hydroep wrote:It's seems doubtful that we'll make it that far. As it stands our chances of making it out of this preliminary group are slim.
noshownogo wrote:allyuh worried, Uncle Jack...oh wait nm
Greypatch wrote:Guyana have a good team hoss
noshownogo wrote:ah hear man name ain't Mr. Shakes for nuttin'
dan80 wrote:I going to see the Barbados match tmrw...not payin tho
Greypatch wrote:ah bag ah yardies are the officials
Officials
Referee: Raymond BOGLE (JAM)
Assistant Referee 1: Ricardo MORGAN (JAM)
Assistant Referee 2: Garnet PAGE (JAM)
Fourth official: Valdin LEGISTER (JAM)
Greypatch wrote:ah bag ah yardies are the officials
Officials
Referee: Raymond BOGLE (JAM)
Assistant Referee 1: Ricardo MORGAN (JAM)
Assistant Referee 2: Garnet PAGE (JAM)
Fourth official: Valdin LEGISTER (JAM)
BFA apologizes for embarrassing anthem blunder
James Whittaker
Senior Reporter
MONDAY, OCTOBER 10: The BFA has apologized for playing the wrong national anthem before Bermuda’s World Cup win over Trinidad on Friday night.
The US anthem was played instead of God Save the Queen as the teams lined up before kick-off.
The Trinidad anthem Forged from the Love of Liberty was played successfully. But, to a chorus of laughter and boos from some sections of the crowd, the Star Spangled Banner was played in place of the Bermuda anthem.
BFA president Larry Mussenden took to the mic to apologise immediately and the BFA issued a full public apology last night.
A spokesman said: “On behalf of the BFA Executive, we apologize to the people of Bermuda for playing the incorrect national anthems on Friday evening at the Bermuda v Trinidad & Tobago World Cup qualifying match.
“We caused undue embarrassment and anxiety for which we are truly sorry. We also apologize to the people of the USA for the mistake. Although this has happened previously, we have taken steps to ensure that this will not happen again.”
The on-field performance from Bermuda was a revelation as the island recorded a famous 2-1 win over the Soca Warriors through goals from Antwan Russell and Nahki Wells.
But the organization of the game came in for criticism with many spectators missing the kick-off as they queued for tickets at Cedarbridge Academy and then had to wait again as large lines formed outside the turnstiles.
FIFA regulations preventing people from paying on the gate were partly to blame for the chaos.
The spokesman said: “We also wish to apologize for the long lines at the Grandstand Gates.
“This was a result of a combination of the need to scan tickets and conduct searches.
“We have now taken steps to have more ticket scanners available. We have also adjusted searching capabilities to ensure faster access to the NSC and spectator seating.”
“FIFA Regulations do not allow sale of tickets at the National Sports Centre on match day. Therefore, we urge everyone to purchase their tickets in advance. We remind fans that we can only sell tickets to seating capacity so tickets are limited.”
The stadium will open at 6pm to admit fans for Tuesday’s game against Guyana.
The BFA is advising people to get their tickets in advance and arrive early to avoid lines.