Habit7 wrote:If God can occasionally “control satan” then why allow satan to cause his creation to commit sin?
1)Blessed is a man who perseveres under trial; for once he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life which the Lord has promised to those who love Him. Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am being tempted by God”; for God cannot be tempted by evil, and He Himself does not tempt anyone. But each one is tempted when he is carried away and enticed by his own lust. Then when lust has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and when sin is accomplished, it brings forth death. Do not be deceived, my beloved brethren. Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow. In the exercise of His will He brought us forth by the word of truth, so that we would be a kind of first fruits among His creatures. James 1:12-18
If God can occasionally “allow” satan to do what he desires then why bestow punishment on man for sins that God “allowed”?
2)Firstly as James says, sin occurs when we of our own volition choose to do what is wrong, regardless of who is tempting. Therefore God is just in punishing or rewarding a man for his deeds. Secondly, though the means might appear evil to the one committing it, God can still use it to bring forth good, as in Satan's interaction with Job, Joseph being sold into slavery but then becoming governor of Egypt and most importantly, Jesus being crucified by men but then becomes the Saviour of all men who believe.
If God does occasionally “control” or “allow” satan, then what is “Free Will” to do right or wrong?
3)Who said anything about free will? We have a corrupted will, a will that wants to do evil long before Satan arrives to tempt us.
Habit7 wrote:Since the argument initially was about the consistency of the Bible, he needs to show that my answer (not his summary and reinterpretation) is inconsistent with the Bible. Making my view look incredulous is not refuting it. My answer references directly and indirectly the views of the Bible. The consistency of the Bible is maintained.Habit7 wrote:If God can occasionally “control satan” then why allow satan to cause his creation to commit sin?
1)Blessed is a man who perseveres under trial; for once he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life which the Lord has promised to those who love Him. Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am being tempted by God”; for God cannot be tempted by evil, and He Himself does not tempt anyone. But each one is tempted when he is carried away and enticed by his own lust. Then when lust has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and when sin is accomplished, it brings forth death. Do not be deceived, my beloved brethren. Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow. In the exercise of His will He brought us forth by the word of truth, so that we would be a kind of first fruits among His creatures. James 1:12-18
If God can occasionally “allow” satan to do what he desires then why bestow punishment on man for sins that God “allowed”?
2)Firstly as James says, sin occurs when we of our own volition choose to do what is wrong, regardless of who is tempting. Therefore God is just in punishing or rewarding a man for his deeds. Secondly, though the means might appear evil to the one committing it, God can still use it to bring forth good, as in Satan's interaction with Job, Joseph being sold into slavery but then becoming governor of Egypt and most importantly, Jesus being crucified by men but then becomes the Saviour of all men who believe.
If God does occasionally “control” or “allow” satan, then what is “Free Will” to do right or wrong?
3)Who said anything about free will? We have a corrupted will, a will that wants to do evil long before Satan arrives to tempt us.
Well it is a good thing we write what we say and I can show that you are not speaking the truth.New_SPECIES wrote:Let me correct you there partner... the argument about Inconsistency in the Bible “was dealt with and proven already!”,
.............we move on from that long time!
I was giving you an example of how to address and refute the points made, I hope you attempt to follow.New_SPECIES wrote:This argument is about You saying that “God occasionally controls Satan”.
What was your point of re-stating what you already said?
But someone objectively said about what you didNew_SPECIES wrote:It shows CLEARLY that my summary was a Very Accurate representation of your words...
There is no need for you to summarize and reinterpret my response, you need to address it and refute it, not create a straw man that you can knock over.Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that him answering the questions for you can be seen as him "putting words in your mouth"
MG Man wrote:Still reading the Bible with an open mind. Still find it irritating to read. Why the heck would god have us fight up with a translation of a dead language 2,000 years later?????
Half the sheet I been reading is worse than when I had to read Shakespeare in school. Instead of 'oh my, how inspired I am!!!' It's more wha thafuck is thusshit?
Same for the koran, which I am also reading :-/
marlener wrote:Open mind you said! Ok and already giving a commentary on it as as sheit. Sounds like you are reading for reading sake to say that you have read them. The Koran and the Bible that is.
marlener wrote:Well then a question seeing that you have tried reading it before and trying again and already drawing conclusion,care to share your reason for doing so?
MG Man wrote:Still reading the Bible with an open mind. Still find it irritating to read. Why the heck would god have us fight up with a translation of a dead language 2,000 years later?????
Half the sheet I been reading is worse than when I had to read Shakespeare in school. Instead of 'oh my, how inspired I am!!!' It's more wha thafuck is thusshit?
Same for the koran, which I am also reading :-/
MG Man wrote:Lol @ bible study. Why couldn't your god write a book everyone could understand? Whose bible study should I trust?
rspann wrote:That makes sense but everyone who "explains it to you "puts their own spin to it,that is why it is important for the holy spirit to reveal it's meaning to you ,so that if thelowliest man without education or the most educated person reads it then they should get the same basic idea seeing that it was revealed by the same source.