Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby cornfused » August 5th, 2012, 12:47 pm

2-0 test win yeah

Postby hydroep » August 5th, 2012, 3:22 pm

Well done fellas...it's been a long time coming.

Just hope they don't get swell headed. They kinda stumbled in the final match and must consider that the Kiwis are a team in transition.

There's much tougher opposition to come.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 5th, 2012, 4:20 pm

Wish meh boy did get his 50 thro

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2012, 8:46 pm

well done windies,now onto the t20 world cup,then Australia....some real nice clashes coming up though.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 7:15 am

well India just destroyed Sri-Lanka,nice t20..

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 8th, 2012, 11:45 am

The T 20 World Cup starting just now that go b d bomb .

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 8th, 2012, 11:56 am

trent

Postby trent » August 12th, 2012, 10:56 am

KP dropped frm England's Test squad, wtf!
In other news, WI U19 defeat Ind U19 in ICC U19 World Cup

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 12th, 2012, 2:56 pm

Good win that in the group stage many were beaten by Beaton

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2012, 4:00 pm

firstchoicett wrote:The T 20 World Cup starting just now that go b d bomb .

start writing out allyuh favorites nah...

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 13th, 2012, 5:21 pm

Its coming on ESPN ;-)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 13th, 2012, 9:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 13th, 2012, 9:20 pm

Australia U19s look solid.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2012, 9:55 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

my top 3:
Australia :D
West indies :shock: :D
India

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 14th, 2012, 12:23 pm

anybody have info on the t20 for 50 with BCL as captain for one of the teams?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2012, 9:39 am

yall think is time for him:

VVS Laxman has announced his retirement from international cricket with immediate effect, ending a 16-year career that will be remembered for several innings of extreme grace under extreme pressure. Laxman, 37, had been included in India's squad for the home series against New Zealand starting next week but said he took the decision over the past few days.

He announced his decision at an emotional press conference in his hometown Hyderabad, which he will represent in the Ranji Trophy this coming season.

"I would like to announce my retirement from international cricket with immediate effect," Laxman said. "I have always kept my country's success and need ahead of my personal aspirations. And while I would love contributing to the team's success, especially against England and Australia, I think this is the right time to give the youngsters a chance in home conditions ahead of international assignments coming up next year." The chance he said, could be, "no better than against an inexperienced New Zealand bowling attack."

Dressed in a sharp, formal suit, Laxman made his announcement in a conference room at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, in Uppal to the north east of his home city, Hyderabad. Several members of family, including his parents, wife and two children, were present at the function. Shortly into his speech the lights of the conference room went out, and Laxman grinned, an otherwise sombre occasion turning informal.

He admitted that this sudden retirement had been "a tough decision to take," adding, "I have always listened to my inner conscience. I have always done that right through my career. There was a lot of debate in the last four days. I felt this is the right time to move on."

trent

Postby trent » August 19th, 2012, 6:20 pm

^^yes it's time, great batsman in his prime tho

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2012, 7:13 am

Pakistan-Australia series starting on the 25th, speculations?
I backing Australia hard.....

trent

Postby trent » August 20th, 2012, 9:31 am

WI U19 lose quarter-final match to NZ U19 :cry: last ball thriller

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » August 20th, 2012, 5:45 pm

South Africa beat England today to claim their spot as the No. 1 ranked test team.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » August 21st, 2012, 12:44 pm

we u19s dissapoint

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 21st, 2012, 1:56 pm

rish1108 wrote:South Africa beat England today to claim their spot as the No. 1 ranked test team.

hopefully some1 else would claim that spot,I hate S/Africa :x

trent

Postby trent » August 21st, 2012, 2:30 pm

Congrats 2 SA, well deserved, Eng missin KP

Postby Country_Bookie » August 22nd, 2012, 2:10 pm

West Indies former great all-rounder Sir Garfield Sobers will be front and centre at the Twenty20 for 50 Cricket Festival—as manager and ambassador of the Brian Lara All-Star team.

Sobers is expected in Trinidad and Tobago this week ahead of the event, as is former T&T football captain Dwight Yorke, who will also be in the mix as T&T sports ambassador.

The three-day tournament starts on Friday at the Queen's Park Oval, with T&T, Jamaica, the Brian Lara team and a Daren Ganga All-Star team competing.

Some of the big names listed for the tournament are former South Africa players Herschelle Gibbs, Makhaya Ntini and Justin Kemp, along with out-of-favour South African opener Loots Bosman, and West Indies players, pacer Fidel Edwards, all-rounders Dwayne Smith and Assad Fudadin and mystery spinner Sunil Narine.

The full line-up of all of the teams is expected to be announced later this week.

Trinidad and Tobago have been preparing over the last few months for the Champions League tournament in South Africa next month.

According to a press release yesterday by the organisers, tickets for the event have been selling fast. They are available at Sports and Games locations, as well as the tournament venue, Queen's Park Oval.

Trinidad and Tobago's Olympic javelin champion Keshorn Walcott will try his hand at cricket when he bowls to batting legend Brian Lara on the second day of the Twenty20 for 50 Cricket Festival at Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain on Saturday.

Teenager Walcott, who won the gold medal in the men's javelin at the London 2012 games, will ceremoniously bowl the first ball of the innings to another famous son of the soil, Lara, who captains one of the four squads competing in the tournament, which is being held in commemoration of T&T's 50th anniversary of Independence.

In a media release yesterday, the organisers said: "Fans will be treated to this symbolic interaction between the two men, both of whom have flown the red, white and black high, and brought international fame to themselves and to T&T, through their excellence in sport."

The release added: "Keshorn is a most exciting addition to the line-up of distinguished patrons of the event, which includes Sir Garfield Sobers, Sports Ambassadors Dwight Yorke, Lara and Daren Ganga."

Lara and Ganga will each captain an all-star team in the tournament which also features the T&T and Jamaica national teams.

The T20 for 50 will feature two games being played each day, the first at 2:30 p.m. and the second from 7 p.m. There will also be top local artistes performing between matches and tickets for the tournament cost $100 per day.

Trinidad and Tobago will be using the three-day tournament, which bowls off on Friday, as preparation for the Champions League T20, which takes place in South Africa in October.

T&T continue their preparation for this weekend's tournament with a training session at the National Cricket Centre, Balmain, Couva from 9 a.m. today.

Anybody going this weekend? Where can u park if u going to the Oval? I know King George V park is off limits. Can u park in the side streets close to the Oval?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 22nd, 2012, 2:30 pm

speedmelter wrote:we u19s dissapoint

They beat Pakistan in the 5th place playoff match this morning.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » August 22nd, 2012, 10:21 pm

speedmelter wrote:we u19s dissapoint

They beat Pakistan in the 5th place playoff match this morning.

i had much higher hopes for them, they were in a really great position against NZ and trew it away. almost relfective of the senior WI team

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 23rd, 2012, 8:40 am

Any of u know when Lara playing in d all stars T20?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 23rd, 2012, 8:46 am

firstchoicett wrote:Any of u know when Lara playing in d all stars T20?

daz news to me,i din noe he in da tournament.wonder if he still have it.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 23rd, 2012, 9:22 am

Lara could still play cricket?