Flow Internet Thread

scotty_buttons

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby scotty_buttons » June 15th, 2014, 7:33 am

Anyone knows if an apple airport express router has that clone MAC address option?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 15th, 2014, 10:48 am

Lul...Nah homie, flow does give me problems from time to time. Just nothing as major as tstt.

Torrents do go slow for me at times.

On one occasion when the torrents were sticking, I chose random port and forced encryption, and there was an increase, but soon after it start back sticking and no new random port or new IP/VPN would change anything. It just randomly happens and then 'fixes' over time without me calling flow. That is my personal experience.

As you and bossman say, cloning fixed your issues, but it did not fix mine each time, when it was happening.
I just making people aware, next thing they cloning and cloning and wasting their time. That is not gloating. 8-)

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 15th, 2014, 10:52 am

How do you force encryption?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 15th, 2014, 10:54 am

In utorrent go to Options -->Preferences --> BitTorrent

and you should see "Protocol Encryption" Outgoing --> Forced

bossmann

Postby bossmann » June 15th, 2014, 10:59 am

You don't need to keep “cloning and cloning" as your Mac address is not dynamic. You clone it once and that's it unless you disable the cloning or reset the router.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 15th, 2014, 11:12 am

fouljuice wrote:In utorrent go to Options -->Preferences --> BitTorrent

and you should see "Protocol Encryption" Outgoing --> Forced

Ahhhh, missed the dropdown amidst all the checkboxes. Thanks!
Does leaving this on all the time have any undesired effect?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 15th, 2014, 11:21 am

bossmann wrote:You don't need to keep “cloning and cloning" as your Mac address is not dynamic. You clone it once and that's it unless you disable the cloning or reset the router.

No....that is why I mentioned changing the hex notation. You can keep cloning and cloning but I think after a while (or even right away) if there are no available IPs you will just get back the same one(s)

flipswitch5point wrote:Does leaving this on all the time have any undesired effect?

Nah not that I know of. If it doesn't fix the problem, I don't think turning it back off will improve anything.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » June 15th, 2014, 12:35 pm

for those who want to know this will help explain why cloning helps and I also wouldn't recommend using just any mac address when cloning.
DSL Reports
Linksys Forums

Postby S_2NR » June 16th, 2014, 12:46 am

fouljuice wrote:Lul...Nah homie, flow does give me problems from time to time. Just nothing as major as tstt.

Torrents do go slow for me at times.

On one occasion when the torrents were sticking, I chose random port and forced encryption, and there was an increase, but soon after it start back sticking and no new random port or new IP/VPN would change anything. It just randomly happens and then 'fixes' over time without me calling flow. That is my personal experience.

As you and bossman say, cloning fixed your issues, but it did not fix mine each time, when it was happening.
I just making people aware, next thing they cloning and cloning and wasting their time. That is not gloating. 8-)

but....

fouljuice wrote:
kerwinishere wrote:As far as I see no ISP provides true speeds over 15mbps. Downgrade to the 10mb package

Nah. I just download a 1GB file at 2.3 - 2.5 MBps (using IDM speed limiter) while still being able to stream a 720p vid without buffering.

fouljuice wrote:On stock linksys firmware: just log into your router and search for some option with MAC address/clone MAC address ---> enable---> change one (or more) of the numbers/letters to anything between A-F or 0-9 (it in Hex notation) and click Clone MAC address.

Btw I don't guarantee it to be a 100% fix for your speed issues all the time.
I have not cloned my MAC address in probably more than a year or 2 and my torrents go fast most of the time. When they go slow, I really don't know if is Flow who forking up or on the seeders' ends.

Yesterday

fouljuice wrote:not by me.

I ponging game whole evening.

fouljuice wrote:Last time I check (bout a week ago) I was getting around 15mbps.

Just rebooted modem

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :shock:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 16th, 2014, 9:07 am

You do realise that most or all my posts are replies right?
I didn't just come out of the blue and wrote that 8-)

You forgot these too.
fouljuice wrote:Image

15Mb pumpin here :shock: :shock: :D :D :D

fouljuice wrote:Image

better I switch back to 5Mb :|

The only 'gloat' I made was wrt to downloading seasons of 24 and that wasn't even supposed to be taken seriously.
But I guess I have to watch what I say on here :?

As for user kerwinishere, I apologise for trying to correct your misinformation. I was clearly out of line. 8-)

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 16th, 2014, 3:54 pm

Look at those pings!!! Mine is 3ms. How do you all play online with those rates?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 16th, 2014, 4:05 pm

How?

bossmann

Postby bossmann » June 16th, 2014, 4:30 pm

Your ping is 3ms to where?

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 16th, 2014, 5:27 pm

Pc to router? Lol

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 16th, 2014, 6:46 pm

PC to modem :shock:

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » June 17th, 2014, 5:06 pm

Downgraded to 30MB seems to be working decent so far, in Trinidad.

I'm just going to enjoy that lower bill.

Postby S_2NR » June 17th, 2014, 5:18 pm

test to miami server.
pointless using flow server

edit: now see your test. dam. pressure yes

Postby Morpheus » June 17th, 2014, 7:42 pm

Ok which server is best then?

EDIT: Sorry I didn't see the period after "miami server".

Postby S_2NR » June 17th, 2014, 7:56 pm

I use Comcast or lime in miami

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » June 17th, 2014, 8:06 pm

S_2NR wrote:test to miami server.
pointless using flow server

edit: now see your test. dam. pressure yes

You could imagine how I felt when I was paying for 100mb and seeing that sheit.

Postby M_2NR » June 18th, 2014, 4:46 pm

I use the ft Lauderdale crawler LLC one. The Miami ones are usually flooded with request

Postby Morpheus » July 3rd, 2014, 6:36 pm

Stiff competition?

Postby K74T » July 3rd, 2014, 8:22 pm

Lol

Postby Trini Hookah » July 3rd, 2014, 8:29 pm

Now self ah passing by Morpheus fuh joose

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 3rd, 2014, 11:24 pm

Morpheus wrote:Stiff competition?

todd61

Postby todd61 » July 4th, 2014, 7:53 pm

anyone have problems as of today with downloading torrent?

For some reason all of a sudden i can't dl anything from torrent or usenet.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 4th, 2014, 8:26 pm

todd61 wrote:anyone have problems as of today with downloading torrent?

For some reason all of a sudden i can't dl anything from torrent or usenet.

I reset my router and torrent manager and everything was ok

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 4th, 2014, 8:31 pm

Flow just giving problems as usual

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » July 4th, 2014, 8:42 pm

Was gettin a high ping and slow connection 30 mins ago

kerwinishere