COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 12105 cases, 189 deaths, 3024 active, 8892 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » May 7th, 2021, 12:10 pm

Outside PriceSmart..
FB_IMG_1620403773008.jpeg

tarzan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 12105 cases, 189 deaths, 3024 active, 8892 recovered in T&T

Postby tarzan » May 7th, 2021, 12:10 pm

KM_2NR wrote:Wonder how this country will look post covid

worst than pakasgas

Postby 88sins » May 7th, 2021, 12:36 pm

look prablems today.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2021, 12:44 pm

tarzan wrote:

worst than pakasgas

Ask yourself firstly when is post Covid?

We need to get to 60% vaccinations, that alone given our current rate and vaccine supply likely won't happen till the end of 2021.

These new lockdowns might likely last a couple months, and then afterwards we have to deal with a very slow economic recovery given the mass unemployment and fear/reluctance some would have in going out and spending.

Post covid starts in 2022......at this point it's doubtful we'll have carnival 2022.

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2021, 12:47 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Ask Habit7, he kept boasting how our closed borders kept us Covid safe compared to Barbados/Jamaica.

Current Covid-19 deaths per million for those countries is:

Barbados 156
Jamaica 268
Trinidad 135

Guyana is 396

Correct, but you all both know that we're surpassing Barbados's death rate next week and possibly Jamaica by end of the month.

So again, if the excuse for not opening borders to citizens who'd like to return was that they'd occupy too much space in our health facilities.........then honestly given this logic borders will probably be closed till the end of 2021.

We could have easily repatriated thousands when the covid situation wasn't bad from Jan to Mar.....and now look where we are.

Trinidad looking like a laughing stock to the world because of our 'closed borders' strategy.

1. You are taking my comments from March and applying them now
2. Thousands have been repatriated and ppl are coming in by the hundreds each week
3. We are suffering now with the Brazilian variant, the last thing we need is the UK, SA and Indian one too

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2021, 12:49 pm

IMG_4462.JPG
Idk nah...limit more crowding i guess. More buff.
"As off midnight tonight...."

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Ask Habit7, he kept boasting how our closed borders kept us Covid safe compared to Barbados/Jamaica.

Barbados 156
Jamaica 268
Trinidad 135

Guyana is 396

Correct, but you all both know that we're surpassing Barbados's death rate next week and possibly Jamaica by end of the month.

So again, if the excuse for not opening borders to citizens who'd like to return was that they'd occupy too much space in our health facilities.........then honestly given this logic borders will probably be closed till the end of 2021.

We could have easily repatriated thousands when the covid situation wasn't bad from Jan to Mar.....and now look where we are.

Trinidad looking like a laughing stock to the world because of our 'closed borders' strategy.

2. Thousands have been repatriated and ppl are coming in by the hundreds each week
3. We are suffering now with the Brazilian variant, the last thing we need is the UK, SA and Indian one too

Sigh, so 1. You're admitting our Covid strategy failed, finally.

2. Why are people still begging to come home? There are still thousands stranded.

3. How exactly do we get those variants if there's a quarantine process everyone goes through? Btw those outbreaks you mentioned on the rigs occurred because those workers upon arrival do not quarantine. I have a friend who works offshore who confirmed it. The chartered flight from Amsterdam brings workers who only needed a negative PCR to travel. They are then helicoptered to the rig without any state quarantine.

Finally, with much if the world getting fully vaccinated what is our plan on opening borders?
Last edited by Dohplaydat on May 7th, 2021, 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » May 7th, 2021, 12:59 pm

Hello KM_2NR,

Cannot say for sure but the mentality will be the same as pre covid.

Trinis would have learnt nothing and its just a matter of time pass and when bars can be opened and Carnival reinstated.

If we do get another pandemic, we have to do all this over again and keep saying the same thing over and over and over.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 7th, 2021, 1:00 pm

ah feel ah could make a bet on the curfew today and win....who betting meh

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2021, 1:01 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah feel ah could make a bet on the curfew today and win....who betting meh

What times? The minister I know said 6 to 6, but essential workers would be 5 to 10

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 7th, 2021, 1:05 pm

6pm-6am...keep yuh arse home!

Postby redmanjp » May 7th, 2021, 1:06 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah feel ah could make a bet on the curfew today and win....who betting meh

What times? The minister I know said 6 to 6, but essential workers would be 5 to 10

which minister? NatSec?

Postby K74T » May 7th, 2021, 1:06 pm

No one knows...just to wait and see what unfolds today.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2021, 1:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

which minister? NatSec?

Nah another PNM pleb.

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2021, 1:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Barbados 156
Jamaica 268
Trinidad 135

Guyana is 396

Sigh, so 1. You're admitting our Covid strategy failed, finally.

2. Why are people still begging to come home? There are still thousands stranded.

3. How exactly do we get those variants if there's a quarantine process everyone goes through? Btw those outbreaks you mentioned on the rigs occurred because those workers upon arrival do not quarantine. I have a friend who works offshore who confirmed it. The chartered flight from Amsterdam brings workers who only needed a negative PCR to travel. They are then helicoptered to the rig without any state quarantine.

Finally, with much if the world getting fully vaccinated what is our plan on opening borders?

It didn't fail, we achieved those good numbers before this wave because it worked. But like everywhere in the world pandemic fatigue set in and porous borders caused the inevitable. But this 3wk lockdown will produce results, they will have to extend it or have fewer restrictions, but our numbers will start to fall by the end of this month.

Nobody isn't saying nobody is outside. You said, "we could have easily repatriated thousands" well we have been repatriating. But even in so-called open countries, they too banning flights from certain areas. Ppl cant be vex that 50k went Tobago for a weekend but want 50k come in every month from the US.

The quarantine is not foolproof, it is 7days quarantine at home too. We know not everybody observes it and it could start a cluster. The PM said they were just about to allow for fully vaccinated ppl to enter then this wave hit, so that is the priority now.

Postby adnj » May 7th, 2021, 1:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Barbados 156
Jamaica 268
Trinidad 135

Guyana is 396

Do to the fact that you have an immigration problem likely carrying the Brazilian P1 variant, you may want to try looking at Venezuela's nearest neighbors: Guyana, Colombia and Brazil. The presence of five confirmed P1 variant cases triggers a significant shift in the mortality projections.

There, you will find projected mortality rates greater than Trinidad's in all countries. Mortality rates per million are greater in Guyana (1540), twice Trinidad's (1260) in Colombia (2560) and three times in Brazil (3720).

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 7th, 2021, 1:29 pm

This pandemic will still be a big problem in the year 2022.
Scrap all your 2021 plans. Try and survive.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 7th, 2021, 1:40 pm

wtf wrote:This pandemic will still be a big problem in the year 2022.
Scrap all your 2021 plans. Try and survive.

I predict it'll calm down by 2023 and be "over" by 2025

Postby K74T » May 7th, 2021, 1:47 pm

BPTT confirms 7 covid cases on Maersk Discoverer

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/bptt-confirms-seven-covid-cases-on-offshore-rig/

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 7th, 2021, 1:52 pm

There's a lot of cases not being reported , not sure how certain ministries and sectors will survive if the staff required compromised.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2021, 1:54 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Barbados 156
Jamaica 268
Trinidad 135

Guyana is 396

Do to the fact that you have an immigration problem likely carrying the Brazilian P1 variant, you may want to try looking at Venezuela's nearest neighbors: Guyana, Colombia and Brazil. The presence of five confirmed P1 variant cases triggers a significant shift in the mortality projections.

There, you will find projected mortality rates greater than Trinidad's in all countries. Mortality rates per million are greater in Guyana (1540), twice Trinidad's (1260) in Colombia (2560) and three times in Brazil (3720).

I saw the recent update for our projected deaths....huge wtf, 1700+ dead by September 1st.

Screenshot_20210507_135656_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20210507_135853_com.android.chrome.jpg
Last edited by Dohplaydat on May 7th, 2021, 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 7th, 2021, 1:56 pm

Person's in Marabella at the moment..
FB_IMG_1620410103159.jpeg

Postby j.o.e » May 7th, 2021, 1:57 pm

wtf wrote:Person's in Marabella at the moment..
FB_IMG_1620410103159.jpeg

What are they there for ? This is outside a business ?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 7th, 2021, 1:59 pm

That's a testing facility

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2021, 2:00 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:That's a testing facility

They not getting back results for atleast a week.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 7th, 2021, 2:01 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Barbados 156
Jamaica 268
Trinidad 135

Guyana is 396

I saw the recent update for our projected deaths....huge wtf, 1700+ dead by September 1st.

i going home dawg , f-dat!

Postby MaxPower » May 7th, 2021, 2:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:I saw the recent update for our projected deaths....huge wtf, 1700+ dead by September 1st.

Wow

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 7th, 2021, 2:08 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Barbados 156
Jamaica 268
Trinidad 135

Guyana is 396

Just a projection bro relax..

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 7th, 2021, 2:09 pm

Folks, a family member works moh in POS. Their boss just told them to pack their things an go home because of what the PM has to say he doesn't want anyone getting stranded in town today. So we will see what takes place.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 7th, 2021, 2:16 pm

i have a tank of oxygen and acetylene. is this the same oxygen used for medical purposes?