Ukraine Russia War

Re: Ukraine: Russia plans biggest war in Europe since 1945 - Boris Johnson

Postby hover11 » February 25th, 2022, 6:08 pm

pugboy wrote:seems they are going the economic sanction route only
Leaders in yesterday's world probably looking down at how soft today's leaders are

Postby Dizzy28 » February 25th, 2022, 6:56 pm

Gorbachev and Kissinger still living btw!!!
hover11 wrote:
pugboy wrote:seems they are going the economic sanction route only
Leaders in yesterday's world probably looking down at how soft today's leaders are

Postby MaxPower » February 25th, 2022, 7:01 pm

zoom rader wrote:The West has failed.

Had it been Muslim country doing this then we would have the see hell raising firepower

Zoom,

Our Muslim brothers and sisters have been known to give trouble.

Postby The_Honourable » February 25th, 2022, 7:17 pm

Ukraine capital Kyiv endures Russian onslaught

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 25th, 2022, 10:11 pm

Some major freaking bombing is happening in Kyiv right now, from multipledirections. Probably the most intense fighting so far.

Ukraine is fighting back hard with over 500 Russian soldiers and paratroopers dead so far.

But alas Ukraine probably lost even more.

Expect Kyiv to fall tomorrow.

https://twitter.com/no_itsmyturn/status ... APYXw&s=19

https://twitter.com/nexta_tv/status/149 ... WmbDQ&s=19

Postby paid_influencer » February 25th, 2022, 10:17 pm

i am not expert in int'l policy, but this has been fascinating to read about. good to distract now that covid is over.

imo, no way this turns into ww3. the lines in the sand are NATO borders and those aren't being crossed. If anything, this makes the line a little clearer for everyone involved and long-term makes everyone safer.

from what I've read, the cold war never really ended for Russia. On the fall of the USSR, borders were drawn with the understanding that the new Republics would act as buffer territory between NATO and Russia. If those countries move over to NATO, it puts the border right next to Russia which it sees as a change of the deal.

But Look at dis. Look what the comedian president of Ukrane did last year in August (he's literally a comedian, and also Ukranian president)

Ukrane had a Military Parade with NATO allies walking through Kiev. In hindsight, with bombs falling, that look like a mistake. Not one of those parade countries are coming to help you. None of them. Big words in diplomacy, but when the excrement hits the fan, they don't want to be anywhere involved in actually defending you.

Ukrane learning the hard way how it works being in Russia's sphere of influence. Grenada and Cuba know all about how the 'sphere of influence' crap works. The bigger country owns you and if you step outta line, belt in yuh rass.

Put will destroy every last vestage of Ukranian military capability and make it physically impossible for any NATO troops to put boots anywhere in Ukrane. He will castrate the Ukrane and force them to sign a deal to never ever think of having anything heavier than light infantry. They will forever pledge neutrality. Putin will take the parts that he wants. And the gov't of Ukrane will no longer act like they have any choice in the matter or play any games with NATO parades.

this "war" is a failure of diplomacy to understand that one side can beat, kick up and planass the other without consequence.

look at dis from 3 December 2021,
https://apnews.com/article/europe-russi ... 9c5d48fadf

Putin to seek guarantees on Ukraine as invasion fears grow

MOSCOW (AP) — The Kremlin said Friday that President Vladimir Putin will seek binding guarantees precluding NATO’s expansion to Ukraine during a planned call with U.S. President Joe Biden, while a U.S. intelligence report and the Ukrainian defense minister warned of a possible Russian invasion of Ukraine as soon as next month.

With tensions between Russia and the West escalating, Biden said his administration was “putting together what I believe to be the most comprehensive and meaningful set of initiatives to make it very, very difficult for Mr. Putin to go ahead and do what people are worried he may do” in positioning troops near Ukraine.

The NATO chief and numerous former U.S. diplomats and security officials say Russia’s demand that Biden rule out NATO membership for Ukraine, a former Soviet republic eager to ally with the West, is a nonstarter.

well that nonstarter looking real like a forking starter now.

and Biden and NATO staying far while bombs falling on u

:drinking:

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 25th, 2022, 10:48 pm

Ghost of Kyiv (pilot)
Real or myth?

Postby The_Honourable » February 25th, 2022, 11:39 pm

Russian troops close in on Ukrainian capital of Kyiv

The Russian Defense Ministry has claimed to have blocked Kyiv from the west. The U.S. and its European allies responded with new sanctions on Vladimir Putin and other top Russian officials.

NATO activates response force

Postby redmanjp » February 25th, 2022, 11:50 pm

this is why we need a right to bear arms

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2022, 5:42 am

like they breaksing from blocking russia total access to world electronic banking system SWIFT

that would surely cripple putin economy
should also freeze all the russian billionaires money in UK and US

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 26th, 2022, 5:44 am

Nearly 5000 dead (mostly Russians) in the last 8 hours.....

Postby aaron17 » February 26th, 2022, 7:07 am

"Join or die"

Postby meccalli » February 26th, 2022, 7:14 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Ghost of Kyiv (pilot)
Real or myth?

More propaganda I'm sure.
1645873506582.jpg

Postby Redman » February 26th, 2022, 7:29 am

pugboy wrote:like they breaksing from blocking russia total access to world electronic banking system SWIFT

that would surely cripple putin economy
should also freeze all the russian billionaires money in UK and US

It's not like Russia can't counter with their own initiative s

I would suggest that Russia knew what the sanctions would be and would have put things in place.

And today more than ever there are alternatives.

It is not a lopsided fight.

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2022, 7:37 am

for sure, they have experience with sanctions before and would have worked out the eventualities

Postby Redman » February 26th, 2022, 7:51 am

Also Sanctions don't work when a country is serious.

Japan went to war despite sanctions
And Venezuela is grinding through the same.
And there is a list of failed sanctions in between

IF the West was serious about Ukraine they would have done something by now.

Postby MaxPower » February 26th, 2022, 9:27 am

Ukraine is getting bobolized and no one is doing anything about it.

Other nations are helping, but they know they can’t help too much, but just enough to say they “helped”.

No one wants to come around Russia other than the Ukrainians who really don’t have a choice.

Zelenski looking rather clean though. First “front line fighter” i see looking the same way in every picture. Probably have wipes. I hope he genuinely cares and not commanding his troops to protect him on the “front line” while others die. Yuh cant have your troops fighting and making a circle around you and the likes going up pon the IG.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 26th, 2022, 9:30 am

Germany still holding out on banning Russia from SWIFT.

Germany do you not learn

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 26th, 2022, 9:41 am

https://twitter.com/ignis_fatum/status/ ... GM4QQ&s=19

https://twitter.com/BNONews/status/1497 ... VI86Q&s=19

Putin would definitely not be happy with the current news that Ukraine is holding strong.

I expect some very harsh attacks tonight.

Postby hover11 » February 26th, 2022, 9:42 am

MaxPower wrote:Ukraine is getting bobolized and no one is doing anything about it.

Other nations are helping, but they know they can’t help too much, but just enough to say they “helped”.

No one wants to come around Russia other than the Ukrainians who really don’t have a choice.

Zelenski looking rather clean though. First “front line fighter” i see looking the same way in every picture. Probably have wipes. I hope he genuinely cares and not commanding his troops to protect him on the “front line” while others die. Yuh cant have your troops fighting and making a circle around you and the likes going up pon the IG.
Max,

You have to give Zelenski credit where it is due , he is not a desk president like most he is a man on the ground. Getting the work done with his fellow men, sure he might not be front line but he is the heat of battle. He earned my respect

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 26th, 2022, 9:44 am

MaxPower wrote:Ukraine is getting bobolized and no one is doing anything about it.

They aren't fighting Russia directly because of nukes. That would be WW3.

Zelenskyy is doing a freaking amazing job at keeping up the Ukrainian moral.

Postby Redman » February 26th, 2022, 10:00 am

Zwlenski is keeping the narrative of advantageous Putin in the international press.

They both know that he will get a better deal with Russia locked in to some agreement and peace accord.

Get going on development and be in business when the next commodity cycle starts.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » February 26th, 2022, 10:01 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Germany still holding out on banning Russia from SWIFT.

Germany do you not learn

Germany needs gas...has to use SWIFT. Their nut will freeze without gas.

Postby meccalli » February 26th, 2022, 10:48 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Zelenskyy is doing a freaking amazing job at keeping up the Ukrainian moral.

Putin stated Ukraine's position clearly, it's not an invasion, get out of the militarized zones and go home to your families, he's going after military infrastructure.

I urge you to immediately lay down arms and go home. I will explain what this means: The military personnel of the Ukrainian army who do this will be able to freely leave the zone of hostilities and return to their families. … I want to emphasize again that all responsibility for the possible bloodshed will lie fully and wholly with the ruling Ukrainian regime.

Their great leader enlists their male civilians, gives them guns and puts stations in the middle of their social infrastructure. What is he holding Russia from? The imaginary invasion?

Postby bluefete » February 26th, 2022, 11:11 am

meccalli wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Zelenskyy is doing a freaking amazing job at keeping up the Ukrainian moral.

Putin stated Ukraine's position clearly, it's not an invasion, get out of the militarized zones and go home to your families, he's going after military infrastructure.

I urge you to immediately lay down arms and go home. I will explain what this means: The military personnel of the Ukrainian army who do this will be able to freely leave the zone of hostilities and return to their families. … I want to emphasize again that all responsibility for the possible bloodshed will lie fully and wholly with the ruling Ukrainian regime.

Their great leader enlists their male civilians, gives them guns and puts stations in the middle of their social infrastructure. What is he holding Russia from? The imaginary invasion?

Well, the apartment building that was hit by the missile this morning sure looked like a military structure to me. Especially the top right hand corner where it was hit.

Tell that to the "military" civilians who were hurt in that attack.

Postby adnj » February 26th, 2022, 11:34 am

bluefete wrote:
meccalli wrote:

Well, the apartment building that was hit by the missile this morning sure looked like a military structure to me. Especially the top right hand corner where it was hit.

Tell that to the "military" civilians who were hurt in that attack.

An apartment building in Kyiv on Feb. 26 after it was damaged by shelling.   Reuters

Postby bluefete » February 26th, 2022, 11:36 am

^^^ Thanks adnj!

Postby meccalli » February 26th, 2022, 11:51 am

Read the rest of my post. You ever heard of GRADS and the issues with unguided rockets? and who with any shred of common sense sets up launches them from densely populated areas in the vicinity of schools, apartment buildings, hospitals etc.. People believe everything they see and hear on TV these days.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 26th, 2022, 11:58 am

Huge new massive wave of Russian forces moving in, looks like Putin realised his first wave/cannon fodder failed to take Kyiv.