Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

Wizard

Re: Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

Postby Wizard » July 22nd, 2011, 3:16 pm

shotta 20 wrote:
wagon r wrote:...it's funny to see the reaction of those in upper soceity react to this vs the ave. man on the street.

..anything to maintain a profit margin and $$ in your pocket regardless of how the end consumer feels.

Majority of those in upper soceity, don't like it when the average man has a chance to move up in life.

And YES, we have some of those MOFOS on Tuner, talking a set ah crap bout backward move and 3rd world country etc.
All of those who oppose, i'm sure they driving HIlux, Navarras, Benz, Bmw, subaru etc.

I welcome this move, because they making it more affordable for me to own a descent car, cuz i'm walking at present.

what assness allyuh talking ?

you really think 'high society' gives a crap if the 'average man' can afford to buy a brand-used B15 or heaven forbid, move up from a corolla to an accord ?

the self importance in here choking me yes

whats to say the goverment ent crack a deal with the japanese suppliers so they can offload thier thousands of tsunami damaged product on our 'average man'....

this revision of time will not result in a mass exodus of evos, gtrs, s2000s and stis as every tuner would love to see. what will happen is you will see oceans of older sentras, civics, corollas and every damn cheap car under the sun thereby flooding the market with cars that ultimately chisel away at the book values of locally owned cars. once again decreasing the asset value of vehicles trinis already own. so to the 'average man'... prepare to get it in the rear without lube because the goverment seems to be more intent on 'saving' a slew of used car dealers rather than protect the thousands of current vehicle owners. as a note, when last you see a ro-ro dealer go out of business ?

dont get me wrong, ive already started eyeing 2005/2006 models from honda, toyota and nissan... but this law isn't for the average man by any means. im sure its some sham. if they were intent on helping then just temporarily reduce duties on the 4 yr cars

next thing the duty on foreign used parts jumps to 75%

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 3:24 pm

Wizard wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:
wagon r wrote:...it's funny to see the reaction of those in upper soceity react to this vs the ave. man on the street.

..anything to maintain a profit margin and $$ in your pocket regardless of how the end consumer feels.

Majority of those in upper soceity, don't like it when the average man has a chance to move up in life.

And YES, we have some of those MOFOS on Tuner, talking a set ah crap bout backward move and 3rd world country etc.
All of those who oppose, i'm sure they driving HIlux, Navarras, Benz, Bmw, subaru etc.

I welcome this move, because they making it more affordable for me to own a descent car, cuz i'm walking at present.

you really think 'high society' gives a crap if the 'average man' can afford to buy a brand-used B15 or heaven forbid, move up from a corolla to an accord ?

whats to say the goverment ent crack a deal with the japanese suppliers so they can offload thier thousands of tsunami damaged product on our 'average man'....

this revision of time will not result in a mass exodus of evos, gtrs, s2000s and stis as every tuner would love to see. what will happen is you will see oceans of older sentras, civics, corollas and every damn cheap car under the sun thereby flooding the market with cars that ultimately chisel away at the book values of locally owned cars. once again decreasing the asset value of vehicles trinis already own. so to the 'average man'... prepare to get it in the rear without lube because the goverment seems to be more intent on 'saving' a slew of used car dealers rather than protect the thousands of current vehicle owners. as a note, when last you see a ro-ro dealer go out of business ?

dont get me wrong, ive already started eyeing 2005/2006 models from honda, toyota and nissan... but this law isn't for the average man by any means. im sure its some sham. if they were intent on helping then just temporarily reduce duties on the 4 yr cars

Bowing

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 3:25 pm

I'm still interested in reximan's service though, fyaz to my door sounds very promising.

Postby honda hoe » July 22nd, 2011, 3:30 pm

Stephon. wrote:I'm still interested in reximan's service though, fyaz to my door sounds very promising.

reix does only deal up in back doors tho. u sure u still want d fyaz delivered? :sick:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 3:31 pm

bloody range rover in the us$90k range on that site dread.....thought it would have been much less...

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 22nd, 2011, 3:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Wizard wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:

Bowing

IF u can read & understand......the gov't agreed to the importation of older cars...
BUT the annual allowed quantities remain the same. (13,500 per year). So i don't really see ur point here.

And Stephon. , u ah real yes man jed !

Postby S_2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 3:38 pm

Wizard wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:

preach bruddda preach!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 3:41 pm

Wizard wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:

Your whole argument is defeated simply by the fact that any average joe can go to the Ministry of Trade and bring down their own car and eliminate the middle man. This is the control that will keep the RORO dealers in check!

And as you so accurately put in the Big Danraj is only concerned about this because the book vale of his new locally bought over priced car has gone down. No small man did not buy a new car!

WIN WIN WIN for the small man!

Instead of seeing ghosts go out there do your research and bring down your own vehicle!

Postby Dizzy28 » July 22nd, 2011, 3:52 pm

I would like to know what would be the banks' take on the 6 yr age. Would they leave the lending criteria the same or increase the down payments that would need to be made?

I'm sure if a 6 yr ole RORO is your choice of vehicle chances aren't great you going and pelt out cash and buy it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 3:54 pm

^^I'm sure that they'd be increasing both deposits and rates....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 3:58 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^I'm sure that they'd be increasing both deposits and rates....

Well we will just have to call the banks and find out . Although I think with the liquiduty problems as it is I doubt it. Then again there is always the credit union option.

All i in all i still think this is a good thing!

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2011, 4:34 pm

wha year is dem is300?
always wanted one of those.

Postby teems1 » July 22nd, 2011, 4:44 pm

Wizard wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:

So you have NO problem with NM, Lifestyle, Diamond motors etc shafting you with their prices over the last few years.

Where were your calls to Government to regulate prices of new cars instead of letting their oligopoly run riot with respect to car prices over the last decade?

Now you want the Government to protect your inflated asset?

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 4:51 pm

Everyone overdoes it with their prices tbh, just look through the car sales section of the board, was looking for a car for my lil cousin the other day and had a good laugh @ the fact that some people wanted 2x the amount of the cars worth. His mom ended up buying a car from one of the members from her church :?

Lifestyle shouldn't be on that list btw.

CBharath

Postby CBharath » July 22nd, 2011, 5:10 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:selling for $105,000 after prob a lil flash and 3 months warranty.....hmmmm not bad......

Point is the Dealers/Stealers selling this vehicle for close too 200,000 that is where the real robbery taking place.

Since you know how cheep eeet is , why you doh open a business that bringing down cars cheep cheep cheep and show trinis how to do business

CBharath

Postby CBharath » July 22nd, 2011, 5:31 pm

some men in here should just hush dey kant . this was a dumb move by the government to help the average joe . if yuh cyah afford it, do without and doh bawl "they want to keep we down" . if yuh want a car either save yuh fuggin money or take a loan .yuh feel the men who have cars now eh wuk for it . why alyuh just eh say " so why the government eh gimme a car for free ?" . alyuh always know how much profit ah man making , de firetruck . alyuh doh like profit ?

alyuh lucky it wasnt up to me nah , was 3years or free bus rides .

Wizard

Postby Wizard » July 22nd, 2011, 7:18 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Wizard wrote:what assness allyuh talking ?

....the self importance in here choking me yes

whats to say the goverment ent crack a deal with the japanese suppliers so they can offload thier thousands of tsunami damaged product on our 'average man'........next thing the duty on foreign used parts jumps to 75%

Your whole argument is defeated simply by the fact that any average joe can go to the Ministry of Trade and bring down their own car and eliminate the middle man. This is the control that will keep the RORO dealers in check!

And as you so accurately put in the Big Danraj is only concerned about this because the book vale of his new locally bought over priced car has gone down. No small man did not buy a new car!

WIN WIN WIN for the small man!

Instead of seeing ghosts go out there do your research and bring down your own vehicle!

i not arguing here nuh dan, but logic dictates that if everyone were doing this on thier own, we would not have roro dealers and the mere fact that there are more roro dealers around than kfc outlets, well, your whole assumption is torpedoed by the fact that the majority of 'average' men will not do this themselves

paria_man - 0
Lazy people - 1

either way, get ready to see the bobol

instead of goverment studying how to keep businesses that actually contributing to a positive gnp, they studying how to put more money in goopeelal pocket and squeeze out a few votes from all the 'average' men that finally get to buy thier dream lancer for a couple grand less

they feel people chupid orr ?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » July 22nd, 2011, 7:44 pm

is only 2 years difference.. idk how that helping much.. they should change it to 10

Postby toyolink » July 22nd, 2011, 10:02 pm

I have dealt with a few foriegn used car dealers from whom I purchased vehicles and did enjoy the benefit of getting a unit which both met my budget and provided excellent service.
My selection of both the dealer and the vehicle was done after much research and enquiry and I don't regret any part of my transaction.
BTW I also have done direct imports for myself and what I have determined is that there is no real benefit going this way if one is looking for the small compact sedan with 1500cc-1800cc.The real advantage comes when going high end with large engines.
Actually,when doing a direct import what is percieved as a saving is really what you earn for doing all of the following
-USING YOUR MONEY FROM START TO FINISH (and taking assoc. risks)
-GETTING THE LIC.
-following up shipping
-handling port and customs
-taking care of registration
-taking care of detailing etc
-doing first full service check
Like with all other business there are good operators and bad ones and it's the buyer's responsibility to act prudently.
Absolutely no one on this thread can in their right mind say that local new car deals have demonstrated a standard of performance which makes them immune from the same charges being laid at the feet of used car dealers.Issues of poor service,unavailability of parts,warranty conditionalities which are adhoc. and pricing which truly suggest use of mathematical models which have as yet not been shared with normal people continue unabated.
Anything which improves my market choices I fully support .I however understand the saying "A FOOL AND HIS MONEY ARE SOON PARTED" and therefore ain't buying nothing just so.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 23rd, 2011, 1:42 am

Is it possible for foreign used dealers to bring new cars? Or do the new car dealers have exclusive dealerships for the new cars?

Postby Habit7 » July 23rd, 2011, 2:53 pm

Once again I denounce this dumb move. I am sorry for the guys with there PBZ,PBY,PBX and back on the market right now, trying to compete with the 6yr ro-ro vehicles. Who want that when they can get a PCT or PCU?

And for those who saying that the 13,000 vehicles per year cap still stands so there will be no vehicles flooding the road. The reason why dealers pressure the gov't is because sales are down around 4000 per year. With these clunkers for sale now, they will reach their cap and if you think traffic is bad now, wait till next year.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 23rd, 2011, 3:11 pm

^^^well in that case better I get this...

Postby Trini Hookah » July 24th, 2011, 8:37 am

Sabriel wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Once again I denounce this dumb move. I am sorry for the guys with there PBZ,PBY,PBX and back on the market right now, trying to compete with the 6yr ro-ro vehicles. Who want that when they can get a PCT or PCU?

And for those who saying that the 13,000 vehicles per year cap still stands so there will be no vehicles flooding the road. The reason why dealers pressure the gov't is because sales are down around 4000 per year. With these clunkers for sale now, they will reach their cap and if you think traffic is bad now, wait till next year.

So if now, you can get ur evo7,8s, STIs, DC5s...OR upgrade from PA to PB to PC, soon PD jus now....then very soon you gonna see a movement of the upper class selling their cars to the middle class, the middle class selling their cars to the lower class...so apart from more cars on d road, yuh gonna ketch ur arse to get carparking before 8am by the autoshops, hardware, grocery, malls, etc... cuz all dem store clerks, go have 'Cyarrr' who didnt have before and go utilise the car spots fuss before the customers. Ah boy...smh. :D

In light of all this, FU cars will be competitively priced with that of local used cars, so those who couldn't afford to buy local used back then, will find money...now?

Postby eliteauto » July 24th, 2011, 8:47 am

IMO I don't think this is going to drastically change the dynamics of the car industry, seems to me that most of the newer series of cars on the road are new cars, F/U has priced itself out of the game and the attractive financing options given to new cars are luring buyers, many seem to prefer buying a local used than F/U as well, so unless we're gonna see a return to 45-65K F/U cars I don't think this make much of a dent

Postby Stephon. » July 24th, 2011, 9:44 am

Gaga*

Postby Trini Hookah » July 24th, 2011, 10:10 am

You must have a huge kitchen Sabriel :shock:

Postby Trini Hookah » July 24th, 2011, 10:55 am

2wink

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2011, 11:28 am

Whats to stop roro dealers from bringing 6yr old cars, rolling back the odo & saying it 4 years old?

Btw, what about insurance? I see plenty of the insurance companies benin & screwing at insuring roro's fully comp. Does this mean we gonna have a heap of 3rd party insured cars on the roads (more than we already have)?

Anyways, lets see how this goes, I have been wanting to get a van anyways.

but something along the lines of this looks good:

with headlights like these:

OR

:evilbat:

Postby AllTrac » July 24th, 2011, 11:32 am

dat go mash up on dat fyzo road dan

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2011, 11:37 am

sad but true eh. :-(

I would have loved to own one of those though.

I feel the best bet is to aim for a nice van (only if I can get i diesel though).