The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » June 23rd, 2011, 12:35 pm

Google working on video chat for Chrome, Skype cowers in fear

Watch out Skype, Google Chrome is comin' for ya. Not long after releasing WebRTC audio and video chat software as open-source, Google has started to integrate these capabilities into its prized browser. Looking to move past the played out features of Gmail and Google Voice, the company is planning for WebRTC to be a frontrunner for video conferencing and online chatting. The software was introduced as royalty-free, too, even promising to work with other browsers devs (namely Mozilla and Opera) to flesh out the project. This means that anyone building a site can make use of the new tech, and in theory, construct their own personal Skype battering ram. With the company being pro-web apps on all fronts, this is another step forward in its quest to bring the aforementioned technology up to par with native apps. Is this one of many dominoes to fall in the web-based app takeover, at least in terms of Chrome OS? It very well could be, especially if companies would rather see the traffic in-browser vs. within a native app. Now, if only Instagram could make use of that dusty webcam...

Engadget

Postby janfar » June 24th, 2011, 6:55 am

Anyone using any different Kernels on their DHD for better battery life??? I installed leedroid's CFS and my battery life seem to have improved by some level... want to run a whole day active and see how it goes...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 25th, 2011, 9:22 pm

Galaxy Tab 10.1 32GB and a fresh out the box SGS II.

Both devices are truly impressive, especially the S II. That phone ridiculously smooth and is a real joy to use. My only gripe with it is the back cover...it feels as though you could end up breaking it easily.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 25th, 2011, 9:34 pm

^

this phone is awesome!

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 25th, 2011, 10:06 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Image

Galaxy Tab 10.1 32GB and a fresh out the box SGS II.

Both devices are truly impressive, especially the S II. That phone ridiculously smooth and is a real joy to use. My only gripe with it is the back cover...it feels as though you could end up breaking it easily.

Wheyz, when i go get big like allya boi :lol:

Postby M_2NR » June 25th, 2011, 10:28 pm

mitch wrote:^

this phone is awesome!

:shock: :shock: :shock:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 26th, 2011, 7:40 am

^Lol well boy it wasnt my phone so i wasnt thinkin to try anything like that nuh :lol: :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 28th, 2011, 5:17 pm

Google launches all out social networking assault with Google+ (video)

Social networking has long been Google's white whale. The company has done plenty of dabbling in the space, snatching up Orkut, which has failed to catch on in the US, and rolling out Buzz to the relative indifference of its massive user base. Announced today after seemingly endless leaks, Google+ represents a major push for the software giant. The service began showing itself to a smattering of users last night, as a black bar across the top of various of the company's properties. A "+You" button on the far left of the bar currently brings you to the service's landing page, offering a tour of the many features that fall under the Google+ umbrella. Get to know the services better after the break.

Among the sub-services is Circles, which lets users divide up which of their friends / followers can see which content, assuring that only your "Epic Bros" and not your boss sees what you were up to at last night's bachelor party. Hangouts, meanwhile, offers up multi-person video chat with members of your Circle. Sparks is a customized feed aggregator of content you curate from across the web -- remember when RSS feeds were a thing? This is kind of like that.

There's also, not surprisingly, a mobile element to the service. Huddle offers up group messaging, largely targeted at arranging real-world meetups for those times you actually want to, you know, socialize with humans in the flesh. The Instant Upload feature makes it easy to transfer photos to private albums in the cloud.

Google+ is still in a limited trial mode and has a few "rough edges," according to the company. In the meantime, we want to know what you think. Is Google finally giving Facebook a run for its money? Is this just the latest social flop from the company? Let us know in the comments, and while you're at it, check out a whole bunch of officially sanctioned Google+ videos below.

more vids at the link below...

Engadget

achillies

Postby achillies » June 28th, 2011, 6:43 pm

Anyone here have invites for the above^^^

Postby ismithx » June 28th, 2011, 7:48 pm

welll yea i think google+ is gonna be google's sucessful entry into social. it sounds like it has solid potential as its not like most other popular platforms... also anyone see the new google interface?

black and red... loving it....

Postby ismithx » June 28th, 2011, 7:48 pm

achillies wrote:Anyone here have invites for the above^^^

oh and it have no invites as it not into beta yet i think

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 28th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Engadget Hands-On

When the news of Google+'s arrival broke today, we called the service an "all out assault on social networking," and after playing around with it for a bit, the description seems even more apt. Past services like Buzz have suffered from a half-baked approach to the space. Google has clearly pulled out all of the stops this time, with direct shots at some of the leading market software (Facebook, Skype). As ever, the company has created a smooth, largely intuitive, and enjoyable experience. Now comes the hardest part: convincing people that they need another social network in their lives, because without friends, you're just hanging out by yourself.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 28th, 2011, 8:30 pm

Andy Rubin: over 500,000 Android activations a day, and growing

You may have noticed that Steve Jobs isn't nitpicking anymore over how Google measures the number of Android activations. It probably has something to do with the fact that, no matter how you slice it, at this point Android's growth is outpacing that of the iOS. In fact, according to Andy Rubin, 500,000 new Android devices are activated every day, and that number is continuing to grow. Heck, as of December that number was only 300,000 -- that's a 60-percent increase in just over seven months. At this rate there will be more Android phones than people in just a few short years. There might not be enough food and potable water to sustain the Earth's ever growing population, but at least everyone will be able to tweet about it.

Engadget

Postby tr1ad » June 28th, 2011, 8:59 pm

haven't followed this for a while now....

the intent for Google to buy RIM was mentioned already?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 28th, 2011, 10:11 pm

^serious? havent read that anywhere...

Postby tr1ad » June 28th, 2011, 11:52 pm

read it on a blackberry news twitter fee fri or so iirc

Postby M_2NR » June 30th, 2011, 11:18 pm

well i find ulyuh real quite for Google+ :?

anyone with invites? :oops:

i wantz onez?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 9:04 am

lol we quiet cos we eh get invited yet either :lol:

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 1st, 2011, 9:25 am

Well now we all have to shut up entirely because they NOT giving anymore invites due to too much people wanting to get in ... :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 9:43 am

they also closed it off for the while even for ppl who have invites and havent joined yet

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 10:31 am

Google says less is more: Gmail and Google Calendar to sport a more spartan look

Does Gmail's current look seem chaotic and claustrophobic to you? Are you overwhelmed by the myriad mailing options, labels, and chat windows? We aren't either, but apparently Google sees things differently, and has an interface overhaul planned that'll simplify things in your webmail world. It looks like the spacious and simple design language from Google + will carry over to all the web services proffered by the gang in Mountain View. For now, it's available as a couple of simplistic skins to be tried on in the Themes tab of your Gmail settings, with more permanent changes rolling out in the coming months. Google Calendar is slated for a stripped-down wardrobe in the next few days as well, with El Goog promising more cosmetic and functional changes for both services later this summer. In the meantime, the company's looking for feedback on its new interface so it can fix any issues folks find.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 10:34 am

Skype 2.0 brings two-way video calling to Nexus S, Desire S, Xperia Neo and Xperia Pro

The latest update to Skype's Android application has just been rolled out and a big part of its goodie delivery is two-way video calling. Only a quartet of phones are supported right now: Google's own Nexus S, HTC's Desire S, and the Xperia Neo and Pro from Sony Ericsson, all handsets that shipped with Android 2.3 installed. We suspect the rest of the Android world won't be far behind -- Thunderbolt users will surely be wondering why they're not included in this first batch -- but for now it's just that fearsome foursome. Also included in Skype v2.0.0.45 is a UI overhaul and support for SMS messaging, neither of which suffers from any handset restrictions. Hit up the Android Market on your phone (the web Market still lists version 1) to get at the latest software.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 10:53 am

Smartphone Sales Beating Dumbphone Sales For the First Time

Nielsen's new national survey of U.S. mobile phone customers reveals that smartphones are outpacing traditional feature phones for the first time ever.

According to the May survey, 38% of all mobile phone owners now use a smartphone. And within the last three months, 55% of new phone purchases were of the smartphone variety (that's a 34% jump from just last year). The Android OS continues to be the most widely distributed, with a 38% market share.

Gizmodo

Postby M_2NR » July 1st, 2011, 2:49 pm

got mine last night at 230am... good thing i activated yes. i got a few inside as well... using the "glitch" but... i hope they didnt block that invite circles hole.

Honestly, the concept is nice. It has great potential. It took facebook groups and notifications and made it the best thing since slice bread. But... i dont want another social networking site...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 2:58 pm

maybe facebook will go the way of myspace :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 6:33 pm

Google Inc. in preliminary talks to buy Hulu

Google Inc. is in preliminary talks to buy online video pioneer Hulu, people familiar with the situation said.

Hulu has begun meeting with potential buyers including Google, Microsoft Corp. and Yahoo Inc. to drum up interest in a sale, said these people, who requested anonymity because the discussions are confidential.

The presentations to the potential suitors are a first step as Hulu's owners weigh whether to sell the site after having received an overture from Yahoo.

Hulu's financial advisors, Morgan Stanley and Guggenheim Partners, set up the meetings with media, technology and communications companies.

The technology heavyweights are seeking to capitalize on the widespread popularity of online video and position themselves to reach the growing number of viewers who watch television shows, movies and short videos on computers, mobile devices and Internet-connected television sets.

LA Times

achillies

Postby achillies » July 1st, 2011, 7:43 pm

I got into Google+, but I dont know how to invite people yet, working on it

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2011, 10:02 pm

well that was quick...

Make Google+ look like Facebook

Postby M_2NR » July 1st, 2011, 11:53 pm

invitations working RIGHT NOW! just activated another one.

ach....
http://www.redmondpie.com/google-plus-i ... right-now/

fix up. it super easy

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 2nd, 2011, 3:52 pm

finally got in! can definitely see this giving facebook some serious competition...