Local Ting än Ting

TriP

Re: Local Ting än Ting

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 6:45 pm

Local Fraternity ~ Trinidad and Tobago Private Yacht Party

Nice Mellow Soca Muzik ~ Girls Girls Girls ~ Buns Buns Buns ~ 8-)

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Local Rainbow Warriors Triathlon Club ~ River Raid 9
8.jpg
9.jpg
10.jpg
7.jpg
6.jpg
3.jpg
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 7:04 pm

Nice Forest View ~ How Many Animals
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 7:17 pm

Local Rally ~ Trinidad Shake Down ~ Test Flying

Aerial View of Multicopters to the 'Test Flying' in 15kt+ Winds ~ From "Video Aerial & Ground Solutions"

One of our custom built Tarot Hexacopters with 12" Carbon Fiber Prop

Wind was a challenge but our custom build handled it perfectly

Rally Footage Ched: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=618937
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
6.jpg
5.jpg
7.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 7:30 pm

Local Chaguaramas ~Aerial Drone View - 1
15.jpg
14.jpg
13.jpg
12.jpg
11.jpg
10.jpg
9.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 7:33 pm

Local Chaguaramas ~Aerial Drone View - 2
8.jpg
7.jpg
6.jpg
5.jpg
4.jpg
3.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 8:37 pm

Local Weekend Events ~ 13th-14th-15thMarch 2015

1. The Luces Brothers International Memorial Classic takes place this weekend
13th-14th-15th March 2015 at Skinner Park - San Fernando

19th March - Southern Games Criterium - Marabella

21st-22nd March - Southern Games (Grass Track Cycling) - Guaracara Park

28th-29th - Barracuda Memorial Track League - Skinner Park

3rd-4th-5th April - UCI Class III - EASTER INTERNATIONAL GRAND PRIX - Arima Velodrome & Skinner Park

10th-11th April - The Revenge - Arima Velodrome

2. Saturday 14th and Sunday March’15 Fitness Walkers explore the Madamas River.

Assembly: 4.30am at the Brasso Seco Visitors Centre and consists of four legs that include
A camp-out at Paria Bay.

Leg 1: Depart 5.30am Brasso Seco Village to Macajuel Pond 2 hours
Leg 2: exploration of the Madamas River to the Bay 6-8 hours.
Leg 3: Madamas Bay to overnight at Paria 4 hours.
Leg 4: "Return on Sunday" morning from Paria Bay to Brasso Seco Village 3 hours.

Mario 749-2956

3. Surfing Association of Trinidad and Tobago ~ Surf Trials ~ Sunday March 22nd 2015
Beach Break ~ San Souci

4. Tour of Gasparee caves and Gaspar Grande Island ~ Sunday 15th March 2015

Adults $ 150 & children $ 120

Departure: Island Home Owners Association Chaguaramas ~ Time: 930 am - 1pm

Cost includes:

Entrance fee to Island Property Owners Association, Chaguaramas
Guided to tour of Gasparee caves and Gaspar Grande Island
CDA fees
Boat transfer fees between islands

5. Mudaholics "Mud Dogs" Presents ~ Penal Quinam Road Penal ~ Sunday March 15th ~ 9am - 6pm

6. Beach Dodgeball ~ Maracas Beach ~ Sunday March 15th ~ 9am

Series of fun-packed adventure challenges for children aged 5-15 years old

Dodgeball is a fun-packed game that helps children develop teamwork skills as well as develop super quick reactions and agility! And what makes Dodgeball 1000 times more fun that it already is? Dodgeball on the BEACH

DATE: Sunday, March 15th
TIME: 9am Registration, Maracas Beach
10am Start
FEE: $60 per child
GEAR: Beachwear!

7. Hike to Fondes Amandes ~ Saturday 14th March

The Fondes Amandes watershed is the land area between the Lady Chancellor Ridge and St Ann's Aripita Ridge.

It is a major tributary that flows into the St Ann's River. The area was once used to cultivate nutmeg (mystical fragrant), although the name Fondes Amandes refers to a place for almonds.

The hike starts at the Chancellor Look-out and the walk along the ridge into the valley will take an hour.

The pools located upstream, and the trek along the bank will take a further fifteen minutes to get there.

The main pool is clean and crystal clear with a small deep basin for swimming. The Fondes Amandes Community request that visitor’s keep a clean scene and do not litter the surroundings at the river.

A significant feature alongside the bank is a solid square concrete structure, probably built during the 1800’s with a cast iron door and small air vents to the top.

This relic may have been used to store agriculture produce and supplies, however, some villager’s debate that it could have been a detention unit for slaves.

Cost is $80 ~ Hike Fee is $50 ~ Transport Fee is $30

Assemble at Scotiabank San Juan for 6:00am and Transport leaves at 6:45am sharp.

Jeswin @ 706-2762 / 375-0260 ~ Steffan @7835839 / 333-5924

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 8:50 pm

Local Turkey

The Turkey ‪Vulture‬ grows up to 76cm with a wingspread of 1.8m and is very shy.

They can be found in or around forested areas in Trinidad (absent in Tobago).

They feed on carrion much smaller in size to that of what the Black Vulture engages including small mammals, and reptiles.

These are often compared to the Zone-tailed Hawk in flight.

2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Local Models ~ 2015 PhotoShoot

In Order:

Maribel

Krissie

Sha

Anastcia

Whitney Moore

Marisa Mohammed

Adele Safah Mohammed
3.jpg
5.jpg
4.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
2.jpg
1.jpg

Postby shogun » March 12th, 2015, 9:08 pm

Those Chaguaramas Aerials tho. 8-)

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 9:22 pm

Local Character Shoot ~ College Drama ~ Young Wild and Free

South Block's Next Top Model is a Fashion Competition, ~ Designed to showcase the style and grace that the Milner Hall Fashionistas bring to the table.

This Competition takes place in the Second Semester of each Academic Year

March 14th ~ Milner Hall ~ 6pm
2.jpg
5.jpg
2.jpg
4.jpg
3.jpg
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 12th, 2015, 9:23 pm

yeh.. i liking dem Chag shots 8-)

Postby Morpheus » March 12th, 2015, 10:41 pm

Chag shots are great!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 13th, 2015, 1:51 am

fkn drones have some range on dem...wow

nice triathalon pics too

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 9:35 am

dem aerial drones rel have distance..
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 9:56 am

Local Prominent Business Man ~ Max Senhouse

Max Senhouse revolutionised marketing in T&T.

He was a unique character - He was a jovial chap - You couldn't help loving him

From way back in the 70's people admired this man for his clever marketing strategies

Long before "Credit" there was "Hire Purchase" with which Max made household items available to poor folks

He was a small businessman who took to the airwaves - People was looking foward to his radio on Radio Trinidad show and to hear him say - "You need the goods - We need the money " Chant

With just the one outlet in Tunapuna - People were coming from all over the country to buy furniture from his store

His name was always on the Radio - TV - Newspapers - Scouting for Talent - Mastana Bahar

“It was only until I was about 19 I saw my potential in the business....originally I was an accountant for a shipping company"

“I learned what it was like to be an employee first in order to know what I like and do not like as a managing director"

Max Senhouse has died at the age of 78

R.I.P Max
1.jpg
3.jpg

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2015, 10:01 am

Can you find some stuff on the 25th Anniversary of UWI FMS Mt. Hope? They put up a lot of stuff in the library there, would be nice to have it documented on the internet.

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 10:03 am

Local Calypso History ~ 1974
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 10:14 am

UWI’s Medical Sciences Faculty Celebrates 25 with free public Health Fair

FMS @25 “One Health”, the Faculty will host a free health fair on Sunday, March 15, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Mount Hope, near Amphitheatre A and the Medical Sciences Li

http://sta.uwi.edu/news/releases/release.asp?id=1376

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2015, 10:23 am

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 10:25 am

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 10:39 am

Local Guinness Song ~ Mighty Sparrow

Guinness, keeps your pecker up,
Guinness, and then you right on top,
Guinness, I really love the blend,
Guinness is a man's best friend.
Oh oh oh no other drink ever give a man so much happiness,
Blessed is the day that meh mama make me drink Guinness in the morning,
Guinness in the evening. Guinness, with a little milk and egg,
Guinness, somebody bound to beg,
Guinness, I really love the blend,
Guinness is a man's best friend.

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 10:45 am

Local Leatherback Turtles Satellite Tracking ~ Asha - Beverly - Christie

I’m keeping my eye on Beverly right now. Still moving south. I think we’ll know in just a few more days whether or not she’s going to start the great swim toward Trinidad. I have the same feeling I get when I want to know the ending of a story right away without waiting any longer. And in this case, I can’t flip to the final pages of a book to satisfy my curiosity. Turtles teach me patience!

I’m glad to see Christie is heading closer to Trinidad.

It’s been one month since we last heard from Asha. And I have to admit wondering where she is, too. Asha was our mystery turtle this year. She didn’t have a recorded nesting history. No flipper tags. No microchip. Where she went was going to be a complete surprise. Hope we get to find out someday.

https://canadaseaturtle.wordpress.com/2 ... s-thicken/
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 10:50 am

ah droppin' tis here.. :wink:
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 11:08 am

Local Painting ~ Sweet Life In Blanchisseuse
1..jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 11:11 am

Last Pic of Max Senhouse - Pat & Max Limited – Plastic & I.D. Card System, was founded by Mr. Max Senhouse in 1984.
max.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 11:12 am

Manzanilla
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 11:17 am

Local Aerial Drone ~ Maracas Beach

Gaddahar & Drone1Plus Teams

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 11:34 am

Beets

Beets can Lower Blood pressure - Prevent Constipation - Reduces Inflammation and Give your Blood a Boost

Beets have zero trans fat and zero saturated fat. They are also low calorie. How’s that for a food to satisfy your hunger and have the ability to satisfy a sweet tooth at the same time? Beets are high in carbohydrates which means they are a great instant energy source, but unlike processed foods which are high in carbohydrates, beets will energise your body and can be regarded as body fuel.

Beets contain sodium, magnesium, calcium, iron and phosperous. They are also considered a fibre food and contain vitamins A and C as well as niacin.

Beets contain folic acid which is necessary for the production and maintenance of new cells. This is especially important for pregnant woman or anyone undergoing physical healing. Many people take folic acid in the form of herbal supplements, but if you eat beets, you won’t need to. It is always better for the body to receive it’s nutrients and vitamins through food over a supplement because it is like mainlining the natural source into your bloodstream. The benefits are far superior and faster with real food over powder mixes or pills.

Studies have shown that beets guard against cancer, especially colon cancer. Medical studies have also shown that including beets in your diet helps protect a body against heart disease.

Beets can be eaten raw or you can boil, steam roast or sautee them. Additionally raw beets can be juiced very easily. But be warned, beet juice is extremely strong and powerful. If you want the benefits of beet juice but candle handle drinking it straight up, then mix it with some carrot or apple juice for a milder but still beneficial juice.

Choose small or medium-sized beets whose roots are firm, smooth-skinned and deep in colour. Smaller, younger beets may be so tender that peeling won’t be needed after they are cooked.

Avoid beets that have spots, bruises or soft, wet areas, all of which indicate spoilage. Shrivelled or flabby should also be avoided as these are signs that the roots are aged, tough and fibrous.

While the quality of the greens does not reflect that of the roots, if you are going to consume this very nutritious part of the plant, look for greens that appear fresh, tender, and have a lively green colour.

Cut the majority of the greens and their stems from the beet roots, so they do not pull away moisture away from the root. Leave about two inches of the stem attached to prevent the roots from “bleeding.” Do not wash beets before storing. Place in a plastic bag and wrap the bag tightly around the beets, squeezing out as much of the air from the bag as possible, and place in refrigerator where they will keep for up to three weeks.

Store the unwashed greens in a separate plastic bag squeezing out as much of the air as possible. Place in refrigerator where they will keep fresh for about four days.

Raw beets do not freeze well since they tend to become soft upon thawing. Freezing cooked beets is fine; they’ll retain their flavour and texture.

When preparing, rinse beets gently under cold running water, taking care not to tear the skin, which helps keep the health-promoting pigments inside.

Since beet juice can stain your skin, wearing kitchen gloves is a good idea when handling beets. If your hands become stained during the cleaning and cooking process, simply rub some lemon juice on them to remove the stain.

Cook beets lightly. Studies show beets’ concentration of phytonutrients, such as betalains, is diminished by heat.

Peel beets by setting them on a cutting board and rubbing the skin off with a paper towel. Wearing kitchen gloves will help prevent your hands from becoming stained.

Beets’ colour can be modified during cooking. Adding an acidic ingredient such as lemon juice or vinegar will brighten the colour while an alkaline substance such as baking soda will often cause them to turn a deeper purple. Salt will blunt beets’ colour, so add only at the end of cooking if needed.

A few quick serving ideas:

— Simply grate raw beets for a delicious and colourful addition to salads or decorative garnish for soups.

— Boil beet greens for one minute for a great tasting side dish, which is very similar to Swiss chard.

— Marinate steamed beets in fresh lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil, and fresh herbs.

http://newsday.co.tt/features/0,171436.html
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 14th, 2015, 11:52 am

People of Trinidad and Tobago ~ Arin King

The Football Loving Firefighter

“Whenever I had a ball at my feet nothing else in the world mattered, it was my escape. Now that I have grown older football has become my purpose, something I would do to clear my mind, something to put a smile on my face, on the faces of people of my country.

The shy Canada-born defender with Trinidadian parentage (her mother is Trinidadian) is smiling and soaking in her achievement despite her team’s recent World Cup misfortune. Last year a 1-0 loss to Ecuador on local soil denied the Women Soca Warriors a debut showing at the 2015 FIFA Women’s Football World Cup in Canada

“I know the intricacies of competition, you win some and lose some. But sport has taught me so many lessons — discipline, integrity, professionalism,” she informs. Our impromptu interview (her stay in T&T is short but sweet) translates expectedly into football language — pure dribbles, passes and headers.

At the tender age of five she would kick her first ball and by age nine she would be scoring goals for her first club team, Pickering Power coached by Lorraine Clarke.

To be honest I came home one day from school when I was five years old with a flyer and told my parents that I wanted to play football. Surprisingly, they allowed me. Back then it wasn’t a popular sport for women. From the minute I laced up my first pair of cleats, I knew that my life would change. The rest became history. As I grew older I truly fell in love with the game,” King recalls. “I remember my first game like if it were yesterday. I was tall for my age and I was quick. Dribbling was my forte. From sideline to sideline, passing one player, passing a next and goal! I was young though, I scored in my own goal post, I couldn’t distinguish between the two,” the former T&T Under 17 player adds.

“I just recently graduated from Centennial College, Canada where I obtained my certificate for Pre-Service Firefighting. I chose firefighting because it represents courage, compassion and service. Also, to be a firefighter is to be part of a family, they are like your crew.”

“Like your team mates on the football team? I interject, to which she affirms. I see certain qualities illuminate in the shy but composed young woman. She is a team player, she is a people person, and she is one who craves a challenge. “I love to push myself and venture into unchartered territories. Firefighting and football are male dominated arenas, in both realms women are just as capable as men, just because we aren’t as strong doesn’t mean that we are not as deserving,” she declares

“Five years from now I see myself having played in a World Cup, having established a great football resume with a women’s professional team and of course starting a career as a firefighter,” King states.

Have you ever heard the term “eat, sleep, breathe football”? Well these words are my reality. People don’t realise the vision and potential women bring to the pitch. We suffer with lack of funding and preparation because of it. I hope that one of these days my efforts and those of my team mates remove these obstacles. Oh and we will make it to the World Cup the next time around!” she states with strong confidence.

Interview: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/woman-ma ... 97561.html
3.jpg
2.jpg
1.jpg
1.jpg (16.19 KiB) Viewed 3921 times