Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2011, 3:24 pm

honda hoe wrote:
mitch wrote:Skype two-way video chat finally arrives on more Android handsets

An updated version of Skype just appeared on the Android Market sporting a crucial improvement: it now supports two-way video calling on a wide range of current Android handsets, rather than the meager four that had previously received preferential treatment. If you have a recent phone from HTC, Samsung or Sony Ericsson (excluding the Arc), then you're probably in luck. Oh, and LG Revolution (Verizon) and Acer A5 owners can get their vogue on too. Running Gingerbread is a must, though, because Froyo will only let you use your device's rear camera, which is obviously quite difficult to pose for.

(These handsets already support video calling)

Samsung Google Nexus S
Sony Ericsson Xperia neo
Sony Ericsson Xperia pro
HTC Desire S

Video calling is now available on the following Android devices:

Samsung Galaxy S II
Samsung Galaxy S
Samsung Droid Charge - Verizon
Samsung Galaxy Tab
HTC Desire (2.2)
HTC Thunderbolt - Verizon
HTC Sensation
HTC Evo 4G
HTC Evo 3D
HTC Incredible S
HTC Desire HD
HTC Flyer
LG Revolution - Verizon (2.2)
Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY
Sony Ericsson Xperia ray
Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro
Acer A5

Engadget

no love for N1 :(

d N1 dont have a front camera boi!

Postby honda hoe » August 6th, 2011, 3:25 pm

i knew dat :|

Postby M_2NR » August 6th, 2011, 3:37 pm

i think they will give the N1 support like the 3GS for only viewing/use of the back camera.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » August 7th, 2011, 11:38 pm

Besides the great news that Sony Ericsson has officially(finally) updated its android software to V 2.3.3 which i am proud to say that it works absolutely wonderful especially since the devs @xda have already given us a tweaked version of it ... Its not even available in our region yet btw. Other good/interesting news is this :-

http://www.dancingpixelstudios.com/sixa ... about.html

Thats for you gaming enthusiasts. Play emulators on your android using ps3 dualshock or sixaxis controllers. One issue is that it may not work on all phone brands...works flawlessly on X10 though. XD

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » August 7th, 2011, 11:41 pm

Also, concerning internet providers in TnT. Have any of you sought to get internet on your phone. Mind giving me costs and experience with such devices as i want internet on my android.

Postby SUPAstarr » August 8th, 2011, 12:28 am

i play my gameboy emulator pretty easily, dont really see the need for a controller, to me thts over kill

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » August 8th, 2011, 12:31 am

Its a lil sickening to play games like street fighter, double dragon and certain game thats require multiple inputs @ 1 time. Some games like street fighter require you to glide your fingers across buttons to perform moves, your android will not effectively perform this action...if at all.. Just saying..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 9th, 2011, 4:25 pm

Facebook going after bbm, whatsapp etc.?

Facebook introduces separate Messenger app for iPhone and Android

Facebook has branched out further into the increasingly crowded messaging space today with the announcement of a separate Facebook Messenger app. Available for iPhone and Android, the app lets you send messages directly to individual friends or groups, which they'll of course receive instantly (a la BBM, Huddle for Google+, and Apple's forthcoming iMessage). You're also able to share your location if you choose, and attach photos to your messages, but the app is otherwise streamlined and barebones -- which Facebook says is just the point. We're not seeing the app in either the Android Market or App Store just yet, but it's said to be rolling out today.

https://www.facebook.com/mobile/messenger

Android Market

Engadget

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 9th, 2011, 5:35 pm

hmm not downloadable yet.....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 9th, 2011, 8:07 pm

i downloaded it and installed fine OTA as soon as i posted it. u tried the link posted?

Android Market

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 11th, 2011, 3:01 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 11th, 2011, 4:00 pm

Games in Google+: fun that fits your schedule

Today we’re adding games to Google+. With the Google+ project, we want to bring the nuance and richness of real-life sharing to the web. But sharing is about more than just conversations. The experiences we have together are just as important to our relationships. We want to make playing games online just as fun, and just as meaningful, as playing in real life.

The Official Google Blog

Postby honda hoe » August 11th, 2011, 4:08 pm

ps3 > google+ games

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 11th, 2011, 9:26 pm

Leaked: First Photos of Ice Cream Sandwich

Somebody's leaked the first pictures of Android's most delicious build to date to Android Police and RootzWiki. So, what's new with Ice Cream Sandwich?

As you can see from the shots, the UI has undergone a redesign with electric blue highlights and a revamped notification bar. Android Police also reports the inclusion of an app drawer, launcher and task switching capabilities, as well as a panoramic camera mode. Nexus Prime owners should be stoked—they'll be the first to receive the update, then Nexus S owners then the rest of the community in a process, coined by President Regan, known as "Trickle Down Upgradenomics."

Image Image

Gizmodo

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 11th, 2011, 10:03 pm

steupse still waiting for lg to release gingerbread for the optimus one.....

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » August 12th, 2011, 1:41 am

have a atrix and galaxy s for sale if anyone here interested.. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=374602&p=5352756#p5352756

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 12th, 2011, 1:44 am

^yuh going back to iOS or what?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » August 12th, 2011, 1:57 am

mitch wrote:^yuh going back to iOS or what?

going canada for university so preparing for when iphone 5 hits the shelfs there. still have to contemplate on it tho.. the atrix opened up my eyes to android.. its really a nice os.. i like that i can customize it so much.. and delete anything on it that i no i not going to use to free um ram.. heck if i didnt want bluetooth or a dialer i cud delete that and all.. so depending on how good or not apple come with the iphone 5 i might just get another high end android again.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 12th, 2011, 2:03 am

cool. thought yuh give up on Android :lol:

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » August 12th, 2011, 2:10 am

mitch wrote:cool. thought yuh give up on Android :lol:

na.. cyanogenmod 7 just released for the atrix and made it so much better... but its still in pre beta stage so it has its flaws..

Postby honda hoe » August 12th, 2011, 8:36 am

dunno if this was posted already but there's an app called viber

u get free text msgs and voice calls

its a free app

but it only works on android and iphone

Postby honda hoe » August 12th, 2011, 8:39 am

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 14th, 2011, 7:50 pm

fellas,

what's a good ROM to use on a mytouch 3g?

A friend of mine has one and it slow like sh*t, ting does take almost 8 minutes to boot up.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 14th, 2011, 10:22 pm

^^^ check here, there is a multitude of ROMS, I assume that this is the 32B version

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=448

Postby Greypatch » August 14th, 2011, 10:29 pm

is the nexus prime out ?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 14th, 2011, 10:34 pm

any roms for optimus one?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 14th, 2011, 11:00 pm

XDA has specific forums for each device. just look in the "Android Development" thread for all your ROM needs...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/index.php

dva2

Postby dva2 » August 14th, 2011, 11:54 pm

mitch wrote:XDA has specific forums for each device. just look in the "Android Development" thread for all your ROM needs...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/index.php

this is one damn good site. flashed my xperia x10 today, now running gingerbread.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 15th, 2011, 5:53 am

it doh have gingerbread for meh phone :(

mediahouse

Google buying Motorola?

Postby mediahouse » August 15th, 2011, 8:50 am

Of all the bad news hitting Windows Phone 7 lately, today's news about Google buying Motorola may be the worst. It gives Google what may be the world's foremost manufacturer of Android devices, and makes it much less likely that Motorola will ever make Windows Phone 7 smartphones and tablets.

Google announced on its blog that it was buying Motorola Mobile. The price will be somewhere in the range of $12.5 billion, a premium of 63% compared to the closing price of Motorola Mobile on Friday, reports Computerworld.

The purchase hurts Microsoft in many ways. First is that it ensures Motorola will continue to focus its smartphone and tablet efforts primarily --- or possibly solely --- on Android. As CEO Larry Page wrote on the Google blog announcing the purchase:

In 2008, Motorola bet big on Android as the sole operating system across all of its smartphone devices. It was a smart bet and we're thrilled at the success they've achieved so far. We believe that their mobile business is on an upward trajectory and poised for explosive growth

Motorola's total commitment to Android in mobile devices is one of many reasons that there is a natural fit between our two companies. Together, we will create amazing user experiences that supercharge the entire Android ecosystem for the benefit of consumers, partners and developers everywhere.

Recently Motorola Mobility CEO Sanjay said that Motorola was open to manufacturing Windows Phone 7 devices, even though, as the Google blog notes, up until now it only manufactured Android smartphones.

The chances of Motorola making Windows Phone 7 devices just plummeted, if not vanished. And even if Motorola ever did manufacture a Windows Phone 7 device, fearing an anti-trust look from the feds if it didn't, it wouldn't pour any significant resources into the device or marketing it.

Microsoft was looking to Motorola to help salvage Windows Phone 7, because the Nokia deal, by itself likely won't save Microsoft's struggling smartphone OS. Rumors had Microsoft looking to ink a Nokia-like deal with Motorola, or even buying the company.

Google, once again, beat Microsoft to the punch.

The purchase of Motorola may help Google's fight against Microsoft in one other way --- to fend off lawsuits Microsoft has launched to try and kill Android. As Page explained on the Google blog:

Our acquisition of Motorola will increase competition by strengthening Google's patent portfolio, which will enable us to better protect Android from anti-competitive threats from Microsoft, Apple and other companies.

There's one more way in which the Google-Motorola deal will hurt Windows Phone 7 --- combining Motorola's expertise in hardware design and manufacturing with Google's software skills makes it more likely that Android smartphone will become become even more powerful and better designed than today. The phones and tablets will become that much more difficult to compete against.

Up until today, Microsoft was facing an extremely difficult task in trying to revive the fading Windows Phone 7. Today that task became much, much harder

http://blogs.computerworld.com/18799/ca ... g_motorola