COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

2WNBoost

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » May 21st, 2021, 9:37 am

FYI: The all pose some level of risk, but it's better than severe COVID

Woman paralyzed 12 hours after getting first dose of Pfizer vaccine, doctors searching for answers

wtf wrote:Pfizer or nothing.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 21st, 2021, 10:14 am

prolly not even due to the pfizer.

Postby Habit7 » May 21st, 2021, 10:24 am

matr1x wrote:Sinovac vaccine has barely 50% effective rate, and given their bribery scandal, may not even be that good.

Allyuh gamble with it

Even if it were true, the WHO approved Sinopharm (Beijing) is the one we are getting, not Sinovac.

But keep reading your Whatsapp forwarded messages for accurate information.

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2021, 12:06 pm

i ain’t go lie
the braveboy woman does try too hard
she is a real amateur at trolling

BUG

Postby BUG » May 21st, 2021, 12:46 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Just got news from my brother in law that a mutual acquaintance of both of us passed away last night at Couva.
Mid 30s with an infant!!

His workplace has had quite a number of positive cases though which has been kept pretty low key. Libations of the brewed kind, owned by persons of Levantine descent

Good to know that Carib is considered an essential service, so much so that workers are dying so the country can poison themselves :roll:

Postby Dizzy28 » May 21st, 2021, 12:55 pm

BUG wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Just got news from my brother in law that a mutual acquaintance of both of us passed away last night at Couva.
Mid 30s with an infant!!

His workplace has had quite a number of positive cases though which has been kept pretty low key. Libations of the brewed kind, owned by persons of Levantine descent

Good to know that Carib is considered an essential service, so much so that workers are dying so the country can poison themselves :roll:

To be fair some of the hospitalized would be persons infected even before the current lockdown measures.
We have seen from some of the stories of the recovered people that they spent upwards of 30-40 days in Couva.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 21st, 2021, 1:02 pm

sMASH wrote:workplaces.... indoors...

Has nothing to do with indoor vs outdoor U idiot. It is about close quarters. After the home, the workplace is the next big super spreader location as that is where most ppl spend multiple hours of their lives around other people.

Postby sMASH » May 21st, 2021, 1:16 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Has nothing to do with indoor vs outdoor U idiot. It is about close quarters. After the home, the workplace is the next big super spreader location as that is where most ppl spend multiple hours of their lives around other people.

yes, ur correct, its about close quarters. because of the amount of viral loading u expose ur self to. but, in an indoor setting, the viral particles remain suspended in the air, long after the person is gone even with regular air movements.

with outdoors, even with close contact, the virus particles get dissipated so readily, its not a hazard for brief interactions.

u can do nearly anyting outdoors, so long as u dont linger too close or too long. and indoors is too risky, and would need the best air movement and filters.

hence why u would see all reports of people getting it going to work or some store, rather than in a park or walking on a street.

Postby adnj » May 21st, 2021, 2:19 pm

Redress10 wrote:

The risk factors were always crowd size, whether they were household members, duration of meet, and air flow.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 21st, 2021, 2:27 pm

adnj wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

The risk factors were always crowd size, whether they were household members, duration of meet, and air flow.

This is good info. Though I think it needs some updating based on recent findings:

Going to a beach should be 4, not 5.
Working a week in an office building should be moved up to high risk, like a 7 at least.
Going to dinner at someone else's house should also be a 7

The rest are fine.

Playing football/baskball might be fairly high risk, but cricket is definitely less, could be classed 1 risk point above golf.

Postby redmanjp » May 21st, 2021, 2:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:
matr1x wrote:Sinovac vaccine has barely 50% effective rate, and given their bribery scandal, may not even be that good.

Allyuh gamble with it

Even if it were true, the WHO approved Sinopharm (Beijing) is the one we are getting, not Sinovac.

But keep reading your Whatsapp forwarded messages for accurate information.

true but images on govt official fb pages with sinovac didn't help either. thankfully they clarified that it was not the one we received.

BUG

Postby BUG » May 21st, 2021, 2:46 pm

I bet plenty of people are looking forward to a full weekend of liming indoors with 4 non-household people in their house at a time. No masks, inhibitions falling with alcohol consumption. They can even schedule limes a few hours apart with multiple groups, that way they can see ALL their friends through the weekend.

Remember, whether it's right or wrong, it's all completely legal and as we've seen throughout this pandemic the world over, people don't need an excuse to congregate with each other.

I still can't go for a walk outside in the sun and fresh air by myself though, that would have me arrested.

Postby redmanjp » May 21st, 2021, 2:49 pm

BUG wrote:I bet plenty of people are looking forward to a full weekend of liming indoors with 4 non-household people in their house at a time. No masks, inhibitions falling with alcohol consumption. They can even schedule limes a few hours apart with multiple groups, that way they can see ALL their friends through the weekend.

Remember, whether it's right or wrong, it's all completely legal and as we've seen throughout this pandemic the world over, people don't need an excuse to congregate with each other.

I still can't go for a walk outside in the sun and fresh air by myself though, that would have me arrested.

tell them u going by d parlour. that is essential business

BUG

Postby BUG » May 21st, 2021, 2:56 pm

Yeah it's more the point I'm making is which of those two activities sounds like it has a higher risk of transmission and thus a continuance of the situation we find ourselves in now.

Postby redmanjp » May 21st, 2021, 3:02 pm

BUG wrote:Yeah it's more the point I'm making is which of those two activities sounds like it has a higher risk of transmission and thus a continuance of the situation we find ourselves in now.

yeah i understand. the AG said that 'smartmanism' is d reason it banned. perhaps ppl would claim they going out to excercise but wil end up check a partner or someone. also many individual ppl can all converge in the same savannah.

the issue of private gatherings should reaaly be addressed by road blocks and asking ppl where they off to and sending thrm back home- check and see if for instance they carrying drinks in d car or a bag of ice which would hint at some type of party.

perhaps they can go further and just ban the sale of alcohol for the next 3 weeks or so. public consumption already banned.

Postby Habit7 » May 21st, 2021, 3:13 pm

This sounds like us a month or 2 ago

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 21st, 2021, 3:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:This sounds like us a month or 2 ago

Watch them lockdown quickly and return to normal. Unlike us, they will listen to their CMO.

Postby Chimera » May 21st, 2021, 4:00 pm

i eh watch that video but i remember in 2019 with covid now started to pop up

november 2019 me and a few padnas were organising to pay for flights to go to canton fair in april

one of my suppliers in china tell me not to come, how it have a bad virus and they trying to keep it under wraps and control but its a bad idea to book the flight

by december/january he show me how most factories convert to making medical supplies for chinese use
no supplies being allowed to leave china, if you want stuff like masks you hadda label it as something else and pay a few bribes to get it to leave the country

i see videos where they tucks with big mist blowers, 3-4 trucks driving side by side and sanitizing whole towns and streets 2 or 3 times a day

dozens of workers walking through areas in full PPE and mist blowers sanitizing buildings and public spaces

and on the whole, chinese are healthy people compared to most places with what they eat

we could never expect that kind of response down here

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 21st, 2021, 4:08 pm

New record
FB_IMG_1621627657684.jpeg

Postby K74T » May 21st, 2021, 4:09 pm

708 new cases and 7 deaths

FB_IMG_1621627684872.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » May 21st, 2021, 4:20 pm

And by now we all know that's "below the actual figures" posted...

Postby aaron17 » May 21st, 2021, 4:37 pm

May 14th to may 20th
Cases...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 21st, 2021, 4:42 pm

gastly369 wrote:And by now we all know that's "below the actual figures" posted...

Let's do some quick math. We are detecting at MOST 1 in 5 cases.

With the virus lasting at least 2 weeks and us having 6000 cases in the last 2 weeks.....we can assume 30,000 persons have covid currently in T&T.

That's 2% of the population or 1 in 50 persons.

Almost definitely everytime you go to the grocery someone there has covid FYI. It doesn't mean you'll catch it, but i hope that puts things in perspective.

Postby hover11 » May 21st, 2021, 4:43 pm

REGARDLESS that's still 708 NEW cases whether it's today or over that period now what scares me is that these 708 persons who else did they infect because we know we trinis so obedient on quarantine and always stay home
aaron17 wrote:May 14th to may 20th
Cases...

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 21st, 2021, 4:51 pm

I think we should be calling for the resignation of:
CMO
Maryam Richards
Trotman
Avery Hinds
Deyalsingh.
Tax payers dollars are being paid to them to prevent us from reaching a position like this yet we are here.
Someone has to accept responsibility for this atrocious state of affairs.

Don't even mention the massive loss of livelihood that we are currently experiencing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2021, 4:53 pm

K74T wrote:708 new cases and 7 deaths

708 cases
7 deaths
1354 tests
52.3% positivity

killercow

Postby killercow » May 21st, 2021, 4:54 pm

hover11 wrote:REGARDLESS that's still 708 NEW cases whether it's today or over that period now what scares me is that these 708 persons who else did they infect because we know we trinis so obedient on quarantine and always stay home
aaron17 wrote:May 14th to may 20th
Cases...
Imagine people who do their utmost best and take all the necessary precautions still getting Covid (and before finding out spread it to others), so imagine the reckless ones? Let's not forget about our children under 8 who aren't required to wear masks and are asymptomatic spreaders. Imagine the actual rate of infection in T&T and the true # of people who are currently infected. The way I see it, sooner or later we're all gonna get it. It's just a question of time.

Postby redmanjp » May 21st, 2021, 5:04 pm

K74T wrote:708 new cases and 7 deaths

708 cases
7 deaths
1354 tests
52.3% positivity

u sure they report no of tests the exact same way as the new cases? as in the no of tests reflect test done in the exact same period as the period in which the positive samples come from? if not we can't calculate the positivity rate
Last edited by redmanjp on May 21st, 2021, 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 21st, 2021, 5:07 pm

wtf wrote:I think we should be calling for the resignation of:
CMO
Maryam Richards
Trotman
Avery Hinds
Deyalsingh.
Tax payers dollars are being paid to them to prevent us from reaching a position like this yet we are here.

Don't even mention the massive loss of livelihood that we are currently experiencing.

Like anything going to happen to them lol.

Postby teems1 » May 21st, 2021, 5:15 pm

wtf wrote:I think we should be calling for the resignation of:
CMO
Maryam Richards
Trotman
Avery Hinds
Deyalsingh.

If given the option CMO, Trotman and Richards would enact a full 24/7 2 week total lockdown. No movement whatsoever anywhere.

A proper full border closure including the illegals.

Supermarkets/pharmacies/fruit stands/ministries/banks/insurance companies closed. Use what's in your pantry and medicine cabinet. Eat crix and tuna if you don't have a stove.

Geriatric and night nurses to remain with the patients. If they have responsibilities during the day with family 2 weeks someone else could take over.

Army would drop off supplies in your yard.

Like when China welded people inside their houses and apartment complexes.

From a medically viewpoint they don't care about your economic affairs, livelihood, family business going under, rent collection, unpaid loans, debts piling up, economy faltering etc. That's not their problem.

They don't care about your mental health either. 2 weeks and suck it up.

They want the number of cases to and deaths to go down.

Deyalsingh, Young, Hinds and KCR are the ones who have to weigh the pros and cons, and take the relevant steps to "keep the lights on".

They are the ones who are accountable at the end of the day.