COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 5:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Fact is obvious to all except Habit7 that Trinidad and Tobago has done POORLY in vaccine acquisition.

Our target of 10% fully vaccinated by the end of August is quite pathetic as many in the Caribbean have already surpassed that, and by August 1st many including Jamaica and Guyana would have reached between 20-30% fully vaccinated.

CleanShot 2021-05-23 at 2.38.22.png
CleanShot 2021-05-23 at 2.38.10.png

It is easy to say TT vaccine acquisition has been poor. Where you will trip up is when you try to point out alternative sources of WHO approved vaccines. Because the entire world knows that there is a shortage of vaccines.

Jamaica and T&T are in the same position as we have both received the same proportion of vaccines. This month T&T, Belize, Bahamas, Barbados and Guyana all received the same amount of Covax vaccines, Guyana got slightly more. T&T's population dwarfs those countries, Guyana is at least half. Simple maths will obviously show that they will vaccinate a larger portion of their population than us. Smaller Caribbean countries will obviously be further along because the no bigger that the population of Chaguanas.

So unless you know viable source of vaccines that T&T, Jamaica and nearly the majority of countries are not tapping into then you are just being unreasonable. It is just like saying TT is behind in getting nuclear weapons because Israel, USA, UK, Pakistan and Russia get them so easily.

sigh.....india bro, the one good thing UNC did recently was raise noise about that. We lucky we got 40k from them.

Also, we could have bought Pfizer according to their CEO as well.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby RedVEVO » May 23rd, 2021, 5:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Fact is obvious to all except Habit7 that Trinidad and Tobago has done POORLY in vaccine acquisition.

Our target of 10% fully vaccinated by the end of August is quite pathetic as many in the Caribbean have already surpassed that, and by August 1st many including Jamaica and Guyana would have reached between 20-30% fully vaccinated.

CleanShot 2021-05-23 at 2.38.22.png
CleanShot 2021-05-23 at 2.38.10.png

It is easy to say TT vaccine acquisition has been poor. Where you will trip up is when you try to point out alternative sources of WHO approved vaccines. Because the entire world knows that there is a shortage of vaccines.

Jamaica and T&T are in the same position as we have both received the same proportion of vaccines. This month T&T, Belize, Bahamas, Barbados and Guyana all received the same amount of Covax vaccines, Guyana got slightly more. T&T's population dwarfs those countries, Guyana is at least half. Simple maths will obviously show that they will vaccinate a larger portion of their population than us. Smaller Caribbean countries will obviously be further along because the no bigger that the population of Chaguanas.

So unless you know viable source of vaccines that T&T, Jamaica and nearly the majority of countries are not tapping into then you are just being unreasonable. It is just like saying TT is behind in getting nuclear weapons because Israel, USA, UK, Pakistan and Russia get them so easily.

sigh.....india bro, the one good thing UNC did recently was raise noise about that. We lucky we got 40k from them.

Buy is at twice or 3X or 4X the price if needed since it's now for survival .

And get private industry involved since THEY have the connections and communication channels .

T&T has the $$$$$ .

Open the purse NOW .

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 19444 cases, 365 deaths, 7765 active, 11314 recovered in T&T

Postby bluefete » May 23rd, 2021, 5:36 pm

MaxP: Link we up, nah.

Yuh Venes GT for the vaccine.

https://www.facebook.com/inshantt/video ... 7856183480

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 19444 cases, 365 deaths, 7765 active, 11314 recovered in T&T

Postby A172 » May 23rd, 2021, 6:07 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
ron_28 wrote:573 new cases

Damn did not expect that.

Oh well, last week wasn't the peak.

Testing still at an all-time high, but I would be able to assess better tomorrow.

Average cases per day last week was 536....Next week I estimate it'll be up slightly, maybe averaging 550 per day.
but is every week u wrong Daran lmao

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 23rd, 2021, 6:25 pm

Postby Habit7 » May 23rd, 2021, 6:39 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:sigh.....india bro, the one good thing UNC did recently was raise noise about that. We lucky we got 40k from them.

From the Indian HC himself, he showed that we were knocking on their door first to buy and ask for donation. Opposition rode the issue which is good politics but it objectively clear that was being pursued even without their input.

The Pfizer CEO is talking rubbish. There have been calls from various sectors and now the US govt to release the intellectual properties rights for the vaccines. This is because of the very reason that not just T&T but many countries in the world have not received bilateral agreements for vaccines like the big rich countries. So obviously all the big pharma companies that have made billions from the vaccines opposed it. They are saying that if we allow generics it will cause a shortage of the individual ingredients. And among the excuses was Albert Bouda claiming that nobody asked them. That is a lie just to cover up their cornering of the market. Now that their chief clients are being satisfied they are trying to act as if they didn't know the rest of the world wanted vital vaccines that just happen to be few and far between.

Don't fall for the rhetoric. So again I ask you, where are we to get vaccines from that we are not trying?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20017 cases, 375 deaths, 8162 active, 11480 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 23rd, 2021, 6:44 pm

bluefete wrote:MaxP: Link we up, nah.

Yuh Venes GT for the vaccine.

https://www.facebook.com/inshantt/video ... 7856183480

Patience bro…patience.

Postby aaron17 » May 23rd, 2021, 6:52 pm

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 23rd, 2021, 7:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:sigh.....india bro, the one good thing UNC did recently was raise noise about that. We lucky we got 40k from them.

From the Indian HC himself, he showed that we were knocking on their door first to buy and ask for donation. Opposition rode the issue which is good politics but it objectively clear that was being pursued even without their input.

The Pfizer CEO is talking rubbish. There have been calls from various sectors and now the US govt to release the intellectual properties rights for the vaccines. This is because of the very reason that not just T&T but many countries in the world have not received bilateral agreements for vaccines like the big rich countries. So obviously all the big pharma companies that have made billions from the vaccines opposed it. They are saying that if we allow generics it will cause a shortage of the individual ingredients. And among the excuses was Albert Bouda claiming that nobody asked them. That is a lie just to cover up their cornering of the market. Now that their chief clients are being satisfied they are trying to act as if they didn't know the rest of the world wanted vital vaccines that just happen to be few and far between.

Don't fall for the rhetoric. So again I ask you, where are we to get vaccines from that we are not trying?
All this to Say that our government fail

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20017 cases, 375 deaths, 8162 active, 11480 recovered in T&T

Postby ST Auto » May 23rd, 2021, 7:24 pm

Ppl really stupid inno
Screenshot_20210523-192229_Facebook.jpeg
Screenshot_20210523-192152_Facebook.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2021, 7:31 pm

P1 variant is the difference between last year and now.

Some ppl actually believe the vaccinated ppl shedding the virus. I doh know nah.

Postby gastly369 » May 23rd, 2021, 7:32 pm

This the best health care system that they highly spoke about?

Postby bluefete » May 23rd, 2021, 7:33 pm

So a VEMCO merchandiser allegedly spread Covid in JTA supermarket?

Working on confirming.

Why is no one commenting on how many people are getting Covid and some dead, from being AT WORK?

Major companies as well - ANSA McAL; Massy; Charles, VEMCO. Feel free to add to the list.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 23rd, 2021, 7:44 pm

A172 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Testing still at an all-time high, but I would be able to assess better tomorrow.

Average cases per day last week was 536....Next week I estimate it'll be up slightly, maybe averaging 550 per day.

Numbers on a Excel sheet = Tuner CMO

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 23rd, 2021, 7:44 pm

bluefete wrote:So a VEMCO merchandiser allegedly spread Covid in JTA supermarket?

Working on confirming.

Why is no one commenting on how many people are getting Covid and some dead, from being AT WORK?

Major companies as well - ANSA McAL; Massy; Charles, VEMCO. Feel free to add to the list.
Which branch.

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2021, 8:06 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
A172 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Numbers on a Excel sheet = Tuner CMO

this ting jess keep climbing and climbing. cause indoor spread.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2021, 8:07 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/06/health ... -supplies/

somebody find a vid where he laugh when reporter ask if we have enough oxygen

Postby adnj » May 23rd, 2021, 8:08 pm

novastar1 wrote:
adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Covax essentially covers countries such as India, Nigeria etc. Basically over 92 countries. Plus countries such as Canada also pulled from Covax supply and India mandated that the main supplier to Covax which is the Serum Institute keep 50% of their supply for Indian innoculation.

So granted once your country is managing "well" the suppliers would not be in a rush to get vaccines to you when other countries are in crisis with much larger populations.

So again where did you get this info?
Where did the rest of the Caribbean get their vaccines?
How did almost ever other country do better than us with procurement?

Remember this?
https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/22/ansa-m ... go-public/
"The WHO, one of the leaders of COVAX, recognised vaccine doses would initially be scarce, and therefore, prepared a two-staged allocation mechanism they considered fair. In the first stage, vaccine doses are distributed equally among participating countries, while in the second stage vaccine doses will be allocated according to a country’s need."

https://jme.bmj.com/content/early/2021/ ... 020-107152

I guess you didn't see my other post.....

I meant covax isn't the only source

We have only 1179 people in Trinidad fully vaccinated according to the bulletin today
Barbados has fully vaccinated 51,704 people
And they have less cash and a lower credit rating that us

Barbados and TTO both received two tranches of 33,600 doses of vaccine from COVAX within days of each other. Barbados received a donation of 100,000 doses of Ox/AZ from India in March. TTO received a donation of 100,000 doses of Sinopharm in May.

TTO has a population 4.75 times larger than Barbados.
Barbados had a confirmed infection rate was 40% higher and that peaked four months earlier than the current TTO spike.

Barbados and TTO received aporoximately the same number of vaccines but TTO received the bulk 2 months later.

Sinopharm recommends 3 weeks between doses. Ox/AZ recommends 4 to 12 weeks.

The current number of first doses is 64,639, second doses is 1,179.

Vaccines have not been in TTO long enough to satisfy the time lag necessary to give the second dose.Image

So are you trying to say we are doing ok to you?
Given that are are last in the region?
Nothing could have been done differently?

Every other country just sat back and "received" vaccines right?
Every other Caribbean country seemed to have exhausted all avenues to get their population vaccinated

We should just be content with our place at the bottom and count the numbers every day I guess

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... r-vaccines

You just went off on a tangent.

You keep asking. I keep answering with irrefutable fact. Now you want to segue off into opinion.

If you just want to jump out there and talk about how your pride as a citizen is diminished or how you want to vote people out of office, have at it.

Or you can just walk outside at 10 pm tonight with no mask on and find someone that gives a sh!t.

But that is exactly it
You don't give a sheit that we have no vaccines
We are among worst in the world with respect to death rates
And you act like it's covax at fault
If anyone asks any questions then time to get on like an ass and blame everyone and everything else
Every other caricom country has done better
I didn't say anything about voting people out of office.. That was you
I was speaking about accountability and responsibility

We can't hide from covid
We need to vaccinate out of this
And that is not happening

ALSO curfew starts at 9... Not 10

......Image

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2021, 8:09 pm

ST Auto wrote:Ppl really stupid innoScreenshot_20210523-192152_Facebook.jpegScreenshot_20210523-192229_Facebook.jpeg

have to release the stats of all who died and had vaccine.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 8:17 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Absolutely no one should fall for this garbage. So many third world countries have been acquiring vaccines. Incase you all didn't realize, we are still in the bottom of the world in terms of vaccinations.

If by August 1st we only vaccinate 10% of people, I'm strongly willing to be we might be in the bottom 20 in the world.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 8:19 pm

ST Auto wrote:Ppl really stupid inno

Leave them, they rel smart.... :shock:

Postby aaron17 » May 23rd, 2021, 8:35 pm

Saw a comment on looptt..

'All media reports indicate that public health regulations are still being ignored by citizens. The TTPS has issued a statement regarding daytime activity which has increased three fold since the declaration of the SoE. Obviously, as I have been saying (on the old LOOP website) the deterrent penalties for breaking regulations are not severe enough. Maybe the time is approaching for "shoot on sight" instructions to be given to law enforcement and the military. I bet you those errant law-breaking virus spreaders will stop their nonsense overnight.

SHOOT ON SIGHT - ONE SHOT ONE KILL. ...AMEN'

source: https://tt.loopnews.com/content/health- ... ore-deaths

Postby aaron17 » May 23rd, 2021, 8:37 pm

Saw a comment on looptt..

'All media reports indicate that public health regulations are still being ignored by citizens. The TTPS has issued a statement regarding daytime activity which has increased three fold since the declaration of the SoE. Obviously, as I have been saying (on the old LOOP website) the deterrent penalties for breaking regulations are not severe enough. Maybe the time is approaching for "shoot on sight" instructions to be given to law enforcement and the military. I bet you those errant law-breaking virus spreaders will stop their nonsense overnight.

SHOOT ON SIGHT - ONE SHOT ONE KILL. ...AMEN'

source: https://tt.loopnews.com/content/health- ... ore-deaths

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 9:10 pm

Easter weekend was an accelerator or super spreader event. Looking at Google's mobility data you see drastic changes happening during that period.

CleanShot 2021-05-23 at 9.06.03.png

I will agree with Habit7 (doh kill me) on one thing, Tobago would have been a small part of the entire thing. The entire country was partaking in frivolities that weekend.

Postby bluefete » May 23rd, 2021, 9:13 pm

Was Easter a greater super spreader than the Vigils?

Asking for Habit7?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 23rd, 2021, 9:33 pm

Just about sums things up.
FB_IMG_1621804565034.jpeg

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2021, 10:05 pm

bluefete wrote:Was Easter a greater super spreader than the Vigils?

Asking for Habit7?

50k going tobago, compared to 1k to 2k over a few nights is not the cause of spread.

Postby Gladiator » May 23rd, 2021, 10:20 pm

sMASH wrote:
bluefete wrote:Was Easter a greater super spreader than the Vigils?

Asking for Habit7?

50k going tobago, compared to 1k to 2k over a few nights is not the cause of spread.

Leave him alone nah...let him live in his Balisier wonderland...