Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby 88sins » June 13th, 2022, 7:23 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:If you all are planting and rearing animals please be mindful of your surrounding, theft is a real thing especially you're doing it at your place of primary residence.

I know of folks who gave up on that idea when their premises were broken into.

Some folks even went so far as to cut down tress as they were attracting folks. Some areas the existing residence advise you not to plant certain plants as they attract theft.

This is only an issue if the potential thieves see that they have easy access, and no respect for you.
I say this, because for all the fruit trees and short crops in my yard, and all the petty thieves in the area, nobody steals from my trees. Yard fenced, dogs always loose, cameras always on, and the people know, when they ask or not, I more than happy to give them, especially the kids in the area when mango in season.

I do this, because I know, I cannot eat every mango the trees bear (d wife does give it she all tho :lol: ), or all them other fruits, and I absolutely HATE the idea of food wasting. Even the short crops when it have too much I give away to people in the area when it has an excess which is most times. I store what I can, send some for the family, and share out the rest in the village.

Yuh see that cutting down trees business? I don't subscribe to that. I see that as akin to cutting off your own nose becuz you don't like the smell of your neighbors cooking. Is their tree and they can do as they wish, but I don't see the sense of it.

Postby timelapse » June 13th, 2022, 7:38 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:If you all are planting and rearing animals please be mindful of your surrounding, theft is a real thing especially you're doing it at your place of primary residence.

I know of folks who gave up on that idea when their premises were broken into.

Some folks even went so far as to cut down tress as they were attracting folks. Some areas the existing residence advise you not to plant certain plants as they attract theft.

This is only an issue if the potential thieves see that they have easy access, and no respect for you.
I say this, because for all the fruit trees and short crops in my yard, and all the petty thieves in the area, nobody steals from my trees. Yard fenced, dogs always loose, cameras always on, and the people know, when they ask or not, I more than happy to give them, especially the kids in the area when mango in season.

I do this, because I know, I cannot eat every mango the trees bear (d wife does give it she all tho ), or all them other fruits, and I absolutely HATE the idea of food wasting. Even the short crops when it have too much I give away to people in the area when it has an excess which is most times. I store what I can, send some for the family, and share out the rest in the village.

Yuh see that cutting down trees business? I don't subscribe to that. I see that as akin to cutting off your own nose becuz you don't like the smell of your neighbors cooking. Is their tree and they can do as they wish, but I don't see the sense of it.

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2022, 9:25 pm

buy some pricesmart pepperoni today
$69
used to be $55 or something like that

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 14th, 2022, 1:38 am

You paid $69.00.....

Niiiiicceee.

Postby bluefete » June 14th, 2022, 5:56 am

daring dragoon wrote:shelves in walmart empty and shelves in TT still full. we have a ways to go before sheit hit the fan and by tine that world back to normal. nothing affects us here in trini.

Tampons and baby milk shortages in USA. Imagine that.

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » June 14th, 2022, 6:32 am

bluefete wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:shelves in walmart empty and shelves in TT still full. we have a ways to go before sheit hit the fan and by tine that world back to normal. nothing affects us here in trini.

Tampons and baby milk shortages in USA. Imagine that.

all arong d worl dan.

Postby hover11 » June 15th, 2022, 7:04 am

Central Bank: Rising fertiliser prices will lead to high cost of imported food

https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/cen ... d1d869f4b5

The billions we threw at agriculture in past budgets, what do we really have to show for such

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2022, 7:06 am

i gonna stockup on hydroponic fertilzer this week yes

Postby hover11 » June 19th, 2022, 9:09 am

Brace for rice price hike, likely shortage

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/brace-f ... f7ff476ce3

Continue voting red

Postby hover11 » June 20th, 2022, 11:23 am

OVER $100 FOR A BAG OF RICE

RICE PRICES HAVE ALREADY STARTED BEING RAISED IN SUPERMARKETS ACROSS THE COUNTRY

Postby Rovin » June 20th, 2022, 11:30 am

boi if u go to d grocery every wk or other wk u will notice d same items price rising & not by no 25\50cents nah by 1-2 dollars or more

not that long ago a simple cheap thing like solo apple J in d can was $3 , it suddenly jumped to 4 , now is 495 ...

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 20th, 2022, 11:31 am

I think food prices going up drastically in the US in the last few days too. Seeing a lot of people talking about it.

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2022, 12:00 pm

hoard

the solution is to hoard

Postby hover11 » June 20th, 2022, 12:16 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:I think food prices going up drastically in the US in the last few days too. Seeing a lot of people talking about it.
Look at the standard of living here and the US

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » June 20th, 2022, 12:18 pm

hover11 wrote:OVER $100 FOR A BAG OF RICE

RICE PRICES HAVE ALREADY STARTED BEING RAISED IN SUPERMARKETS ACROSS THE COUNTRY

Yeh but Jason the supermarkets, restaurants, fetes and bars are full.

Look at the Labour Day celebrations with the streets flooded with people. Is this is behavior of people who are experiencing an increase in prices?

All this time off especially with the fake sick day on Friday could be utilized for productivity.

With all these numbers, couldn’t they have come together on ways to survive in these “hard times”? Plant a lil garden self? Do a trade on the side? You know how many people need work done on holidays and weekends?

Trinis asses are too blasted happy.

Postby st7 » June 20th, 2022, 12:49 pm

hover11 wrote:OVER $100 FOR A BAG OF RICE

where you went and see that?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 20th, 2022, 1:07 pm

hover11 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:I think food prices going up drastically in the US in the last few days too. Seeing a lot of people talking about it.

True that. You would head out if you had the chance?

Postby st7 » June 20th, 2022, 1:17 pm

since november hover boasting he heading US for an opportunity of a life time :lol:

Postby hover11 » June 20th, 2022, 1:21 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Na bro if it is to visit and shop that's about it, seeing there and living there is two different. Working two and three jobs to make ends meet, can't be late for your job even by a min or they ready to buss your throat. No thanks.
Last edited by hover11 on June 20th, 2022, 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » June 20th, 2022, 1:33 pm

The increases in food prices are worldwide.

https://www.imf.org/en/Publications/fan ... is-picture

Postby adnj » June 20th, 2022, 1:35 pm

For someone that insists that they are living in the US, you should be able to KNOW that the food prices are increasing.

Try to keep your lies straight in the future.
Last edited by adnj on June 20th, 2022, 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » June 20th, 2022, 1:45 pm

st7 wrote:since november hover boasting he heading US for an opportunity of a life time
STD,

Yeah boi toppy boi it didn't work out but lemme ask you sum what have you accomplished since November? Focus on your sad excuse for a life instead of others

Postby timelapse » June 20th, 2022, 2:05 pm

I haven't seen Redman and company jump out to justify this.
Eat oil,gas and grass.
Heil PNM

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 20th, 2022, 2:10 pm

hover11 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Na bro if it is to visit and shop that's about it, seeing there and living there is two different. Working two and three jobs to make ends meet, can't be late for your job even by a min or they ready to buss your throat. No thanks.

I mean what if you only have to work one job and 9-5 and make six figures?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 20th, 2022, 2:11 pm

adnj wrote:
For someone that insists that they are living in the US, you should be able to KNOW that the food prices are increasing.

Try to keep your lies straight in the future.

I said I'm a US Citizen. I'm in Trinidad right now. Also I wanted to hear what other people's opinions are on this matter NOT MINE (cause I already know).

Smarten up, dumb fck.

Postby st7 » June 20th, 2022, 5:18 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:since november hover boasting he heading US for an opportunity of a life time
STD,

Yeah boi toppy boi it didn't work out but lemme ask you sum what have you accomplished since November? Focus on your sad excuse for a life instead of others

it look like you so far up Max's ass you speaking with his tongue cause u sounding just like him.

Postby st7 » June 20th, 2022, 5:18 pm

timelapse wrote:I haven't seen Redman and company jump out to justify this.
Eat oil,gas and grass.
Heil PNM

:drinking:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 20th, 2022, 6:12 pm

The thing with rising food prices in T&T is that when things return to normal globally, nobody is going to reduce their prices. We DED.

Postby timelapse » June 20th, 2022, 6:19 pm

DMan7 wrote:The thing with rising food prices in T&T is that when things return to normal globally, nobody is going to reduce their prices. We DED.
Because as usual, business people will exploit the smallest profit margin that they could find

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2022, 2:28 pm

Flour prices to increase by 33% from tomorrow