hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby UML » September 21st, 2013, 8:41 pm

Sabot wrote:Seems that the normal chicken and beef you get from the grocery was always in a vacuum sealed package that grows on trees. Those animals weren't killed now were they? And before someone says "well they were bred to be killed" many hunters comments to the draft policy indicate the need for wildlife farming to ensure sustainability. The ban will be a waste if not for the lack of planning and vision but just for the mere fact that it cannot be enforced.

so wait...dat was ur attempt to discredit the point?!! :|

you still didnt prove it wrong :lol: :lol:

when last you see a a 100m shed full with agouti? I could tell you I see 100m shed of chickens almost daily :?

what did these hunters do to ensure that this measure was implemented?

chickens are bred for eating...wildlife is not!!!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 22nd, 2013, 12:06 pm

UML wrote:
Sabot wrote:Seems that the normal chicken and beef you get from the grocery was always in a vacuum sealed package that grows on trees. Those animals weren't killed now were they? And before someone says "well they were bred to be killed" many hunters comments to the draft policy indicate the need for wildlife farming to ensure sustainability. The ban will be a waste if not for the lack of planning and vision but just for the mere fact that it cannot be enforced.

when last you see a a 100m shed full with agouti? I could tell you I see 100m shed of chickens almost daily :?

May be a little over your head uml; all I am saying is that this was proposed in the draft policy by many people. Have you even seen the draft? Again in this context a life is a life right? Why has this not been implemented or even gone through the thought process before placing a ban that cannot and will not be enforced at this time? Back to dollars and cents for the crabs in the barrel...remember wild meat is legal to have come october 1st eh. Wildlife farming is not a new invention so why cant it be done here? The timing of this ban is poor and for the wrong reasons and at the end of it sadly nothing will be gained from it since nothing is in place for such. It reeks of self gain.....

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 22nd, 2013, 12:44 pm

wait wait...are you saying that you can have in your possession wildmeat?? I was under the impression that with the implementation of the ban on hunting that it would obviously mean that you couldn't have wild meat.
Is there a legal importer of wild meat?
If one can have wildmeat how does the authorities intent to prove that a piece of meat is not local.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 22nd, 2013, 1:07 pm

Somebody family would bring in wildmeat. Didn't I say this before.

GRIM asked good questions there.

Postby DVSTT » September 22nd, 2013, 1:30 pm

Sabot wrote:
UML wrote:

May be a little over your head uml; all I am saying is that this was proposed in the draft policy by many people. Have you even seen the draft? Again in this context a life is a life right? Why has this not been implemented or even gone through the thought process before placing a ban that cannot and will not be enforced at this time? Back to dollars and cents for the crabs in the barrel...remember wild meat is legal to have come october 1st eh. Wildlife farming is not a new invention so why cant it be done here? The timing of this ban is poor and for the wrong reasons and at the end of it sadly nothing will be gained from it since nothing is in place for such. It reeks of self gain.....

You can't farm wildlife, domesticated livestock are different to their wild counterparts. If you do try to farm wildlife there is no guarantee that they would breed in captivity or if the young would be fertile to continue on to F2. Genetic testing would have to be done to prevent inbreeding and to facilitate species diversity which would mean plucking specimen from the wild. Additionally, most wildlife do not reproduce fast enough to keep up with commercial demand. Additionally, the wild meat that is hunted relentlessly here are integral parts of the ecosystem and help maintain balance. Extinction of just one of the species can cause ripples across the entire ecosystem and interfere with the food web's intricate inner workings, leading to the demise of other species.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 22nd, 2013, 1:30 pm

GRIM wrote:wait wait...are you saying that you can have in your possession wildmeat?? I was under the impression that with the implementation of the ban on hunting that it would obviously mean that you couldn't have wild meat.
If one can have wildmeat how does the authorities intent to prove that a piece of meat is not local.

Lol, this is what im saying all along. Wake up and see the light people. A certain minister and his family have been importing wild meat since last year. I gave the phone number in a previous post to this thread. He also indicated that they are working on ensuring no shortage of wild meat locally for Christmas. That was said to the media and was printed too. Hence the haste to implement a ban on hunting to eliminate competition. Those questions were sent to the minister since August by the hunting associations...no response as yet from said minister. Guess u have to check the gouti serial number....
Last edited by Sabot on September 22nd, 2013, 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 22nd, 2013, 1:30 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Somebody family would bring in wildmeat. Didn't I say this before.

GRIM asked good questions there.

so again, why dont hunters diversify and convert their operations to capture and farm/breed. i think the majority of the country is in agreement. the wildlife need a break to repopulate. we dont want to risk eating out like ngyumyums.

build a small pond area with trees/plants they eat fence round/cage and mine iguana. fence round a next portion and mine lappe.. etc.

i like wild meat as much as the next guy, but hunters really need to tone it down until we can assess the damage done so far.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 22nd, 2013, 1:34 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Sabot wrote:
UML wrote:

You can't farm wildlife, domesticated livestock are different to their wild counterparts. If you do try to farm wildlife there is no guarantee that they would breed in captivity or if the young would be fertile to continue on to F2. Genetic testing would have to be done to prevent inbreeding and to facilitate species diversity which would mean plucking specimen from the wild. Additionally, most wildlife do not reproduce fast enough to keep up with commercial demand. Additionally, the wild meat that is hunted relentlessly here are integral parts of the ecosystem and help maintain balance. Extinction of just one of the species can cause ripples across the entire ecosystem and interfere with the food web's intricate inner workings, leading to the demise of other species.

Do some more research before providing misleading info. Whitetail deer is just one example of wildlife that has been successfully bred and used to replenish stock in other countries. They even bottle and sell the piss...we emulate so much negative why cant we do the same for positive?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 22nd, 2013, 1:43 pm

Sabot wrote:
GRIM wrote:wait wait...are you saying that you can have in your possession wildmeat?? I was under the impression that with the implementation of the ban on hunting that it would obviously mean that you couldn't have wild meat.

Lol, this is what im saying all along. Wake up and see the light people. A certain minister and his family have been importing wild meat since last year. I gave the phone number in a previous post to this thread. He also indicated that they are working on ensuring no shortage of wild meat locally for Christmas. That was said to the media and was printed too. Hence the haste to implement a ban on hunting to eliminate competition. Those questions were sent to the minister since August by the hunting associations...no response as yet from said minister. Guess u have to check the gouti serial number....

well, if they foresaw the decline of wildlife and put in place a business plan to import then that just makes that minister smarter than the hunter who kept on hunting. and why u cant call name? who is the minister? is facts u stating not so?

what we need then is a wildlife count estimate. is the legislation justified by any factual recorded data? is there a noticed shortage of the appearance of certain species in the bush?

Postby rollingstock » September 22nd, 2013, 1:57 pm

Trinisniper wrote:I may not know the law but it's not surprising to see a "Police" say "In 2 years time my son will be 16 and i believe mature enough to handle a firearm, looking forward to having a bonding moment"... I do know however that the legal age to own/operate a firearm is 25 years.. No wonder there are so many arrests with no prosecutions...

Doh beat up phaggot.

Have fun being a trini'sniper' with your slingshot. :lol:

Y'all bullas amuse me.

Postby zoom rader » September 22nd, 2013, 2:00 pm

Trinisniper wrote:I may not know the law but it's not surprising to see a "Police" say "In 2 years time my son will be 16 and i believe mature enough to handle a firearm, looking forward to having a bonding moment"... I do know however that the legal age to own/operate a firearm is 25 years.. No wonder there are so many arrests with no prosecutions...

Doh beat up phaggot.

Y'all bullas amuse me.
Know some men get take down to station for using slight shot for hunting by forest rangers. Ranger Ramdeen at the time took them down.

Postby rollingstock » September 22nd, 2013, 2:01 pm

If yuh pelt ah stick is lock up :lol:

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 22nd, 2013, 2:18 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
Sabot wrote:

well, if they foresaw the decline of wildlife and put in place a business plan to import then that just makes that minister smarter than the hunter who kept on hunting. and why u cant call name? who is the minister? is facts u stating not so?

what we need then is a wildlife count estimate. is the legislation justified by any factual recorded data? is there a noticed shortage of the appearance of certain species in the bush?

Stating facts but still not going to read and spell for you. It was on the papers this week go look it up.

Postby pugboy » September 22nd, 2013, 3:16 pm

many people keep agouti in their backyard for their own consumption,
would this now be illegal ?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 22nd, 2013, 4:06 pm

pugboy wrote:many people keep agouti in their backyard for their own consumption,
would this now be illegal ?

According to the conservation of wildlife act :
No person shall keep a protected animal in captivity
unless he is authorized so to do by permit issued under these
Regulations. However, the legal personal representative of a deceased
holder of a valid permit issued under these Regulations shall be
deemed not to have committed an offense under these Regulationby reason only of the fact that a protected animal which has been kept in captivity by such deceased person under the authority of
such permit remains in captivity after the death of such person.

So according to the act its always been illegal without the pemits.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 22nd, 2013, 4:13 pm

I totally agree with this ban. They should make it 3 years.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 22nd, 2013, 6:06 pm

So who going protest tmrw at Forestry, St.James?

Postby pioneer » September 22nd, 2013, 6:14 pm

Who goin to laugh at those criminals?

The Police should seize all their hunting and gun permits one time.

They do not need it.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 22nd, 2013, 6:30 pm

Well they wouldn't have hunting permits lol
And hopefully nobody walking with gun

Postby sMASH » September 22nd, 2013, 9:28 pm

Protected

Trinisniper

Postby Trinisniper » September 23rd, 2013, 8:28 am

Rollingstock or is it laughingstock..

My "slingshot" is a Benelli 12 GA with 8 rounds,..seeing that you mentioned Benelli, I am assuming that you know what that is..

Its typical for people like you who are mentally bankrupt to resort to name calling when defeated simply because they are incapable of logical meaningful thought...Oh wait, you are a "Police"....sorry dey..

A lot of persons are calling for Guns hunting guns to be revoked, consider the following:

Firearms issued for the purposes of hunting are allowed a limited number or ammunition per year. Usually 100 rounds (4 x boxes of 25). Firearms issued for estate / pest control is usually 200 rounds.

There are a limited number of firearms dealers and ammunition suppliers on the island and most of the times they have a limited selection or are out of stock...

To be issued a Firearms license takes extremely long, in some cases years. I am sure our "Police" friend can attest to this are there are backlogs of thousands of applicants just sitting there.

My point here is that the numbers of legal gun owners are not as great as you think and similarly, are not afforded the opportunity to shoot indiscriminately as ammunition is limited and controlled.

My second point is that you do not need a gun to hunt things like "Iguanas", "tatoo", "lappe" and even "agouti".. in fact, of the lot, the only wild animal you may have to shoot to capture is a deer and in some cases, hounds can even outrun and kill them for you..

What our "Police" friend can do is help to get the home made "bush guns" under control and be more active in patrols that sweep the forest for trap guns that used rounds with "Spanish" writing on the casing.....

Take the guns from legal gun owners..yeah right.. living in la la land...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 23rd, 2013, 12:05 pm

there is no way to keep track of homemade bush guns. i wouldnt bother trying to curtail that for something a man can make in a couple hrs with scrap metal. would be a total waste of resources unless u lockup the builders themselves

and now it have 3d printer tech makin gun.

i want a m4 and ar-15 to go hunting. lol

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » September 23rd, 2013, 1:19 pm

Open season on beethamites - that should provide some great entertainment for hunters to empty a couple thousands rounds of bullets and at thesame time impove aim and accuracy

Postby rollingstock » September 23rd, 2013, 3:04 pm

Trinisniper wrote:Its typical for people like you who are mentally bankrupt to resort to name calling when defeated simply because they are incapable of logical meaningful thought...

Trinisniper wrote:Rollingstock or is it laughingstock..

Hahahahaha this just proves that you are a mental cripple. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » September 23rd, 2013, 3:06 pm

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 23rd, 2013, 3:39 pm

Dont forget to check the serial numbers on those goutis folks or maybe you can hear the twang when they talk to make sure its not local.:grin:

"Occifer look this one have a visa"

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,184031.html

Live wild animals, including agoutis and wildhogs, will be imported from Guyana to stock a model wildfarm at Brigand Hill, Manzanilla.

Minister of the Environment and Water Resources, Ganga Singh yesterday paid a visit to the facility which belongs to the Zoological Society of Trinidad and Tobago (ZSTT). The wildfarm will be a joint exercise with the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources.

The ZSTT has been one of the first among the environmental non-governmental organisations reported in the media as being strongly supportive of the recently announced two-year moratorium on hunting made by Singh.

President of the Society, Gupte Lutchmedial confirmed that this is their official position indicating that it must be understood that this viewpoint is in fact representative of the board and the general membership.

Lutchmedial explained that the Society was extremely pleased that the Minister took this landmark decision, which he saw as a win-win for conservation. “I am so happy that come October, the animals in the forests would not be terrorised by hungry dogs and gun and cutlass-toting hunters who venture into the animals’ own territory and extract them under the guise of sport,” he lamented. Continuing, he stated, “Trinidad and Tobago has been known to have a more than generous hunting season of five months, where game species are easy target for the thousands of legal and illegal hunters, and it is time that we put the animals first and give them refuge and peace all-year round.”

Sundar Seecharan, who is a ZSTT Board member, with over 40 years experience in the agricultural sector, took the opportunity to provide information on the tangible means of support the Society would be providing to ensure the moratorium achieves a successful outcome. “The Society is engaging in a partnership with the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources to establish a model wildlife farm that would be used for demonstration purposes to others interested in setting up their own wildlife farms,” he said. Details provided on this initiative reveal that establishment of this model wildlife farm has already started at the Society’s 360-acre offsite facility at Brigand Hill, Manzanilla and farming of agouti, deer, lappe and wildhog will take place there on a large-scale basis.

Seecharan was able to confirm that the Society is currently engaged in negotiations with wildlife suppliers in Guyana for stock, which if approved for importation by the regulatory bodies, would avoid further pressures on our diminishing wild populations with the added value of introducing new gene pools.

When asked to respond to the views of several persons that during the moratorium, the Government is not obliged to provide alternative sources of wildmeat, Lutchmedial indicated that availability of wildmeat is only one of the benefits to come out from such an initiative. In his response, he added, “We are looking at the longer term benefits of having animals to replenish populations where they are in decline, making the progeny available to farmers out there looking for stock enhancement and hopefully, to reduce hunting pressures brought upon the animals by those commercial hunters who profit all-year round from their illegal spoils.” Continuing, he said, “There is also the sustainable development perspective especially for rural communities where they can have wildmeat both for sustenance and as an additional source of income.”

Postby Gem_in_i » September 23rd, 2013, 3:45 pm

So they ensuring that the agouti coming from Guyana wasn't hunted and trapped in the forest? It will be captive bred animals they getting?
Next thing they go deplete Guyana, if that possible.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 23rd, 2013, 3:46 pm

friend of mine had one as a pet. saved it and had it like part of the family all in the house n thing. dont know if it still alive tho.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 23rd, 2013, 3:48 pm

Doh beat up phaggot.

Y'all bullas amuse me.
Know some men get take down to station for using slight shot for hunting by forest rangers. Ranger Ramdeen at the time took them down.

Ramdeen was a Game Warden. There is a difference between a Forest Ranger and a Game Warden.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 23rd, 2013, 3:51 pm

So the Zoo facility going to be rented by the Ministry?