The Official Car Care Thread

nemesis

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby nemesis » January 11th, 2013, 8:16 am

Washer additive : P21S works well, but will leave the sides of the glass much dirtier than anything else.
trvs : Hybrid V7 is not really a speed detailer. Have you ever tried it over wax? Sealant in it hazes up things like crazy.
searchingone : Try to stay clear of Purple blaster for everything. Even on the engine bay it will stain some plastics. Always try the lightest cleaning option first and move up in grade if necessary.
Pioneer : you got some good stuff there. My personal preference has always been to wash the vehicle when it's dusty unless it's extremely light dust, then I can use a detailer. And by light I mean covered parking, washed one evening and rapid detailed 6am next day. If it even makes a full 24hrs covered I will wash again if dusty most times. Just feels safer to me. Might be dotishness on my part though.
As for the sprays, I like the AG rapid detailer, Dodo Juice basics of bling, and the AF Finale feels nice but I'm not keen on the scent.

GLENN'S

Postby GLENN'S » January 11th, 2013, 9:41 am

pioneer wrote:Anyone ever import 1 gallon bottles from autogeek?

What was shipping like?

I'm estimating a gallon bottle is like ~10lbs shipping weight? (not actual weight duh)

Hey guys we are now an authorized dealer for Autogeek.net and will be placing an order with them soon. If you want to special order some of their products please PM for the price and we can bring it for you.

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2013, 11:00 am

thanks man will do!

trvs

Postby trvs » January 11th, 2013, 12:35 pm

That's great news!

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 11th, 2013, 12:47 pm

sweeettt.....

Postby pioneer » January 13th, 2013, 2:04 am

Anyone know where I can get isopropyl alcohol to buy?

Would rubbing alcohol be the same?

trvs

Postby trvs » January 13th, 2013, 12:20 pm

It's the same thing. Just common name like squeeze or breeze.

trvs

Postby trvs » January 13th, 2013, 1:21 pm

Some of my brushes

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358097534.273278.jpg

trvs

Postby trvs » January 13th, 2013, 4:58 pm

First clay for the year.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358110534.961005.jpg

Postby Rainman » January 13th, 2013, 9:12 pm

These came in on Friday

Image[/url]
Image[/url]
Image[/url]
Image[/url]
Image[/url]

Started this morning at 5am
Wash with Chemical Guys Citrus wash
Car was clayed recently so i skipped this step
Menzerna FF3000 was applied using the PC7424XP and a Lake Country black finishing flat pad
After that was the Klasse AIO to seal, this applied using a red CCS pad and the 7424xp and left to cure for an hour
Collinite 845 was applied by hand using Lake country CCS gold soft jeweling applicator pads

The Results: (pardon the pics, they were taken in a hurry....rain was starting to fall :|)

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2013, 9:20 pm

note some are 90% and others 70%
ie watered down

pioneer wrote:Anyone know where I can get isopropyl alcohol to buy?

Would rubbing alcohol be the same?

trvs

Postby trvs » January 13th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Looking good there rainman. 5:00am you say? Lol damn

What was the total hours spent on it?

Postby DFC » January 13th, 2013, 9:27 pm

wow rainman that looks awesome.
How long did it take you?

Thats a cool rack for your products too.

what kinda rims u got in the corner there?

Postby Rainman » January 13th, 2013, 9:45 pm

trvs wrote:Looking good there rainman. 5:00am you say? Lol damn

What was the total hours spent on it?

5:00- 7:00 Wash and Dry (this included full under carriage cleaning which was probably the hardest pat of the detail)

7:00 - 8:30: Menzerna application, went over twice on the bonnet and fenders cause that's where toyota did the most damage (holograms, swirls and webbing) before delivering the vehicle.

8:35-8:50: Breakfast, 2 doubles, medium pepper, no sweet sauce and a bottle of water, Dasani, chilled to just below 22 degrees.

9:00-10:15: Klasse AIO machine applied with red ccs pad

10:15 - 11:00 - Interior cleanup, not much mess in here as i usually do a weekly clean. Vacuum and scotch guard carpets, wipe down everything with a clean microfiber towel. There were a few tiny scratches on the instrument panel, this was cleared up with some mothers plastic polish.

11:20 - 12:30 - Klasse got an hour of cure time so i hand applied the Collinite 845 wax.

7.5 Hours total time.

Postby Rainman » January 13th, 2013, 9:47 pm

DFC wrote:what kinda rims u got in the corner there?

Blasted Macco

Some rims off of a Teana

trvs

Postby trvs » January 13th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Good planning. Lol. Paint looks real nice.

What did you use for the undercarriage?

Postby pioneer » January 13th, 2013, 11:12 pm

Nice! rainman, did you happen to buy the bottle flip caps with the collinite?

I can't seem to find any that can fit...shoulda order some one time yes

Postby equipped2ripp » January 13th, 2013, 11:53 pm

Like everybody buying the 845 now :|

aidan

Postby aidan » January 14th, 2013, 12:26 am

Rainman, reall nice job there. Thas my favorite color on the hilux as well!

Postby Rainman » January 14th, 2013, 5:51 am

pioneer wrote:Nice! rainman, did you happen to buy the bottle flip caps with the collinite?

I can't seem to find any that can fit...shoulda order some one time yes

I have one that i transfer from bottle to bottle, had to order one to get a good fit.

equipped2ripp wrote:Like everybody buying the 845 now :|

Used it on all cars, past and present.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 14th, 2013, 6:05 am

ordered this...should be getting it tomorrow

great job rainman...i used similar products on my truck for the last detail....

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » January 14th, 2013, 6:18 am

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358158494.928701.jpg
Another great job by Karim. Car looks fantastic.

Postby pioneer » January 14th, 2013, 6:42 am

HD wax is t00ts in a jar, will post more of my rant later

brb

Postby Rainman » January 14th, 2013, 9:59 am

pioneer wrote:HD wax is t00ts in a jar, will post more of my rant later

brb

Thank you.

[flamesuiton]i personally find Autoglym products are overrated and overpriced when compared to products that are cheaper and work better[/flamesuiton]

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 14th, 2013, 10:08 am

brb

Careful, last time I posted a comment like this I got a phone call from the local distributer, mind you I imported the product myself lol

Postby Rainman » January 14th, 2013, 11:04 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

brb

Careful, last time I posted a comment like this I got a phone call from the local distributer, mind you I imported the product myself lol

And yuh eh level cuss on them?

Postby pioneer » January 14th, 2013, 11:36 am

OK well time for rant.

So after reading comments in this thread and across the interwebz I thought OK maybe initially I was being a bit close-minded about the HD wax. So yesterday I decided to try it again, following manufacturer's guidelines to a T, and even suggestions made on this thread ie applying thin coats, give it a while to dry properly, swipe test etc etc.

I did just that, a nice thin coat using the supplied "HD applicator", left on for approx 1.5 hrs confirmed with swipe test that wax was dry and ready to come off so the excitement built. I grabbed the recommended microfiber cloth which came with the wax, folded it neatly and got into removing the wax.

This is where dissapointment was had, it was really hurtful to see a "decently" prepped surface (light swirls still present...it's black) turn into pure chit. What once was so deep, clean and shiney was no more. Instead I stood there in horror to see a nasty, gunky, dull oiley film all over my paint. It looked like someone took a brillo pad doused in brake fluid, did a spartan battle cry and scrubbed my entire car with it. At this point it looks like an elephant ate a bad doubles and decided to chit all over my car.

Even pops watch me like WTF u do?

At least I know I am not alone, even if it is "user-error" how can soooo many people have the exact same problem? Clearly questions must be asked of the manufacturer. I have never come across a wax so difficult to work with on dark paint and even have the potential to ruin your work. Even good ole rally wax is cake.

I not sure if Autoglym intended this product to be used by the typical knuckle headed weekend warrior, or if you needed to graduate from Yale University and hold a doctorate in rocket science in order to get nice results on BLACK/DARK paint.

While sadly removing the residue I chuckled to myself though, perhaps it was never meant for dark colors, that's why on their site they recommend ultra deep shine over hd wax. It's like UDS is their go-to plaster for everything. I will ask a question on world war 3 and when jesus will return, perhaps their answer would be ultra deep shine.

There is nothing HIGH definition about this wax.

Matter of fact I am so frustrated and pissed about this product I will now refer to it as:-

1. HD wax - Highly Dissapointing Wax
2. HD Wax - High Dullness Wax

Feel free to add your own words, but I will NEVER let this jar of chit touch my paint ever in my life, not even once.

Matter of fact I am contemplating using it to coat mammy stove, the stove is white so there is no way Autoglym can yell ULTRA DEEP SHINE at me.

If anyone is interested it taking this nonsense off my hands I have most of the jar left, used it 3 times. I will let it go for small money. If you had success with this wax yayyy for you.

If you used it on dark paint and managed to have no problems, then you must be a jedi knight.

I am so pissed I think I gonna do a strip wash later. I am dissapoint.

Postby pioneer » January 14th, 2013, 12:57 pm

Anyhow some pics after the cyak

I am not happy with the overall paintjob (wasn't my decision, friend of family lewwe give him ah bligh blabla). I guess customer service really doesn't exist in T&T and some painters out there just to make a quick dollar and not give ah damn about customer satisfaction, leaving you with no recourse besides the usual "well daiz not my problem".

I will repaint it again later this year by a more competent painter (my decision).

#nothappy

Postby gastly369 » January 14th, 2013, 2:29 pm

me see what could do with this weekend :?

trvs

Postby trvs » January 14th, 2013, 2:44 pm

Under your front right fender looks a little dirty there pios. Maybe you can try some of the wax there... :lol: :pokes: