Re: Self Employed...The Thread

Postby TriniVdub » June 29th, 2010, 1:44 am

where is this famous JAPS??

Postby Rooki3 » June 29th, 2010, 1:48 am

i'm being honest when i say this ; its hard to be honest when yur a business person, especially with stiff competition

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 29th, 2010, 2:13 am

Yeah I tell you guys, KFC never has workers here. Sometimes when I go it has 3 people infront me lunch time and it takes 30 minutes for them to serve those 3 people cause they either have 1 or 0 cashiers.

When I go Japs they always have 2 cashiers and within 30 minutes I can reach the counter with 50 people infront me. The workers work very hard cause they know they are paid well.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on June 29th, 2010, 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 29th, 2010, 9:47 am

OK, I don't want this to turn into a KFC bashing so we will accept that JAPS is doing some things very right and know how to keep customers happy and coming back.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 29th, 2010, 9:51 am

Rooki3 wrote:i'm being honest when i say this ; its hard to be honest when yur a business person, especially with stiff competition

I totally disagree with you. Ethics isn't a switch that you can turn on and off when competition gets stiff. No. Ethics goes to the fibers of your fabric. Ethics goes to the core of who who are as an individual, it has nothing to do with being a business person.

There are honest and dishonest businesspersons. You have to decide which one you are going to be.

It is very possible to run business and be competitive while at the same time being absolutely honest. When you build your business on goodwill it will be sustainable and stand a stronger chance of success.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » June 29th, 2010, 9:57 am

Mr Gear wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:i'm being honest when i say this ; its hard to be honest when yur a business person, especially with stiff competition

I totally disagree with you. Ethics isn't a switch that you can turn on and off when competition gets stiff. No. Ethics goes to the fibers of your fabric. Ethics goes to the core of who who are as an individual, it has nothing to do with being a business person.

There are honest and dishonest businesspersons. You have to decide which one you are going to be.

It is very possible to run business and be competitive while at the same time being absolutely honest. When you build your business on goodwill it will be sustainable and stand a stronger chance of success.

Wow, I don't think it can be said better than that.

Nice :!:

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 29th, 2010, 10:04 am

Mr Gear wrote:Perhaps we could host a self-employed Tuner lime.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 29th, 2010, 10:12 am

Raptor your arrival was anticipated and is welcomed.

A Tuner business owners lime would be great for networking and for sharing a common understanding of business ethics and for sharing experiences and even forming a business group that could negotiate in a strong way for better rates from banks and insurance companies and so on.

X2 spoke to me about doing something like this so many years ago that I'm not sure if he remembers.

Postby MG Man » June 29th, 2010, 10:18 am

on another note, this ched making me feel for Japs
Ah feel threy put Mr Gear up to this to boost sales

Postby AllTrac » June 29th, 2010, 10:36 am

recently started my own thing in the food catering and events management sector

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 29th, 2010, 11:50 am

Congrats Trac !!

It will be one of the toughest things you ever do but also one of the most rewarding. Welcome to the club. Enjoy.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 29th, 2010, 12:50 pm

hey ! I could make money off my nieghbour if I run his errands !!

Postby crazybalhead » June 29th, 2010, 12:54 pm

evolucian wrote:
Mr Gear wrote:

Wow, I don't think it can be said better than that.

Nice :!:

Agreed.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » June 29th, 2010, 1:05 pm

Working towards opening my Medical Lab by September, I'm currently still an employee however, but after a jolt of reality i decided late last year to get into business myself.

i have an online magazine i'm working on for the health fitness and beauty industry but the local support has been quite discouraging although its free for now, but with some help and a lil restructuring i put together a competent team to push the site regionally at the same time.

so check it out and give me some feedback www.reyouvenate.com,oh and look out for my lab opening soon in south (details to follow).

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 29th, 2010, 1:17 pm

^^u might wanna separate the comma from the .com

A lil too heavy on the flash, prefer to have my pages instantly pop rather than wait for an animation to happen, but nice site nonetheless

Kinday

Postby Kinday » June 29th, 2010, 5:53 pm

Excellent sentiments in this post. You can tell their are people who are seriously involved in entrepreneurship. It's a tough, tough road but well worth it...Those who are really cut out for it really got to keep your eyes on the prize because it is so easy to get discouraged by the experience and the advice of "caring family and friends" LOL...I can still hear them, encouraging me to get a job. Now they are proud of what they see and "perceive".

Loving the idea about tuner business owners networking. Looking at the growing popularity of this thread, I think it'll be a great idea to truly build on this network and start creating an excellent resource pool. For example, fashion goes hand in hand with music. I've done some work with Radical Designs, The Cloth and Millhouse in the past and I'm always encouraged to innovative ideas by our young local designers. Since I posted people have reached out to me about the workings of the industry. I'm always glad to extend my resources and I'm willing to even teach to impart a little "knowhow" about the entertainment industry and its environment to anyone willing to get involved. By no means am I a guru but I know a thing or two about the biz in all these years of involvement.

Kudos to a truly productive and rewarding forum.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 29th, 2010, 7:35 pm

I wanted to enter fashion week but I was too late :oops:

Kinday

Postby Kinday » June 29th, 2010, 8:05 pm

^^ A start up I'm working on has entered for the past 2 years. Last year was better for us though in terms of preparation. This year was a rush and we're having some issues with production :?

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2010, 8:22 pm

I don't think I could ever work for anyone yes, Don't like taking orders or having to answer to people.

I prefer to work on my own schedule. Spend my days as I want to.

Right now I have

PVC Ceiling supply & install business with the help of my parents.

Watch Supply to several different jewellery stores as well as retail.

Recently started a blackberry supply/repair business with a friend i went to school with for 5 years.

Also supply dental equipment with my brother. (if anyone in mt hope want their dental equipment cheaper than mt hope want you to buy it for, check meh!)

and although I just said I spend my days as I want to, I must be reach in the office 20 mins ago lol.....I enjoy what I do though.

Postby Rooki3 » June 29th, 2010, 8:34 pm

Mr Gear wrote:

well i disagree, imagine you have a few dump trucks & trying to secure contracts & the ONLY way you gettin that is by bribing/ "greasing the wheel", what should i do & i have MASSIVE installments to pay when the month come?.....................meanwhile competition have no problem paying bribes!!

From my experience business(Transport) ain't no fairy tale bed of roses, either you pay up or receive the least or NO contracts

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 29th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Mr Gear wrote:Raptor your arrival was anticipated and is welcomed.

A Tuner business owners lime would be great for networking and for sharing a common understanding of business ethics and for sharing experiences and even forming a business group that could negotiate in a strong way for better rates from banks and insurance companies and so on.

X2 spoke to me about doing something like this so many years ago that I'm not sure if he remembers.

i'm in for the 2nr business lime

since January the rate of the US$ has been 6.40 to 6.46 on my cc

paying 6.35 from the bank even if its any amount i want

Postby Redman » June 29th, 2010, 10:03 pm

Rooki at the end of the day we all make a choice on how we choose to live.
And I run my thing how I live AND how I would like to be known.It cost me money and opportunities. but at the end of the day I enjoy the fact that NO ONE can point a finger at me and accuse me of xyz,abc etc.
It pays dividends because my people(employees) are happy and EVERY one that has left has comeback to ask for their jobs back.Customers respond to happy employees.

At the end of the day once you pay a bribe you are owned.
And you have 1 name,1 reputation.
If it was easy everybody would be doing it.

Chart your own course breddo

Later

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 29th, 2010, 10:18 pm

I disagree Rookie , I know alot of ppl who owns trucks , heavy equipment etc . They actually complain about how those greasers make it bad for everyone , once the company get a bribe they expect everyone to give them bribes . I actually know 2 sides the non bribers and the bribers .. and how to put it .. the ppl who pay the bribes actually don't do a good job so contractors hav to go back to the ppl who refuse to pay the bribe .

I've seen it with my own eyes , the owners who run there business fair and square are so down to earth, normal cooking and liming hanging out like regular folk . Whilst the "stush" ones who run racket look down on me and my friends . Ironic thing is that the racket runners ain't have as much money as the down to earth ones :|

Postby Rooki3 » June 29th, 2010, 10:31 pm

who feels it knows it!!!!

dais all i saying

i reiterate

either you pay up or receive the least or NO contracts

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 30th, 2010, 1:24 am

Rooki3 there is the Anti Corruption Investigation Bureau located on Richmond Street Port of Spain. You can report allegations of bribery to them for investigation. Ish and Steve going up the river just now so when people know that an investigation is taking place, all bets are off and in those times the ones that pay bribes get no work at all whereas the legit dudes live life normal normal and get legit jobs and business.

Live right all the time.

I can tell you that I have been petitioned to accept a monthly bribe of $70,000 just to, "help out," a situation or two and trust me I need the money but at the end of the day I only have one name and one reputation plus jail nah nice. I actually felt quite insulted to think that they thought I was weak enough that they could approach me to take a bribe and buy me. I still felt rather low even after finding out that it was not about me per say but about people in positions like mine that have been around much longer that have earned a reputation of taking bribes. I also found out that the amount offered to me is significantly higher than what those low lifes are greedy to collect.

No one can point a finger my way and that right there is priceless.

Postby wagonrunner » June 30th, 2010, 1:28 am

Mr Gear wrote:No one can point a finger my way and that right there is priceless.

a lot believe the quick route is the easiest, and don't realize what they are really selling.

obeiron

Postby obeiron » June 30th, 2010, 1:33 am

I've been a self employed web designer for the past 3 years. Long hours but worth it.

From my (limited) experience, I've learned that providing a high quality product at a competitive price along with great customer service is the best way to market my company as each client is happy to recommend me to their associates. This allows me to have a steady stream of work with $0.00 invested in marketing.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 30th, 2010, 1:38 am

You mean zero dollars invested in advertising.

Your Marketing is everything about your business from your value proposition to your quality service, customer focused attitude and so on. Advertising is just one element of a company's overall marketing and communication but I understand what you mean.

obeiron

Postby obeiron » June 30th, 2010, 2:00 am

Mr Gear wrote:You mean zero dollars invested in advertising.

Your Marketing is everything about your business from your value proposition to your quality service, customer focused attitude and so on. Advertising is just one element of a company's overall marketing and communication but I understand what you mean.

Thanks for the correction. Some great info in this thread.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 30th, 2010, 7:18 am

Hey folks, just a quick housekeeping rule about this thread.

Please feel free to say what your business does and so on but outright solicitation for business will get this thread shut down. There are paying power sellers on this site and they have therefore earned their right to advertise. Most of us however are not power sellers so open advertising cannot be allowed.

I suspect that if someone is interested in your product or service they may contact you via PM and that is ok. So just to keep our little piece of the web open, please observe this little rule. Thanks