The official CEPEP thread

Re: Funding Cepep as important as awarding scholarships

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2025, 8:21 pm

Chimera wrote:All those workers can be absorbed into many other programs that pay a stipend and actually train you to do something or be something.
Working is Babylon thing!!

Postby The_Honourable » June 28th, 2025, 8:37 pm

PNM having legal clinic tomorrow for terminated cepep contractors
504858585_1143849564438078_5334567238925504633_n.jpg

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 7:36 am

The_Honourable wrote:PNM having legal clinic tomorrow for terminated cepep contractors
Now if they could represent the workers who got 4% like they might just win an election. PNM doing anything to score cheap political points at the moment

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2025, 7:49 am

Seems like they forgot.... 2 months in and they start
IMG-20250628-WA0288.jpg
IMG-20250628-WA0289.jpg

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 8:06 am

It's unfortunate that the most vulnerable in society are susceptible to these political games but again CEPEP does not make one independent nor is it a sustainable form of income it was not meant for someone to spend their entire working life in but regardless it still happens.

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2025, 8:53 am

All Politicians deny any wrong doing.

No one is ever charged.

Both UNC and PNM full their pockets together and put on a pappy show that you dumb AF Trinis fall for everytime.

All ah dem is fren.

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2025, 8:57 am

hover11 wrote:It's unfortunate that the most vulnerable in society are susceptible to these political games but again CEPEP does not make one independent nor is it a sustainable form of income it was not meant for someone to spend their entire working life in but regardless it still happens.

hovee I think you missing the play here.

they want the working class ppl to be one step away from being destitute. you lose your work, it should have no safety mechanisms in place, not CEPEP, etc, to stop you falling all the way down.

once your working class balls in that vice, you cannot quit, agitate, unionise, or even come to work late anymore. If that job is all that separates you from the large population of deprived and destitute, you will do all possible to keep that job. which is the entire point for the elites. to have a captive labour force which does not rebel, does not quit, and does not unionise.

you going to see working class ppl being put into more precarious positions with short-term contracts, low pay, unstable companies and a obliteration of union power.

and -- you going to see the UNC building a large deprived class. you going to see more social safety nets fall away. you going to see the destitute class grow larger.

This is for two reasons:
(1) to remind the working class what stands to happen to them if the lose their work, and
(2) to provide a desperate labour force, keeping wages down and killing union power

watch the play
Last edited by paid_influencer on June 29th, 2025, 9:09 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 9:08 am

paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:It's unfortunate that the most vulnerable in society are susceptible to these political games but again CEPEP does not make one independent nor is it a sustainable form of income it was not meant for someone to spend their entire working life in but regardless it still happens.

hovee I think you missing the play here.

they want the working class ppl to be one step away from being destitute. you lose your work, it should have no safety mechanisms in place, not net, to stop you falling all the way down.

once the working class balls in that vice, they will not quit, agitate, unionise, or even come to work late anymore. If that job is all that separates you from the large population of deprived and destitute, you will do all possible to keep that job. which is the entire point for the elites. to have a captive labour force which does not rebel, does not quit, and does not unionise.

you going to see working class ppl being put into more precarious positions with short-term contracts, low pay, unstable companies and a obliteration of union power.

and -- you going to see the UNC building a large deprived class. you going to see more social safety nets fall away. you going to see the destitute class grow larger.

This is for two reasons:
(1) to remind the working class what stands to happen to them if the lose their work, and
(2) to provide a desperate labour force, keeping wages down and killing union power

watch the play
This is actually scary if true then it means that union leaders in the coalition of interests see this then this can be the end of the coalition

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2025, 9:10 am

exactly.

ever since the union leaders only see about themselves and the permanent workers that headed to retirement anyway. they young workers on contract and have nothing to get

i feel that 10% they talking about only coming after they devalue i tell allyuh now

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2025, 9:12 am

paid_influencer wrote:
they want the working class ppl to be one step away from being destitute. you lose your work, it should have no safety mechanisms in place, not CEPEP, etc, to stop you falling all the way down.

once your working class balls in that vice, you cannot quit, agitate, unionise, or even come to work late anymore. If that job is all that separates you from the large population of deprived and destitute, you will do all possible to keep that job. which is the entire point for the elites. to have a captive labour force which does not rebel, does not quit, and does not unionise.

This is for two reasons:

watch the play

Weyyyyyz

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 9:29 am

paid_influencer wrote:exactly.

ever since the union leaders only see about themselves and the permanent workers that headed to retirement anyway. they young workers on contract and have nothing to get

i feel that 10% they talking about only coming after they devalue i tell allyuh now
That 10 percent only coming after two things a massive lay off of contract workers and it will be followed by increased utility rates , increased NIS RATES because we on 2016 rates going into 2026 and possibly increased taxes. The UNC has to be real the economy is a balancing act to pay more to public sevants means another sector of the economy has to give up something

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2025, 9:34 am

Lol ant contractor going to that meeting should have their contracts/ payments leaked

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2025, 10:40 am

is the workers going for the optics
them big boys ain’t going dat

Postby The_Honourable » June 29th, 2025, 10:44 am

Media briefing coming up
513903383_1371325181017055_7175268054868892353_n.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » June 29th, 2025, 12:17 pm

Taking in the presser...

- Basically CEPEP was flagged by the Ministry of Finance, the Auditor General and NIS.

- Company will be audited and streamlined where contractors and their companies will be investigated using information from the companies registry.

- Several contractors from outside a community are getting contracts over contractors that reside in a community.

- CEPEP will resume hiring contractors with the stipulation that those contractors and their workers are from the community of the respective contract. Example, a contract for the San Juan area will be only given to contractors located in San Juan.

- No clear deadline when CEPEP operations will resume.

- Usual explanation which we expected that CEPEP is a pnm party group, workers used for political meetings and subject to pnm political interference.

Postby The_Honourable » June 29th, 2025, 2:00 pm

Young explores legal action on CEPEP firings

PORT of Spain North St Ann's West MP Stuart Young says he will be exploring what legal action can be taken against CEPEP Ltd and the government for the firing of CEPEP workers on June 27.

In a Facebook post on June 28, the former prime minister and energy minister said, "Yesterday we witnessed the unjustified termination of hundreds of CEPEP contractors and by extension the loss of jobs for thousands of our citizens."

Young said he has been contacted by many citizens affected by these firings.

"To do this to families, including thousands of parents is simply cruel, inhumane and wrong."

Young, an attorney by profession, said, "I shall be reviewing this victimization from a legal perspective to establish what action can be brought against CEPEP Ltd and the Government for these premature and cruel terminations.

He added, "The continued assault and clear vindictive behaviour of the government must not remain unchallenged."

The dismissal of these workers was also condemned in the House of Representatives on June 27 by Diego Martin North/East MP Colm Imbert. Opposition Senator Faris Al-Rawi made a similar condemnation in the Senate which sat on the same day.

The decision has left an estimated 360 contractors and more than 10,500 workers without employment, sparking concerns of mass unemployment, legal action and political victimisation.

According to contractors, many of their workers were in tears upon learning of their termination, which they initially received via social media.

Some reported that workers were paid earlier that day, unaware it would be their final payment.

A contractor called the move "cold and sudden," adding some contractors intend to join to see what legal options are available.

A male contractor, who requested anonymity, told Newsday that his contract had been renewed shortly before the general election in April, to cover the period from 2026 to 2029.

"Most of the time, the contract always renewed about a year before it was to be ended. That was customary," he said.

"The government should at least honour the contract that was supposed to end September 2026. For me, there is a legal challenge in that there is no justification. I will try to reach out to other contractors because there is strength in numbers."

He added that he had been a CEPEP contractor for six years.

CEPEP was recently moved from the Rural Development and Local Government Ministry to the Public Utilities Ministry, now headed by Barry Padarath.

On June 27, Padarath. who is also Leader of Government Business in the House, said the terminations were done following legal advice from Attorney General John Jeremie.

"All contracts have been terminated through a thorough review. The company must return to to its core mandate at this time, we are evaluating how CEPEP can be transitioned for a more sustainable activity."

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/06/29/young- ... p-firings/

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 2:29 pm

Love to see posts like this which has a racial perspective to it meanwhile let me ask a stupid question the PNM was in power for almost a decade, what have they done or accomplished to help the black man , asking for myself another black man
FB_IMG_1751221130640.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2025, 2:32 pm

pressure now start

514355614_1252067789927239_9017220636493038935_n.jpg

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 2:43 pm

Wait is this the tyranny and uproar that Faris mentioned that was warning us about, knowing that he signed off on contracts before election

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2025, 2:47 pm

so cepep is for black ppl only?
wha bout non black?

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2025, 2:58 pm

hover11 wrote:Wait is this the tyranny and uproar that Faris mentioned that was warning us about, knowing that he signed off on contracts before election

faris at the special convention looking pissed

faris.jpg

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 3:17 pm

Is it that the previous government is stating that black ppl only good to cut grass or clean drains... i want to know
pugboy wrote:so cepep is for black ppl only?
wha bout non black?

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2025, 3:26 pm

ppl asking why they meeting with PNM and not the line minister (barry)

Postby hover11 » June 29th, 2025, 3:34 pm

Seems they didnt get the memo that PNM not in government anymore
paid_influencer wrote:

ppl asking why they meeting with PNM and not the line minister (barry)

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2025, 10:03 pm

Lol pnm cud hull dey stink muddac**t yes

Wow

Did cepep ever provide any type of training or options to better yourself as a person? How much was a contractor paid versus what the workers were paid.

The little money the country has will no longer be wasted

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 5:23 am

guardian say dolly fadda had 3 cepep contracts
no wonder they keep calling she name with ministerial offices beds

Postby timelapse » June 30th, 2025, 6:53 am

So under the PNM, the country didn't have money to do any kind of work,roadsides remained with bush, drains left clogged ,but we have to hire a set of ghost gang CEPEP workers while paying large sums of money to the contractors.Sounds about right.

Postby Chimera » June 30th, 2025, 7:03 am

I was offered a cepep contract a time
60k a month
But I would have had to give the person giving me it 30k every month as a kickback

Postby K74T » June 30th, 2025, 7:05 am

pugboy wrote:so cepep is for black ppl only?
wha bout non black?
regional and borough corporations

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2025, 7:08 am

Chimera wrote:I was offered a cepep contract a time
60k a month
But I would have had to give the person giving me it 30k every month as a kickback
timelapse wrote:So under the PNM, the country didn't have money to do any kind of work,roadsides remained with bush, drains left clogged ,but we have to hire a set of ghost gang CEPEP workers while paying large sums of money to the contractors.Sounds about right.
Trini Twitter, that bastion of PNM would have you believe cepep is the economic engine of this country. That councillor from Arima blocking ppl left right and centre if you even dare speak like you are here.

I see Sauce claiming it's anti black to deal with Cepep.

One eye was silent yesterday bc he probably was in the clinic.