COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 10:44 am

Prices must go up,

Its a business ppl running.

Stop seeking sympathy.

Cruel?
Unfair?
Heartless?

This is the world we live in.

Money saves lives and Good Samaritans are fading away slowly.

Postby Kenjo » March 14th, 2020, 10:46 am

hydroep wrote:On a positive note the gas stations on my side like a ghost town. Fill up and check tyres in 10 minutes yes.

Back to the virus: My suspicion is that the thing has spread already and they're feeding people numbers gradually to get them acclimatized to the situation. Frog in hot water business...:|

I wonder if this happened in all those other countries or Trinidad is that special

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 14th, 2020, 10:47 am

So if someone is contracts the coronavirus and has to self quarantine, what medication is suggested to use to help fight it off?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2020, 10:54 am

Ones to ease symptoms. acetaminophen (panadol or other brands), Nyquil, mucinex or other cough syrup of your choice. A humidifier is a good to have.
Musical Doc wrote:So if someone is contracts the coronavirus and has to self quarantine, what medication is suggested to use to help fight it off?

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2020, 10:58 am

If someone contracts COVID-19 they will send you to the hospital and quarantine there until the numbers get too high to handle. Hospital is the best place for doctors to monitor your vitals constantly.

There is no medicine self-treatment at home except the same as flu. Panadol to keep the fever down, ORS rehydration mix to stay hydrated, and meat soups to get protein and salts for your body to fight it. There is no medication currently to fight the virus directly. Hopefully you will pull through.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 14th, 2020, 11:03 am

Kenjo wrote:
hydroep wrote:On a positive note the gas stations on my side like a ghost town. Fill up and check tyres in 10 minutes yes.

Back to the virus: My suspicion is that the thing has spread already and they're feeding people numbers gradually to get them acclimatized to the situation. Frog in hot water business...:|

I wonder if this happened in all those other countries or Trinidad is that special

where there is an outbreak at NP or the distributor den u go see scare gas and panick buying. but if i not going anywhere den y do i need gas?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 14th, 2020, 11:04 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Ones to ease symptoms. acetaminophen (panadol or other brands), Nyquil, mucinex or other cough syrup of your choice. A humidifier is a good to have.
Musical Doc wrote:So if someone is contracts the coronavirus and has to self quarantine, what medication is suggested to use to help fight it off?

If you are getting cough medicine, make sure it is a expectorant and not a suppressant. Suppressants will kill you if you have pneumonia. Mucinex and other Guaifenesin based syrups are what you need. I recommend Aurocoff because in addition to Guaifenesin it also contains salbutamol to keep your airways open. Some doctors are also using chloroquine to treat the symptoms, but this is risky as chloroquie has nasty side effects. Tamiflu is also being used as an antiviral, but that is hard to come by in Trinidad on a good day. Gesol/Prolyte or at the least Gatorade/Powerade is a must.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 14th, 2020, 11:11 am

So would that mean panadol would be better to use than panadeine? My wife is allergic to panadol so I'm looking for an alternative

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 14th, 2020, 11:21 am

Musical Doc wrote:So would that mean panadol would be better to use than panadeine? My wife is allergic to panadol so I'm looking for an alternative

Get generic paracetamol, Panadeine contains codeine, which should not be used in this instance.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 14th, 2020, 11:25 am

triniterribletim wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:So would that mean panadol would be better to use than panadeine? My wife is allergic to panadol so I'm looking for an alternative

Get generic paracetamol, Panadeine contains codeine, which should not be used in this instance.

Thanks! Will do that

boxy

Postby boxy » March 14th, 2020, 11:25 am

Because they trace everyone who was in contact with patient zero and test from their It doesn't make sense wasting tests on random people if no cases were reported.
rspann wrote:After the first case in most countries ,the rise seems to be exponential.

Postby 88sins » March 14th, 2020, 11:30 am

triniterribletim wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Ones to ease symptoms. acetaminophen (panadol or other brands), Nyquil, mucinex or other cough syrup of your choice. A humidifier is a good to have.

If you are getting cough medicine, make sure it is a expectorant and not a suppressant. Suppressants will kill you if you have pneumonia. Mucinex and other Guaifenesin based syrups are what you need. I recommend Aurocoff because in addition to Guaifenesin it also contains salbutamol to keep your airways open. Some doctors are also using chloroquine to treat the symptoms, but this is risky as chloroquie has nasty side effects. Tamiflu is also being used as an antiviral, but that is hard to come by in Trinidad on a good day. Gesol/Prolyte or at the least Gatorade/Powerade is a must.

If you can find it, I strongly recommend getting a bottle of African Sea coconut.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 11:36 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Ed does make up most of them stories eh fellas. For the attention.

It is very sad that you would make up a lie like that just to cover up the illiteracy of Trinis, I can only assume you also believe the earth is flat, 5000 years old and you can bool any doctor in Trinidad due to your similar macho man skills

Anyways back to Corona

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 11:45 am

maj. tom wrote:If someone contracts COVID-19 they will send you to the hospital and quarantine there until the numbers get too high to handle. Hospital is the best place for doctors to monitor your vitals constantly.

There is no medicine self-treatment at home except the same as flu. Panadol to keep the fever down, ORS rehydration mix to stay hydrated, and meat soups to get protein and salts for your body to fight it. There is no medication currently to fight the virus directly. Hopefully you will pull through.

They will send you to Caura Hospital where you will probably end up getting Tuberculosis.

Most Trinis aren't going to get tested, most will not care and will just spread it around, nobody going to have themselves be treated like an AIDS patient in hospitals with beds that resemble a 3rd world prison where every minute some moron is screaming in agony for a nurse or doctor to help them with pain waking your @ss up every 10 minutes during the night and then the smell of pure filthy human sh!t every 10 minutes being released into the air as the next door patient just took a sh!t in his diaper.

I have been to our hospitals, I rather dead from Corona in a forest and become carrion for the wild than go to these stink places we call hospitals for a disease where there is no cure and where doctors won't actually do jack sh!t as they become completely overwhelmed by patients.

philliprock

Postby philliprock » March 14th, 2020, 11:49 am

by december 31st we would have lots to talk about.

january: the great Australia fires
feburary: world war 3 almost broke out
march: corona virus in trinidad

rasstlemania 36 to the brink of cancelling
E3 cancelled
not to mention movies to, the new james bond, the quiet place part 2, new mutants (like dat movie forever cursed)

seems like 2020 is the end of days :shock:
but atleast d playstation 5 coming out dis year for xmas :)

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2020, 11:56 am

rspann wrote:They should charge people for spreading false information. Look at the other thread that was locked. It's easy for simple minded persons to believe anything they hear.
Yes please

antlind

Postby antlind » March 14th, 2020, 12:05 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
maj. tom wrote:If someone contracts COVID-19 they will send you to the hospital and quarantine there until the numbers get too high to handle. Hospital is the best place for doctors to monitor your vitals constantly.

They will send you to Caura Hospital where you will probably end up getting Tuberculosis.

Most Trinis aren't going to get tested, most will not care and will just spread it around, nobody going to have themselves be treated like an AIDS patient in hospitals with beds that resemble a 3rd world prison where every minute some moron is screaming in agony for a nurse or doctor to help them with pain waking your @ss up every 10 minutes during the night and then the smell of pure filthy human sh!t every 10 minutes being released into the air as the next door patient just took a sh!t in his diaper.

I have been to our hospitals, I rather dead from Corona in a forest and become carrion for the wild than go to these stink places we call hospitals for a disease where there is no cure and where doctors won't actually do jack sh!t as they become completely overwhelmed by patients.

Well said. While I may not always agree with you ED, I do agree with you on this 100%.

Postby hydroep » March 14th, 2020, 12:12 pm

^x2. I prefer to dead home in my bed than try for recovery in those places yes...:|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 12:20 pm

antlind wrote:
Well said. While I may not always agree with you ED, I do agree with you on this 100%.

^ yup I intend to suck my citrus I have some trees, eat my veggies things like broccoli, carrots, milk, eggs, kale, dates, prunes and the list goes on that I have, natural vitamins I don't need lab created ones that Trinis are panic buying and pharmacies raising prices, continue my daily rope skipping and weight loss, keeping my blood sugar at excellent levels which it is right now doing my push ups and sit ups etc etc

Plus my house has AC and my gaming system I rather dead like this than those hot hospitals where the AC is never working and the smell of death and filth with endless diseases in the air and a doctor that is NEVER available.

Treat your body correctly and your body will treat you correctly, no need to crowd up the hospitals with this nonsense and buying out all the blasted toilet paper like this virus is some kind of sh!tting virus.

According to statistics based on my age and sugar level I have a 0.2% chance of dying from this virus or having some kind of serious damage happen to me. Those are better odds than my daily commuting to work with retarded taxi drivers and morons constantly breaking red lights in this country or people who smoke cigarettes etc So me eh worried about this one bit when my time come I go meet meh maker I have some questions I want answered.

Postby 88sins » March 14th, 2020, 12:22 pm

I heard them say our official first patient came from a trip overseas where he contracted COVID-19, & that he then transmitted ir to his daughter. No query there.

What I'd like to know is what exactly is being done wrt the other passengers that were on that flight? Have they been ID'd and informed to isolate themselves until they can be tested?

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 12:48 pm

88sins wrote:I heard them say our official first patient came from a trip overseas where he contracted COVID-19, & that he then transmitted ir to his daughter. No query there.

What I'd like to know is what exactly is being done wrt the other passengers that were on that flight? Have they been ID'd and informed to isolate themselves until they can be tested?

Hello Reek,

A very good observation.

Let us not forget the aircraft cleaners, security, port health, customs, customer service employees, caterers etc who worked that day and were on board before and after the flight.Seems the main focus was on the CAL crews.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2020, 12:52 pm

Ministry of Health will hold a press conference at 4pm today

Screenshot 2020-03-14 at 12.51.06 PM.jpg

It will be live streamed on their page
https://www.facebook.com/15116202491361 ... 606514292/

Postby toyolink » March 14th, 2020, 12:58 pm

Please remember that is only going to add to our already high stress levels.
Special attention must be placed by all of us on managing stress and being careful not to create negative and destructive tensions at home, in our work place and even in our interface with fellows citizens who are also under pressure.
Our physical well being depends to a great extent on our emotional and mental profile.
Stay focused on doing things we all know to do to avoid a air borne illness and do so whilst still engendering a pleasant atmosphere for those around us.
Our children need us to assure them by how we behave.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 14th, 2020, 1:01 pm

US travel ban extended to U.K. and Ireland...

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/trump- ... uk-ireland

Postby toyolink » March 14th, 2020, 1:08 pm

One wonders if the average citizens can really process all the information coming at them about this global pandemic without going into infor over-load and the associated negative impacts.

Postby Country_Bookie » March 14th, 2020, 1:16 pm

Miktay wrote:US travel ban extended to U.K. and Ireland...

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/trump- ... uk-ireland
Trinidad needs to ban travel from Europe, which is now the epicentre of the virus. New Zealand has 6 cases and they are telling all persons entering the country from tomorrow they have to self quarantine for 14 days. We need to consider that as well.... to slow the spread of the virus before it overwhelms our public health system.

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 1:17 pm

toyolink wrote:One wonders if the average citizens can really process all the information coming at them about this global pandemic without going into infor over-load and the associated negative impacts.

As we have seen,

The first thing that came to the average Trinidadian’s mind was toilet paper.

Basic hygiene, current developments, protocols, following simple instructions is a bit too much for a Trini brain.

The most that can be done is pray.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 14th, 2020, 1:19 pm

Some of alluh just being unnecessarily alarmist.

There is no noted treatment protocol for Corona. It's basically the same treatment for the flu hence stay at home and take care of your selves with otc medicine and rests.

Unless you're immune system already compromised or you are elderly it may not even reach to the stage of pneumonia. Pneumonia is the biggest threat in this virus and even that cud be prevented whem you suspect that you already have the disease.

Stop with this alarmist bs...if you suspect u have it just stay home and notify the health services accordingly.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 14th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Redress10 wrote:Some of alluh just being unnecessarily alarmist.

There is no noted treatment protocol for Corona. It's basically the same treatment for the flu hence stay at home and take care of your selves with otc medicine and rests.

Unless you're immune system already compromised or you are elderly it may not even reach to the stage of pneumonia. Pneumonia is the biggest threat in this virus and even that cud be prevented whem you suspect that you already have the disease.

Stop with this alarmist bs...if you suspect u have it just stay home and notify the health services accordingly.

we need to avoid leaving our homes otherwise 50% of us will die...../Facebook

Postby aaron17 » March 14th, 2020, 1:45 pm