Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

cdx2k1

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby cdx2k1 » July 8th, 2012, 9:02 am

Tires have a big role to play with the DSG.I inflate my tires atleast once a week.Old/Worn or soft tires make the tranny engage harder than with fresh/new tires as resistance on the drivetrain is increased with old tires.Another thing i noticed is that the left tires ALWAYS wear faster than the right tires, particularly the rear left tire.I always reach the air pump with all other tires reading ~ 35, but this back left tire always reading ~24.I usually ride on 37PSI and understeer is not a big issue.
Using manual mode in traffic is ill-advised from my standpoint as my vehicle performs better in traffic through D mode than tip;tip always engages more aggressive than D in my vehicle.My new MechU seems to be much better than the old;what I noticed with the old, after a while of driving in tip (e.g.driving through alot of traffic) is that performance used to decline and shifts would engage harder.This new MechU doesnt seem to have that issue at all.
Because of the "sensitive" characteristics of the DSG,fooling the DSG ECU isn't cool.I mean constantly inputing commands contrary to what the DSG ECU expects.Example: Starting from a roll quite hard then hesitating by coming off the gas, or mashing brakes.What I realise with the DSG is that you need to be sincere and sure about what you doing: if you're going, you're goin then you're gone, no stopping inbetween.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 8th, 2012, 9:22 am

cdx2k1 wrote:Tires have a big role to play with the DSG.I inflate my tires atleast once a week.Old/Worn or soft tires make the tranny engage harder than with fresh/new tires as resistance on the drivetrain is increased with old tires.Another thing i noticed is that the left tires ALWAYS wear faster than the right tires, particularly the rear left tire.I always reach the air pump with all other tires reading ~ 35, but this back left tire always reading ~24.I usually ride on 37PSI and understeer is not a big issue.
Using manual mode in traffic is ill-advised from my standpoint as my vehicle performs better in traffic through D mode than tip;tip always engages more aggressive than D in my vehicle.My new MechU seems to be much better than the old;what I noticed with the old, after a while of driving in tip (e.g.driving through alot of traffic) is that performance used to decline and shifts would engage harder.This new MechU doesnt seem to have that issue at all.
Because of the "sensitive" characteristics of the DSG,fooling the DSG ECU isn't cool.I mean constantly inputing commands contrary to what the DSG ECU expects.Example: Starting from a roll quite hard then hesitating by coming off the gas, or mashing brakes.What I realise with the DSG is that you need to be sincere and sure about what you doing: if you're going, you're goin then you're gone, no stopping inbetween.

Didn't know you had a dsg. Cool. What vehicle you driving? How old was your first mechatronic? I've found that tip can be aggressive or normal like D depending on how much gas you give it. The only mode I've found that is always aggressive is S...and I love it!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 9th, 2012, 10:07 am

Came across this article and thought it interesting. Dunno if it directly applies to Jetta as the article makes no mention of 6 speed or 7 speed DSG.

http://perrya.hubpages.com/hub/The-Mech ... ansmission

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » July 9th, 2012, 11:17 am

Very good information about failure points etc. Since the article deals with the Mechatronics unit it doesn't really matter if its 6 or 7 speed dsg since both use that unit but it is very good for owners who are interested in the computer that controls the gears+clutches etc

The main difference between 6 and 7 speed dsg is that the former is a wet clutch operation system whereas the latter is dry so there is less fluid that is only needed for the important bits.

Unfortunately it also says once you change fluids @ 40k, you'll be good. This may not be the case, cause I've read about folks failures occurring before 40k.

Take a look here for some experiences. http://www.my-gti.com/832/volkswagen-ds ... 1#comments

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 9th, 2012, 11:34 am

On the surface both mechatronic units do the same thing but don't they use tranny oil for cooling?

Maybe the "dry" clutch 7 speed doesn't cool the mechatronic in the same way? I dunno. Just theorizing.

I haven't been checking out 6 speed DSG threads as the 7 speed DSG doesn't even have the option to change fluid or top up.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » July 10th, 2012, 7:01 am

some pics

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 10th, 2012, 8:13 am

not seeing your pics...

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » July 10th, 2012, 1:55 pm

1.4TSI/Jetta Sport, the first mechatronic change wasn't too far in the life cycle of the vehicle..like within the first 45,000k's I think.I changed a second one this year at no personal expense..thank god.Those articles were very informative, knowledge is power.

I don't know if the 7 spd comes with a cooler on the MU..but maybe this article can shed some light..7 speed has nearly 80% less oil than the 6 speed

http://www.gtplanet.net/forum/showthread.php?t=95007

kingskid

Postby kingskid » July 10th, 2012, 9:21 pm

sorry about the pics but the messenger said they were too big, i have to edit and try again.
question,,, has anyone tried to reverse up a hill with their 1.4tsi 7speed dsg tran.
its a nightmare.lol still love this car though .

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » July 11th, 2012, 8:48 am

Do you have to rev it before it moves back ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 11th, 2012, 4:38 pm

Mine will idle forward (or backward in reverse) if it can. If twice it realizes that it can't idle forward or backward on an incline it will disengage the clutches and the vehicle will begin to Rollin the respective opposite direction.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » July 12th, 2012, 12:20 pm

kingskid wrote:sorry about the pics but the messenger said they were too big, i have to edit and try again.
question,,, has anyone tried to reverse up a hill with their 1.4tsi 7speed dsg tran.

Same on the Passat 1.8TSI 7 speed DSG. Reversing up an incline (say in town-house development garage spot) or carpark can be very tricky.

Generally, I've consciously accepted that the DSG is a manual tranny (which I enjoy and know very well). Therefore, throttle feathering, allowing for roll-backs, bucking, distance from cars/objects - both front/rear...all play a part in minimizing accidents or becoming frustrated.

However, if this is not explained to ALL new VW purchasers, I suspect there will be a general 'market' view/sentiment (particularly from kitchen...I mean, female drivers) that the transmission is not working, giving trouble, etc. etc.

Monitoring this DSG failure issue in the thread, though I sense it applies to a particular era of VW batches (2009-2010) and I've not heard of any failures with the Passats (internationally or locally). I believe the torque levels of the Passat DSG tranny are a bit higher?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 12th, 2012, 1:17 pm

If you have the 1.8t passat it is the same dq200 tranny. 2.0t would use dq250 with higher torque limits.

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » July 12th, 2012, 2:10 pm

Found this on another forum

FWD cars only:
DSG7 = DQ200 - 7 speed dry clutch transmission can handle max of 250Nm torque. Found in the Superb and other low torque petrol engines. Known to be problematic.
DSG7 = DQ500 - latest 7 speed dry clutch that can now handle 500Nm torque. Found in the Audi TT and VW Tiguan.
DSG6 = DQ250 - 6 speed wet clutch transmission used in all VW/Skodas diesel engines including the Laura, Jetta, Passat, Superb. Mostly reliable.

Lots of DSG related information (driving style, failure etc). I think these are guys in india, we have something in common lol (being hot, third world and all)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical ... ongly.html

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 12th, 2012, 2:21 pm

cqk4 wrote:Found this on another forum

FWD cars only:
DSG7 = DQ200 - 7 speed dry clutch transmission can handle max of 250Nm torque. Found in the Superb and other low torque petrol engines. Known to be problematic.
DSG7 = DQ500 - latest 7 speed dry clutch that can now handle 500Nm torque. Found in the Audi TT and VW Tiguan.
DSG6 = DQ250 - 6 speed wet clutch transmission used in all VW/Skodas diesel engines including the Laura, Jetta, Passat, Superb. Mostly reliable.

Lots of DSG related information (driving style, failure etc). I think these are guys in india, we have something in common lol (being hot, third world and all)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical ... ongly.html

Good stuff but note that the DQ500 has a wet clutch.

http://www.volkswagenag.com/content/vwcorp/info_center/en/themes/2010/01/dsg_the_new_dq500.html

Seems like for high torque and reliability tranny oil needs to be used in DSGs in larger volumes.

Postby MG Man » July 12th, 2012, 2:30 pm

cdx2k1 wrote:Because of the "sensitive" characteristics of the DSG,fooling the DSG ECU isn't cool.I mean constantly inputing commands contrary to what the DSG ECU expects.Example: Starting from a roll quite hard then hesitating by coming off the gas, or mashing brakes.What I realise with the DSG is that you need to be sincere and sure about what you doing: if you're going, you're goin then you're gone, no stopping inbetween.

same thing with some CVT transmissions, like the MINI Cooper..........if you floor it, the ECU already ready to 'shift' up, so if you suddenly let off the gas or hit the brake, sometimes it will jerk in reaction......it's probably worse with DSG seeing as how the second shaft will have already selected 2nd or 3rd because you are accelerating, and it 'thinks' you will continue doing so...
At least the DSG doesn't constantly jerk in crawling traffic like the Cooper CVT........that is unbelievably annoying

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 13th, 2012, 6:25 am

Well well well...the plot thickens:
First VW China apologizes for DSG complaints and extends warranty on them to 10 years.

Now VW Singapore stars sending out letters and extends warranty on DQ200 equipped cars to 5 years or 150,000 km on the tranny.

http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71439

I have heard but not confirmed that VW Malaysia has also extended warranties on gearbox.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » July 13th, 2012, 8:05 pm

i agree once you accept that its a manual tran life with it is easer
VW_Exec wrote:
kingskid wrote:sorry about the pics but the messenger said they were too big, i have to edit and try again.

Same on the Passat 1.8TSI 7 speed DSG. Reversing up an incline (say in town-house development garage spot) or carpark can be very tricky.

Generally, I've consciously accepted that the DSG is a manual tranny (which I enjoy and know very well). Therefore, throttle feathering, allowing for roll-backs, bucking, distance from cars/objects - both front/rear...all play a part in minimizing accidents or becoming frustrated.

However, if this is not explained to ALL new VW purchasers, I suspect there will be a general 'market' view/sentiment (particularly from kitchen...I mean, female drivers) that the transmission is not working, giving trouble, etc. etc.

Monitoring this DSG failure issue in the thread, though I sense it applies to a particular era of VW batches (2009-2010) and I've not heard of any failures with the Passats (internationally or locally). I believe the torque levels of the Passat DSG tranny are a bit higher?

kingskid

Postby kingskid » July 13th, 2012, 8:10 pm

good news everyone, no more under steer .
i guess the suspension need breaking in, she now rides BEAUTIFUL.
Trinituner Peong do you think we will be treated to an extended warranty?
and how to post pics do you just copy and past.

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » July 15th, 2012, 12:03 am

Hi kingskid

I'm not sure how to add pics here but I can give you a few my thoughts on the extended warranty question..

1. Since we are a very small market, we probably don't even cause a blip anywhere for VW to consider us
2. The dealership down here says their product has no real issues other than the one or two cases they have seen and its nothing they cant handle.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 15th, 2012, 10:46 am

Dealers down here will never tell you they have a problem with their product.

Their business is to sell and they will tell you that they have no problem with this tech. They will tell you the pistons in your engine are bigger and better than those in the previous model and doh mind the engines and piston product codes are the same in their parts database. They will tell you this sound is normal etc.

neexis

Postby neexis » July 27th, 2012, 7:06 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Dealers down here will never tell you they have a problem with their product.

Their business is to sell and they will tell you that they have no problem with this tech. They will tell you the pistons in your engine are bigger and better than those in the previous model and doh mind the engines and piston product codes are the same in their parts database. They will tell you this sound is normal etc.

Hows the car running so far? Hows the service from BA?

Since i first posted in this thread, I'm seeing a whole lot more of these cars on the road!

Is the DSG performance on an incline/decline a major issue? Or is it something that you just have to get used to?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 27th, 2012, 2:13 pm

So far no problems. Will be carrying the car to the dealer for the first paid service. Should pretty much be oil and filter change at this point and maybe a tyre rotation. Will post back the costs involved.

Hills are not an issue for me. Release brake and wait for clutch to engage then press gyas pedal.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » July 27th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 28th, 2012, 8:33 am

Interesting video. Unfortunately VW doesn't sell that vehicle here.

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 28th, 2012, 9:22 am

should just be a matter of time.. they started selling them in central and south america... i think they are either built in mexico/ brazil

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 28th, 2012, 6:34 pm

I believe all the VW's we get as of 2012 (except Passat CC) are assembled in Mexico so that eh no diff.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » July 28th, 2012, 10:47 pm

i would buy one

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 28th, 2012, 11:49 pm

VW exec does your VIN have an "M" in it?

kingskid

Postby kingskid » July 30th, 2012, 5:04 pm

well Allergic2BunnyEars how much did it cost, spill the beans man.
i think i'll be next in line the rate i going (1900) so far.

Return to “EURO”