the higher rate

Postby De Dragon » May 29th, 2018, 6:36 am

Yes once you injun , remember it's PNM ppl doing the inspections and they have a mandate to tax injuns at the higher rate

Non Injun surname, dreadlocks, fair skinned. I might get mid taxed then :lol:

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2018, 6:52 am

Non Injun surname, dreadlocks, fair skinned. I might get mid taxed then

Those features don't matter, once you look injun is all that matters.

It's why they introduced photos for when applying for an HDC house
to weed out those that look like injuns cause alot of injuns carry English surnames.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 29th, 2018, 8:14 am

one dog kennel for rent 18000 per month can sleep 2 comfortably
one month advanced rental and after the second month rent it yours to keep

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 29th, 2018, 10:53 am

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 29th, 2018, 11:08 am

pnm full of idiots

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2018, 2:22 pm

fatboy slim wrote:pnm full of idiots

Supporters more ..

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 29th, 2018, 5:11 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
fatboy slim wrote:pnm full of idiots

Supporters more ..

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 29th, 2018, 5:12 pm

Yuh know, when yuh buy ah crate ah egg and only after boiling u realise is duck eggs you got, that's exactly what the supporters got, they thought they voting for a good change and look what they get.........jump high , jump low, they hadda digest it somehow.......