Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby hover11 » June 9th, 2022, 7:10 am

Current situation in this country
FB_IMG_1654772942367.jpg

Postby timelapse » June 9th, 2022, 7:22 am

Yet Imbert can buy fancy sportscars with big figure exemptions.... interesting.
Allyuh still studying the size of Kamla house?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » June 9th, 2022, 10:23 am

timelapse wrote:Yet Imbert can buy fancy sportscars with big figure exemptions.... interesting.
Allyuh still studying the size of Kamla house?
No they concern with her ancestral name

Postby hover11 » June 9th, 2022, 9:15 pm

Buckle up: Chicken, egg prices likely to climb even more

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/buckle- ... ?fs=e&s=cl

Postby gastly369 » June 9th, 2022, 9:24 pm

Beef n lamb looking cheap these days yes...

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 9:08 am

Food prices continue upward trendwered by

The global food import bill is on course to hit a new record of US$1.8 trillion this year, but higher prices and transport costs rather than volumes account for the bulk of the expected increase, according to a new report

https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/foo ... 49e00cac54

While salaries remain constant

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2022, 12:58 pm

By years end, chicken will cross $25-27/lb, mark my words.

Things are going to get VERY difficult for poor people in this country, to the degree that people will only be able to afford the bare basics in limited amounts.

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 1:17 pm

88sins wrote:By years end, chicken will cross $25-27/lb, mark my words.

Things are going to get VERY difficult for poor people in this country, to the degree that people will only be able to afford the bare basics in limited amounts.
This is what they want. In a couple of years we will be saying massy grocery is the cheapest. Why? Because everyone else paying black market price for their USD and the one percenters will be paying market price. Just like what happened in venezuela.
But illiterate ppl blinded and still rush to the polls screaming great is the PNM. The small man cannot access USD anymore while the elities have their usual unfair advantage.

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2022, 1:24 pm

actually Massy is far from the most expensive

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 11th, 2022, 1:26 pm

hover11 wrote:
88sins wrote:By years end, chicken will cross $25-27/lb, mark my words.

This is what they want. In a couple of years we will be saying massy grocery is the cheapest. Why? Because everyone else paying black market price for their USD and the one percenters will be paying market price. Just like what happened in venezuela.
But illiterate ppl blinded and still rush to the polls screaming great is the PNM. The small man cannot access USD anymore while the elities have their usual unfair advantage.

and the idiots will still vote pee en em. i hope them idiots is the first to suffer.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 11th, 2022, 2:44 pm

Massa Massy eh go never be cheaper than nobody. Premium price/profit margin will always be their agenda. Doh talk bout them fancy imported tings that already dropping from the regular supermarket shelves. Whichever of those gourmet grocers still around will be the Northwest fair skin people own.

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2022, 3:27 pm

Wake up people, and get off your backsides. Plant food, raise your own meat, cut out spending on the unnecessary.

Easier for you to get used to doing these things voluntarily now, than to be forced to do it later and suffer in the meantime until your crops or animals start producing yields.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 11th, 2022, 3:57 pm

How do you plant when you're renting in an apartment?

I mean I know of a lot of young folks who are living on their own and working and have no yard or lawn.

I admit that maybe they should be living at home and saving money but I can't tell folks how to live their life.

Overall planting makes some sense but it isn't a practical solution for many.

Also factor in theft and you are just opening up your property to criminals. I remember it was common place for persons with mango trees to leave their homes only to come back to find the fence broken and the tree bare. Not to mention avocado....it was so bad folks would advise you not to plant that tree.

It didn't end their either but decorative plants like orchids were also stolen.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 11th, 2022, 6:08 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:How do you plant when you're renting in an apartment?

I mean I know of a lot of young folks who are living on their own and working and have no yard or lawn.

I admit that maybe they should be living at home and saving money but I can't tell folks how to live their life.

Also factor in theft and you are just opening up your property to criminals. I remember it was common place for persons with mango trees to leave their homes only to come back to find the fence broken and the tree bare. Not to mention avocado....it was so bad folks would advise you not to plant that tree.

The reason why you have no backyard is because alluh allow the 1% to usr the land for malls and aparts instead of demanding homes with sufficient land for self sufficiency.

This is now the end result of allowing the 1% to westernize TT to their benefits importing food and using agriculturing land for real estate.

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2022, 6:10 pm

go and compare massy to xtrafoods
you will be quite surprised

viedcht wrote:Massa Massy eh go never be cheaper than nobody. Premium price/profit margin will always be their agenda. Doh talk bout them fancy imported tings that already dropping from the regular supermarket shelves. Whichever of those gourmet grocers still around will be the Northwest fair skin people own.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 11th, 2022, 6:14 pm

Massy prices not all that bad inno. All the supermarkets mix their markup up so that some items always cheaper at that particular one.

You'd find items in massy that are cheaper than JTA or Xtra and vice versa. Just kinda average out your USUAL bill and see. The differences will be almost negligible

Postby MaxPower » June 11th, 2022, 6:22 pm

Paging dogg

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 11th, 2022, 6:36 pm

Redress10 wrote:

The reason why you have no backyard is because alluh allow the 1% to usr the land for malls and aparts instead of demanding homes with sufficient land for self sufficiency.

This is now the end result of allowing the 1% to westernize TT to their benefits importing food and using agriculturing land for real estate.

I agree with the land use but could HDC or better land management on the part of the government have helped. I mean what if instead of giving persons a house let them have access to land with utilities instead and they can build on their own.

Well we didn't just import western/American products we imported their culture as well.
The question is what is their of our "own" culture can we return to?
Can we get younger folks to adopt this?
Are parents going to bring their kids up in this way?

I mean I recently saw and ad for Chuck E. Cheese on TV and I wondered why do we have this here?
Who spends that kind of money on kids for a birthday? (I think it was $100.00 per child per party).
I could also tell you that the couple featured in the ad was a young one so they clearly know how to target a specific demographic.

Is it realistic, do these folks have money or are we a society that lives paycheck to paycheck or just pay the minimum on the credit card bill come the end of the month?

Also I would just like to ask if anyone has ever done a survey or fact finding mission to determine the spending patters of the TT household not just average but across different income levels?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 11th, 2022, 6:44 pm

With regards to grocery prices you have to learn to shop across multiple groceries for the items you need.

XTRA foods I've found sees to have more specials on a weekly basis and this makes them a grocery of choice, they often have like those buy 1 get 2 or such specials more often than Massey. I know this because for several weeks I got a pretty good 2 for 1 deals on McVitties Short bread cookies/biscuits something you don't see elsewhere.

Also with the price of chicken grocery back and neck and parts look like a good option, won't give you much meat but would add flavour.

To be honest JTA and XTRA Foods are where I spend by grocery time.

Postby bluefete » June 11th, 2022, 6:46 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Also I would just like to ask if anyone has ever done a survey or fact finding mission to determine the spending patters of the TT household not just average but across different income levels?

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 6:59 pm

Numero,

You have to remember something the government is offering hdc homes to the majority of trinis that do not even pay their mortgage or rent, it is what we call election gimmicks , if they gave land with utilities the trinis would make noise and say wah we supposed to do with that? That doesn't secure votes but houses do.

I agree there are things in this country that don't make sense to me such as Chuckee Cheese, Starbucks, most of these franchises but we are so Americanized we see them as necessities no matter the cost.
Numb3r4 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

I agree with the land use but could HDC or better land management on the part of the government have helped. I mean what if instead of giving persons a house let them have access to land with utilities instead and they can build on their own.

Well we didn't just import western/American products we imported their culture as well.
The question is what is their of our "own" culture can we return to?
Can we get younger folks to adopt this?
Are parents going to bring their kids up in this way?

I mean I recently saw and ad for Chuck E. Cheese on TV and I wondered why do we have this here?
Who spends that kind of money on kids for a birthday? (I think it was $100.00 per child per party).
I could also tell you that the couple featured in the ad was a young one so they clearly know how to target a specific demographic.

Is it realistic, do these folks have money or are we a society that lives paycheck to paycheck or just pay the minimum on the credit card bill come the end of the month?

Also I would just like to ask if anyone has ever done a survey or fact finding mission to determine the spending patters of the TT household not just average but across different income levels?

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 7:00 pm

If you want to live comfortably in Trinidad here is the guide
IMG-20220610-WA0011.jpg

Postby bluefete » June 11th, 2022, 7:06 pm

^^^^ What does "comfortable" mean?

There are many people not making that amount of money and are quite "comfortable".

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2022, 7:07 pm

how they came up with that figures?

we pay peanuts for ttec and wasa
yes many foods going up

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 7:11 pm

pugboy wrote:how they came up with that figures?

we pay peanuts for ttec and wasa
yes many foods going up
We pay peanuts for ttec and wasa for now...

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 7:13 pm

Blues,

There is no way anyone could make less than 8k before tax and live comfortable atm, rising inflation has eaten away alot of ppl spending power. Most ppl just working to pay bills and commute to work.
bluefete wrote:^^^^ What does "comfortable" mean?

There are many people not making that amount of money and are quite "comfortable".

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 11th, 2022, 7:33 pm

You have any facts or statistics to backup that image you posted Mr. Anti-Vaxxer?

Postby adnj » June 11th, 2022, 7:43 pm

hover11 wrote:If you want to live comfortably in Trinidad here is the guide IMG-20220610-WA0011.jpg

Trinidad and Tobago has the fourth highest GDP per capita of 32 nations/territories in Latin America and the Caribbean - which is more than twice the average for the region.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/106 ... caribbean/
Last edited by adnj on June 11th, 2022, 7:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 7:44 pm

DMan7 wrote:You have any facts or statistics to backup that image you posted Mr. Anti-Vaxxer?
That anti vax talk is last year get sum new na...anyway it have something called Google use it

https://www.expatistan.com/cost-of-livi ... in-america

Postby hover11 » June 11th, 2022, 7:46 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:If you want to live comfortably in Trinidad here is the guide IMG-20220610-WA0011.jpg

Trinidad and Tobago has the fourth highest GDP per capita of 32 nations/territories in Latin America and the Caribbean - which is more than twice the average for the region.

How does that reflect on cost of living is the economy thriving? You showing alot of stats but how is affecting real life scenario is that capturing the rising costs due to inflation or am i to use your stat and say everyone is comfortable?