Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby matr1x » May 23rd, 2017, 12:07 pm

Let's not forget it was Eric Williams who started the freeness by allowing grenadians and Vincent people open arms to voter padding.

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2017, 12:46 pm

Redman wrote:Lies.....from a lawyer?
Lies from a politician?

Musbe a UNC plot....

Good defense. :roll:

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2017, 1:19 pm

rspann wrote:But how do you go about this revolution without disrupting the peaceful society we have. Remember 1990. If you are speaking about elections, what do we do? Every party turns out to be the same ,or worse.

There are ways to stand against a corrupt tyrannical oppressive state that need not end in violence initiated by the masses.

Look at this property tax. If absolutely nobody fills out that vrf, or pays that $500.00 fine, there is absolutely NOTHING the bald tobagonian or his pet retard that resembles a sun wrinkled grapefruit could do about it. I'd love to see them try to lock up 250,000 residential homeowners, and over 100,000 commercial property owners. yuh feel remand yard+golden grove+carerra island go have enough room? yuh feel they have enough prison officers? yuh feel they could feed all dem prisoners? moreover, yuh feel they willing to risk never ever again being able to get back into office because nobody would ever vote for them ever again.

A peaceful protest is another method, but Trini's could never accomplish that, because they too dam lazy. Even the way way Trini's protest today proves their laziness. Stay home, bun rubbish in d road, & go back inside. yuh want a politician to stop & realize ppl fed up of their BS & that their political career at risk. Even a small group of 1K protesters, amassed in front the ministers office, demanding answers from him directly & not his PR go betweens, and demanding that they see about the peoples business lest they face the consequences, will achieve a lot more, a lot faster, than a couple burnt old fridges & old tires on a road that said politicians don't use/not aware even exists.

The only way to get anything worthwhile done is thru courage, determination & sacrifice, by the masses. Sadly, these are things most Trini's seem to consider as characteristics of an alien species. When we all as a nation unite in totality, only then will we see true progress.

Postby Redman » May 23rd, 2017, 2:56 pm

Lies from a politician?

Musbe a UNC plot....

Wasnt a defense.

anyone who does not expect lies,manipulation and deceit from a lawyer or a politician is an idiot of Matrix like proportions...much less not expecting a lawyer who is a politician to lie.

we have precedent.

Average

Postby Average » May 23rd, 2017, 4:36 pm

Ever notice when the unc does something stupid they obviously get the blame but when the pnm does it, the unc STILL gets the blame? Gosh boy, ppl tired....dey TIRED!

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2017, 4:41 pm

Redman wrote:
Lies from a politician?

Musbe a UNC plot....

Wasnt a defense.

anyone who does not expect lies,manipulation and deceit from a lawyer or a politician is an idiot of Matrix like proportions...much less not expecting a lawyer who is a politician to lie.

we have precedent.

Two words. Band Aid............

boxy

Postby boxy » May 23rd, 2017, 5:24 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^^
Again, Axe the Tax .. The property tax

We are being taxed at every opportunity - like it is "a free for all" on taxes by Gov't.

Gov't is a school yard bully . They think the TT citizens are foolish and stupid .

So they tax you. And tax you. And tax you some more. It will never end. So protest now !

Again who really benefits ? Do we have a good standard of life in TT for the average or poor man ?

Are good services provided after the Gov't receives these taxes ? Water, Housing, Jobs, Security etc.

No, no, no, no. F*** no !

Trinidad & Tobago people are SUFFERING and in FEAR . They line up to pay tax because
Mr Gov't want to come look inside your house and tax every bedroom . And further bedrooms.

They line up Mr Gov't because of FEAR ! Fear that Mr Gov't sending Police and Army to your house .

The Gov't is a f***ing bully . Everything is being taken away - average man/ poor man life destroyed ..

- homes destroyed , even if its squatters homes - and it is illegal. See the Court actions .
- no transport to Tobago - no money $$$ but Gov't wants to buy a ship - Maybe a $50 Million corruption coming ?
- online tax to stop us from shopping for quality merchandise - and in safety of our home :)
- TT held hostage by the business men in TT at outrageous markups since Adam & Eve days- And Landlords.
- High prices in Supermarket due to the return of VAT on basic items.
- No Forex but Massy & ANSA still going strong - No envy but where is USD$ coming from ?

Then Mr. Gov't wants to come to our homes ! Tax on our home - Our "Castle" so to speak.

Again,

Axe The Tax

Points to note seeing as you are not being corrected and many people in this country like you are being given the rubber boots to dig in the trenches of BS the politicians provide.

The property tax law is older than you and your parents. It was found to be flawed back in the last Manning regime where "poor people would be paying $100/ year and someone in West moorings was paying $3. This is no exaggeration in the gap difference. Now Manning came up with a formula to remedy this. Guess who started feeding the BS to political parties to get the grass roots mouth frothing. The elites the financiers. Imagine this move sparked the activation of a new political party with axe the tax that after contesting it's first elections gained over 100,000 votes. Guess who benefited when the law was just suspended not repealed. The financiers checked the Formula being proposed to fix the property tax law and realise that the strip mall or the car park or the industrial complex they were paying $100/year for would be properly valuated and they would be paying thousands more. You really think any of them Cater about the poor man?

Are goods and services provided after they implement this law? The fact that you ask something like that makes me wonder if you even aware that WASA T&TEC TSTT the air and sea bridge and Fuel agriculture housing health is Heavily subsidized in this country all those combined are to the tune of billions of dollars. Had it not been for criminals and greedy people We would be the utopia of the caribbean. In some eyes of people outside this country we are. And they despise us for it.

We once owned our own ferry years ago it was called the Panorama and it makes more sense owning our own than being held for ransom by the likes of the agent for the Super fast galacia who wanted a multi year contract or nothing at all.

The online tax I agree was harsh I give you that I hate it just like everyone else. But from the information I received shopping online was a humongous drain on our US reserves which started drying up the. Minute oil went sub $80 which is the reason why ansa and massy and other companies like pricesmart and unicomer and supermarkets and wholesalers get priority of USD as per the previous central bank governor Jwala noted while he was in that position. Without those same companies our GDP takes a further hit.

If you wish to bash the government do so I am all for good debate but listing a bunch of misinformation makes u look like a sheep or probably a shepherd trying to gather sheep.
Welcome back UML/Mellissa try to not screen shot your name like last time that was embarrassing to say the least.

Postby adnj » May 23rd, 2017, 6:22 pm

Trinidad average home price is 37 times the average income. I doubt that the average Trini is going to be paying a significant share of the property tax collected. Not to mention that Trinidad also has the one of the highest purchasing power index ratings in the Caribbean, second only to USVI.

======
"More people are now in T&T's middle class, according to Dr Roger Hosein, senior lecturer at the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine. He said according to the latest available data, in 2012 less than half of the population worked for less than the average monthly income of $4,955 ($59,460/year)." Mar 16, 2015

"In the more desirable neighborhoods of West Trinidad, modern homes are priced fromabout US$550,000. At The Crossings, located on the outskirts of the bustling town of Arima in Trinidad, three bedroom houses are currently being offered from around TT$1.76 million (US$265,000) to TT$2.2 million (US$330,000)."

Postby Redman » May 23rd, 2017, 9:56 pm

Two words. Band Aid............

Look two more..Anand..Gerald.

Postby matr1x » May 23rd, 2017, 11:02 pm

Problem is with that's maths, is most homes are built after huge sacrifices and more often than not, home owners have large loans to pay. It's not so much the tax, but the invasive information required. Also, we are seeing our tax dollars being wasted. This tax will be used for what exactly?

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 23rd, 2017, 11:19 pm

There needs to be local govt reform before this tax crap.
There are no clear purpose for the tax. So you get jacked and where does de money go?
What are we going to get for the tax?

Corruption and more corruption ..........

Valuation Division is a loose cannon. They are claiming to have formulas to calculate the Tax.
We need to have full disclosure ..............

boxy

Postby boxy » May 23rd, 2017, 11:21 pm

matr1x wrote:Problem is with that's maths, is most homes are built after huge sacrifices and more often than not, home owners have large loans to pay. It's not so much the tax, but the invasive information required. Also, we are seeing our tax dollars being wasted. This tax will be used for what exactly?

Yuh see the rubbish u put outside for the truck to pick up in the morning? U think that's a free service?

Postby matr1x » May 24th, 2017, 12:39 am

You do know you pay taxes for that already. Property tax isn't the only tax. By that measure, will the pickup times improve when the tax is paid?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 24th, 2017, 1:23 am

Remember that this is a country with massive subsidy on water and current, lets say for a second that Kamla is successful and this tax is repealed by the Privy Council, what do you think Imbert will ultimately do?

They won't be able to balance the budget and so they will then remove water and current subsidy, we will then pay far more than we would have with property tax. This is what will ultimately happen eh people just keep this in mind, Air Condition eh cheap to run with the current subsidy its so expensive. Can you imagine what will happen without the subsidy? And this country has nasty humidity levels combine that with heat.

Though I will say this T&TEC has sh!t reliability, last night current went for 4 hours just because a lil hard rain fall talk about a joke of a service.

Postby The_Honourable » May 24th, 2017, 1:36 am

To be fair effectic, T&TEC is reliable. They are a FAR better state company than WASA.

But yeah you make a good point. If property tax gets shut down by the privy council, or while waiting for it to reach there, imbert could interfere with other subsidies... but that would be political suicide.

He shud sell off other state assets that making losses and keep the essentials like WASA & T&TEC

Postby matr1x » May 24th, 2017, 1:41 am

People talk a lot about the subsidies that we get, but fail to understand that certain sectors, the white Portuguese and Syrian upper class as well as multinational firms do not pay even close to their fair share. And they live like kings.

I am not sure if I mentioned this before. What is the brand name on your electric meters? I have a nice story for you.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 24th, 2017, 2:25 am

Honorable its generally reliable but up on my side whenever rain falls there is a very good chance current will go especially if there is thunder, No idea why that has to happen, current here goes like 15 times a year, though this is way better than Water since that can go 4 times a week.

boxy

Postby boxy » May 24th, 2017, 5:36 am

matr1x wrote:You do know you pay taxes for that already. Property tax isn't the only tax. By that measure, will the pickup times improve when the tax is paid?

Bro again u seem to not be well informed and spewing misinformation . That WAS the tax we were paying on it all these years. Property tax didn't start this year or 6years ago. Property tax is a decades old law VAT came and meet people already paying property tax. Property tax is a tax that eventually goes towards the local government to maintain the said districts garbage, drainage, the abandoned piece of land next to your home gets cleaned. The dog that get bounce on the road that dead for days who do u think is called in for those situations? If u did not know then I hope you do now. Nobody likes paying taxes and seeing deductions on your pays lip for health surcharge and NIS but it eventually comes back to u when u need it. We are so spoiled as a country we take it for granted.

Also Ed is correct if the property tax is removed he will start removing subsidies because how are u going to pay your bills without money or proper credit. This isnt the US where when our money finish we print more. Hell the US has less subsidies per capita than we do.
And yes it would be political suicide when/if he does it. But guess what when they get voted out the new government will never put back the subsidy and will not touch that issue with a 10ft pole because they will magically know better once in the position of government.

Postby Redman » May 24th, 2017, 6:07 am

Boxy, that opinion bought and paid for.
It can't change

matix

Postby matix » May 24th, 2017, 6:23 am

Is it land tax we paid or property tax?

Postby eliteauto » May 24th, 2017, 7:16 am

matix wrote:Is it land tax we paid or property tax?

land and building taxes

Postby adnj » May 24th, 2017, 7:16 am

Real estate taxation, if based on value, is a heavier burden on the rich than on the poor.

Subsidies on fuel and utilities benefit the heavy users most.

matr1x wrote: the white Portuguese and Syrian upper class as well as multinational firms do not pay even close to their fair share. And they live like kings.

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 8:20 am

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^^
Again, Axe the Tax .. The property tax

We are being taxed at every opportunity - like it is "a free for all" on taxes by Gov't.

Gov't is a school yard bully . They think the TT citizens are foolish and stupid .

So they tax you. And tax you. And tax you some more. It will never end. So protest now !

Again who really benefits ? Do we have a good standard of life in TT for the average or poor man ?

Are good services provided after the Gov't receives these taxes ? Water, Housing, Jobs, Security etc.

No, no, no, no. F*** no !

Trinidad & Tobago people are SUFFERING and in FEAR . They line up to pay tax because
Mr Gov't want to come look inside your house and tax every bedroom . And further bedrooms.

They line up Mr Gov't because of FEAR ! Fear that Mr Gov't sending Police and Army to your house .

The Gov't is a f***ing bully . Everything is being taken away - average man/ poor man life destroyed ..

- homes destroyed , even if its squatters homes - and it is illegal. See the Court actions .
- no transport to Tobago - no money $$$ but Gov't wants to buy a ship - Maybe a $50 Million corruption coming ?
- online tax to stop us from shopping for quality merchandise - and in safety of our home :)
- TT held hostage by the business men in TT at outrageous markups since Adam & Eve days- And Landlords.
- High prices in Supermarket due to the return of VAT on basic items.
- No Forex but Massy & ANSA still going strong - No envy but where is USD$ coming from ?

Then Mr. Gov't wants to come to our homes ! Tax on our home - Our "Castle" so to speak.

Again,

Axe The Tax

Points to note seeing as you are not being corrected and many people in this country like you are being given the rubber boots to dig in the trenches of BS the politicians provide.

The property tax law is older than you and your parents. It was found to be flawed back in the last Manning regime where "poor people would be paying $100/ year and someone in West moorings was paying $3. This is no exaggeration in the gap difference. Now Manning came up with a formula to remedy this. Guess who started feeding the BS to political parties to get the grass roots mouth frothing. The elites the financiers. Imagine this move sparked the activation of a new political party with axe the tax that after contesting it's first elections gained over 100,000 votes. Guess who benefited when the law was just suspended not repealed. The financiers checked the Formula being proposed to fix the property tax law and realise that the strip mall or the car park or the industrial complex they were paying $100/year for would be properly valuated and they would be paying thousands more. You really think any of them Cater about the poor man?

Are goods and services provided after they implement this law? The fact that you ask something like that makes me wonder if you even aware that WASA T&TEC TSTT the air and sea bridge and Fuel agriculture housing health is Heavily subsidized in this country all those combined are to the tune of billions of dollars. Had it not been for criminals and greedy people We would be the utopia of the caribbean. In some eyes of people outside this country we are. And they despise us for it.

We once owned our own ferry years ago it was called the Panorama and it makes more sense owning our own than being held for ransom by the likes of the agent for the Super fast galacia who wanted a multi year contract or nothing at all.

The online tax I agree was harsh I give you that I hate it just like everyone else. But from the information I received shopping online was a humongous drain on our US reserves which started drying up the. Minute oil went sub $80 which is the reason why ansa and massy and other companies like pricesmart and unicomer and supermarkets and wholesalers get priority of USD as per the previous central bank governor Jwala noted while he was in that position. Without those same companies our GDP takes a further hit.

If you wish to bash the government do so I am all for good debate but listing a bunch of misinformation makes u look like a sheep or probably a shepherd trying to gather sheep.
Welcome back UML/Mellissa try to not screen shot your name like last time that was embarrassing to say the least.

PNM in the house .. Again .. With history BS

Hey I want to go to Tobago Goat Race hook us up with a $92,000 nay boy ?

And an assistant - or just send us Ms. Cupid and Ms. Bow and Ms Arrow.

And give me a cell phone nay, I want to call you with $57,000 allotted our crew .

Since this is where Property Tax going .

Meet us by the Tobago Wharf - Bring Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner for like 2 days since we taking
de Boat .

Again,

Axe The Tax
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 24th, 2017, 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » May 24th, 2017, 8:21 am

adnj wrote:Real estate taxation, if based on value, is a heavier burden on the rich than on the poor.

absolutely nothing wrong with this, thats the way it supposed to be

adnj wrote:Subsidies on fuel and utilities benefit the heavy users most.

& this is why ppl should pay for what they use, as they use it, at a rate thats appropriate to the purpose of their consumption. ie, rates should be higher for commercial consumers than residential, on both fuel & utilities, nothing wrong with that either.

But we all know what happens the minute a company has any sort of increase in cost of production in T&T, prices skyrocket.
Last edited by 88sins on May 24th, 2017, 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 8:23 am

Real Estate Tax ?

Imbert is that you ?

Another Tax ..?

boxy

Postby boxy » May 24th, 2017, 8:31 am

I'm absolutely convinced you're UML now. Also that hotel bill is BS they should have received an estimate before sending them there. The admin assistant responsible for not clearly getting this info should. Be disciplined. And the minister should bare at least some cost to show leadership but that's not going to happen :/

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 24th, 2017, 8:34 am

GeneralHonda wrote:For those in the Santa Cruz area who may be interested in attending, there is a meeting carded for 6 pm on Thur. 25 May 2017 in the Church Hall (Mary Immaculate Queen) located on Sun Valley Road, Bourg Mulatresse (Lower Santa Cruz) with government officials regarding the Property Tax. Google map has the location accurately marked if in need of directions.

UPDATE: THIS MEETING HAS BEEN CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 8:37 am

Again the rich can take care of themselves . Why ? They rich.

Landlords go still raise rent now - even as Property Tax(PT) on hold with the Court Matter.

Middle class and poor people like me cannot afford anything .

Reduce Tax - Remove Tax - Repeal PT, and allow private sector to flourish.

Property Tax paying for Cudjoe cellphone and Smith's and his Cupid ting .

I want a Cudjoe TSTT_DIGI Mobile Plan - so maybe I would not be a sufferer.

I want Smith's Job so I can go Goat Race in Tobago and spend $92,000 with Cupid
watching Goat run.

Property Tax is a corruption . Wake up and do not be fooled .

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 8:39 am

boxy wrote:
matr1x wrote:Problem is with that's maths, is most homes are built after huge sacrifices and more often than not, home owners have large loans to pay. It's not so much the tax, but the invasive information required. Also, we are seeing our tax dollars being wasted. This tax will be used for what exactly?

Yuh see the rubbish u put outside for the truck to pick up in the morning? U think that's a free service?

Yes , I want it free .

I paid Stamp Duty Tax - Where de f... that going or gone ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 8:45 am

boxy wrote:I'm absolutely convinced you're UML now. Also that hotel bill is BS they should have received an estimate before sending them there. The admin assistant responsible for not clearly getting this info should. Be disciplined. And the minister should bare at least some cost to show leadership but that's not going to happen :/

I am convinced you are Ms Cupid's husband . Horn is a musical instruction .

Ok, listen there is more fish in the sea.

Oh wait wait - Mr. Gov't pollute the sea with oil and close down the Fish Depot .

Their is a rich Landlord in San Juan . You want a hook up ?

Mash up your 3 wheel bicycle and he go fix it .

Again,

Axe the Tax .