Church plans Quran-burning event

OldSkoolRule

Re: Church plans Quran-burning event

Postby OldSkoolRule » August 9th, 2010, 2:54 am

the tiny tribe that escaped the Boxing Day tsunami because their religious beliefs about the world being in the bough of a tree and accurately predicting the arrival of the tsunami, and thereby savinf them from certain annihilation.............what about them?????

you for real?
The egyptians, mayans, incas, aztecs, and some african tribes have been aware for millennia about things only proven / observed by modern science today
astronomy, metallurgy, geography etcHow many million years so we talkin bout? Enlighten me. gimme a quote, a source, a reference!
so what then? huh? word of allah? Yes. you want to question who Allah (swt) guides and who he doesn't? i not putting myself in that position, but i do know that there are rightly guided tribes who are not of Islam; this is according to Islamic teachings!
There are things in hindu, chinese, bhuddist and other religious texts that describe physical phenomena that are only now being confirmed by scientists..............how does that fit with your logic??? like what? give me an example, a reference, a source, a citation, a quote! I've stated my sources, i not making hollow claims

you do realize your book is basically a rewrite of the bible, doctored and modified to suit the prevailing culture, values and ideal lifestyle of those who wrote it, right? Which version of the Bible are you referring to? If that is the case, then obviously all the editing, omissions, re-writing, etc has certainly stopped with the Qur'an. Seriously though, if that were the case, that would make the bible a re-write of the Torah. In actuality though, the Qur'an only succeeded the Bible, it did not dismiss it.

The egyptians, mayans, incas, aztecs, and some african tribes have been aware for millennia about things only proven / observed by modern science today
astronomy, metallurgy, geography etc
so what then? huh? word of allah? Read the Qur'an before you say anything about it. Don't take my word for it, i could never do justice to its teachings. the few examples of the scientific proofs above are just the tip of the iceberg; the chapter those were taken from contain so much more. do some reading.

MG man, before you jump out with yuh 'discovery channel' claims again, especially against islam, or any religion for that matter, make sure you READ and understand what you are offering your opinion on, and can quote your sources. Read the Qur'an yourself rather than read about it. I'll gladly give you one free if you can't access one, because if you ain't read the Qur'an yourself, bess yuh don't say nuthin. you should read it though, it will adjust your perspective!!

PS. If you really have a constructive point, i will gladly entertain, whether you argue for or against; when yuh try to be a smart-a$$ however, you're not open open to anything, you're just opinionated and you ain't really care to know anything. If you could teach me something better, i'm open to it :!:

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 6:00 am

OldSkoolRule wrote:
the tiny tribe that escaped the Boxing Day tsunami because their religious beliefs about the world being in the bough of a tree and accurately predicting the arrival of the tsunami, and thereby savinf them from certain annihilation.............what about them?????

you for real?
astronomy, metallurgy, geography etcHow many million years so we talkin bout? Enlighten me. gimme a quote, a source, a reference!
millennia refers to thousands, not millions..............clearly you are blindly illiterate and can only quote, and not think for yourself.....the egyptian civillization flourished 3-5 thousand years ago...the Mayan civillization began to fade about 800 years ago
so what then? huh? word of allah? Yes. you want to question who Allah (swt) guides and who he doesn't? i not putting myself in that position, but i do know that there are rightly guided tribes who are not of Islam; this is according to Islamic teachings!
There are things in hindu, chinese, bhuddist and other religious texts that describe physical phenomena that are only now being confirmed by scientists..............how does that fit with your logic??? like what? give me an example, a reference, a source, a citation, a quote! I've stated my sources, i not making hollow claims

you can google that yourself..................or can you google 'facts' from your own religion?
you do realize your book is basically a rewrite of the bible, doctored and modified to suit the prevailing culture, values and ideal lifestyle of those who wrote it, right? Which version of the Bible are you referring to? If that is the case, then obviously all the editing, omissions, re-writing, etc has certainly stopped with the Qur'an. Seriously though, if that were the case, that would make the bible a re-write of the Torah. In actuality though, the Qur'an only succeeded the Bible, it did not dismiss it.

either way, it is the most blatant use of the man made idea of religion to demonstrate social control

astronomy, metallurgy, geography etc
so what then? huh? word of allah? Read the Qur'an before you say anything about it. Don't take my word for it, i could never do justice to its teachings. the few examples of the scientific proofs above are just the tip of the iceberg; the chapter those were taken from contain so much more. do some reading.

I not questioning the 'truths' stated in the koran buddy...............I am just pointing out that many other religions have similar 'truths' as yours does................

MG man, before you jump out with yuh 'discovery channel' claims again, especially against islam, or any religion for that matter, make sure you READ and understand what you are offering your opinion on, and can quote your sources. Read the Qur'an yourself rather than read about it. I'll gladly give you one free if you can't access one, because if you ain't read the Qur'an yourself, bess yuh don't say nuthin. you should read it though, it will adjust your perspective!!

reading the koran does not take away from the fact that there are other religions that have similar amazing facts, truths etc............YOU should open YOUR mind and read OTHER religious books before YO proclaim the 'evidence' of yours as the one and only truth

YOu explain to me why that little tribe was saved by their beliefs while hundreds of thousands of muslims died in that tsunami

happy googling
PS. If you really have a constructive point, i will gladly entertain, whether you argue for or against; when yuh try to be a smart-a$$ however, you're not open open to anything, you're just opinionated and you ain't really care to know anything. If you could teach me something better, i'm open to it :!:

so my point is not constructive?
the idea that there are other religions that have statements and ideas that are only now being proven by science is not grounds for opening one's mind? You sir are the one who are not open to anything. You have done a great deal of research into proving your religion is true and infallible, but you have not researched any other. This is why you take offense at what I say, because you have already made up your mind and in doing so, have closed it to anything else.............
I am open enough to recognize that Islam scholars have contributed significantly to what we now understand about science, astronomy, navigation etc. But I am also open enough to see the contribution of other cultures, societies and religions, and in doing so, have recognized that it's all six of one, half dozen of the other.....
there is no one true absolute truth when it comes to religion. They are all man made forms of social control

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 9th, 2010, 6:28 am

pioneer wrote:Religion is the downfall of man

It divides mankind more than race, whoever thought of it was brilliant.

QFT.

It's a good way to control people.

You forgot to mention though,it helps some people feel better about themselves, and helps those without aspirations or goals feel as if they have some purpose

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 6:57 am

that's cool and all, but in doing so, teaches intolerance, as in the case of our frield oldskoolrule, megadoc etc
In many cases it leads to conflict, fear, unrest, death and destruction...............what is the basis upon which most wars are waged? With the exception of hinduism and a few other eastern religions, most teach 'follow MY way because it is the right, true path, and all others lead to hell'
That fundamental mandate of convert the ignorant because they are wrong and I am right, is at the basis of threads like these
Look at how this thread has gone...............from open minded people showing support for, or at least having no problem with a mosque near ground zero, to another me right, you wrong argument.....all because some clown may have provoked a passionate muslim.........oldskoolrule could not resist the temptation to condemn those who worship jesus, multiple gods etc, and now takes offence that some of us are now going to take the piss out of islam.....sad

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2010, 7:15 am

MG Man wrote:that's cool and all, but in doing so, teaches intolerance, as in the case of our frield oldskoolrule, megadoc etc
In many cases it leads to conflict, fear, unrest, death and destruction...............what is the basis upon which most wars are waged? With the exception of hinduism and a few other eastern religions, most teach 'follow MY way because it is the right, true path, and all others lead to hell'
That fundamental mandate of convert the ignorant because they are wrong and I am right, is at the basis of threads like these
Look at how this thread has gone...............from open minded people showing support for, or at least having no problem with a mosque near ground zero, to another me right, you wrong argument.....all because some clown may have provoked a passionate muslim.........oldskoolrule could not resist the temptation to condemn those who worship jesus, multiple gods etc, and now takes offence that some of us are now going to take the piss out of islam.....sad

MGMan = Equal Opportunity Destroyer. :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2010, 8:27 am

as we on this whole religion issue, those of you who do not buy into religion etc
When you have your children would you teach and encourage them in religion?
And do you belief religion plays a huge part in growing up children with morals, values and the importance of family?

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 8:59 am

AllTrac wrote:as we on this whole religion issue, those of you who do not buy into religion etc
And do you belief religion plays a huge part in growing up children with morals, values and the importance of family?

I didn't grow up in a particularly religious home. Dad is hindu, mom is muslim, wife is presbyterian.
The positive values I got from both parents had nothing to do with religion, but how we shld live and treat our fellow human beings....basically do unto others etc
I continue to live my life accordingly. I do good where I can, I help where I can, I am charitable as far as I can be. I recognize my failings and flaws, and strive to improve and better myself despite these.

so no, I don't believe we need religion to give us proper morals and values

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2010, 9:04 am

fair enough, so mg man you saying that you would not grow up your children with a religious background? you going to give them the whole big explosion theory when they ask about god?
(ie if you decide to breed, which i hope not)

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2010, 9:14 am

AllTrac wrote:as we on this whole religion issue, those of you who do not buy into religion etc

I didn't grow up in a particularly religious home. Dad is hindu, mom is muslim, wife is presbyterian.
The positive values I got from both parents had nothing to do with religion, but how we shld live and treat our fellow human beings....basically do unto others etc
I continue to live my life accordingly. I do good where I can, I help where I can, I am charitable as far as I can be. I recognize my failings and flaws, and strive to improve and better myself despite these.

So where did your parents get these values from to teach you?

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 9:18 am

Trac, I would lety them decide on their own...........they will know my beliefs, as well as those of their mother and grandparents. My parents never forced me into any one belief so I will not do the same.........but I will show them all the BS that comes along with religion so they wil know what they are dealing wit
PS I don't plan on makin chirren.........one muffler bearing like me is enuff, dontcha think?

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 9:19 am

bluefete wrote:

from their cultural upbringing
and there are many of them which I disagree with, and do not follow

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2010, 9:43 am

bluefete wrote:

but MG Man you denying that religion is directly tied into this?

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 9:47 am

@TRAC, nope, I'm not
religiona nd culture go hand in hand
but my point in this thread was not abuot believing in religion, but in the narrow minded view of oldskoolrulez, who condemned followers of sai baba, jesus, and all the fancy hindu gods, and proclaiming his religion to be the 'true' one
my other point is that religion is a man made form of social control......which invariably means there is no 'one true religion'

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2010, 9:51 am

fair enough. I still think one K@nt like you is too much, so in the name of Allah, Jesus and Lord Ram, you should end yourself.

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 9:52 am

I tried but the lords of the underworld say they filled their KANT quota for eternity so I dommed to be a KANT on tuner

Postby RBphoto » August 9th, 2010, 9:53 am

Too many words... me no like thread anymore...MG Man hurt head with logic and atheistic objective thinking.

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2010, 9:54 am

Scientology wins yet again 1sui

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 10:03 am

Postby TRAE » August 9th, 2010, 12:31 pm

allyuh need some love yes

d spike

Postby d spike » August 9th, 2010, 12:36 pm

AllTrac wrote:

but MG Man you denying that religion is directly tied into this?

MG Man wrote:@TRAC, nope, I'm not
religiona nd culture go hand in hand

Wouldn't it be more precise to say that religion is part of culture? Admittedly, it does add and create more cultural habits directly and indirectly... and, yes, there are cultures that sprang up around certain fundamentalist religions (they had laws for everything, and went off and started their own thing from scratch)... but simply put, religion is a sub-set of our way of life, not the other way around, or an equal part...

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 12:44 pm

yup
well stated

Postby DFC » August 9th, 2010, 12:50 pm

lets have our own quran burning here.

instead of the book...we'll get quran soogrim.

now that makes sense.

Postby Sky » August 9th, 2010, 1:13 pm

MG Man wrote:which invariably means there is no 'one true religion'

Wrong...

This religion was bigger and stronger than all others before it since it's birth, and it will remain so. I dare ANY religious leader to give up all of his worldly posessions and start from scratch on the faith that their God will provide for them.

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 1:17 pm

I believe in the teachings of John Lennon
Love is all you need, give peace a chance, come together

shady23

Postby shady23 » August 9th, 2010, 4:21 pm

I just lol every time I hear some religious zealot telling poor folks to follow this/that religion, lest they burn in hell for all of eternity.

People over age 10 actually believe in this thing called HELL? Seriously.

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 4:30 pm

shady23 wrote:I just lol every time I hear some religious zealot telling poor folks to follow this/that religion, lest they burn in hell for all of eternity.

People over age 10 actually believe in this thing called HELL? Seriously.

some ah dem believe if yuh miss yuh mornin prayers, ah demon go pee in yuh ear :?
go figure..........

shady23

Postby shady23 » August 9th, 2010, 4:56 pm

Ent. I will NEVER allow myself to be fooled by someone telling me if I don't do something their way I'll be punished. Wtf?

So just because I don't believe in your way of life, that makes me a sinner? Suppose I do everything your book tells you to do, just I don't believe in your book and your god, am I still damned?

Just because you believe in something, doesn't automatically make it right. That's ignorance.

Postby Redman » August 9th, 2010, 7:54 pm

This is an excellent thread
Without being a zealot I believe in God as I was taught to do growing up Roman Catholic. But I was also allowed to question the religion and find my equilibrium as an adult.
I intend to raise my son the same way -It will give him some parameters within which to work until he is able to use his judgment as he sees fit.
And give me some leverage when he outsmarts me.

All of the major religions have a long history of conquest and violent expansion, or expansion that was violent when necessary.No one religion can claim innocence in that regard.
But since its a matter of BELIEF and therefore also of opinion as to 'whose kung fu is better' religion is an easy way to separate and control as MG Man said.
And this is the source of most of the negativity -its used as a lever to motivate people in a particular direction,creating and exploiting perceived differences.Ask Adolf and Jim Jones.Even though the basic tenets remain similar if not identical.

But this burning of religious texts and indeed religious people of other persuasions (since mine is best) is as old as time.-The movie Kingdom of Heaven is an entertaining one that shows how long this has been happening-and will continue into the future.
The mechanism might change from burning at the stake, to horses and spears, to ak 47s and suicide bombings to internet propagation.
Like the assassin said in angels and Demons-"be careful after all, these ARE men of god"

Later

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 8:01 pm

Redman wrote:This is an excellent thread
Without being a zealot I believe in God as I was taught to do growing up Roman Catholic. But I was also allowed to question the religion and find my equilibrium as an adult.

that's brilliant! this is what we need more of! freedom to question