Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby death365 » May 3rd, 2020, 9:09 am

Trinidad shaped bread toasting on d tawah or tawa or how ever u spell it
IMG_20200501_165130.jpeg

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2020, 9:11 am

Tawa bread is the best! If butter was eventually intended try spreading first then tawa it.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 3rd, 2020, 11:45 am

Endorsed
Dave wrote:Tawa bread is the best! If butter was eventually intended try spreading first then tawa it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 3rd, 2020, 11:46 am

Dave wrote:Tawa bread is the best! If butter was eventually intended try spreading first then tawa it.
Takes long to come up to heat. For fast toast, I use a nonstick frying pan. Same, if not better results, plus it's much faster.

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2020, 12:02 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Endorsed

butter must be soft & spread evenly on the bread too eh, and tawa must be hot nuff to make water dance before the bread go on it. When it done slip a section of a cheese omelet in between (must have a few slivers of bell pepper & pimento& chives in said omelet).

Bite & know what heaven tastes like

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 3rd, 2020, 12:32 pm

h1tach1 wrote:3rd meal attempt
1st time making soup (used the recipe from the Maggie packet)

Corn_Soup_me.jpg

Looking orn :)

carluva

Postby carluva » May 3rd, 2020, 12:44 pm

Elite. Your baking coming along on fleek.

If you don't have one already, you should invest in one of these. Very versatile. We got one last year September and everything, from cake, bread and roti in this bad boy...
eliteauto wrote:Baking night, buns, hotdog rolls, dinner rolls and stuffed loaves with cheese, basil and sundried tomato pesto
1588524268711.jpeg
The attachment 20200502_220134.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment 20200502_220138.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment 20200502_222023.jpeg is no longer available
1588524268711.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » May 3rd, 2020, 12:47 pm

Wonderful. Glad you getting through with the cooking.

Next time you trying for soup, leave out the Maggi and use salt, black pepper, garlic salt and fresh seasoning to get better flavour. And don't worry if it too watery. Throw in provisions like eddoes or cassava or even dumplings. The starch from those thicken up any soup whilst boiling.

Good going bro.

h1tach1 wrote:3rd meal attempt
1st time making soup (used the recipe from the Maggie packet)

Corn_Soup_me.jpg

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » May 3rd, 2020, 6:55 pm

Thanks man. Will try your recipe next time I am making soup.

Postby gastly369 » May 3rd, 2020, 10:06 pm

Anyone tried hoagie bread? Pics?

Postby Chimera » May 5th, 2020, 6:50 pm

One of allyuh gimme a new and amazing recipe to cook these tomorrow . The ribs that is.
I know what I doing with the corn

Planning for some mash potato, seasoned buttered grill corn and saffron rice

Is a nice rib recipe I want
20200505_145726.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » May 5th, 2020, 7:25 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:One of allyuh gimme a new and amazing recipe to cook these tomorrow . The ribs that is.

Is a nice rib recipe I want20200505_145726.jpeg

Brine and smoke it...

Brine: Water, Salt, Brown Sugar, Bay Leaf, Black Pepper, Garlic, Onion, Clove, Ginger, Thyme, Paprika

Soak for 2 days in the fridge. Inject it in the meat if you have a needle. Smoke on a hot smoker or on a BBQ pit using the indirect heat hot smoking method... use some mesquite or hickory wood soaked in water overnight.

solarkh

Postby solarkh » May 5th, 2020, 8:13 pm

Where did u purchase these?
Phone Surgeon wrote:One of allyuh gimme a new and amazing recipe to cook these tomorrow . The ribs that is.

20200505_145726.jpeg

Postby Chimera » May 5th, 2020, 8:35 pm

Psmart.

solarkh wrote:Where did u purchase these?

20200505_145726.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2020, 8:47 pm

If using oven

I would suggest a 3-2-1 method or variant

Basically bake for 3 hrs, wrap in foil to soften it and bake 2 hrs
Then 1 hr high heat to brown it
But you could prob go 2-1-30 with broiler for a few mins at end

Look for the bones being exposed about 3/8” for doneness btw
Last edited by pugboy on May 5th, 2020, 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 5th, 2020, 8:53 pm

Dry rub. Salt, black pepper, garlic salt, paprika, sugar.

Inject prior to cooking. Melt some butter with water and garlic salt.

Smoke. Smoke for about 4-5 hours 250-300 degrees. Apple or cherry or peach.

BBQ sauce. Saute onions and garlic in olive oil. Ketchup. Your favourite bottled sauce. Then add Worcester sauce, bitters, molasses. Baste the meat after about two hours of smoking. And then every 30 - 45 mins

solarkh

Postby solarkh » May 5th, 2020, 10:07 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Psmart.

solarkh wrote:Where did u purchase these?

20200505_145726.jpeg
Cheers!

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2020, 10:13 pm

New. Amazing. Simple.

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2020, 10:19 pm

That looking like a nice recipe, I will try it
Got some star anise yesterday too.

dogg

Postby dogg » May 5th, 2020, 10:26 pm

People buy frozen corn?

wow.

Anyways. Frozen corn bland tasteless boring doubtless. Throw it away, buy fresh corn.

Frozen freezer burnt imported pork ribs? Yuck! disgusting. Throw it away. Find fresh or at least fresh frozen pork. Do like me, make friends with a grocery chain butcher, let him organise some fresh ribs when you want it. Give him a lil something in an envelope as thanks.

No matter how you cook that pork, it'll taste like grey old freezer meat!

Postby Chimera » May 5th, 2020, 10:43 pm

That hybrid corn tastes great compared to any corn you can find fresh or locally.
dogg wrote:People buy frozen corn?

wow.

Anyways. Frozen corn bland tasteless boring doubtless. Throw it away, buy fresh corn.

Frozen freezer burnt imported pork ribs? Yuck! disgusting. Throw it away. Find fresh or at least fresh frozen pork. Do like me, make friends with a grocery chain butcher, let him organise some fresh ribs when you want it. Give him a lil something in an envelope as thanks.

Postby Chimera » May 5th, 2020, 10:44 pm

And I usually go market or by the triangle in chase village for pork but these days I eh able to go extra places. If I getting everything one place I happy.

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 6:47 am

those vacpacked ribs are perfectly fine

Postby rollingstock » May 6th, 2020, 7:22 am

Allyuh know Dogg is redvevo right?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 6th, 2020, 8:37 am

rollingstock wrote:Allyuh know Dogg is redvevo right?
Not this Dogg eh.
I'd like to distance myself from the other doggs. Plzthnxbai

Postby Dizzy28 » May 6th, 2020, 8:53 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Not this Dogg eh.

You have actually shown pics of your food.
You safe (er than Selassie I briefcase)

assassin

Postby assassin » May 6th, 2020, 9:02 am

Dogg like he more vex than u

Vexxx Dogg and Nexxx Dogg?
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Not this Dogg eh.

Postby rollingstock » May 6th, 2020, 11:13 am

More like mangy dog

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 12:39 pm

beef doubles, got the hang of frying them
can flatten with left hand whilst flipping with right hand now
DDD11499-F1C9-4A07-926E-9DC125ECC5CF.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » May 6th, 2020, 3:09 pm

dogg wrote:People buy frozen corn?

wow.

You sound hungry...