is this true?

Re: is this true?

Postby BrotherHood » March 16th, 2012, 12:29 pm

All points have been well taken. There are still some points that I will oppose although it may be ignorant of me.
rollingstock wrote:Dan read carefully what i wrote. It is an accessory that we have no use for really, hence the illegality, why fight for something cause it looks good. It cause more harm to use it. They are on your car because the manufacturer put it there because they cater for different markets.

Aeren't there base models in almost all cars? Import only the models with no foglights. It may be an ignorant question and also nothing I can do to implement this but if we want drivers to not illuminate fog lights which serve no purpose in T&T then don't import those manufactured with fog lights

rollingstock wrote:I fail to understand trini's, we have a very lax approach to enforcing traffic laws, drivers get away with murder on the roads literally and men fighting down to use their fogs in a country with no fog.

I am not fighting it down. It's not a problem for me to drive without them and I agree when you say they do not serve a purpose in Trinidad. When the police service starts enforcing the law, then we have to expect these tendencies from the nation's driving population.

Postby Hook » March 16th, 2012, 12:46 pm

rollingstock wrote:...drivers get away with murder on the roads literally and men fighting down to use their fogs in a country with no fog.

actually...we do...trust me, I would know :wink:

but I get what u sayin' tho..."buh dem doin' it too" is no excuse to break the law

Postby Stephon. » March 16th, 2012, 12:54 pm

This is one of those arguments that can go on forever. It reminds me of a religious argument to be honest.

Why aren't we supposed to do x y and x?

Because it says not to right here on this here bible :lol:

Edit: oh and fogs can be taken off of almost any vehicle without leaving a hole :? - there are parts to replace them after all, see the base model 2011 Mazda 3, Toyota corolla, lancer etc.

And the lights that cause more harm harm good are aftermarket lights, no way a vehicle that came from the showroom is going to blind someone on the roads with fogs, it's not happening.

Postby rollingstock » March 16th, 2012, 1:32 pm

^ Hence look at most of the men that get rush from police for fogs, either poorly modified and making a target of themselves or see police but still leave it on, is only so many times you gonna pass a police till one stops you and makes it an issue and then beat up commences.

And yeah hook i know, had cause to use my fogs passing through Forest reserve in Fyzabad a morning, and honestly in conditions like that no police going and stop you for using it.

eltoro

Postby eltoro » March 16th, 2012, 1:37 pm

Firewall wrote:how many of you all actually get blinded by a factory installed foglight? (not the b12/13/14/15 HID modified ones.)

Mine seem to illuminate the ground area about 5ft infront of the car.

If somebody head there to get blinded they have bigger problems

Perhaps you are the exception...How many bling-up cars actually retain the factory installed bulbs? I see some folks coming down the road with heavy HID's is like ah driving into the stadium lighting - not necessary at all since most of the roads have good lighting now, these fellas must be close to blind and should not be driving. These peeps are putting themselves at unnecessary risk trying to blind me...if meh ole Bedford loose control them in trouble!
The positioning of stock head-lights in vehicles is an engineered detail to give best clarity for driving at night and also allow for approaching drivers to get a sense of your distance. Every kyat in Trini want to 'look cool' - load up LED's in all kind of stupid design and drive with HID 'driving' or 'fog' light alone.

Postby wagonrunner » March 16th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Stephon. wrote:And the lights that cause more harm harm good are aftermarket lights, no way a vehicle that came from the showroom is going to blind someone on the roads with fogs, it's not happening.

unless it is being used during a fog, it is an unnecessary irritant to other drivers.
http://www.letstalkdriving.co.uk/USE%20OF%20FOG%20LIGHTS.htm
http://www.garageboy.com/fahrt/fog.html

Postby Dave » March 16th, 2012, 1:45 pm

i think one thing not addressed here

fog lights were the yellow ones found in royal saloon, 280c's, etc

what we have on the modern vehicle is driving lights as cbh had mentioned and as was also mentioned above, driving lights barely illuminates 3-4ft in front of vehicle so if a driving light is blinding you then that person needs to be dealt with

Postby rollingstock » March 16th, 2012, 1:55 pm

^ That is false, fogs don't need to be yellow, those separate lights that people like to call running lights ARE fogs.

Read here for the difference and usage --> http://www.mynrma.com.au/motoring/road- ... ry/fog.htm

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 16th, 2012, 11:54 pm

Rollingstock,

There is no exact law against 'fog lights'.

The law is an old law against any secondary driving lights. But then even the old model Galant and BMW's break this law as well as many police vehicles and 4x4s with lights in the grill/cow-killer

guest1

Postby guest1 » March 17th, 2012, 4:45 am

Last edited by guest1 on December 7th, 2013, 3:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

achillies

Postby achillies » March 17th, 2012, 8:10 am

Strauss wrote:Rollingstock,

There is no exact law against 'fog lights'.

The law is an old law against any secondary driving lights. But then even the old model Galant and BMW's break this law as well as many police vehicles and 4x4s with lights in the grill/cow-killer

Thank you Strauss, I reading rollingstock parading up and down this thread talking about its against the law to have your fog lights on, and he has not presented one iota of evidence to back up his statements, just another narration of another interpretation of the "law"

There is the law and then there is the government, police, Licensing Officers, and rollingstock's attempt to verbally "patch" the law to account for the fact that the current law is antiquated.

Rollingstock, present the law that states it is illegal to have your fog lights ON and I will take back my words. If you can't present that specific law, then you need to take back yours, and stop participating in spreading FUD.....

Postby Habit7 » March 17th, 2012, 8:41 am

Mr. Chandresh Sharma wrote:There are many inconsistencies in the licensing standards and vehicle
inspection. For instance, some foreign-used vehicles come installed with fog
lamps. You go to the licensing office, you meet the requirements; the person sells
the vehicle; first it has to pass the customs and the Bureau of Standards; the
vehicle is now sold to citizen A; he goes to the licensing office, obtains a licence
plate; so the vehicle is legally on the road. He pays his insurance; the vehicle
meets the insurance requirements; there is a licensed driver; then the police stop him
and say: See those two fog lamps; they are illegal; you are going to be charged.

The person says: Listen, this car is PCK; I purchased it a couple months ago; it
came from Singapore; I paid all the taxes; it met the licensing requirements; how
can you charge me? He says: The Licensing Authority is totally different from us.
Fog lamps are illegal. You have to decide what it is.

These fog lamps are installed for safety measures; to improve and increase the
lighting on the road. The Government and police officers argue that this is
decorative; it is not part of the vehicle. That is inconsistent.

In the same way, there is no scientific measure of the tint, so the police officer
wearing glasses says: Listen! I am wearing glasses; I can see well. This fails.
Down the road, another officer says: I am not wearing glasses; I can see well too.
This is okay. It is inconsistent. This cannot be so.

February 24, 2010 MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC
(MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS) BILL http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh20100224.pdf

Postby Habit7 » March 17th, 2012, 8:42 am

MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC REGULATIONS

Weight shown in certain cases. (28 )(h)

every goods vehicle, motor omnibus or trailer shall have its tare and M.G.W. painted in white figures and letters not less than sixty-five millimetres in height upon a black ground on a conspicuous place on the right or off side of such vehicle to be specified by the Transport Officer. Such weights shall be expressed in kilogrammes.

Unauthorised lights. (28 )(k)

there shall not be affixed to the front of a motor vehicle any lighted lamp other than the headlights and side lights except with the approval in writing of the Licensing Authority, nor to the rear of a motor vehicle or trailer any lighted lamp other than the red light prescribed by these Regulations except as permitted by paragraph (m)(iii) of this regulation.

(28 )(m)
(i) every motor vehicle shall be equipped with a minimum of two lamps at the front of the vehicle, one on each side to the satisfaction of the Licensing Authority. When a motor vehicle is in motion on a road at night, the lamps at the front of the vehicle shall be lighted, and the rays from the lamps shall be of a type approved by the Licensing Authority and, if the vehicle is capable of proceeding at a speed greater than thirty kilometres per hour, of such intensity as to illuminate the road ahead for a distance of at least ninety-five metres or such greater distance as is sufficient to ensure the safety of the vehicle and the persons carried on the vehicle, and to indicate clearly the presence of the vehicle to approaching traffic. However, a motorcycle shall show one such lamp as aforesaid, but if a sidecar is attached to the motorcycle, there shall be shown on that side of the side-car not
adjacent to the motorcycle, an additional light of sufficient intensity to indicate the
presence of the side-car from a reasonable distance to approaching traffic;

(ii) save as is contained in regulation 92, when stationary on a road at night every motor vehicle and every trailer not attached to a motor vehicle shall show two lights in front, one at each side, of sufficient intensity to
indicate the presence of the motor vehicle or trailer from a reasonable distance to
approaching traffic; but a motorcycle not attached to a side-car shall show one such light as aforesaid;

(iii) save as provided elsewhere in these Regulations, every motor vehicle or trailer
when on a road at night, whether in motion or stationary shall carry at least two lamps each showing a red light to the rear, of such intensity as to indicate clearly within a reasonable distance its presence on the road to traffic approaching from behind. There shall also be fitted lamps of such construction showing an uncoloured light of such intensity as to clearly illuminate the figures and numbers on the rear
identification plate. Except as aforesaid, no other lamp shall be carried to the rear of the vehicle without the special written permission of the Licensing Authority.
Where a trailer is attached to a tractor it will be sufficient if one such lamp as aforesaid is carried at the rear of the trailer only;

(iv) no spot lights or other similar swivelling lamps shall be carried on any motor vehicle without the authority of the Licensing Authority, who may authorise such lights at his discretion and subject to such conditions as he may impose;

(v) in addition to the foregoing provisions as to lamps to be carried, motor omnibuses shall also carry a lighted lamp on the inside top of the hood showing a white light visible within a reasonable distance in all directions;

(vi) in the case of motor omnibuses and goods vehicles, when either of the lamps referred to in subparagraph (i) hereof is placed in such a position that the distance of the centre of the lamp from the extreme outside point of the vehicle on its appropriate side exceeds three hundred millimetres, two additional lamps shall be fitted at the front of the said vehicle one on each side so that its centre shall not
exceed the aforesaid distance of three hundred millimetres, and so as clearly to indicate the width of the vehicle to approaching traffic; the said lamps shall be focussed below the horizontal and shall exhibit a light of sufficient power only to indicate the width of the vehicle.

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2012, 8:53 am

I think fat chicks ought to have that MGW plastered on their thighs also.

achillies

Postby achillies » March 17th, 2012, 9:15 am

Habit7 wrote:MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC REGULATIONS

there shall not be affixed to the front of a motor vehicle any lighted lamp other than the headlights and side lights except with the approval in writing of the Licensing Authority, nor to the rear of a motor vehicle or trailer any lighted lamp other than the red light prescribed by these Regulations except as permitted by paragraph (m)(iii) of this regulation.

Okay, well according to this, rollingstock's interpretation does have some validity

The fog lamps can be there but not lighted

I take my words back

Postby S_2NR » March 17th, 2012, 9:16 am

those laws were made before fog lights were invented.
what u all expect :lol:

Postby rollingstock » March 17th, 2012, 1:02 pm

Just reach home from work, epic lulz in this ched yes :lol:

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2012, 1:08 pm

S_2NR wrote:those laws were made before fog lights were invented.
what u all expect :lol:

As with most of our laws/legislation/policies...you should see some public service job specs...outdated as fuarrk

Legislative arm of govt is impotent.

Lancer01

Postby Lancer01 » April 7th, 2012, 9:04 am

If That is the case then I guess they should charge everyone that have a vehicle that can drive over 80 km/ph, cause that is the speed limit..........Oh shocks!!... that would be everybody then? :-S