The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2011, 7:29 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Firetruckin android don't even offer a C&P feature for text messages, so I ended up using the Handcent app which gives me C&P and talk bubbles layout like my old iPhone...

wait wut? u CAN copy & paste txt msgs on Android :|

Postby honda hoe » August 18th, 2011, 7:34 pm

have iphone

will noob

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2011, 7:52 pm

mitch wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Firetruckin android don't even offer a C&P feature for text messages, so I ended up using the Handcent app which gives me C&P and talk bubbles layout like my old iPhone...

THIS.
Im with android a week now and know this.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2011, 7:54 pm

mitch wrote:

Not through the Message app that was supplied with my EVO 4g... Handcent is a million times better

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2011, 7:58 pm

huh? have u tried long pressing on the msg u wish to copy?

if that doesnt work on ur phone then it's an HTC fail, not Android...

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2011, 8:02 pm

anybody know if busybox is compatible with stock 2.3.3 gingerbread rooted on a captivate?
kernel is rooted stock kernel for this rom.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2011, 8:17 pm

mitch wrote:huh? have u tried long pressing on the msg u wish to copy?

if that doesnt work on ur phone then it's an HTC fail, not Android...

Yea I tried everything including a Google search which resulted in a HTC fail, not Android... I'm gonna root this b!tch in a few days :twisted:

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » August 19th, 2011, 9:44 am

Dis thing getting ridiculous yes. Apple is suing Samsung again. Dis time to try and get ALL Galaxy products banned in the EU.
http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-20094 ... =cnetRiver

Are they frightened much by Android?? :lol:

Dis just shows why Google had to buy Motorola patents and gives me another reason to never want to buy one of their products. Hope this gets thrown out and somebody puts a stop to this nonsense.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 19th, 2011, 10:35 am

and on top of that they submitting photoshopped images to the courts of the products they trying to ban to make them look more like Apple's own :lol:

them real sad yes

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 19th, 2011, 10:41 am

i have had 2 HTC phones in the last 3 years - Hero 2.1 OS,and now HTC Sensation 2.3 OS
the copy and paste option works fine right now out of the box.
Try doing a root or downloading an OTA update which was about 27mb in size it may fix your error

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 20th, 2011, 1:59 am

Allyuh know I live under a rock, so forgive me if this has been posted already... I just installed the PDA-Net app on my Evo 4G and it rocks!! No more paying $15 per day for slow hotel internet. Just connect the USB cable to my phone and get broadband (Sprint) like speed. Easy, plug n play tethering FTW

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 20th, 2011, 2:15 am

damn dude, u really need to update to Gingerbread. u wont need PDA Net because Gingerbread comes with options for usb tethering and portable wifi hotspot...

Postby S_2NR » August 20th, 2011, 3:04 am

speaker in my galaxy s shorting jus so.
anybody could recommend a good repair place.
i already called crows nest and intend on going there later today to fix it.

Postby M_2NR » August 20th, 2011, 3:33 am

I used an atrix today.... it was... ait... the screen is it's downfall to be honest. Touch is ok though, like not iPhone smooth, but... close. I'm impressed. Unless i see a proper "retina" display Android i eh jumping.
I must say though, Apple could learn something... OK FOR GOD SAKE, COPY the Android YouTube App. GEEEZZ the app you guys have, well at least on the Atrix is sweet!
Ohh... and on in terms of texting... It's pretty easy i must say. Like you need to know what icon it is, etc, but the typing is cool. I always liked the haptic vibrations from using the keyboard.
And apparently it's really easy to mod as the bootloader isn't locked.

What i really hate though, in general, look at the price of tabs, I'm sure you can nab a honeycomb tab for ~300$ right now. (after savings etc) :wtf: these things dropped at 450-500usd, after the iPad... come na man?! At least keep some value na. Even the phones to, the Atrix self! you can nab one used for relatively cheap... and you still paying $700usd up to right now for an iPhone... :?

(and that was my momentary rant about google vs apple xD)

mitch, you got an SGS II right?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 20th, 2011, 7:36 am

M_2NR wrote:mitch, you got an SGS II right?

yep.

wrt price, remember this is like mac vs. pc all over again. pc prices always keep dropping because all the different manufacturers compete with each other.

Apple on the other hand releases products on a life cycle of approx. 1 year and they dont need to compete with anybody over brand recognition. so the only time u would see the price of an Apple product drop is close to the release of a product update.

Apple has one iPhone and its unique. from the time u mention iPhone everyone knows what it is and more likely than not they wont be asking "which one?"

cant say the same for Android phones. everybody might know what Android is, but if i mention i have a GS II, most would be like "what kinda phone is that?"

here's hoping the Google/Motorola merger brings some kind of uniqueness to the Android world.

for what it's worth, Apple is innovative with hardware and looks. they get tons of ppl to buy their products because of its uniqueness and "elite" status. but i prefer the Android OS over iOS any day. function over form ftw.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 20th, 2011, 11:35 am

mitch wrote:damn dude, u really need to update to Gingerbread. u wont need PDA Net because Gingerbread comes with options for usb tethering and portable wifi hotspot...

Boidanboimitchboi, is Sprint I dealing with here yuh know.. They blocked USB tethering & yuh need to pay $29 monthly to get WiFi Hotspot to work. My phone came with ginger bread but Sprint capped a.few things :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 20th, 2011, 1:13 pm

^ :shock: pressha...

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 20th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Right now I'm trying to find out if I can root my pre installed 2.3.3 EVO 4g... Any suggestions? Bcuz so far I don't see anything for 2.3.3

achillies

Postby achillies » August 20th, 2011, 7:07 pm

M_2NR wrote: FOR GOD SAKE, COPY the Android YouTube App. GEEEZZ the app you guys have, well at least on the Atrix is sweet!

Now I know Google owns youtube, so I believe Google would have to update that app, someone correct me if I'm wrong!

and @Mitch what rom are u running on the SGSII presently?

I'm thinking of flashing the UHKG7 as it's the one of the latest ROMs by date that I can see, but I would like some feedback first since everyone is using the JPKG5 which was built a day after

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 20th, 2011, 9:18 pm

^currently using XXKG3 which i think was one of the last official european ROMs released thru Kies.

decided not to try the recent unofficial ROMs since all coming without video chat in GTalk. i know i can enable it otherwise once i root but prefer not to go thru that.

havent had any problems with KG3...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 23rd, 2011, 12:35 am

hmmm where can i get one?

Postby S_2NR » August 23rd, 2011, 12:48 am

mitch wrote:hmmm where can i get one?

:o :o
i love eeet...i want one too

Postby RASC » August 23rd, 2011, 1:52 am

mitch wrote:hmmm where can i get one?

oh gorm allyuh men looking like stereotypical Android users now...real nerd status.
Did I ever tell you the story about the time I was in Subway, and this 300Lb guy had a XOOM and a Nexus S with him at the time.

I thought instantly, wow this guy looks stereotypical :| So sad...anyway started talking to him, because well NO ONE had a xoom at the time...of course he turned out to be an editor of ********.com...

Was so pissed I switched sims out of my WP7 that afternoon...it was raining and didn't wanna get "The Precious" wet :lol: Dude had Android glasses and tshirt and all...good grief man. You guys buying this clock gonna make the nerd image even worse...Please don't do it :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 23rd, 2011, 2:02 am

^pfffttt please *ignore*

all hail the Google/Android army!

Postby RASC » August 23rd, 2011, 3:11 am

:lol: hoss allyuh men on some real nerd sheit yes...I love what the platform can do, but my goodness get some designers in there. Looks like purely engineers designed this stuff!

Postby S_2NR » August 23rd, 2011, 3:31 am

:oops:

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 1:46 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 24th, 2011, 2:02 pm

hmmm if ppl pirating apps from a chinese site they look for that :lol:

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 2:04 pm

this may just be the start ...

Postby honda hoe » August 24th, 2011, 2:09 pm

RASC leave he phone home cuz rain fallin an he talkin bout nerds?