The Official Land Rover Thread

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Jon_One

Re: The Official Land Rover Thread

Postby Jon_One » May 20th, 2010, 11:41 pm

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=312910&p=4524502#p4524502

Allyuh quiet ! ..
yes some of us in here might be interested in those also cutthroatInt

venum

Postby venum » May 30th, 2010, 3:21 pm

yea place real quiet

allyuh out modding allyuh rovers :?:

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » May 30th, 2010, 10:28 pm

tryna find my dad old series 3 ! its a hard top to d 1 i posted in d link !! v8 etc... paj 3*3* sumtn i wud get exact number tommorow .. it black an white with d ridiculously huge a/c scoop thing on d roof !!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 30th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Jon_One wrote:tryna find my dad old series 3 ! its a hard top to d 1 i posted in d link !! v8 etc... paj 3*3* sumtn i wud get exact number tommorow .. it black an white with d ridiculously huge a/c scoop thing on d roof !!

was it red? with a white top? and the ac thing on the roof was also white?
it has a v8 badge at the back of the van?

if so, this was owned by some ppl in grande up till about 2007. It used to be in and around grande on a regular basis. i believe some church ppl had it.

i cant say if its still up there as i dont be in the east on a regular basis anymore.

but one thing for sure, growing up, i was always fascinated by this red land rover... moreso of the fact that it had a v8 badge behind.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » May 30th, 2010, 11:23 pm

well up until my father sell it in 1997 it was black an white... so it is possible that thats it ... i wud ask him tommorow .. but he did tell me the man was from grande recently !

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 31st, 2010, 1:01 am

^cool

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 31st, 2010, 2:33 am

The talk was that when caroni close down, at the auction for the vehicles, people were picking up defenders for like $5000 each etc...

True or not?

venum

Postby venum » May 31st, 2010, 8:24 am

I won't doubt that, at auctions ppl get good prices, but depends on the auction, sometimes u pay too much

somebody buy a rover nah, I wanna experiment a lil bit to decide if to buy one myself

I leaning more to FJ40 Land Cruiser

venum

Postby venum » June 23rd, 2010, 3:05 pm

palce quiet these days

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » July 1st, 2010, 6:45 am

Jon get one quick.....what r u waiting on...?

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » July 1st, 2010, 10:17 am

money ... thats my biggest problem.. waiting for my buisness to start first .. i checked out a few defenders though..

greatbear

Postby greatbear » July 17th, 2010, 11:53 am

this is my new toy, engine works perfeclty, just need a little work on the tranny and well the obvious cosmetic work. i'm looking for a canvas or hard top any help would be greatly appreciated
lr4.jpg
lr3.jpg
lr2.jpg
lr1.jpg
Last edited by greatbear on July 17th, 2010, 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » July 17th, 2010, 2:18 pm

it looking good considerin d age .. right now im tryin to find my dads old v8 series....

call this fella >>ryan he might have a canvas or hard top lyin around

greatbear

Postby greatbear » July 17th, 2010, 3:16 pm

Jon_One wrote:it looking good considerin d age .. right now im tryin to find my dads old v8 series....

call this fella >>ryan he might have a canvas or hard top lyin around

you have a number for him? i got the tranny working, have to change the clutch plate which i'm getting from lenny sumadth and it'll be road worthy believe it or not.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » July 18th, 2010, 12:06 am

7846278...sorry i thought i put it up

btw hw much u get that 4?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 18th, 2010, 7:56 am

Great Find greatbear :!:

Point to note, the dashbord will rot out before the rest of the vehicle does :lol:

... but you have a little work to do, and you are lucky to get a good working LR at that age.... especially one that get beat out by Caroni Limited Workers.

Fellas, I saw a full page ad in the papers last week with Defenders selling at 399K. I'll see if I can locate and scan it for the thread.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » July 18th, 2010, 8:00 am

Anti-Stall is a very interesting feature....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2010, 8:21 am

Wow!!!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 18th, 2010, 9:16 am

NAH!!!!

In--Fucking--sane
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 18th, 2010, 9:20 am

...I watching that and thinking of climbing Rushworth Street in Sando ..........with no throttle :twisted:

venum

Postby venum » July 18th, 2010, 9:23 am

i sure it could make san fernando street (killer hill next to st james street)

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » July 18th, 2010, 11:51 am

fellaz the land rover im lookin 4 T/PAJ 3172....it was black and white ... it had a v8 and a big scoop on the roof for ac... last spotted in grande

greatbear

Postby greatbear » July 18th, 2010, 4:15 pm

yeah the dash board in pretty rough shape, i'm looking for either an original one or probably build it over with fibre glass. seats well im gonna put bucket seats so it'll be a bit more comfortable and well change the steering wheel. lots of stuff to do before it bring it out. colours, well i'm looking at original land rover colours leaning towards the tan/creame or the yellow, im going matte though, or i think matte black will look real good if done properly.

i paid 15K for it, i know you might think its alot but its kind of hard to find one and the owner actually willing to part with it. and i've been searching a long time so i just took it. the clutch costing about $800 to fix including parts and labour. and well i've decided i wanna go with a hard top so i'm on the search, if not i'll build one properly myself.

i'll keep you all posted with the progress, might be slow though funding kinda slow :(

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » July 18th, 2010, 11:41 pm

you should b able 2 get1 from ryan he has tons of landrover parts...and if u r up for it you could install a newer defender dash

droppa

Postby droppa » July 21st, 2010, 2:30 pm

anyone intrested i can link a PBA LR discovery from fire services auction, it is missing some engine parts and the tranny is screwed, but the guy who is selling it will organise all the necessary parts to get it on the road...he wants 45K for the disco and 10K for a complete engine and tranny to mount over on the body shell....

with ah 55K he will organise it driving for u......

droppa

Postby droppa » July 21st, 2010, 2:39 pm

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » July 23rd, 2010, 9:41 am

hmmm...which disco exactly? and is the body and interior in good condition?

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » July 23rd, 2010, 9:49 am

link some pics...

droppa

Postby droppa » July 26th, 2010, 1:04 pm

hoss pics kinda hard to link up cause where the van is, we had to kinda go tru in obstacle course to get a glance of it....

it not beating weather or anything tho, but will need a re-paint,

here is the guys number, u can call him and chat with him,

jus tell him the u got the number from the guy from campoo, with the blue jimny

476-4295...Choppy.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 26th, 2010, 1:44 pm

that anti stall is SERIOUSLY cool!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”