PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

jm3

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby jm3 » November 19th, 2010, 12:05 am

how hot are the 5000 series ati cards btw cuz if i get one of those instead of cooling upgrades or a good airflow case i will surely give myself more headaches

Postby M_2NR » November 19th, 2010, 12:16 am

they run hot.. my padna was telling me around 70's he seeing. (5850) i think they designed to run hot.

Saying that ati/amd has less issues compared to nvidia wrt to graphics is like... :rofl:

Yea i hate OC'n as said before but are u sure your issues didnt stem from your timings? or a faulty card?

Postby bushwakka » November 19th, 2010, 7:42 am

i see on the evga forums that the 460 gtx runs quite hot...80+
and that the External Exhaust is not a good idea

Postby M_2NR » November 19th, 2010, 2:33 pm

See my previous post on that. Mines never ever crossed >65C and that's when my a.c off and it idles around 35C and with ac as low as 28C

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 20th, 2010, 6:02 am

bushwakka wrote:i see on the evga forums that the 460 gtx runs quite hot...80+

M_2NR wrote:See my previous post on that. Mines never ever crossed >65C and that's when my a.c off and it idles around 35C and with ac as low as 28C

If External Exhaust is the one with the fan at the right side of the card I can't confirm that 80+ temperature. It could also be a faulty card.
But the other one which looks like this I get similar temperatures as M_2NR (idle at 36C and max at 67C and the fan is still silent)and my room is sealed off with no a/c and gpu is at 720Mhz (not 675Mhz) under load.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 20th, 2010, 8:22 am

My GPU is Overclocked and i get 49C on idle

Postby M_2NR » November 20th, 2010, 2:56 pm

fouljuice wrote:

M_2NR wrote:See my previous post on that. Mines never ever crossed >65C and that's when my a.c off and it idles around 35C and with ac as low as 28C

If External Exhaust is the one with the fan at the right side of the card I can't confirm that 80+ temperature. It could also be a faulty card.
But the other one which looks like this I get similar temperatures as M_2NR (idle at 36C and max at 67C and the fan is still silent)and my room is sealed off with no a/c and gpu is at 720Mhz (not 675Mhz) under load.

Um mine is a EE. right now i monitoring my card and its idling at 39C without ac.

i think i have a pic somewhere with it going as low as 28C but ill save it next time when my ac on (tonight)
gpuobs.JPG
gpuobs.JPG (12.53 KiB) Viewed 1359 times

and gracen, you shouldnt have it oc'd all the time k?

But those cards can run hot too. I have the slimline one and it used to go around 80C lol.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 20th, 2010, 3:26 pm

Thanks man

but 80C wowww

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 20th, 2010, 3:57 pm

Did some more overclocking cuz i was bored, wrote down everything and then reset it back to defaults

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 20th, 2010, 5:35 pm

Doh take on catalyst at face value when u overclocking eh. Run some games for a few hours and see if the overclock really stable.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 21st, 2010, 9:51 am

when im running games for a long period of time my monitor keeps going black and coming back on even with stock clocks could this problem be caused by the refresh rate of my monitor?

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 21st, 2010, 10:18 am

it probably get tired...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 21st, 2010, 10:52 am

i doubt cuz when im running Assassins creed it does that like every minute

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 21st, 2010, 1:26 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 21st, 2010, 1:28 pm

fellaz what are your views on this board?

http://www.evga.com/products/moreinfo.asp?pn=132-GT-E768-KR

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 21st, 2010, 6:54 pm

gracen wrote:fellaz what are your views on this board?

Looks like the FTW version of my own: EVGA x58 3x sli.

Beware with some evga boards u get a ram issue where it detects only 4gb out of 6gb, 2gb out of 4gb, 8gb out of 12gb. It supposed to only happen with generic ram modules though.

Other than that it's a decent board for overclocking, supports dual 16x + 8x crossfire and sli configurations.

Postby bushwakka » November 21st, 2010, 7:42 pm

M_2NR wrote:
fouljuice wrote:

Um mine is a EE. right now i monitoring my card and its idling at 39C without ac.

i think i have a pic somewhere with it going as low as 28C but ill save it next time when my ac on (tonight)
gpuobs.JPG

and gracen, you shouldnt have it oc'd all the time k?

But those cards can run hot too. I have the slimline one and it used to go around 80C lol.

maybe it is a defect, but after my experience with my 9800 gtx+ dying due to that....i was a bit irked by the comments on the evga forum

a guy said that his 460 running quite hot and that increasing the fan speed wasn't helping, he said he thought the external exhaust system was a bit restrictive......

i dunno the truth of it, but it caused me to order the 470 gtx instead

Postby M_2NR » November 21st, 2010, 10:06 pm

shoulda buy chiney 480gtx :P

hopefully he had the warranty on it

Virus

Postby Virus » November 22nd, 2010, 5:27 am

M_2NR wrote:shoulda buy chiney 480gtx :P

Chiney buss he style on me with he cards when i tell him to pm a real bess price he say it firm and then he gone off an sell for small money :( I thought we was frens LOL :lol: :lol:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 22nd, 2010, 8:28 am

Virus wrote:

Chiney buss he style on me with he cards when i tell him to pm a real bess price he say it firm and then he gone off an sell for small money :( I thought we was frens LOL :lol: :lol:

Just go on ebay and get one that's all. The pny gtx 480s dem nuh expensive eh.

About the issue with the ati 5850 series, they are designed to run hot. I had 4 of them but on load they were about 70 degrees or less. Got two waterblocks for a pair of them so i gonna run them under liquid cooling and see how the temps are especially with some heavy overclocking. :shock:

Postby bushwakka » November 22nd, 2010, 9:12 am

i wudda buy it for sure if he had the warranty (even at a higher price)...he said he didnt register it, check a few pages back...these days i doh buy anything w/out warranty

im getting the 470gtx as a birthday gift anyway so :D

Virus

Postby Virus » November 22nd, 2010, 9:14 am

bushwakka 470 ftw yo cheers!! u will love it

Postby bushwakka » November 22nd, 2010, 10:27 am

^it will most likely be bottlenecked by the rest of my configuration....but whaever.....i not lookin for max performance until an x58 upgrade

Virus

Postby Virus » November 22nd, 2010, 10:34 am

bushwakka wrote:^it will most likely be bottlenecked by the rest of my configuration....but whaever.....i not lookin for max performance until an x58 upgrade

What going to cause that bottleneck, you might not even notice that

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 12:48 pm

HCCA wrote:
Virus wrote:

Just go on ebay and get one that's all. The pny gtx 480s dem nuh expensive eh.

About the issue with the ati 5850 series, they are designed to run hot. I had 4 of them but on load they were about 70 degrees or less. Got two waterblocks for a pair of them so i gonna run them under liquid cooling and see how the temps are especially with some heavy overclocking. :shock:

keep us in touch yo. I hear they dont oc as well as the 400 series nV's. Why is that tho?

Virus wrote:
bushwakka wrote:^it will most likely be bottlenecked by the rest of my configuration....but whaever.....i not lookin for max performance until an x58 upgrade

What going to cause that bottleneck, you might not even notice that

same thing im experiencing with mine... we both have DDR2 RAM and LGA775 boards yo. If i put this 460 on an i7 setup, or even i5 it will scream.

EDIT:

Adding this... you WILL LOL!

http://www.pdxlan.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=119987&ref=nf#119987

Virus

Postby Virus » November 22nd, 2010, 1:56 pm

same thing im experiencing with mine... we both have DDR2 RAM and LGA775 boards yo.

They still have 775 LOL bess!!!!!! and DDR2 well i was thinking you guys on ddr3 already :( sorry my bad carry on

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 22nd, 2010, 6:49 pm

HCCA wrote:
gracen wrote:fellaz what are your views on this board?

Looks like the FTW version of my own: EVGA x58 3x sli.

Beware with some evga boards u get a ram issue where it detects only 4gb out of 6gb, 2gb out of 4gb, 8gb out of 12gb. It supposed to only happen with generic ram modules though.

Other than that it's a decent board for overclocking, supports dual 16x + 8x crossfire and sli configurations.

Thanks for the tips man :D

Postby bushwakka » November 22nd, 2010, 8:06 pm

Virus wrote:same thing im experiencing with mine... we both have DDR2 RAM and LGA775 boards yo.

They still have 775 LOL bess!!!!!! and DDR2 well i was thinking you guys on ddr3 already :( sorry my bad carry on

well im sure we would like to be, my reasons are quite simple:
1. lack of money to do a complete rebuild right now
2. my system works pretty darn well atm and runs the games i play

until 1&2 change, i won't have justification for wasting more money

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 10:08 pm

mines are the same... plus i eh wukking :|

Virus