:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Goolie

Re: Power Tools

Postby Goolie » December 29th, 2011, 1:39 am

i'm looking for a 110V welder either arc or mig.. I saw bhags has one (arc) for $999, its a campbell hausfeld, any advice? ps has mig for $1329

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 29th, 2011, 8:11 am

Remember those would be for light duty work only.

If you plan to do any heavy work in the future, a 110V will not cut it.

What i like to do with any product is take the model # and then check Amazon for reviews.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 29th, 2011, 10:46 am

i was looking at those in bhags but only go up to 90A which isnt much , good for welding lighter steel like RHS or 1\8" thick but imo if u want to weld thicker materials u gonna need 1 that has more amperage

only thing good it has going for it is fairly lightweight & d portability ...

Goolie

Postby Goolie » December 29th, 2011, 10:59 am

really want it for light duties at home..
would these be able to weld a H-beam ? for a small roof (not the entire roof btw)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 29th, 2011, 11:12 am

i wouldnt buy that for beams even though they making those 2x3 & 2x4 beams thin no ass nowadays

invest in a regular lincoln welder http://www.lincolnelectric.com/en-us/Eq ... duct=K1170

its tool u will own for a lifetime

if u wont really have any more use after 1 or 2 projects better u hire a welder for d job\s - if u need a good welder i have a guy that does work for me when i dont have d time to do it myself , i can pm or post d no here if yall want ...

Goolie

Postby Goolie » December 29th, 2011, 11:36 am

thanks, i checked those but i wanted something cheaper with more portability...
i'll jus hav to keep checking yes.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 29th, 2011, 11:47 am

Home Store also has a Miller 110V wire welder. You can check if it meets your needs.

At the end of the day though a 110V machine will not be able to do proper welds on thicker steel like beams since few of them go over 90A.

Lincoln has a 110V machine that does 140A but it's not going to be cheap.

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2011, 3:46 pm

110v mig are a waste of time esp if a noname brand
mig welders generally have additional circuitry to help start and maintain steady arc
the noname ones are very crappy in that aspect not to mention the low amperage

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 29th, 2011, 7:58 pm

If you doing any kind of a home improvement job with welding, like a garage or dog kennels, or fencing, gate etc, get yourself a Lincoln 220v AC/DC welder, those are 250ACA, and 125DCA, they cost just under 4k usually and will pay for themselves in one job. But dont buy the shitty thin RHS, pure nightmare.

WH Scott on Independence square seems to carry most of the Record line of hand tools and vices, and clamps. I have a few, and haven't managed to break anything, except for a small crack on the mouth of my #4 hand plane which seems to have affected it, it was the greatest plane I've come across, take a rough hardwood plank down to glass smoothness.

Its not hard to make a great circle cutting jig from scrap 1/4" ply or hardboard or aluminum. Remove the plastic protective base of your router and copy the shape and screw pattern of it onto the ply, and then extend a triangular drawing to any side of it, down the middle of which you can draw a line and work out measurements from the FAR EDGE of the bit to the different radii you intend to use, drill some 1/16" holes along the line there. Drill and countersink the mounting holes to attach this to the router base, drill out a centre hole for the bit to pass through.
For example I made one to route speaker box holes with a 1/4" straight bit, so I worked out radius points for 9", 11", 14" holes (for 10", 12", 15" speakers), the 1/16" holes there I just pong in a finishing nail at the centre of the box hole, and route perfect holes every time. Make a few shallow spins, dont try to get it all in one pass.
Last edited by InDeForest on December 29th, 2011, 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 29th, 2011, 8:53 pm

I goin to make a circle jig now just because it sounding cool to make.

jackal

Postby jackal » January 2nd, 2012, 10:19 pm

When you buying tools buy brand name tools. Buy tools that you can get parts for in T&T.

For woodworking, buy Porta Cable Belt sander (4X24), Router 3.5 HP variable speed plunge, nail gun, Porta cable again, a 16 gauge is a nice one to start off with. For the planner, table saws, jointers, buy delta or jet. 15" is a good planner to start off with.

If those are too top brand for you, look at brands like Makita, DeWalt & Bosch. Stay away from Skill and black & Decker - these are for the more one off use for around the home.

For the welding, go with the Lincoln welding machine (FT farfan is the agent and they honor their warranty (3 years)).

If you can buy your tools online, it is better. What I have learnt over the years, is that manufacture make for two types of markets, one for the US and the other for the rest of the world.

A lot of people down hear will sell you the cheaper version at the higher price. Beware, we have a lot of refurbish tools on the market, some will tell you, other will not.

Buy from reputable dealers or agents in T&T, FT Farfan, Willian H. Scott, Lauglin (not sure of the spelling), Southern Wholesale stores for Makita, the DeWalt store at gulf city link road, there are a few other "hole in the wall" places that you can get some good deals as well, just have to look around.

For the compressor, look for a nice 5hp 20/25 gal one with tank certification from DeViss (again, not sure of the spelling). Now if you want portable, Porta Cable had some nice "pan cake" type unit, price mart had them with a 18gauge nail gun from around 2 grand.

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2012, 10:20 pm

jackal wrote:When you buying tools buy brand name tools. Buy tools that you can get parts for in T&T.

For woodworking, buy Porta Cable Belt sander (4X24), Router 3.5 HP variable speed plunge, nail gun, Porta cable again, a 16 gauge is a nice one to start off with. For the planner, table saws, jointers, buy delta or jet. 15" is a good planner to start off with.

If those are too top brand for you, look at brands like Makita, DeWalt & Bosch. Stay away from Skill and black & Decker - these are for the more one off use for around the home.

For the welding, go with the Lincoln welding machine (FT farfan is the agent and they honor their warranty (3 years)).

If you can buy your tools online, it is better. What I have learnt over the years, is that manufacture make for two types of markets, one for the US and the other for the rest of the world.

A lot of people down hear will sell you the cheaper version at the higher price. Beware, we have a lot of refurbish tools on the market, some will tell you, other will not.

Buy from reputable dealers or agents in T&T, FT Farfan, Willian H. Scott, Lauglin (not sure of the spelling), Southern Wholesale stores for Makita, the DeWalt store at gulf city link road, there are a few other "hole in the wall" places that you can get some good deals as well, just have to look around.

For the compressor, look for a nice 5hp 20/25 gal one with tank certification from DeViss (again, not sure of the spelling). Now if you want portable, Porta Cable had some nice "pan cake" type unit, price mart had them with a 18gauge nail gun from around 2 grand.

I dunno how serious we should take you, but it's called Porter Cable.

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2012, 10:21 pm

Matter of fact your english is pretty poor.

Are you from china?

Postby X_Factor » January 5th, 2012, 4:20 pm

its not really a power tool but this puts any other wire stripper to shame!
http://www.amazon.com/Irwin-Industrial- ... 599&sr=8-1

i used the stanley version locally and this irwin is about 5 times stronger and better!

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2012, 4:26 pm

I just ordered two of this soldering station
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... ouse_.html

supposed to be a clone of the legendary hakko 936

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 5th, 2012, 6:33 pm

X_Factor wrote:its not really a power tool but this puts any other wire stripper to shame!
http://www.amazon.com/Irwin-Industrial- ... 599&sr=8-1

i used the stanley version locally and this irwin is about 5 times stronger and better!

Its $200 at SWS. Got one last year to do my house electrical wiring. Strips 6mm wire without issue and then 24 AWG signal wire right after with no adjustment.

Dropped it quite a few times too. It dented the floor.

Nice price on the soldering station, first time seeing the variable heat. Alas i don't solder that much so i have to stick to the good ole Weller iron for now.

Postby X_Factor » January 5th, 2012, 7:06 pm

^ thats not a bad price, it cost me 120$ shipped via skybox

i already have a 40w,80w solder iron
gonna get this fawker in a couple mths
http://www.amazon.com/Weller-SP120-Watt ... d_sim_hi_7

anyone here uses those propane hand torches?

jackal

Postby jackal » January 8th, 2012, 8:20 pm

I dunno how serious we should take you, but it's called Porter Cable.

Do what you want dude, but you know what I talking 'bout.

People who know me, know how serious I am about my tools, spelling, not so good.

jackal

Postby jackal » January 8th, 2012, 8:25 pm

pioneer wrote:Matter of fact your english is pretty poor.

Are you from china?

English teacher I presume, or did I hit a nerve?

Very rare do I post and here, got two negative responses from the same individual one after another. I must really piss you off with my recommendations.

Postby pioneer » January 9th, 2012, 6:25 am

Serious tools are, serious.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 9th, 2012, 7:43 pm

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0047KSSD0/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

$99 for this combo. Among the best 12V drill/driver you will ever use and the M12 line seems to be growing daily.

It's $124 by itself so the meter is just gravy.

Postby pugboy » January 9th, 2012, 7:56 pm

Lithium batteries are the way to go now

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 17th, 2012, 2:59 pm

If anyone's interested, Laughlin & De Gannes/Tool Store has a 20% sale on everything in store going on right now.

Got a couple small tools I didn't need but picked it up because it was on sale (will get the look from wifey when I reach home :lol: ), and also picked up some car care stuff. Prices are pretty decent after discount.

It started yesterday apparently, but it ends tomorrow...

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 17th, 2012, 7:29 pm

Thanks.

Will go pick up a 2 ton jack tomorrow. Should be $250 after the 20%.

Edit - Wed 18th.

Got the jack, small no name 2 ton jack for $248. Was only 3 left too.

Didn't want to invest too much until i can afford one of those at Pmart for $900. I've used someone else's and it works great so i want one...
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on January 23rd, 2012, 8:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 17th, 2012, 7:35 pm

Amazon has a special on some Bosch 12V MAX and 18V MAX tools. Get an extra high capacity battery (worth $58 US) free. Ends Jan 31st.

Postby X_Factor » January 17th, 2012, 10:55 pm

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWD110K-8- ... VJSZED295R

nice buy...should cost less than 500 via skybox which is a steal!

TRDGUY

How do you feel about your toolkit/s guys

Postby TRDGUY » January 22nd, 2012, 7:42 pm

I guess this will apply to the guys who are passionate about getting their hands dirty after a days work ...when i open /close mines i feel good about the job i did knowing these tools made it easy enough... cleaning them and stacking them sequentially is equally a good feeling....

how you guys feel about your tool kits

Rahtid

Re: How do you feel about your toolkit/s guys

Postby Rahtid » January 22nd, 2012, 8:13 pm

well if is tools,,,as in tools to do work, I own a lot, not spanners etc, but not always do my workers clean and wash them. The expensive ones, I keep at home and I alone use it, whether its to jackhammer a floor etc, no one uses it except me.

I saw one of my workers fell in love with a shovel, the man mixing concrete etc all day, moving dirt etc all day yes...

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » January 22nd, 2012, 8:58 pm

brams112 wrote:see plenty men sometimes come on the forum to complain about gettin rob when they go to do a simple job as they put it,,,but if they bought the tools and do the simple job they will not have to complain right?the first thing they normally say ah doh have the tools,,,,

Dont think cuz fellas on tuner they can fix or tune cars eh, some dont have a car, some cant fix, some dont have time etc.

Postby brams112 » January 22nd, 2012, 9:18 pm

very true boi i have a socket set,plus spanners from 1/4 inch to around 24mm in my tool kit but don't have the time to use it,my first car i did not have time to even change oil,was to stressed out from work,now i have an assined vehicle to me that is new so no repairs is needed,but whenever the need arises for me to have use of the tools i have it on hand,,,l know what you are talking about tools and workers eh boi rahtid they don't respect what is not their's.